Skip Maine state header navigation

Agencies | Online Services | Help

Skip First Level Navigation | Skip All Navigation

 
Maine.gov > PFR Home > Consumer Credit Home Page > License Types > Check Casher Licensing Information

Check Casher + Foreign Currency Licensing Information

The State of Maine has enacted statutes regulating the activities of check cashers and exchangers of foreign currency (Title 32 M.R.S.A. c. 80, §6131 et seq.) requiring annual registration.

The provisions of the Act establish the following fee schedule for applicants and renewing applicants: Applicant: - $250; Each Additional Business Location - $100. Checks should be mailed, with the application, to the Bureau of Consumer Credit Protection, 35 State House Station, Augusta, ME 04333-0035 and should be made payable to: "Treasurer, State of Maine."

All Applicants must maintain liquid assets useable in the business of at least $10,000.