
    

         

                       

               

                         

                     

                             

                           

     

                   

                       

                     

                       

                             

         

                           

                             

                         

                         

                               

                           

                                 

                             

 

                           

       

     

     

                           

                       

                         

   

 

Bulletin 266 

LENGTH OF INPATIENT MATERNITY STAYS 

Maine's so­called "48 hour law", Public Law Chapter 615,1 enacted as emergency legislation in 1996, 
requires health insurance and HMO contracts that cover childbirth to: 

provide coverage for services related to maternity and newborn care, including coverage for hospital 
stay, in accordance with the attending physician's or attending certified midwife's determination in 
conjunction with the mother that the mother and newborn meet the criteria outlined in the "Guidelines 

for Perinatal Care," published by the American Academy of Pediatrics and the American College of 
Obstetrics and Gynecology. 

Current American Academy and American College Guidelines (the Guidelines) state : 

When no complications are present, the postpartum hospital stay ranges from 48 hours for vaginal 
delivery to 96 hours for cesarean birth, excluding the day of delivery. 

While the Guidelines contemplate the possibility of early discharge in instances where specified criteria 
are met, the law permits early discharge only where the attending provider and mother agree that 
early discharge is desirable and appropriate. 

It has come to my attention that some carriers or their utilization review contractors have indicated to 
insureds that a one­day stay (or a three­day stay for cesarean birth) is standard, or that longer stays 
will only be approved under special circumstances. Such practices are not permissible in Maine. 
Consistent with the Guidelines, the law creates a presumption of coverage for inpatient hospital stays 
of 48 hours for vaginal delivery and 96 hours for cesarean birth, excluding the day of delivery. It 
should also be noted that these standards are only applicable in the absence of complications. 

Carriers who indicate in any way that shorter stays are the norm or that a 48­hour stay (96 hours for 
cesarean birth) may not be approved for coverage, are subject to penalties for violating P.L. Chapter 
615. 

1 Title 24 M.R.S.A. sec. 2318­A, Title 24­A M.R.S.A. sec. 2743­A, 2834­A & 4234­B 
January 16, 1998 __________________________________________ 
Brian K. Atchinson 
Superintendent of Insurance 

NOTE: This bulletin is intended solely for informational purposes. It is not intended to set forth legal 
rights, duties or privileges nor is it intended to provide legal advice. Readers are encouraged to 
consult applicable statutes and regulations and to contact the Bureau of Insurance if additional 
information is needed. 


