
 

 

 
 

 

 
 

 

  

BULLETIN 372 


Notice to Lenders upon Policy Termination 

It has come to the attention of the Superintendent of Insurance that some property and casualty 
insurers might not be sending the notice that a loss payee or mortgagee should receive when a 
property or casualty policy is canceled or nonrenewed. 

An insurer attempting to cancel or nonrenew a property or casualty policy in Maine must notify 
the named insured and give the loss payee or mortgagee “like notice” as follows: 

Statute Line of Business Action Notice Period “Like Notice” to: 

24-A M.R.S.A. 
§ 2908(5) 

Commercial 
casualty with 
automobile 
physical damage 
coverage 

Cancellation 
or 
Nonrenewal 

10 days if 
cancellation, 
otherwise 30 days; 
plus 3 days mailing 

“any party named in a 
loss payable clause” 

24-A M.R.S.A. 
§ 2915 

Personal 
automobile1 with 
physical damage 
coverage 

Cancellation 

10 days if 
nonpayment, 
otherwise 20 days; 
plus 5 days mailing 

“any party mentioned in 
the loss payable clause” 

24-A M.R.S.A. 
§ 2917 

Personal 
automobile1 with 
physical damage 
coverage 

Nonrenewal 
30 days, plus 3 
days mailing 

“any party named in the 
loss payable clause” 

24-A M.R.S.A. 
§ 3050 

Owner-occupied 
property2 Cancellation 

10 days if 
nonpayment, 
otherwise 20 days; 
plus 5 days mailing 

“any party named as 
mortgagee on the policy” 

24-A M.R.S.A. 
§ 3051 

Owner-occupied 
property2 Nonrenewal 

30 days, plus 3 
days mailing 

“any party named as 
mortgagee on the policy” 

The phrase “like notice” in these statutes means that the insurer must give the loss payee or 
mortgagee as much notice as the named insured receives. This is because each of these statutes 
specifies how much notice the named insured must receive. Comparable notice to the lender is 
important because most secured transactions require that the borrower maintain insurance to 
protect the lender’s interest in the security and give the lender certain rights upon the borrower’s 
failure to do so. 



 

 

 

 

 

Persons having questions about Maine’s property and casualty cancellation and nonrenewal 
statutes should contact the Bureau of Insurance at (207) 624-8475 or toll-free in Maine at (800) 
300-5000. 

1 See 24-A M.R.S.A. § 2912(1) for the scope of the Automobile Insurance Cancellation Control 
Act. 

2 See 24-A M.R.S.A. § 3048 for the scope of the Property Insurance Cancellation Control Act. 

February 25, 2010 ______________________________________ 
Mila Kofman 
Superintendent of Insurance 

NOTE: This bulletin is intended solely for informational purposes. It is not intended to set forth 
legal rights, duties or privileges nor is it intended to provide legal advice. Readers should consult 
applicable statutes and rules and contact the Bureau of Insurance if additional information is 
needed. 


