
BULLETIN 374 
Life Insurance Policyholder Notice 

(Supersedes Bulletin 370) 

 
 
The Maine Viatical and Life Settlements Act requires the Superintendent of Insurance to develop 
an informational brochure to apprise consumers of their rights as owners of life insurance 
policies.1 

 
Life insurers must provide copies of this brochure to policy owners in certain situations. This 
requirement applies only to individual life insurance. Group life insurance policies are not 
subject to this notice requirement. 

 
Individual Life Insurance Notice 

 
Life insurers must provide copies of this brochure to owners of individual life insurance policies 
when the insured is 60 years of age or older, or is known by the insurer to be terminally ill or 
chronically ill, and: 

 
(1) the policyowner has requested the surrender of the policy in whole or in part; 

 
(2) the policyowner has requested an accelerated death benefit; or 

 
(3) the insurer sends an initial notice that the policy may lapse. 

 
Insurers must begin providing copies of the informational brochure to all policyholders described 
in the statute no later than September 1, 2010. The brochure is Attachment 1 to this Bulletin. 
Insurers may reproduce the brochure as necessary, and may download copies at: 
 

http://www.maine.gov/pfr/insurance/regulated/individuals_bus_entities/producers/index.html#statu
tory 
 

Insurers that wish to provide standardized notice on a multistate basis may use an alternative 
notice, Attachment 2 to this Bulletin, based on the Washington Life Settlement Regulation, 
WAC 284-97-910, which may be downloaded at: 

 
http://www.maine.gov/pfr/insurance/regulated/individuals_bus_entities/producers/index.html#statu
tory 
 
The statute refers to “notice to the policyowner that there may be alternative transactions 
available, including a copy of the superintendent’s brochure.” The Bureau of Insurance has 
received questions as to whether this requirement contemplates some additional notice above and 
beyond the brochure. Sending the brochure is sufficient to satisfy the notice requirement. No 
cover letter or other additional information is required. 



The Bureau will be conducting rulemaking to further clarify the statutory notice requirements 
discussed above. In the interim, it is the expectation of the Bureau that an insurer will send 
proper and timely notice to the owner of any individual life insurance policy with death benefits 
over $100,000 when: 

 
 the insured is 60 years of age or older, or is known by the insurer to be terminally ill or 

chronically ill, and: 
 

a. the policyowner has requested the surrender of the policy in whole or in part or has 
requested an accelerated death benefit; or 

 
b. the policyowner has failed to pay premium when due. 

 
Further, life insurance for the purposes of this notice requirement does not include credit life or 
benefits limited to death by accident or other specified causes. Timely notice means that the 
policyowner has at least one month after the notice is sent in which to maintain or reinstate the 
policy or to rescind the policy surrender or accelerated death benefit, without fees or penalties. 

 
1 24-A M.R.S.A. §6808-A(4). 
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Mila Kofman 
Superintendent of Insurance 

 
 
 

NOTE: This bulletin is intended solely for informational purposes. It is not intended to set forth 
legal rights, duties or privileges nor is it intended to provide legal advice. Readers should consult 
applicable statutes and rules and contact the Bureau of Insurance if additional information is 
needed. 


