STATE OF MAINE DEPARTMENT OF PROFESSIONAL AND FINANCIAL REGULATION BUREAU OF INSURANCE

In re: Daylon R. Phillips

National Producer No. 7903581 Maine License No. PRN 404338 Docket No. INS-23-204 LICENSE REVOCATION NOTICE, ORDER, and OPPORTUNITY FOR HEARING

NOTICE TO:

Effective as of July 26, 2023, your Maine nonresident insurance producer license will be **REVOKED** without further formal proceedings unless you request a hearing as specified below.

The reasons for your license revocation are as follows:

- On August 10, 2022, the Bureau of Insurance wrote to you at your email address of record regarding a complaint that the Bureau received regarding an allegation of improper conduct. The Bureau was seeking information pursuant to 24-A M.R.S. § 220(1). Your response was required within 14 days in accordance with 24-A M.R.S. § 220(2). The Bureau did not receive a response, nor was the email returned. Your failure to respond is grounds for the revocation of your insurance license pursuant to 24-A M.R.S. § 1420-K(1)(B) and § 220(2) for violating insurance laws.
- 2. On August 29, 2022, the Bureau wrote to you at your home address and sent a copy to your email address of record requesting information regarding an allegation of improper conduct. Your response was required within 14 days in accordance with 24-A M.R.S. § 220(2). To date, the Bureau has not received a response. Your failure to respond is grounds for the revocation of your insurance license pursuant to 24-A M.R.S. § 1420-K(1)(B) and § 220(2).

Therefore, based upon the above grounds, your Maine insurance producer license is **revoked** as of July 26, 2023, pursuant to 24-A M.R.S. §§ 1417 and 1420-K, subject to your right to request a hearing.

Under the Maine Insurance Code, specifically 24-A M.R.S. §1417 and §1420-K, you have the right to a hearing before the Superintendent or his designee. If you request a hearing, you will have the right to present evidence and arguments in your defense, and the staff of the Bureau of Insurance will bear the burden of proving each violation by a preponderance of evidence.

If you request a hearing, you will receive further communication regarding scheduling. The matters to be determined through the hearing process are whether you committed one or more of the violations listed above, and if so, the

appropriate sanctions for those violations. The sanctions imposed after a hearing can include any available remedy under applicable laws, including the payment of civil penalties.

To request a hearing, you must notify the Bureau of Insurance in writing no later than July 26, 2023. If you do not file a written request for a hearing within 30 days from the time you knew or reasonably should have known of the revocation of your license through this Notice and Order, you will lose your right to request a hearing on this license revocation Notice and Order.

Any request for a hearing, as well as all other communications regarding this Notice, Order, and Opportunity for Hearing must be addressed to Bureau Licensing Attorney Hancock Fenton, Bureau of Insurance, #34 State House Station, Augusta, Maine 04333-0034 (for US Postal Service deliveries). You may also reach Attorney Fenton by e-mail at Hancock.G.Fenton@maine.gov or by telephone at (207) 624-8429.

June 26, 2023

Timothy N. Schott Acting Superintendent of Insurance