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The Maine Bureau of Consumer Credit Protection was established in 1975 to enforce a 

wide variety of consumer financial protection laws, including: 

The Bureau conducts periodic examinations of creditors to determine compliance with 

these laws; responds to consumer complaints and inquiries; and operates the state’s 

foreclosure prevention hotline and housing counselor referral program. The Bureau also 

conducts educational seminars and provides speakers to advise consumers and creditors of 

their legal rights and responsibilities. 
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Maine residents can obtain additional free copies of this booklet by contacting the Bureau 

of Consumer Credit Protection at 207-624-8527 or toll-free at 1-800-332-8529. Non-Maine 

residents may purchase the publication for $6 per copy, or at a volume discount of $4 per 

copy on orders of 50 or more. Shipping fees are included in the prices listed. 

-Consumer Credit Code 
-Truth-in-Lending Act 
-Fair Credit Billing Act 
-Truth-in-Leasing Act 
-Fair Credit Reporting Act 
-Fair Debt Collection Practices Act 
-“Plain Language” Contract Law 

Toll-free Maine consumer assistance line: 
1-800-332-8529 (1-800-DEBT-LAW) 

TTY users call Maine relay 711 

Maine Foreclosure Prevention Hotline 
1-888-NO-4-CLŌZ 
(1-888-664-2569) 
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www.Credit.Maine.gov 

http://www.Credit.Maine.gov


Dear Maine Consumers: 

The six year period from 2002 to 2007 saw rapid increases in residential mortgage 

activity, not only in Maine but across the nation.  New homes were constructed at a record 

pace, existing home sales surged, and the economy appeared strong. Mortgage rates 

reached historic lows, the number of non-bank lenders and mortgage brokers grew rapidly, 

and credit was easily available — too easily, in retrospect. 

The financial crisis in the United States, which started in 2008 with the loss of stock 

values on Wall Street, marked the start of the so-called “Great Recession.” The bursting of 

the residential real estate bubble affected not only Maine’s economy, but America’s as well.  

As of the writing of this guide in 2013, many in the real estate and home construction 

industries have not yet fully recovered. 

Moving forward, everyone associated with the residential mortgage industry —

regulators, banks, non-bank lenders, mortgage brokers, and consumer borrowers — must 

remember lessons learned from the recent past.  State regulators have taken steps to 

provide greater oversight of the lending industry, including, most significantly, a licensing 

process called the Nationwide Multistate Licensing System (NMLS), which requires non-

bank mortgage loan originators to pass national and state-specific licensing exams.  The 

federal government has also created a new regulatory agency called the Consumer 

Financial Protection Bureau (CFPB) to review the practices of national banks and other 

lenders, including their mortgage lending activities. 

This mortgage guide is designed to provide you with useful information to make wise 

financial decisions when considering mortgage loan financing. Regardless of the era or the 

economy, a careful, conservative approach to consumer borrowing, including homes, 

automobiles, and use of credit cards, never goes out of style.   

As authors of this Guide, we hope that this publication makes a positive impact in your 

search for the “right” mortgage to fit your needs. Never compromise your long-term 

financial goals of saving and investing for the future, meeting your current and future 

obligations, and properly funding your retirement, by taking out a mortgage you cannot 

afford. 

 Sincerely, 

      David Leach, MPA                                             Edward Myslik 

 Principal Examiner                                            Senior Consumer Credit Examiner 

      Joseph Shagoury  

 Margaret Chase Smith Summer Intern, 2013 
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The decision to purchase a home involves many variables beyond the simple mathematics of 

renting vs. buying. Emotions will never be separated from this process, but market conditions should 

not be overlooked.   

In the early 2000s, consumers rushed to take advantage of the strong national economy and lax 

lending standards to purchase or construct homes. Many homebuyers were enticed by adjustable 

rate mortgages (ARMs) with low “teaser rates.” These buyers hoped to eventually refinance their 

ARMs and reap the rewards of continued real estate appreciation. However, in late 2008 the real 

estate bubble burst, some lenders that offered subprime loans failed, and the national economy 

suffered — along with real estate values. For many people, the prospect of refinancing disappeared 

along with their equity. 

Between 2008 and 2012, lenders filed more than 11 million home foreclosure filings in courts 

across the country. Many affected consumers would offer sobering opinions of home ownership that 

should not be ignored. For them, renting may have been a much better option. 

It is common wisdom that buying a home is the best choice if you expect to be in the same place 

for any period of time. Consumers who purchase a home are paying towards something, and housing 

values generally increase over time. It is important to note, however, that not everyone stays in a 

home long enough to realize a benefit and a return on their investment. The buying and selling of a 

home requires paying many expenses and fees, including real estate commissions, closing costs, 

taxes, and insurance, that reduce a homeowner’s equity 

The tables on the next page summarize the costs involved in the purchasing, financing and 

selling of a house after only five years. They do not take into account the benefits of the existing IRS 

mortgage interest tax exemption, since every person’s tax situation is different and tax laws may 

change.   

For most of us, buying a home will be the largest financial decision 

that we will make. Potential home buyers should approach this 

purchase armed with knowledge and facts rather than with 

emotions alone. When buying a home, prepare for the inevitable ups 

and downs of the economy by purchasing a house that you can 

afford on day one, and that will be affordable if your financial 

situation changes in the future. Remember, always think before you 

borrow! 

Introduction 

Renting vs. Buying:  

When Does Purchasing a Home Make Sense? 

“Creditors have better memories than debtors.” 

-Benjamin Franklin 
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Ownership Expenses Over a Five Year Period, Partially Offset by Real Estate Price 

Appreciation† 

Year Interest 

Expense 

Real 

Estate 

Taxes 

PMI 

(Private 

Mortgage 

Insurance) 

Homeowners 

Insurance 

Maintenance 

& Repairs 

Closing 

Costs 

Purchase/

Sale 

Appreciation 

Rate of 2% 

 

Total Cost of 

Ownership 

 

1 $7,426.38 $2,231.25 $1,113.84 $600.00 $1,338.75 $3,188.75 -$3,500.00 $12,398.97 

2 $7,303.17 $2,231.25 $1,113.84 $600.00 $1,365.53 $0.00 -$3,570.00 $9,043.79 

3 $7,174.30 $2,231.25 $1,113.84 $600.00 $1,392.84 $0.00 -$3,641.40 $8,870.83 

4 $7,039.51 $2,231.25 $1,113.84 $600.00 $1,420.69 $0.00 -$3,714.23 $8,691.06 

5 $6,898.53 $2,231.25 $1,113.84 $600.00 $1,449.11 $12,232.92 -$3,788.51 $20,737.13 

Total 
$35,841.89 $11,156.25 $5,569.20 $3,000.00 $6,966.91 $15,421.67 -$18,214.14 $59,741.78 

Rental Expenses Over a Five Year Period* 

Year Monthly Rent Total Cost to Rent 

1 $1,200 $14,400.00 

2 $1,212 $14,544.00 

3 $1,224 $14,689.44 

4 $1,236 $14,863.33 

5 $1,249 $14,984.70 

Total  $73,454.47 

* Based on a monthly rental amount of $1,200.00, increased 1% each year to represent rental inflation.  The cost 

of renters insurance and/or a security deposit were not added, since these items can fluctuate or are voluntary.  

The monthly rental amount of $1,200.00 (no utilities included) reflects average three-bedroom residential prop-

†
Based on a sales price of $175,000.00 and a loan amount of $166,205.00 (reflecting a 5% down payment); the interest rate is 

fixed at 4.500% with an amortization of 30 years.  An assumed annual real estate appreciation rate of 2% per year reduces the 

total cost of ownership. Principal portion of each monthly payment is not labeled as an expense, since the homeowner will re-

cover that value upon sale. 

Renting vs. Buying: How Much Does it Cost? 

“People should watch out for three things: avoid a major addiction, don’t get so 

deeply into debt that it controls your life, and don’t start a family before you’re 

ready to settle down.” 

-James Taylor 
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Ownership Expenses Over a Five Year Period. with Real Estate Price Depreciation+ 

Year Interest 

Expense 

Real 

Estate 

Taxes 

PMI Homeowners 

Insurance 

Maintenance 

& Repairs 

Closing 

Costs 

Purchase/

Sale 

Depreciation 

Rate of 1% 

Total Cost of 

Ownership 

 

1 
$7,426.38 $2,231.25 $1,113.84 $600.00 

$1,299.38 
$3,188.75 $1,750.00 

$17,609.60 

2 
$7,303.17 $2,231.25 $1,113.84 $600.00 

$1,286.38 
$0.00 $1,732.50 

$14,267.14 

3 
$7,174.30 $2,231.25 $1,113.84 $600.00 

$1,273.52 
$0.00 $1,715.17 

$14,108.08 

4 
$7,039.51 $2,231.25 $1,113.84 $600.00 

$1,260.78 
$0.00 $1,698.02 

$13,943.41 

5 
$6,898.53 $2,231.25 $1,113.84 $600.00 

$1,248.17 
$10,566.53 $1,681.04 

$24,339.36 

Total 
$35,841.89 $11,156.25 $5,569.20 $3,000.00 $6,368.23 $13,755.28 $8,576.74 $84,267.59 

+Based on a sales price of $175,000.00 and a loan amount of $166,205.00 (5% down); the interest rate is fixed at 

4.500% with an amortization of 30 years.  Since real estate values sometimes decrease, an annual real estate 

depreciation rate of 1% per year adds to the total cost of ownership. Principal portion of each monthly payment is not 

labeled as an expense, since the homeowner will recover that value upon sale. 
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Pre-qualify Yourself 

An important step in determining which 

home is the “right-sized” home for you is a 

careful review of your finances.  Mortgage 

lenders use debt-to-income ratios to pre-qualify  

and qualify applicants. This process is not 

mysterious if you take the time to qualify 

yourself in the same manner by which a 

mortgage lender will qualify you. 

Lenders qualify applicants differently 

depending on whether they are salaried or self-

employed.  Salaried applicants simply need to 

give their paystub a look, while self-employed 

applicants must perform a more detailed 

financial analysis.  For the salaried borrower, 

gross pay is used to calculate  the debt-to-

income ratio. Finding your gross pay is simple: 

it’s your current pay for that pay period before 

taxes and other deductions. The only tricky part 

is  converting the income reflected on your 

paystub into a monthly amount rather than 

hourly, weekly or biweekly. The following chart 

can help you convert these non-monthly 

payments into a monthly payment schedule: 

Lenders will consider you self-employed if 

your ownership of a business exceeds 25%.  The 

self-employed applicant will be faced with more 

work in order to calculate their monthly income; 

rather than using pay stubs, completed tax 

returns and professionally-prepared financial 

statements will be used to determine your 

monthly income.  It is important to note that 

self-employed borrowers will be using their after 

tax or net income. However, most lenders allow 

certain expenses to be added back into the net 

income.  Fannie Mae’s 1084 Cash Flow Analysis 

form, while complicated, will help you calculate 

your monthly income in the same manner 

employed by most mortgage lenders. 

Calculating Debt-to-Income Ratios 

The debt-to-income ratio is a factional 

number representing the percentage of your 

monthly income devoted to paying your monthly 

debt. For example, a person making $5,000 per 

month with debts of $1,000 per month has a 

debt-to-income ratio of .20 or 20% ($1000/

$5000 = .20).  Lenders use two types of 

ratios: 

• Front-End Ratio:  The Front-End Ratio is 

calculated by dividing the applicant’s total 

monthly mortgage payment — principal, 

interest, taxes and insurance (“PITI”) — by 

the borrower’s gross monthly income.  This 

ratio should not exceed 28%.   

Chapter 1 

How Much Home Can I Afford? 

Pay Period 
How to Convert to 

Monthly 

Twice Monthly Gross Pay x 2 

Biweekly Gross Pay x 26/ 12 

Weekly Gross Pay x 52/ 12 

Hourly (Hourly gross pay x av-

erage # of hours worked 

per week x 52 weeks) / 

12  
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• Back-End Ratio:  The Back-End Ratio 

includes PITI plus the applicant’s other 

monthly loan payments (automobiles, credit 

cards,  student loans etc.).  This ratio 

should not exceed 43%. 

Because of new federal lending regulations 

designed to ensure that borrowers have the 

ability to repay their mortgage loans, most 

lenders will be able to offer mortgages only to 

those borrowers whose back-end ratios do not 

exceed 43%. These so-called “qualified 

mortgages” are expected to make up the vast 

majority of mortgage loans for many years to 

come.  Therefore, a mortgage loan with a back-

end ratio above 43% may be extremely difficult 

to attain in the future. 

Debt-to-Income Ratio Examples 

Front-End Ratio:  A proposed monthly 

mortgage payment of $825 (PITI) divided by a 

gross monthly income of $3,333 ($40k/year) 

results in a 24.7% Front-End Ratio. 

Back-End Ratio:  A proposed monthly 

mortgage payment of $825 (PITI) plus other 

monthly debt payments of $555.00 equals total 

monthly payments of $1,380. $1,380 divided by 

a gross monthly income of $3,333 ($40k/year) 

results in a 41.4% Back-End Ratio. 

Plan Ahead… 

The acquisition of debt before you attempt to purchase a home can have a dramatic effect on your ability to 

qualify for a low-cost mortgage. Excessive auto, credit card and student loan debt can derail your plans to finance 

the home you want. Try to be smart when it comes to borrowing, because your debt-to-income ratios are among 

the most important factors your lender will consider. 
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After calculating your debt-to-income ratios, 

and determining the price range you can afford, 

you should check your credit history.  Your 

credit history and credit score play vital roles in 

your ability to borrow.  Even if your debt-to-

income ratios are favorable, a poor credit history 

will prevent most lenders from approving your 

loan. Similar to a review of your finances, a 

review of your credit history is recommended 

before you apply for a mortgage loan. 

Obtaining Your Credit Report 

The Fair Credit Reporting Act (“FCRA”) 

allows a person to obtain a free copy of their 

credit report from any consumer reporting 

agency annually. A consumer reporting agency 

is also known as a “credit bureau.” It is 

recommended that you take advantage of this 

free service each year by calling (877) 322-8228 

or by visiting www.AnnualCreditReport.com.  

There are three major credit bureaus in the 

United States: Equifax,  Experian and 

TransUnion. Request a report from each bureau 

in order to get a comprehensive look at your 

credit history.  When a mortgage lender “pulls” 

your credit, they use software that  merges the 

data from all three credit bureaus into one 

report. This is called a “tri-merged” report.  

Before the creditor gets to study your credit 

history, you should ensure that no errors or 

omissions exist. The FCRA gives you the right 

to challenge any errors or omissions in the 

reports.  However, this right does not allow the 

consumer to simply compel a credit bureau to 

amend a report as they wish; an investigation 

will be conducted by the bureau and the 

consumer may be required to supply evidence 

supportive of their request to make changes.  

The credit bureaus are required to provide you 

with detailed instructions regarding their 

correction procedures.  

Understanding Your Credit Report 

Credit reports are cryptic and difficult to 

read. The information in a typical report 

contains codes, abbreviations and a layout that 

only a robot could love!  The top of the report 

identifies the reporting agency, followed by the 

subject of the report (the consumer). The bulk of 

the report consists of “tradelines.” This section 

lists debts that are currently outstanding by 

loan size (largest first), followed by loans that 

have been paid off, listed alphabetically by 

creditor.  Below the “tradeline” section, the 

“public records” section is usually found, 

followed by the “inquiries” section.  The inquiry 

section should be studied closely, since it shows 

who has recently looked at your credit file.   

Understanding and Improving Your 

Credit Score 

It is important to understand that your 

credit score may not be included in the free 

annual credit report provided by the credit 

bureaus. However, the credit score must be 

provided by the lender after an application is 

Chapter 2 

Credit Reports and Credit Scores 
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made. The credit score is not created by the 

bureaus. Instead, a company called Fair Isaac 

Corporation (“FICO”) generates credit scores. 

Each bureau hires FICO to analyze your credit 

file; FICO will use a proprietary computer 

algorithm to “score” your credit history, and a 

number between 300 and 850 will be assigned to 

each of your three bureau files. The higher the 

FICO score, the lower the risk of default on a 

loan. Mortgage lenders will typically use the 

lowest FICO number of the three to qualify you 

and price your mortgage loan. Mortgage loan 

products are priced according to risk; a FICO 

score below a certain level will result in a higher 

APR on your mortgage loan, although there are 

many programs available that do not establish a 

minimum FICO threshold. 

Improving your credit score is easier that 

you may think. Having a low credit score should 

not dissuade you from considering a house 

purchase, as credit scores can be raised quickly. 

Correcting errors on your credit report and 

removing negative information that is over 

seven years old (ten years for bankruptcy) will 

have a positive effect on your credit score. 

Limiting the amount of available credit is very 

important. If you have multiple unused credit 

cards or lines of credit FICO will assume that 

you could max them out, resulting in massive 

monthly payments. Use common sense—avoid 

excessive inquiries into your credit report, pay 

your bills on time, and check your credit report 

with each bureau annually. 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Credit Repair Scams 

Before credit repair companies can offer their 

services (promising to raise credit scores or fix/

repair disputed credit report tradelines) to 

Maine consumers, they must be fully licensed 

by the Maine Bureau of Consumer Credit 

Protection. The Bureau has received multiple 

reports of Maine consumers falling prey to 

unlicensed credit repair scams (often found on 

the Internet or through telemarketing), losing 

hundreds of dollars in the process. Be safe and 

be smart; call the bureau at 1-800-332-8529 to 

find out if they have a license before engaging 

(providing private financial information/

committing funds) any credit repair company. 

“Opportunity is missed by most people because it is 

dressed in overalls and looks like work.” 

-Thomas Edison 
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After reviewing your finances and checking 

your credit, it is time to shop for a mortgage. 

The goal of this chapter is to describe the 

players and some of the basic mortgage products 

currently available.  

Before the financial crisis, the mortgage 

lending landscape was very different from how 

it is now. There were literally hundreds of 

different mortgage products available to 

consumers, many of which are no longer offered. 

New mortgage lending regulations have 

effectively banned products with excessive fees 

and risky features (such as interest-only loans). 

Additionally, the lender is now required to 

verify your ability to repay the mortgage loan. 

Mortgage Loan Originators (MLOs), and the 

companies they work for, must be properly 

licensed or registered with the Nationwide 

Mortgage Licensing System (NMLS). The 

NMLS provides access to its lender database, 

allowing consumers to check on mortgage 

lenders and MLOs, and to file complaints. 

Mortgage products are presently available 

through two main channels: 

Financial Institutions 

Banks, Credit Unions, Savings Banks and 

Savings & Loans 

Non-bank Lenders 

Independent Mortgage Brokers  

and Private Mortgage Companies 

Only NMLS licensed or registered MLOs are 

allowed to take applications and to negotiate the 

terms of a mortgage loan. If an MLO is 

employed by a financial institution, they must 

be registered with NMLS. MLOs employed by 

non-bank lenders or mortgage brokers are 

required to be licensed and tested. 

Types of Mortgage Loans 

• Conventional Loan: This type of loan is by 

far the most common and most popular type 

of mortgage loan. Conventional loan rates 

can be either fixed or adjustable, with terms 

ranging from 10 to 30 years. These loans are 

underwritten to guidelines established by 

two government-controlled entities, Fannie 

Mae and Freddie Mac, which purchase 

mortgage loans from lenders. The minimum 

down payment on a conventional loan is 

around 5%, with a maximum 28% front and 

43% back ratio. These loans are risk priced, 

so higher FICO scores will result in a lower 

APR (annual percentage rate). Down 

payments of less than 20% on a 

conventional loan require private mortgage 

insurance (PMI). 

• Federal Housing Authority (FHA) 

Loans: FHA loans can have either fixed or 

adjustable interest rates, and terms ranging 

from 10 to 30 years. The FHA does not 

purchase loans, rather it provides a 

government guarantee to investors if a 

borrower defaults. This type of loan is very 

popular with first-time homebuyers, as it 

allows low down payments (around 3%). The 

FHA does not formally require a minimum 

FICO score, however a score of 580 is 

considered a base. Maximum ratios on FHA 

loans are 31% front and 43% back. FHA 

loans are priced about the same as 

conventional mortgage loans, but the 

mortgage insurance is more expensive than 

conventional PMI (resulting in higher 

APRs). 

 

Chapter 3 

Shopping for a Mortgage & Choosing a Lender 
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You can receive a much lower interest rate by shopping around for your loan. To show how much 

you can save in the long run, sample loans with two different interest rates are given below. Notice 

the difference in interest paid over the 30 years of the mortgage. 

Example 1: These consumers did not comparison shop, and quickly found a loan with an APR of 

5.75%. This is a 30-year mortgage with a 20% down payment ($30,000), with $120,000 financed. 

Interest Rate: 5.75%       Term: 30 years       

Total of Payments: $252,101.75       Monthly Payment: $700.29 

Loan Payoff Date: August 2045 Interest Paid: $132,104.40    

Example 2: These consumers did their homework, and found a loan with an APR of 4.87%. All of 

the other terms are the same as the previous example. 

Interest Rate: 4.87%       Term: 30 years 

Total of Payments: $228,486.86       Monthly Payment: $634.69    

Loan Payoff Date: August 2045 Interest Paid: $108,486.86   

TOTAL SAVINGS: $23,000 

Note Rate vs. 

Annual Percentage Rate (APR) 

 

Regulation Z (interpreting the Truth in 

Lending Act) requires that both the interest/

note rate and APR be displayed in consumer 

credit advertising. The APR is the “true cost 

of credit,” with all prepaid charges and (in the 

case of mortgages) mortgage points calculated 

into that percentage. Much like comparison 

shopping for an item (ketchup, lobster, 

potatoes) using unit or per pound pricing, 

APR is the simplest way to compare mortgage 

products. 

Advance Fee Loan Scams and 

Other Phony Lenders 

“Too good to be true” offers of $5,000-$10,000 

or more in low APR loans in exchange for 

three or more upfront monthly payments are 

always scams. Advance fee loans are illegal in 

the U.S. and Canada 

 

Don’t wire funds to unknown lenders you find 

on the Internet. Check with us at the Bureau 

of Consumer Credit Protection  (1-800-332-

8529) to find out whether a lender has the 

necessary license. 
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• United States Department of 

Agriculture (USDA) Rural Development 

Loans: Only fixed-rate 30-year terms are 

available on USDA Rural Development 

loans. The USDA does not purchase loans. 

Like the FHA, it provides a government 

guarantee to investors if a borrower 

defaults. Rural development loans are for 

first-time homebuyers only; to qualify, 

properties must be located in areas defined 

as “rural” by the USDA, and the income 

level of the applicant cannot exceed USDA 

guidelines. Current USDA guidelines do not 

require a down payment from the borrower, 

and allow for maximum ratios of 31% front 

and 43% back; USDA rural development 

loans require minimum FICO scores of 

around 580. There is no monthly mortgage 

insurance required on USDA loans, however 

a guarantee fee is due at closing. This fee 

can be rolled into the loan amount, making 

out-of-pocket costs very low. APRs for USDA 

loans are generally lower than for 

conventional loans. 

• D e p a r t m e n t  o f  V e t e r a n s 

Administration (VA) Loans: VA loans are 

offered to veterans, active service duty 

members, the National Guard, reserve 

members and eligible surviving spouses. 

These loans are available with both fixed 

and adjustable interest rates, and terms 

ranging from 10 to 30 years. VA loans are 

guaranteed by the government, and do not 

require down payments or mortgage 

insurance. Debt-to-income ratios on VA 

loans are calculated using different 

methods, however 41% is commonly the 

maximum back ration used.. A so-called 

funding fee is due to the VA at closing, and 

represents about 2% of the loan amount. 

• Maine State Housing Authority (MSHA) 

Loans: The Maine State Housing Authority 

has a “First Home Program.” This program 

provides low fixed-rate mortgages to people 

who have not owned homes in the last three 

years. Although income limits apply, most 

Maine households are eligible for the First 

Home Program. MSHA loans require a 

minimum FICO score of 640, and maximum 

debt-to-income ratios of 29% front and 41% 

back.  

• Jumbo Loans: A mortgage loan that 

exceeds the conventional loan limit 

established by Fannie Mae and Freddie Mac 

is considered to be a jumbo loan. Presently, 

the conventional loan limit is $417,000. 

Larger down payment requirements are 

typical with jumbo loans, along with 

significant cash reserves required after 

closing. Maximum debt-to-income ratios on 

Jumbo loans are typically the same as those 

on conventional loans while, currently, the 

interest rates for jumbo loans are below 

those of conventional loans. 

Mortgage lending is a highly competitive area of 

finance. Lenders are motivated to get your 

business and will compete for it, so do not be 

afraid to shop around for the best rates and 

terms. However, be careful during this process 

because excessive credit bureau inquiries by 

lenders or brokers may negatively affect your 

credit score. 

Mortgage Points 

A mortgage point is a fee equal to 1% of the mortgage amount. Generally, the more points paid 

upfront, the lower the mortgage interest rate will be. Borrowers planning to stay in their home for 

many years may want to consider “buying down” their interest rate by paying points. Potential 

homebuyers who anticipate only a short stay in their new home should avoid points, as they will 

not be able to quickly recover point fees through lower interest payments. For an example of how 

mortgage points work, see page 11. 



 

11 

MORTGAGE POINT COST COMPARISON  

How Long Does it Take to Recover the Mortgage Points Paid? 

The chart below provides evidence that it takes a number of years (7 in this example) 

before the upfront points that the borrower pays yield an overall net savings (finance 

charge reduction minus mortgage points) for the consumer. 

The moral of this story? Buying  down (reducing) a mortgage’s note/interest rate 

makes sense for those homeowners who plan to remain in their homes, with their 

original mortgage, for an extended period of time. 

$100,000 Financed—30 Year Term 

 5.00%  Note Rate; 2 Points 

($2,000.000 Paid Upfront)  
Finance 

Charge 

Savings to 

Date 

5.27%  Note Rate; 0 Points 

($0.00)  

 Yearly Interest 

Paid 

Running 

Total 

Yearly Interest 

Paid 

Running 

Total 

Year 1 $5,216.39 $5,216.39 $4,966.50 $4,966.50 $249.89 

Year 2 $5,140.56 $10,356.95 $4,891.01 $9,590.51 $766.44 

Year 3 $5,060.65 $15,417.60 $4,811.67 $14,402.18 $1,015.42 

Year 4 $4,976.44 $20,394.04 $4,728.24 $19,130.42 $1,263.62 

Year 5 $4,887.69 $25.281.73 $4,640.59 $23,771.01 $1,510.72 

Year 6 $4,797.19 $30,078.57 $4,548.42 $28,319.43 $1,759.49 

Year 7 $4,695.65 $34,774.57 $4,451.59 $32,771.02 $2,003.55 

Break Even Point: 7 Years 
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When buying a home, consumers almost 

always choose to go through a licensed real 

estate professional. Real estate licensees will 

show you houses and  help you find one that is 

right for you. These professionals are usually 

well-versed in real estate in your area, and will 

offer insights into the homes that you are 

looking at. Remember, in most cases real estate 

licensees represent the sellers of these homes. 

They are being paid with money from the 

purchase of a property, so they have a vested 

interest in trying to sell it. For this reason you 

need to exercise sound judgment when working 

with real estate licensees. Select a home that 

you and your budget can afford. 

There are also real estate agents called 

buyer’s agents who can help represent you, 

the buyer. A buyer’s agent may be able to show 

you more properties (and give a more rounded 

view of individual properties), but, like real 

estate licensees, many buyer’s agents depend on 

money from the home being sold (some buyer’s 

agent contracts require compensation from only 

you, the buyer). Since buyer’s agents are often 

paid by commission, the more expensive the 

home, the greater their compensation. As such, 

you will want to exercise common-sense when 

using a buyer’s agent. A buyer’s agent 

represents you; take advantage of their 

knowledge, but remember to personally 

evaluate the costs of every home you look at.  

Seller’s Disclosure 

Maine Law requires the party selling a 

home to provide the buyer with a form detailing 

many important aspects of the home and land. 

This is an extremely important document to 

read, as it will tell you any major problems that 

a house might have. The form must describe the 

water system that is used (e.g., a well or town 

water), the heating system, waste disposal 

systems, and any hazardous materials (such as 

asbestos) found in the house. The seller must 

disclose known defects in any of the home’s 

systems and must describe any other known 

problems with the house. Keep in mind that 

while the seller is required to disclose 

everything that they know about, they may not 

be aware of some of the problems that a house 

might have.  

Purchase and Sale Contract 

Once you have decided on the house you 

want, you will need to make a contract with the 

owner of the property to ensure that no one else 

will purchase it. The purchase and sales 

contract will list a lot of important information 

about the pending transaction, including the 

final sale price and the conditions that would 

allow either party to cancel the sale. There are 

often addendums that may require the seller to 

pay some of the closing costs or to include 

furniture with the sale of the house.  

The final sale price is subject to several 

important contingencies. If one of the 

contingencies (such as a title search) shows 

something that negatively affects the value of 

the house (such as a mechanic’s lien recorded 

against the property), the contingency will allow 

you to back out of the transaction. There are 

also often appraisal contingencies (e.g., if the 

Chapter 4 

Purchasing Your Home 

The State of Maine’s Real Estate 

Commission oversees the activities, 

licensing, and conduct of real estate 

professionals operating in Maine.  

If you have any questions or concerns, 

they can be reached at: 

1-207-624-8524 
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house is appraised at a lower value than what is 

agreed upon, the price may be lowered or you 

may be able to void the transaction) and 

inspection contingencies (e.g., if the inspection 

finds a pest infestation, the seller may agree to 

either lower the price or fix the problem). There 

can also be financing contingencies (such as if 

you, the buyer, cannot secure financing after a 

good faith effort, you can get out of the deal). 

The only effective contingencies are the ones 

that are written into the contract, so read the 

document carefully before you sign it. 

Once you have decided on a home, you will 

likely need to make a cash deposit. This earnest 

money deposit is cash that you put down, 

usually as a check, that will need to be verified 

by the lender. It often ranges from $500 to 5% of 

the house’s value and, if you follow through with 

the purchase, the funds will be applied to either 

your down payment or to closing costs.  

Except for express written contingencies or 

conditions, a purchase and sales contract is 

binding. If you enter into it without one of the 

contingencies being breached it may be 

expensive or impossible to get out of the 

contract. At a minimum, you may lose your cash 

deposit. 

Home Inspections 

We strongly recommend that you have a 

professional inspect the home from attic to 

cellar. A home inspector will likely be far more 

qualified than you are to determine the 

condition of your potential home. While 

inspections may add extra costs to purchasing a 

home, they are extremely important.  Unlike 

real estate licensees and buyer’s agents, home 

inspectors do not benefit from the sale of a 

house, so you know they are working for you. An 

inspector may find that the home is in perfect 

condition and needs nothing apart from a few 

minor fixes. If this is the case, it may be a good 

house for you to buy. If the inspector find 

something wrong with the property, and if you 

have made the sale contingent on the results of 

the inspection, you can renegotiate a better 

price or ask the seller to pay for the repairs.  

The process of finding your home is an 

important one. Do your research as a consumer. 

Listen to the real estate licensees, buyer’s 

agents, and inspectors that you hire. Make an 

informed decision about your purchase. You are 

about to spend a significant amount of time and 

money on this property; make sure that the 

home you pick now  is the right one for you for 

many years to come. 

 

Were you aware? 

The word mortgage comes from the  

French words mort and gage, which mean 

“death” and “pledge,” respectively. If the 

borrow fails to fulfill their pledge by not 

paying the mortgage, the property is taken 

from them and is “dead” to them. If the 

borrower fulfills their pledge by paying the 

mortgage, the pledge is dead to the mort-

gagee! 
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Whom Do I Pay? 

A number of lenders will close your 

mortgage locally (at a title company, bank or 

credit union) and then sell your mortgage and 

its servicing to an out-of-state entity. Some 

Maine community banks, savings banks and 

credit unions hold those loans in portfolio, 

accept payments, and answer your servicing 

questions locally. Other Maine financial 

institutions may close your mortgage locally, 

then sell the mortgage while keeping the 

servicing (receiving payments) local.  

For many Mainers, being able to make their 

payments locally, and visiting a loan 

department staffer face-to-face, are important 

factors in deciding where to apply for a 

mortgage. If “staying local” is important to you, 

ask where you will be making your payments if 

you apply to and are approved with a specific 

lender. 

Amortization 

Amortization is how your monthly payment 

is distributed between interest and principal 

(balance reduction) through the life of your 

mortgage loan. For the first several years of 

your payment schedule, most of each payment 

will go toward paying off interest. However, as 

the years go on more and more of each payment 

will be applied to the principal. Toward the end 

of your repayment period most of each payment 

will go to principal, and only a small portion to 

interest.  

 

 

 

 

With most home loans, any mortgage 

payment amount made in excess of the required 

amount is applied as a direct principal (loan 

balance) reduction. If your monthly or bi-

weekly mortgage payment is $777.00, then if 

you’re financially able, pay $800.00. If it’s 

$926.00, pay $950.00; if it’s $459.00, pay 

$500.00!  Down the road you’ll be surprised to 

find that you have paid your mortgage off 

months or years early! 

Chapter 5 

Post-Closing: Keeping Your Property, Your Property 

Regular or Periodic Mortgage  

Over-Payments 

For those financially able, consider this great 

mortgage reduction strategy… 

ROUND UP! 



 

16 

Bi-Weekly Mortgages 

A bi-weekly mortgage is a mortgage where 

once every 14 days (2 weeks), you make one-half 

(1/2) of your monthly payment. With 52 weeks 

in a year, that’s 26 half-payments, or 13 full 

payments each calendar year. Because you are 

paying the equivalent of the extra month’s 

payment each year, a 30-year bi-weekly 

mortgage will be paid off in about 25 years, a 20

-year mortgage in about 17 years, and so on. If 

you can afford to make one extra mortgage 

payment each year, this may be a viable option 

for you. 

HELOCs (Home Equity Lines of Credit) 

Home equity lines of credit allow consumers 

to access a revolving line of credit (secured by 

their house) which draws down all or part 

(depending on the lender’s program) of the 

equity in their homes. Once approved, 

consumers can access this line of credit though 

special paper checks or electronic access devices 

to pay for items such as home repairs or 

remodeling, children’s college expenses, debt 

consolidation (credit cards, car loans, etc.), 

vehicle purchases, and even personal 

entertainment. The larger the balance owed, the 

greater the monthly payments. 

HELOCs generally feature adjustable rates, 

and will be renewed periodically as the lender 

evaluates the borrower’s financial position. In 

most cases, interest is deductible. Check with 

your tax professional for more information on 

interest deductibility.  

People who overuse HELOCs to fund 

lifestyles above their financial means are often 

faced with large debt in addition to the amount 

owed on their first mortgages. Some find 

themselves struggling in a “negative equity” 

position (i.e., they owe more on their home that 

the house is worth).  

The Maine Bureau of Consumer Credit 

Protection operates the Maine Foreclosure 

Hotline, and we hear from many distressed 

Maine homeowners at risk of, or on the brink of, 

foreclosure. Some callers tell us they now regret 

how they used, or misused, their home equity 

lines of credit: 

• “If I had to do it over again, I would have 

gone easier on credit cards, vacations and 

vehicles I really could not afford…and would 

have definitely not taken out a home equity 

line of credit to pay off my credit card 

balances and the remainder of the truck 

loan.  My mortgage payments are several 

months delinquent, and my house is on the 

line.” 

• “Treating my home like a piggy bank, and 

taking the equity out (through a home 

equity loan) was a big financial mistake.  I 

used the money to help my kids.  If I lose my 

house, I may have to move in with them.”  

• “A decade ago I planned to pay off my 

mortgage a few years before my retirement; 

now, because of overdoing it with my home 

equity line of credit, I may be forced to work 

a part-time job until my 80th birthday to pay 

that thing (HELOC) off.”  

Cash-Out Mortgage Refinancing 

A reoccurring theme heard by staffers on 

our regulatory agency’s Foreclosure Prevention 

Hotline (1-888-664-2569) is the many regrets 

that long-time homeowners have about multiple 

refinances in which they drew equity (cash) 

from their home.  Consumers who have lived in 

their homes 15, 20, or even 30 years report they 

are now facing an “equity crisis,” in which the 

value of their home is equal to or less than their 

mortgage balances.   

A cash-out refinance is essentially a lump-

sum second mortgage, in which some or all of 

the available equity in the home is paid to the 

consumer in cash (a bank check). Borrowers 

who originally purchased their home when they 

were in their mid to late 30s, and who had good 
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intentions of being mortgage-free prior to 

retirement, could face the reality of being 5 to 

10 years from retirement with essentially 80% 

or more of the value to their mortgage balance 

still to be paid back, with interest!  The collapse 

of home values starting in 2008 certainly 

exacerbated this situation, placing some middle-

aged borrowers in a negative or “upside down” 

equity position in which the value of their 

homes were less than their mortgage balances. 

Reverse Mortgages 

The  Federal Housing Administration’s 

(FHA’s) Home Equity Conversion Mortgage 

(HECM), more commonly referred to as the  

“reverse mortgage,” has features different from 

those of a standard loan. Instead of making 

monthly payments to a lender, homeowners 

receive payments from a servicer. These 

payments are based on several factors, 

including the homeowner’s age and the equity 

position of their home.  Consumers can receive a 

lump sum payment, or a line of credit and then 

monthly payments similar to an annuity until 

the line of credit reaches $0.  

Reverse mortgages do not have to be paid back 

until the borrowers die, vacate their home, or 

fail to meet all conditions required by the terms 

of the reverse mortgage contract. Reverse 

mortgage borrowers are responsible for paying 

property taxes, homeowner’s insurance, and all 

utility bills. 

Federal law requires potential reverse 

mortgage holders to complete counseling before 

agreeing to a Home Equity Conversion 

Mortgage. During this counseling session, 

consumers are advised of the fees and other 

costs associated with reverse mortgage 

products. Ideally, reverse mortgages allow 

seniors to remain in their homes and draw down 

their equity in order to meet their financial 

needs when their retirement income is not 

sufficient to maintain home ownership. 

To locate a HECM counselor, 

contact the U.S. Department of 

Housing and Urban Development at  

1-800-569-4287 

General Qualifying Criteria  

for Reverse Mortgages 

• The borrower or borrowers must be age 

62 or older 

• The home must be owned “free and 

clear” or have a mortgage balance 

which can be paid with the reverse 

mortgage proceeds 

• The borrower must live at the residence 

• The residence must be either a single 

family home, or a 2-4 unit home with 

one of those units occupied by the 

borrower. 

The National Council on Aging offers free 

information on reverse mortgages, including 

a downloadable booklet called  

“Use Your Home to Stay at Home.” 

To contact the National Council on Aging, call: 

1-800-510-0301 
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There are a variety of laws designed to protect 

you from some of the problems that could occur 

during the mortgage process, and to provide 

guidance (and recourse) if things go wrong. 

Knowing the laws that are designed to help you, 

as a consumer, can make trying times easier to 

handle. 

Federal Laws 

• Equal Credit Opportunity Act (ECOA): 

The Equal Credit Opportunity Act prohibits 

creditors from discriminating against 

applicants on the basis of race, color, sex, 

marital status, national origin, receipt of 

income from a government benefit program, 

disability or religion. 

• Fair Credit Reporting Act (FCRA): The 

Fair Credit Reporting Act allows consumers 

to correct errors on their credit reports, and 

to acquire a credit report from each of the 

three major credit reporting agencies credit, 

for free, every 12 months. 

• Fair Housing Act: The Fair Housing Act 

protects consumers against housing-related 

discrimination. 

• Real Estate Settlement Procedures Act 

(RESPA): The Real Estate Settlement 

Procedures Act prohibits kickbacks and 

referral fees on 

closing costs 

t h a t  m a k e 

closing more 

expensive for 

loan applicants. 

This act also 

requires that 

consumers receive a Good Faith Estimate 

(GFE). A Good Faith Estimate gives 

consumers a basic outline of what they will 

be paying for settlement costs associated 

with the loan they are getting. 

• Truth in Lending Act (TILA): The Truth 

in Lending Act requires lenders to fully 

disclose all the costs of the loan including 

the APR (annual percentage rate), the total 

finance charge, the monthly payment 

amount, the term (length) of the loan, and 

whether or not the interest rate can change. 

• Secure and Fair Enforcement for 

Mortgage Licensing Act (SAFE Act): 

The SAFE Act established a national 

mortgage licensing database (NMLS), 

requiring that mortgage loan originators 

become trained, qualified and licensed to do 

their jobs. 

Maine Laws 
(applicable to lenders subject to Maine law) 

• Joint Regulation 119/250: Joint 

Regulation 119/250 established standards 

for what the State of Maine calls 

“alternative mortgages”. Alternative 

mortgages are home loans in which the 

interest rate is not fixed (i.e., adjustable 

rate loans and interest-only loans). 

This regulation affects several key aspects 

of these mortgages, the most important of 

which are as follows: 

➢ Joint Regulation 119/250 explains what 

index can be used for determining 

interest rates. It must be an “index that 

is verifiable by the borrower, beyond 

Chapter 6 

Know Your Rights: 

Maine State and Federal Laws Designed for You 
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the control of the creditor and which 

shall be specified in the loan 

documents.” This prevents lenders from 

simply raising interest rates on their 

own. 

➢ This rule limits how frequently the 

interest rate can change. Interest rates 

on basic adjustable rate loans cannot 

change more often than quarterly. For 

more complex alternative mortgages 

the maximum frequency of change is 

yearly. This rule is also intended to 

keep interest rates and the payments 

dependent on them from changing 

unpredictably. 

➢ Joint Regulation 119/250 dictates  

when rate changes are optional, and 

when they are mandatory. For example, 

changes in rates are limited by a cap. 

When the index rises, the lender is 

allowed to raise rates by that amount 

(as long as it does not exceed the cap). 

When the index rate falls by more than 

¼ of 1%, the lender is required to lower 

the interest rate by the amount the 

index has decreased. 

➢ This rule prohibits prepayment 

penalties on adjustable rate mortgages. 

“A creditor or financial institution must 

allow borrowers to prepay in whole or 

in part without penalty at any time.” 

Fixed rate mortgages can contain 

prepayment penalties, if the lender has 

made the proper 

disclosures to the 

consumer. 

For the full text of  

Joint Regulation 

119/250 visit:  

http://www.maine.gov/

pfr/financialinstitutions/

regulations/reg19.htm 

 

• Maine Consumer Credit Code, Title 9-A: 

Title 9-A contains a wealth of consumer 

protections. One chapter is entirely devoted to 

home loans, and several other chapters have 

sections that affect lending practices. Many of 

these laws are designed to give consumers 

protections and rights that federal laws do not 

offer. Title 9-A provides a wide range of 

important protections and remedies for 

potential and current homeowners. Title 9-A 

includes: 

➢ Supervision of mortgage lenders: 

The State of Maine requires that all non

-bank mortgage lenders (“supervised 

lenders”) be licensed by the State before 

offering financing to Maine residents. 

Title 9-A, §2-302  

➢ Delinquency Charges: A consumer 

cannot be charged more than 5% of the 

monthly principal and interest payment 

for being delinquent on a loan. A late fee 

may be assessed only after a payment is 

15 days late. Title 9-A, § 2-502. 

➢ Right to Prepay: Maine consumers are 

allowed to prepay their loans, in part or 

in full, at any time. There may be 

charges associated with this 

prepayment, however the charges must 

be “reasonable”. Title 9-A, § 2-509. 

➢ Consumer’s Choice of Attorney: In 

Maine, consumers have the right to 

“choose their own attorney” to perform 

real estate title work. The lender can 

still decide who will handle the loan 

closing. Title 9-A, § 3-311 and § 9-303. 

➢ Copy of Real Estate Appraisal: If the 

lender orders an appraisal of a property 

to be done at the consumer’s expense, 

the lender must provide a copy of that 

appraisal to the consumer upon closing. 

The consumer has 90 days from the 

closing (or the date the loan was 

http://www.maine.gov/pfr/financialinstitutions/regulations/reg19.htm
http://www.maine.gov/pfr/financialinstitutions/regulations/reg19.htm
http://www.maine.gov/pfr/financialinstitutions/regulations/reg19.htm
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declined) to request a copy. Title 9-A, § 3

-313 and § 9-309.  

➢ Brokered Loans Rules: The Consumer 

Credit Code also requires that, if a loan is 

brokered, the broker must provide the 

borrower with two separate forms.  

The first is the written disclosure. This 

document must be given to the consumer 

before any papers are signed or any 

money is paid. The written disclosure 

must show the consumer that the loan 

broker has a surety bond on file with the 

Bureau of Consumer Credit Protection; 

that all fees paid to the broker must go 

into an escrow account; and that a 

written, signed agreement must be 

entered into between both parties. Title 9-

A, § 10-303.  

The second item, known as a broker 

contract, must accurately disclose the 

how much the broker is being paid for 

their services and provide a description of 

those services. Title 9-A, § 10-302. 

For the full text of the Maine Consumer 

Credit Code, visit:  

http://www.mainelegislature.org/legis/statutes/9

-a/title9-A.pdf. 

• Fair Credit Reporting Act: Many of the 

provisions of Maine’s Fair Credit Reporting 

Act are the same as the federal version of 

the law; however, Maine law does contain a 

few exceptions that offer greater protections 

than the federal law. Maine’s Fair Credit 

Reporting Act states that if a Maine 

consumer’s application for a loan is denied, 

the lender must provide the consumer with 

a copy of the “merged report” used by the 

lender. A merged report is the most detailed 

report that lenders use to judge consumer’s 

credit Title 10, chapter 210, § 1320 (2-C).  

For the full text of Maine’s Fair Credit 

Reporting Act, visit: 

 http://www.mainelegislature.org/legis/

statutes/10/title10ch210sec0.html.  

• An Act to Preserve Home Ownership 

and Stabilize the Economy by 

Preventing Unnecessary Foreclosure: 

This Maine law can make a huge difference 

if a home goes into foreclosure. It was 

enacted after the subprime mortgage 

collapse in 2008 and provides trained 

counselors to consumers facing foreclosure. 

If the homeowners find themselves in court, 

the law allows borrowers to request a 

mediation session to try to work out a deal 

that could keep them in their home.  

The mediation addresses options such as 

restructuring and loan modification. The 

Bureau of Consumer Credit Protection is in 

charge of the pre-foreclosure counseling 

portion of this program, while the judicial 

branch operates court-sponsored mediation 

sessions.  

For the full text of An Act to Preserve 

Home Ownership and Stabilize the 

Economy by Preventing Unnecessary 

Foreclosure, visit:  

http://www.mainelegislature.org/legis/bills/

bills_124th/chapters/PUBLIC402.asp.  

 

 

 

For more information about Maine’s 

Foreclosure Prevention Program visit:  

http://www.maine.gov/pfr/consumercredit/

foreclosure_resources.html  

Call Toll Free:  

1-888-NO-4-CLŌZ (1-888-664-2569) 

http://www.mainelegislature.org/legis/statutes/9-a/title9-A.pdf.
http://www.mainelegislature.org/legis/statutes/9-a/title9-A.pdf.
http://www.mainelegislature.org/legis/statutes/10/title10ch210sec0.html.
http://www.mainelegislature.org/legis/statutes/10/title10ch210sec0.html.
http://www.mainelegislature.org/legis/bills/bills_124th/chapters/PUBLIC402.asp.
http://www.mainelegislature.org/legis/bills/bills_124th/chapters/PUBLIC402.asp.
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Maine’s Foreclosure Process 

After the Borrower Misses a 

Payment, the Lender  Sends a 

Notice of Deficiency and Right 

to Cure 

Bureau of Consumer 

Credit Protection (BCCP)   

is Notified and Sends an 

Info Packet 

Consumer Receives 

BCCP Info Packet 

The Consumer Calls  

1-888-NO-4-CLŌZ   

for Intake and Referral to Free, 

In-State Housing Counselor 

The Housing Counselor Works 

with the Consumer and the 

Lender to Find a Mutually 

Agreeable Arrangement 

Loan Modification or 

Account Brought 

Current 

Short Sale or  

Deed in Lieu 

Consumer Keeps 

Home 

Consumer Loses 

Home 

The Lender Initiates a 

Foreclosure Action 

Court-sponsored 

Mediation 

Judgment and 

Redemption Period 

The Consumer is 

Referred to Counselor 

via Outside Source 
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Ability-to-Repay (ATR):  An analysis of the borrower’s 

ability to repay a mortgage loan using monthly debt-to-

income ratios and other methods to ensure that applicant is 

able to repay the debt.  New federal statues will require 

lenders to perform ability-to-repay calculations on most 

mortgage loans.  See Debt-to-Income Ratios. 

 

Accrued Interest:  Interest earned by the lender that has 

not been paid by the borrower.   

 

Adjustable Rate Mortgage (ARM):  A type of mortgage 

loan that can have its interest rate change annually after an 

introductory fixed rate period of usually three, five or seven 

years.  The interest rate for an ARM is determined by 

adding a margin to an index such as LIBOR.  Renewal caps 

establish the minimum and maximum range of rates over 

the life of the loan.  The frequency of change, index, margin 

and caps are described in the promissory note. 

 

Amortization: The liquidation of a debt by installment 

payments. 

 

Annual Percentage Rate (APR): The total cost of credit 

expressed as a yearly percentage rate.  The APR includes 

non-interest charges such as fees and points.    

 

Annual/Lifetime Interest Rate Caps (on ARMs): See 

Adjustable Rate Mortgage. 

 

Application Fee:  An upfront fee some lenders may charge 

for accepting and processing your mortgage application.  

 

Back-End Ratio: See Debt-to-Income Ratios. 

 

Balloon Payment:  A non-amortizing mortgage with a 

large payment due at maturity.   

 

Broker:   A person or company that arranges financing for 

borrowers and receives compensation for that service.  

Mortgage brokers do not lend their own funds; they deliver 

loans to mortgage lenders or banks for funding.  Brokers are 

required to be registered with the NMLS and licensed by the 

State of Maine. 

 

Cap: See Adjustable Rate Mortgage 

 

CFPB: The Consumer Financial Protection Bureau (CFPB) 

is a new federal agency tasked with providing protection to 

consumers who purchase financial products.  The CFPB was 

established by the Dodd-Frank Act in response to the 

financial crisis that led to the Great Recession. 

 

Closed-end Loan:  A loan in which 100% of the total loan 

proceeds are disbursed at loan closing as opposed to 

multiple disbursements over time.   

 

Closing Costs:  All of the fees and charges necessary to 

close a mortgage loan excluding the down payment and 

funds required to establish escrow accounts.  The lender is 

required to deliver a good-faith-estimate (GFE) of the 

closing costs no later than three days after receipt of a 

completed application.  

  

Collateral:  An asset pledged as security for a loan. 

 

Commitment Letter:  An official letter generated by the 

lender that offers mortgage financing to the loan applicant.  

The loan terms and conditions required to close the loan are 

described along with the commitment letter expiration date.  

Unlike a pre-approval letter, the commitment letter is a 

contract that obligates the lender to provide mortgage 

financing if the applicant meets all of the stipulated 

conditions before the expiration date.  

 

Construction Loan:  A construction loan is an “open-

ended” line of credit used for the build-out phase of new 

home.  Multiple disbursements take place as the home is 

constructed, a final large payment is due at maturity or the 

line of credit is automatically converted into a closed-end 

mortgage loan.  

 

Conventional Mortgage:  Mortgage loans that are not 

insured or guaranteed by a government agency are 

considered conventional loans. Fannie Mae, Freddie Mac 

and most portfolio mortgage loans are conventional loans. 

 

Credit Bureau: See Credit Reporting Agency. 

 

Credit Life Insurance: This coverage (for a premium/fee) 

pays off the mortgage in the event of the death of an insured 

borrower. 

 

Credit Reporting Agencies: Any person or company that 

engages in the practice of assembling or evaluating 

consumer credit information or other information on 

consumers for the purpose of furnishing consumer reports to 

third parties.  The three largest agencies are Equifax, 

Experian and TransUnion.   

 

Debt-to-Income Ratios:  A fractional number used by 

lenders to gauge mortgage risk by dividing monthly debts by 

monthly income.  Lenders use two types of ratios:  the front-

end-ratio includes the total housing payment of principal, 

interest, taxes and insurance, the back-end-ratio includes all 

other debt including the total housing payment.  

Conventional loans have maximum front-end-ratios of 

approximately 28% and maximum back-end-ratios of about 

43%. 

 

Deed:  A deed is a legal instrument evidencing details of 

property ownership, or the transfer of ownership, of 

property.  A warranty deed is a type of deed that provides a 

guarantee to the buyer that the seller has the right to 

transfer ownership. 

 

Deed in Lieu (of Foreclosure):  A deed instrument in 

which the debtor conveys all interest in the mortgaged 

property to the lender in order to avoid the standard 

foreclosure process.  A deed in lieu of foreclosure will have 

the same negative effect on a borrower’s credit as a standard 

foreclosure.   

 

Delinquency: When a loan payment is made after the 

scheduled payment date, it is considered delinquent.  Maine 

law provides a grace period of 15 days before a lender may 

charge a late fee or delinquency charge.   

Glossary of Mortgage Terms 
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Down Payment:  The fractional difference measured as a 

percentage between the loan proceeds and the sales price 

that the borrower contributes to a transaction.  A larger 

down payment made by a borrower lowers the lenders risk.   

 

Earnest Money Deposit:  A cash payment provided by the 

buyer made payable to the seller that demonstrates a good 

faith willingness to proceed with the transaction.  The 

earnest money deposit is held in escrow and is credited as a 

portion of the buyers’ down payment at closing.   

 

Equal Credit Opportunity Act (ECOA): The ECOA is a 

federal statute that outlaws credit discrimination on the 

basis of: race, color, religion, national origin, gender, marital 

status or age (provided the applicant has the ability to 

legally enter into a contract). This act also prohibits 

discrimination based on the fact that all or part of the 

applicant’s income derives from a public assistance program.   

 

Equity:  The owners’ net value of a property less the 

liabilities owed.  A property with negative-equity has more 

debt owed than its value.  See Loan-to-Value Ratio (LTV). 

 

Escrow Account:  An account established by the lender to 

ensure that real estate tax and insurance billings are paid 

in a timely manner.   Escrow accounts are mandatory for 

loans with high LTV ratios and may be established by 

lenders at any point by virtue of the mortgage agreement.   

 

Fannie Mae (FNMA):  Founded in 1938 during the Great 

Depression, the Federal National Mortgage Association 

(FNMA) is a government-sponsored enterprise (GSE) that 

has been under conservatorship by the US government since 

September 2008.  Fannie Mae provides a guarantee of 

timely payment to investors who purchase securities 

collateralized with loans underwritten to FNMA’s 

standards.  FNMA is currently the largest mortgage lender 

in the United States. 

 

FHA Mortgage:  The Federal Housing Administration 

(FHA) is a US government agency that is part of the 

Department of Housing and Urban Development (HUD).  

The FHA is not a lender but instead provides mortgage 

insurance on loans made by approved lenders underwritten 

according to FHA guidelines.   

 

FICO:  The Fair Issac Corporation (FICO), a publicly traded 

analytical firm hired by credit reporting agencies and 

lenders to gauge the credit risk of loan applicants.  FICO 

uses a highly advanced proprietary algorithm to assign a 

credit score that ranges between 300 and 850 points. 

 

Finance Charge:  The total cost of credit including interest 

and fees, but not charges incurred in a comparable cash 

transaction.   

 

Forbearance Agreement:  A negotiated act of restraint by 

the lender to refrain from foreclosure in exchange for an 

agreement with the borrower to bring the debt current. 

 

Foreclosure:  The legal process of obtaining and selling a 

mortgaged property to recover the unpaid debt owed to the 

lender following default of the note by the borrower.  

 

Freddie Mac (FHLMC):  Founded in 1970 to provide 

competition for FNMA, the Federal Home Loan Mortgage 

Corporation (FHLMC) is a government-sponsored enterprise 

(GSE) that has been under conservatorship by the US 

government since September 2008.  Freddie Mac provides a 

guarantee of timely payment to investors who purchase 

securities collateralized with loans underwritten to Freddie 

Mac’s standards. Freddie Mac is currently the second 

largest mortgage lender in the United States. 

 

Front-end ratio:  see Debt-to-Income Ratios. 

 

Ginnie Mae:  Founded in 1968 as a government 

corporation, the Government National Mortgage 

Corporation (GNMA) is the only entity that provides a “full 

faith and credit” guaranty of payment by the US 

government.   GNMA guarantees FHA and VA loans.  

 

Good Faith Estimate (GFE):  The Real Estate Settlement 

Procedures Act (RESPA) requires that lenders provide this 

form to the consumer no later than three days after receipt 

of a completed mortgage application, the GFE provides the 

consumer with an estimate of loan terms and closing costs 

that allows the consumer to compare charges between 

lenders. 

 

GSE:  GSE is the acronym for Government Sponsored 

Enterprise.  See Fannie Mae and Freddie Mac. 

 

Grace Period: A period of time between the monthly 

payment due date and the date by which a late fee may be 

assessed.  Maine law provides a grace period of 15 days 

before a creditor may charge a late fee.  

 

HECM:  Home Equity Conversion Mortgage.  See Reverse 

Mortgage. 

 

Home Equity Line of Credit (HELOC):  A type of open-

ended line of credit loan that allows a borrower to control 

multiple disbursements of principal over a finite period of 

time referred to as the draw period.  After the drawn period 

has expired, the HELOC will require amortized payments of 

principal and interest, usually a 10-year term.   

 

Home Equity:  See Equity. 

 

HUD-1 Settlement Statement:   Housing and Urban 

Development Form-1, a standard form required by the Real 

Estate Settlement Procedures Act (RESPA) that details all 

of the costs associated with a mortgage loan transaction or 

refinance.  RESPA requires that the HUD-1 be provided 24 

hours prior to closing.  The good-faith-estimate of closing 

costs (GFE) must closely mirror the HUD-1.  See Good 

Faith Estimate (GFE). 

 

Index:   see Adjustable Rate Mortgage (APR). 

 

Late Fee:   A fee imposed by lenders that is a percentage of 

the monthly principal and interest payment, 5% for 

conventional loans and 4% for government insured loans.  

See Grace Period. 

 

LIBOR:  The London Interbank Offered Rate (LIBOR) is an 

average of interest rates offered between the leading banks 

of London.  LIBOR is the most commonly used index for 

adjustable rate mortgages in the US.  See Adjustable Rate 

Mortgage (ARM). 
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Lien:  A form of security interest granted over property to 

secure the repayment of debt.   Lien literally means, “to 

bind.” 

 

Line of Credit (LOC):  See Home Equity Line of Credit 

(HELOC). 

 

Loan Servicer:  A company that collects a consumer’s 

monthly payment and forwards the principal and interest to 

the holder of the mortgage note.  The servicer collects and 

forwards escrow payments.  The right to service a mortgage 

loan is often sold by lenders soon after closing.  RESPA 

requires that lenders provide a Servicing Disclosure 

Statement disclosing the probability that loan servicing will 

be sold. 

 

Loan-to-value Ratio (LTV): The total amount of the loan 

divided by the value (or sales price) of the collateral 

measured as a percentage.  The lower the LTV, the lower 

the risk for the lender.  Mortgage loans with higher LTVs 

will have higher APR’s. 

 

Manufactured Home: A home constructed in an assembly 

facility and delivered to a home site. 

 

Margin:  see Adjustable Rate Mortgage. 

 

MERS:  Mortgage Electronic Registration System, MERS is 

a private corporation that owns an electronic registry that is 

intended to efficiently track the ownership of mortgage 

loans and servicing rights between lenders.  Most Fannie 

Mae and Freddie Mac mortgage loans have MERS named as 

their nominee. 

 

Mortgage: A mortgage is a type of a “security instrument,” 

the word mortgage literally means death-pledge.  The 

mortgage is a contract between the mortgagor (borrower) 

and the mortgagee (lender) that secures a promissory note.  

The mortgage is actually given by the borrower to the 

lender; it is a contract that stipulates what is being provided 

as collateral for the note and the responsibilities of the 

involved parties.  The mortgage describes lender remedies 

(foreclosure) in the event of borrower default.  Currently, 

the most common conventional mortgage document used in 

Maine is FNMA Form 3020. 

 

Mortgage Servicer: See Loan Servicer. 

  

Negative Amortization: When the scheduled monthly 

payment is not sufficient to satisfy the monthly accrued 

interest and reduce the principal balance negative 

amortization results in the form of a growing loan balance 

as opposed to a declining loan balance. 

 

Negative Equity: see Equity. 

 
Note: See Promissory Note. 

 

Odd Days Interest:  Mortgage loan payments are due on 

the first day of the month, since closings cannot always 

happen on the last day of the month; lenders require that 

borrowers pay the per-diem interest that will accrue 

between the closing date and the last day of the month.  Odd

-days interest is not an additional charge assessed by 

lenders. 

 

Origination Fee:  A fee charged by most lenders at closing 

to offset the costs of origination, the origination fee is 

commonly based on a percentage of the loan amount.  

 

Per Diem Interest:  The amount of interest accrued each 

day by the lender owed by the borrower.  Per Diem interest 

is calculated by multiplying the principal balance of the loan 

by the interest rate and dividing the result by either 360 or 

365 depending on the accrual method. 

 

Points:  Points are a form of pre-paid interest that results 

in a discount of the interest rate.  One point equals one 

percent of the loan amount.  Points must be included in the 

APR. 

 

Portfolio Mortgage Loan:  A mortgage loan that retained 

by the lender as opposed to being sold on the secondary 

market to investors. 

 

Principal Balance:  The total non-interest amount owed 

on a loan. 

 

Private Mortgage Insurance (PMI):  Insurance payable 

to the lender after borrower default following foreclosure.  

PMI is required when the LTV is above 80%.  PMI insurance 

premiums are priced according risk, the LTV and FICO 

score are the main factors.  PMI charges must be included in 

the APR. 

 

 

Promissory Note:  A promissory note is a financial 

instrument evidencing the creation of debt.  The “maker” of 

the note is the borrower; the “payee” is the creditor.  The 

maker promises timely repayment to the creditor based on 

the terms and conditions specified in the note such as the 

principal amount of the loan, the interest rate, the monthly 

payment and the term (maturity date).  The mortgage acts 

as security for the note.  Currently the most common note 

used in Maine is FNMA Form 3220. 

 

Qualified Mortgage (QM):  A new type of mortgage loan 

that is underwritten to standards required by the Dodd-

Frank Act and rules established by the CFPB.  QM 

mortgages rules are intended to eliminate the risky lending 

practices that lead to the Great Recession and to provide 

consumers with increased affordability.  

 

Rate Lock: An agreement between the lender and the 

borrower that locks a mortgage rate for a fixed period of 

time.  Lock periods typically range from 15 to 90 days.  

Lenders may charge a lock fee, the longer the lock period the 

higher the fee.  A loan that is not locked is considered 

“floating.” 

 

Ratios:  See Debt-to-Income Ratios. 

 

Refinance:  The process by which a borrower replaces their 

current mortgage financing with new financing.  In a cash-

out refinance the borrower converts equity into cash. 

 

Real Estate Settlement Act (RESPA): The Real Estate 

Settlement Procedures Act of 1974 is a federal law requiring 

creditors, real estate professionals and mortgage servicers to 

provide consumers with greater and more timely 

information on the nature and costs of the real estate 

settlement process.  RESPA bans referral fees and 

kickbacks between real estate professionals and requires the 

use of the HUD-1 Settlement Statement and the GFE. 
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Reverse Mortgage:  A program in which homeowners 62 

or older receive funds in exchange for equity in their home.   

 

Right of Rescission:  A consumer right provided by the 

Truth-in-Lending Act that allows borrowers a three-day 

cooling off period during which they are able to rescind 

(cancel) a loan transaction. 

 

Secondary Market:   A financial market whereby lenders 

pool individual mortgages into mortgage backed securities 

for sale to large investors. 

 

Settlement Costs: The total costs associated with buying 

or refinancing including appraisal and escrows. 

 

Settlement Cost Booklet:  A booklet provided by the 

CFPB Department of Housing and which includes detailed 

descriptions of the home-buying process and real estate 

settlement services.   

 

Short Sale:  The sale of a mortgaged property that required 

negotiation with the lender due to negative owner equity.   

 

Tax transcripts:  A record of tax filings provided by the 

IRS used by lenders to verify income disclosed on a 

mortgage application.  IRS form 4506 authorizes the release 

of borrower tax records.  A record of a potential borrower’s 

reported income and expenses for the last two years.  

During the mortgage approval process most lenders require 

a tax transcript from the IRS.   

 

Title Insurance: Insurance designed to protect the lender 

and/or owner from loss related to a title defect on the 

property. 

 

Title Search:  An examination of public records performed 

by an attorney or a title agent to research the history of 

ownership, restrictions and events of real property.  

 

Truth in Lending Act (TILA):  Enacted in 1968, the 

Truth-in-Lending Act is designed to promote the informed 

use of credit by requiring lenders to provide standardized 

forms disclosing the costs associated with borrowing.  

Lenders are required to provide a Truth-in-Lending 

Disclosure (TIL) at the point of application and prior to 

closing in order to document the true cost of credit.  See 

Annual Percentage Rate (APR) and Finance Charge. 

 

Underwriting:  A vital step in the processing of a mortgage 

loan request where a determination is made by either an 

underwriter, or a computer program, indicating that the 

loan request meets standards warranting approval.  

 

Verification Forms:  Forms required by the lender and 

completed by a third party to evidence information provided 

by an applicant:  

 

• Verification of Deposit (VOD): A form that may be 

sent by a lender to verify a potential borrower’s savings 

and the source of their down payment. Consumers 

should be ready to explain any large deposits; the 

lender will want to be sure that large deposits are not 

other loans that will need to be repaid.   

 

 

• Verification of employment (VOE): During the 

verification stage of the mortgage approval process 

lenders will verify a potential borrower’s employment 

to be sure that they work where they say that they 

work. A potential borrower should tell their employer’s 

HR department to expect this form so it can be 

completed quickly and returned to the loan processor.   

 

• Verification of Rent (VOR):  A form sent during the 

prequalification stage of the mortgage approval 

process. A rental verification form confirming a 

potential borrower’s monthly rental expenses, length of 

time at their current address, and whether rent 

payments have been made on time will be sent to the 

borrower’s landlord. The lender may be willing to 

accept copies of cancelled rent checks in lieu of the 

verification of rent form. 
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Publications 

 Downeaster Common Sense Guide to Student Loans (2012) 

A comprehensive guide for the prospective college student on the world of student loans. 

This book covers loan types (public and private), the FASFA process, words to the wise on 

how much debt is manageable per your choice of academic major, how to apply for 

scholarships and grants, and the rights of a student debtor in the collection process. 

 

 Downeaster Guide to Elder Financial Protection (2010) 

The definitive “how-to” book for Maine seniors who are interested in stopping unwanted 

telemarketing calls, pre-approved credit offers, and “junk mail.” This guide has sections on 

how to stop identity theft and how to protect yourself against elder financial exploitation as 

well as a lengthy listing of toll-free consumer protection numbers available specifically to 

help elderly clients. 

 

 Downeaster Guide: Consumer Credit 101 (2009) 

Gain an understanding of consumer credit through this booklet. Learn about credit reports 

and credit scores, auto buying and financing, responsible credit card usage, how to 

comparison shop for credit, and your rights in a debt collection action. 

 

 

 Downeaster Guide to Consumer Rights (2006) 

This guide provides an extensive listing of your rights in a variety of consumer 

transactions involving credit reports, debt collectors, mortgage companies, loan brokers, 

non-bank ATMs, and more! 

 

 

These guides are free to Maine residents. Out-of-state orders are $6.00 each, or at a 

volume discount of $4.00/copy on orders of 50 or more (shipping included). 

To order, call 1-800-332-8529 (in-state) or 1-207-624-8527 (outside of Maine). 



The Fannie Mae 1084 form: This form will help you calculate your income in the same way 

an underwriter might. This is an important part in determining what you can afford for a 

home, and can save you time and effort. 

www.fanniemae.com/content/guide_form/1084.pdf 

How to access your free credit report: You can get up to 3 reports/year, one from each 

company that takes part in the program (Equifax, Transunion, and Experian).  

To get your free credit report, you can either call 1-877-322-8228 or order them online at: 

www.AnnualCreditReport.com 

The NMLS database can help consumers determine whether or not a mortgage loan 

originator is actually legitimate and licensed.  

www.nmlsconsumeraccess.org/ 

 

There are many programs available to consumers to help in purchasing a home.  

To find information on these programs, visit: 

Maine State Housing Authority: www.mainehousing.org 

Veteran Affairs Loans: www.benefits.va.gov/homeloans 

USDA Loans: www.rurdev.usda.gov/ME_Housing.html 

FHA Loans: portal.hud.gov/hudportal/HUD?src=/federal_housing_administration 

  

Maine Bureau of Consumer Credit Protection 

Foreclosure Prevention Hotline: 1-888-NO-4-CLŌZ (1-888-664-2569) 

Toll Free Hotline (in Maine Only): 1-800-332-8529 — Office Number: 207-624-8527 

www.Credit.Maine.gov 

Consumer Tools 

https://www.fanniemae.com/content/guide_form/1084.pdf
https://www.annualcreditreport.com/
http://www.nmlsconsumeraccess.org/
http://www.benefits.va.gov/homeloans
http://www.rurdev.usda.gov/ME_Housing.html
portal.hud.gov/hudportal/HUD?src=/federal_housing_administration
http://www.Credit.Maine.gov


Consumer Resources   

Maine Bureau of Consumer Credit Protection  1-800-332-8529/ TTY Maine Relay 711 

Maine Bureau of Insurance  1-800-300-5000/ TTY Maine Relay 711 

Maine Bureau of Financial Institutions  1-800-965-5235/ TTY Maine Relay 711 

Maine Office of Securities  1-877-624-8551/ TTY Maine Relay 711 

Maine Office of Professional and Occupational Regulation, 

including these home-related boards:  

1-207-624-8603/ TTY Maine Relay 711 

• Plumbing 

• Electrical 

• Surveyors 

• Real Estate Commission 

• Real Estate Appraisers 

• Architects 

• Interior Designers 

• Manufactured Housing 

• Oil and Solid Fuel Technicians 

• Propane and Natural Gas Technicians  

Maine Office of the Attorney General  (Consumer Hotline) 1-800-436-2131/TTY 1-207-626-8865 

Finance Authority of Maine (FAME)  1-800-228-3734/TTY 1-207-626-2717 

Maine Public Utilities Commission  (Consumer Assistance Division) 1-800-452-4699/TTY 1-800-437-1220 

Maine State Housing Authority  (Maine Housing) 1-800-452-4668/TTY 1-800-452-4603 

United States Bankruptcy Courts—Maine   

 Portland 

 Bangor 

 207-780-3482/TTY 1-207-780-3656 

207-945-6348/TTY 1-207-945-0376 

Veterans Administration Loans / Veterans Affairs  1-800-729-5772 

Federal Housing Administration (FHA)  1-800-225-5342/TTY 1-202-708-1455 

U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development 1-202-708-1112/TTY 1-202-708-1455 

Rural Development  

Formerly the Farmers Home Administration (FMHA)  

1-800-414-1226 

Consumer Financial Protection Bureau (CFPB) 

A federal agency that regulates federally-chartered Banks  

1-855-411-2372/TTY 1-202-435-9742 

National Credit Union Administration (NCUA) 

A federal agency that regulates federally-chartered credit unions 

1-800-755-1030 

Federal Reserve Consumer Hotline 1-888-851-1920/TTY 1-877-766-8533 



NOTES 

This book is not intended to be a complete discussion of all statutes applicable to consumer credit. If 

you require further information, consider contacting our agency or an attorney for additional help. 
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