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The Maine Bureau of Consumer Credit Protection was established in 1975 to enforce many 

important consumer financial protection laws, including: 
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• -Truth-in-Lending Act 
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• -“Plain Language” Contract Law 
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laws; responds to consumer complaints and inquiries; and operates the state’s foreclosure 

assistance hotline and housing counselor referral program. The Bureau also conducts 

educational seminars and provides speakers to advise consumers and creditors of their legal 

rights and responsibilities. 
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Dear Maine Consumers: 

Credit applicants often feel confident about the future. They believe they will not only be able 

to repay the full amount borrowed for a house, automobile, college education, boat, or even a 

credit card charge, but that they can do so over time while paying interest! 

Lenders also exhibit confidence when granting a loan. Those in the mortgage field take security 

interests in homes—extending hundreds of thousands of dollars in credit to borrowers who 

may experience job changes and other economic “ups and downs” over a 15 to 30 year term. 

Auto lenders grant loans of shorter duration (typically 3-7 years), but on collateralized items 

that steadily depreciate in value. New vehicles often lose 50% or more of their original value in 

four or five years! Nearly all credit cards issued are unsecured loans, with no house to foreclose 

on or car or truck to repossess if payments are not made. 

The economies of both the United States and Maine depend to a large degree on consumer 

loans and credit sales. Consumers are able to defer payment for important items they are 

unable to pay for up front with cash. A vibrant Maine financial services industry, employing 

tens of thousands of Maine workers, depends on those obligations being paid back on time and 

as agreed! But what happens when loans become delinquent? 

Some creditors hire third-party debt collectors to seek repayment of consumer loans or other 

forms of debt that have become past-due. The activities and behavior of collection agencies are 

governed by the state and federal Fair Debt Collection Practices Acts, or FDCPAs. These laws 

establish how a debt collector conducts its business and grant specific rights to the borrowers 

and debtors. 

As authors of this guide, we hope the information presented helps you to better understand 

your rights and responsibilities when faced with debt collection. We designed this guide to 

present you with strategies to bring your account current again and help you to work 

constructively to resolve the debt with the original creditor, third-party collection agencies or 

debt buyers. 

Sincerely, 

David Leach, MPA 

Principal Examiner 

Arianna Castonguay 

Margaret Chase Smith Summer Intern, 2015 
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In the spring of 2017 the Internal Revenue Service (“IRS”) hired four private debt collectors 

to act as agents collecting long-overdue tax bills. A bill enacted by Congress and signed by 

President Obama in 2015 authorized this action.  

Debtors contacted multiple times by the IRS in the past will receive a “goodbye letter” from 

the IRS with a case file number. The letter announces the transfer of the collection effort to 

one of four collection agencies. These agencies are: 

CBE Group of Cedar Falls, Iowa 

Conserve of Fairpoint, New York 

Performant of Livermore, California 

Pioneer of Horseheads, New York 

Each of these agencies is currently licensed by the State of Maine Bureau of Consumer Credit 

Protection. After receiving the account, the collection agency will send a “hello letter” to the 

debtor. The hello letter contains the same case file number, and announces the agency is 

acting as an agent/contractor of the IRS, and is attempting to collect federal tax monies 

owed. Checks to these agencies should be made payable to “United States Treasury.”  

The IRS’s Treasury Inspector General for Tax Administration (TIGTA) has set up a hotline 

(1-800-366-4484) for consumers to place complaints against the collection practices of these 

private companies. Formal letters of complaint can be mailed to: 

Treasury Inspector General for Tax Administration 

PO Box 589 

Ben Franklin Station 

Washington, DC 20044-0589 

Scammers often try to steal money from taxpayers by informing callers they will be arrested, 

thrown in prison, or immediately taken to court if they don’t send funds. Scammers often ask 

for payments in the form of wire transfers, prepaid debit cards, iTunes cards, money orders 

or gift cards. They also try to obtain the victim’s Social Security number, date of birth, street 

address and banking information in order to steal the person’s identity and siphon money 

from their accounts. Don’t fall for this scam. The IRS will never require you immediately 

transfer funds. They will set up a series of communications, starting with a formal written 

notice that you owe federal taxes.  

 The Internal Revenue Service, 

Private Debt Collectors, And You 
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The federal government established the Fair 

Debt Collection Practices Act (“FDCPA”) in 

1977. This law was designed to end abusive, 

deceptive or unfair debt collection practices. 

It also encouraged individual states to protect 

consumers from abuses in debt collection. 

The Maine Legislature enacted a state version 

of the FDCPA in 1985. 

Communications From 

Debt Collectors 

Debt collectors cannot contact consumers at 

unusual times or places. Unusual times 

include calls placed before 8:00 AM or after 

9:00 PM. Collectors can call between these 

times all seven days of the week. If there are 

specific times you don’t want collectors to 

call you, notify the collector in writing. They 

must comply with your request. Keep in 

mind, communications from debt collectors 

cannot be at the consumer’s expense (e.g., 

charging for collect telephone calls).  

Debt collectors may communicate only with 

the debtor or certain third parties, including: 

• The consumer’s spouse; 

• The consumer’s attorney, executor, or 

administrator; 

• The creditor or the creditor’s attorney; 

• The debt collector’s attorney; and 

• If permitted by law, a consumer 

reporting agency. 

If the consumer is a minor, the collection 

agency may contact the debtor’s parents 

or guardians. You can give collection 

agencies permission to contact other parties 

not listed above. A court with jurisdiction 

can also authorize third-party contact. 

Sometimes, debt collectors cannot locate 

consumers. If that happens, the collector 

may ask a neighbor or relative for the 

borrower’s address, phone number and/or 

workplace. The caller must give their name, 

and state they are confirming or correcting 

information about the borrower’s location. 

The collector cannot disclose that the 

consumer owes a debt. The collector can 

only say they work for a collection agency if 

asked. Collectors can’t contact third parties 

more than once, unless the information they 

received was incorrect or the person asked to 

be contacted again.  

Debt collectors can contact you at work, 

unless your employer forbids such 

communications. If you send a written 

“cease” letter to the collector, they should 

stop calling you at work (see page 23 for a 

sample cease letter). Likewise, if your 

FDCPA Consumer Protections 

Words and phrases in bold are defined starting on page 18. 
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DEBT COLLECTION ETIQUETTE  

 

It’s important to remember that debt collectors are people too. Here are seven things to keep in 

mind when speaking with them. 

1. Be cautious when communicating with collectors. If you don’t know whether a debt is 

yours, don’t acknowledge responsibility for it. If you agree you owe the debt, it will be 

difficult to challenge the collector in the future - even if you present evidence you don’t 

owe the debt. If you are not sure you owe a debt, ask for written validation within 30 days 

of receiving of the collector’s first written communication. If they cannot confirm the debt 

is yours, the collection action should stop.  

2. Tell collectors the best times of the day to reach you, and what telephone number is best. If 

you prefer to communicate only through the mail, tell them. 

3. If calls to your workplace are not allowed, or if they could threaten your job, tell the 

collector. It’s a violation of the FDCPA for the collector to continue to contact you at work 

after being told to stop. Follow up in writing to secure your right to stop collection calls to 

your place of employment.  

4. Be polite and work with the debt collector. Keep the lines of communication open 

and always return calls, even if you are unable to pay that day, week or month. If you owe 

this debt, work to repay it in as short a period of time as your budget will allow. Offering 

$5.00 per month on a $1,000.00 debt won’t cut it. It would take more than 16 years to repay 

the loan! Negotiating a payment of $200 per month, if you can afford it, stands a much 

better chance of acceptance.  

5. Only make promises you can keep, and keep your promises! If you set up a series of 

payment dates, do your best to follow through. Emergencies can occur. If possible, inform 

the collector in advance if special circumstances arise.  

6. You have a right to refuse to send postdated checks to the collector. Postdated checks are 

rarely a good idea. If you chose to pay with checks, only send one at a time! 
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employer tells a collector not to contact you 

at work, the collector should stop. If the 

collection agency knows you have hired an 

attorney, the collector can contact you only 

through that attorney (unless your attorney 

agrees to allow direct communication). The 

collector may still contact you directly if the 

attorney doesn’t respond to them, or if they 

need the attorney’s contact information.  

Debt collectors cannot communicate with 

consumers using postcards. Envelopes sent 

by debt collectors cannot display symbols or 

writing indicating the letter is from a 

collector, or that the enclosed letter is about 

a debt. 

Ceasing Communication 

You have the right to tell debt collectors to 

stop contacting you. To do so, send your 

request—in writing—to the collection 

agency. Stopping communication is rarely the 

best solution. It may free up your telephone 

line, but it won’t wipe out your debt. 

Stopping communication also limits the 

amount of information you will receive 

about the debt—including settlement offers. 

Once a collection agency receives your 

request, they can only contact you to tell you: 

• Their collection efforts have stopped and 

they are ending communications; or 

• They will (or may) take certain actions, 

such as sending the case to an attorney to 

collect the debt. 

Ceasing communication may increase the 

chance of a lawsuit. The debt collector could 

sell the debt to a different collection agency 

or send the file to an attorney. If a lawyer 

takes the case and obtains a judgment from 

the court, a judge may order you to pay the 

amount due. For more information on debt 

collection lawsuits, see page 6. 

Don’t let the threat of a lawsuit frighten you. 

There are times when the best approach is to 

tell the collector to stop communicating with 

you. If a debt collector calls excessively, uses 

profane language or makes threats, stop 

communication. If the collection agency is 

legitimate, the harassment should stop.  

Verifying Debts 

Creditors often sell debts to other 

companies. It can be hard to know for sure 

whether you owe a specific debt. If you think 

you might owe the debt, ask the collector to 

verify the debt. You have the right to dispute 

debts and request verification within 30 days 

of receiving the first written notice of the 

debt from a collection agency. Until the 

collection agency sends proof you owe the 

debt, it must stop its collection efforts.  

The first written communications from debt 

collectors must include: 

• The amount of the debt; 

• Whom the consumer owes the debt to; 

• Notification that the consumer has thirty 

days from receiving the notice to dispute 

the debt; 

• Notification the collector will verify the 

debt if it receives a request in writing; 

and 
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• Notification that if the consumer 

requests the name and address of the 

original creditor within thirty 

days, they will provide that 

information*. 

If the debt collector doesn’t provide this 

information in their first written 

communication, it is their responsibility to 

send written validation of the debt to you 

(unless you pay the debt within five days of 

receiving the communication). 

Harassment or Abusive Practices 

The FDCPA prohibits harassment and 

verbal abuse by debt collectors. Before 

Congress enacted the FDCPA, some 

collectors harassed consumers—pressuring 

them to pay off debts. Under current law, 

collectors can’t threaten violence. They can’t 

threaten to harm a person’s reputation or 

property, and they can’t threaten to harm 

third parties (e.g., family members or co-

workers). Debt collectors are not allowed to 

swear or use profane language. Collectors 

are also not permitted to annoy, harass, or 

abuse people by calling incessantly, and they 

can’t speak to debtors without identifying 

themselves first. If you experience these 

practices, file a complaint with state 

regulators. 

Debt collectors can’t advertise the existence 

of debt to coerce consumers to repay debt. 

The FDCPA forbids them from publishing 

the names of consumers who have unpaid 

debts. They can, however, report debts to 

consumer reporting agencies (“credit 

bureaus”). 

False or Misleading 

Representations 

Debt collectors cannot use false, deceptive 

or misleading representations to collect 

debts. Collectors also can’t suggest they’re 

with the government. As such, collectors 

can’t distribute documents that appear to be 

“official” (e.g., appear to be approved by a 

court or government agency), unless the 

documents are, in fact, official documents. 

Debt collectors also can’t claim to be 

attorneys (unless the actually are) and can’t 

suggest they’re law enforcement.  

Sometimes collectors can claim to work for 

or with the government, such as when they 

are trying to collect unpaid taxes, child 

support, or are working with a check 

diversion program under contract with a 

district attorney. If a debt collector calls you 

and claims to work for the government, tell 

them to mail you the information in writing. 

Do some legwork and check them out on 

your own, before calling back. 

The FDCPA mandates truthful 

representation of debts. Debt collectors 

cannot misrepresent the character, the 

amount or legal status of debts. They are 

prohibited from lying about the payment 

*If you make this request or dispute any portion of the debt within thirty days from receipt of the notice, the 

collection agency must halt collection efforts until they mail the requested information to you or provide proof you 

owe the debt. 
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they’ll receive for collecting a debt, and can’t 

threaten actions which they have no 

intention of performing — including 

imprisoning debtors or seizing property, 

(unless they intend to go to court and take 

action that could result in the property being 

seized).  

Debt collectors are not allowed to tell 

consumers they will sell a debt to a third 

party, unless they actually intend to do so. 

They cannot claim the debtor committed a 

crime (unless the debtor did), disgrace the 

debtor using other conduct, or lie about the 

collection agency’s name. Collectors can’t 

threaten to repossess or disable property if 

the creditor does not intend to do so, or if 

the creditor doesn’t have a security interest in 

the property. They can’t threaten to 

communicate false credit information and 

can’t claim to work for a credit bureau, 

unless the collection agency they work for is 

a credit bureau.  

Unfair Practices 

Everyone has the right to receive fair and 

honest communications from debt 

collectors. Collectors can’t add interest, fees 

or other charges to debts, unless the original 

contract authorizes those charges (or the 

charges are otherwise permitted by law). To 

keep their dealings fair, debt collectors can’t 

accept checks postdated by more than five 

days, unless they notify the consumer, in 

writing, of the date they intend to deposit the 

check. The collector must send notice at least 

three days before the date of deposit. They 

cannot send the notice more than ten days 

before depositing the check. Debt collectors 

can’t use postdated checks as leverage—

threatening criminal prosecution for 

insufficient funds—and they can’t deposit 

(or threaten to deposit) postdated checks 

before the date written on the check. 

If a collector is trying to collect several debts from you, you 

can choose how your payments are applied. Debt collectors 

can’t apply payments to disputed accounts against your 

wishes.  
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If you owe money to a creditor and are 

behind on payments, there is a chance the 

creditor will sue to recover the debt. 

Lawsuits start when the creditor or collection 

agency files a complaint with the court, or 

when documentation is served on you. 

Collection lawyers can bring legal actions to 

collect debt, but must follow strict rules. 

Lawsuits to collect debts may only be filed in 

the judicial district in which the consumer 

lives (or the district where the contract 

creating the debt was signed). Lawyers 

cannot bring lawsuits to enforce security 

interests in real property—land, or property 

attached to land—outside the judicial district 

where the property is located.  

Getting served means you have received 

documents notifying you of a lawsuit and the 

grounds or basis of the claim against you. 

You are served when you (or someone “of 

suitable age and discretion”) are handed a 

copy of the summons and complaint. For 

Small Claims Court actions, notices are sent 

by mail. The complaint will list you as a 

defendant, along with any person who was a 

cosigner to the account. It will also state why 

the creditor is suing you and what the 

creditor wants out of the case. Usually, the 

creditor or collection agency will demand 

repayment of any money owed—plus 

interest. Some complaints also ask for legal 

fees. The summons notifies you of the 

lawsuit and what to do in response to it. You 

should always file a written answer to the 

complaint with the court. 

Usually, you have up to 20 days to file a 

written response to the lawsuit. Address your 

response to the court, and send a copy to the 

other side’s lawyer. The response is a formal 

legal document. You may want to hire a 

lawyer to help you. Your written answer 

must address each allegation against you 

detailed in the complaint. Be careful not to 

admit anything that you do not know for a 

fact to be true. It is vital to raise all possible 

defenses to the lawsuit (for example, that the 

debt is too old to be the subject of a lawsuit).  

Not responding to the complaint in time will 

most likely lead the creditor to ask the court 

to issue a default judgment. Even if you owe 

the debt, have no defenses and the amount 

requested by the creditor reflects what you 

owe, it’s still worthwhile to respond and 

begin communicating with the court. If you 

don’t respond, you lose the right to become 

an active participant. If possible, contact an 

attorney and take part in the process. 

Filing a written answer with the court does 

not end the lawsuit. It just moves your case 

to the next stage. The court will be near your 

home. If you decide to represent yourself, 

stay informed about all procedures and court 

dates relating to your lawsuit. If you don’t 

know what to do, hire a lawyer—preferably a 

Legal Rights Under the FDCPA 
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consumer rights lawyer. Call even if you have 

little money. You may be surprised how 

many lawyers will help you with unbundled 

services (i.e., you only pay for the help you 

need). The Maine State Bar Association’s 

Lawyer Referral Program 

(www.mainebar.org|1-800-860-1460) and 

Legal Services for the Elderly 

(www.mainelse.org|1-800-750-5353) may be 

able to provide legal help at a reduced cost. 

If you lose the case and the court grants 

judgment for the creditor, the creditor may 

collect on the judgment. Depending on the 

debt and your ability to pay, they may place a 

lien on real estate, seize personal property, or 

garnish part of your paycheck. If a debtor 

doesn’t have money or property to satisfy the 

debt, the judge may dismiss this “disclosure” 

phase of the case, but the creditor or 

collector can reopen the case six months later 

to determine if the debtor’s financial 

situation has improved. 

How Does Maine’s Statute of  

Limitations on Debt Work? 

Debt collectors and creditors have a window 

of time to sue debtors for the money and 

interest owed on financial accounts. This is 

the statute of limitations, and it varies state 

by state. For Maine consumer debt cases, the 

statute of limitations is usually six years from 

the time a debtor stopped making regular 

payments. Judges may decide to use the 

statute of limitations of the state where an 

account is held (e.g., where the company is 

located). This may result in a shorter statute 

of limitations. 

The statute of limitations helps protect 

people from claims brought after evidence of 

a debt has disappeared. Debts older than the 

statute limit times are often referred to as 

time-barred debts. If a debt collector sues 

you to collect a time-barred debt, let the 

court know the debt is time-barred in your 

written response to the complaint. It may 

result in dismissal of the suit. If you ignore 

notices because the debt is old, you might 

end up losing the case by default. Remember, 

debt doesn’t go away just because it goes past 

the statute of limitations! The debt collector 

may have lost the legal right to sue, but they 

can still contact you to collect on the debt.  

You may wonder when the clock on a debt 

starts to tick. It can vary, but it usually starts 

at the date of the last payment before the 

account became delinquent. Some state laws 

require an extra six-month window after the 

account becomes delinquent. Do not confuse 

the statute of limitations with the amount of 

time a debt may remain on your credit report. 

Bankruptcy, for example, will remain on your 

credit report for 10 years regardless of other 

factors, including statute of limitations. 

Beware of creditors or collectors trying to re-

age old debts. They may tell you that because 

you made a small payment, a debt that was 

beyond the statute of limitations has been 

renewed. However, Maine law states that  

acknowledging a debt or making a payment 

does not renew the debt. 
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What Can You Do if a Debt Collector 

Violates the FDCPA? 

If a debt collector has violated the law, you 

may have the option of suing the collector in 

state or federal court. To win such a lawsuit, 

the consumer needs to prove the debt 

collector violated the FDCPA. If the judge 

rules for the consumer, damages will be 

awarded. Most people who bring actions 

against debt collectors in court are 

represented by an attorney. If you plan to 

pursue a civil lawsuit, you will likely want to 

hire (or at least consult) an attorney 

beforehand. Some debt-related lawsuits take 

years to resolve. 

If you don’t want to hire an attorney, you 

may still have the option of going to small 

claims court. These courts allow consumers 

to argue their case without an attorney 

representing them. It is a much faster 

process than other types of courts; however, 

these courts hear only limited types of cases. 

In Maine, small claims court cases cannot 

involve claims of more than $6,000. Small 

claims court usually involves a single hearing 

at which the parties argue their cases to the 

judge. Hearings are generally held no more 

than two months after the consumer files a 

court document to begin the case. The judge 

may make a decision on the spot or mail the 

parties the ruling later. 

The Federal Trade Commission (“FTC”) 

oversees the FDCPA. The FTC monitors 

debt collector actions and ensures that the 

FDCPA is not violated. If you choose to do 

so, you can file a complaint with the FTC. 

An online complaint form is available at 

www.ftccomplaintassistant.gov. Consumers 

may also contact the Consumer Financial 

Protection Bureau (“CFPB”). The CFPB 

accepts consumer complaints, working with 

the consumer and collector to find a 

solution. You can submit an online 

complaint with the CFPB at 

www.consumerfinance.gov/complaint. If a 

collector is violating the federal FDCPA, 

they’re probably also violating state law. The 

Bureau of Consumer Credit Protection 

administers the Maine FDCPA. You can file 

a complaint on our website 

(www.credit.maine.gov) or call us toll-free at 

1-800-332-8529. 

Damages for FDCPA Violations 

The FDCPA provides a range of damages 

for successful FDCPA lawsuits. What the 

court awards in civil damages depends on the 

situation. Some damages are solved with a 

monetary award to the victim. 

• Damages for Physical Distress: 

Sometimes debtors suffer physical 

damage from the debt collection process 

(e.g., stress-related heart problems). For 

symptoms to be allowed as evidence of 

harm in court, a licensed medical 

professional must document them. If 

there is a provable link between the 

debtor’s symptoms and the violations of 

the FDCPA, the debtor may be able to 

recover the costs of treatment and 

related damages from the collector. 
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• Damages for Emotional Distress: 

Verbal harassment and relentless calls can 

be a source of stress for debtors. 

Collection calls to a debtor’s friends and 

family can be an embarrassing invasion 

of privacy. All these things might affect 

one’s emotional well-being and damage a 

debtor’s relationships. Document every 

occurrence and discuss the situation with 

an FDCPA attorney. The debt collector 

may be held liable for causing distress. 

• Lost Wages Recovered: Some debtors 

face problems at their workplace when 

collectors call, disrupting their work. If a 

debt collector violates the FDCPA by 

calling a debtor’s employer and causing 

the debtor to lose work, the debtor may 

be able to recover lost wages. 

• Wage Garnishment Recovery: If a debt 

collector violated the FDCPA by 

garnishing a consumer’s salary without 

the authority to do so, the debtor may be 

able to recover those funds. 

• Statutory Damages of $1,000: The 

FDCPA allows a consumer to recover up 

to $1,000 from a creditor above other 

monetary compensation for physical and 

emotional distress, lost wages, and the 

like. This $1,000 is per lawsuit, not per 

violation. The law states that a consumer 

can receive up to $1,000, meaning the 

amount awarded could be less. This 

compensation can be awarded if the 

consumer proves that the debt collector 

violated the FDCPA. It doesn’t matter if 

the violation caused harm. 

• Attorney Fees and Costs Recovered: 

In cases where a debtor proves an 

FDCPA violation occurred, the court 

must allow recovery of reasonable 

attorney fees and costs. 

Courts can also provide injunctive relief—

ordering the debt collector to stop certain 

activities. Injunctive relief may include 

ordering the collector to cease all 

communication by telephone or ordering the 

collector to stop sending collection letters to 

the debtor. 

Family members, co-workers, neighbors and 

other people burdened by a debt collector’s 

communications may also sue the collector. 

As with any FDCPA claim, these people 

need to prove that the collector violated the 

FDCPA and they suffered damages from 

that violation. 

What Does it Mean When an 

Account is Charged Off ? 

A charge-off occurs when a creditor declares 

it will no longer attempt to collect a debt. It 

deems the account “uncollectible” and writes 

it off. However, even if a creditor charges-off 

your debt, you still owe the debt. Creditors 

may also sell bad debt to a debt buyer, to 

collect on it or package it for sale to another 

agency. 

Charge-offs may remain on a credit report 

for seven years, even if you paid the account 

in full. If you pay the account, the status will 

reflect a “paid charge-off.” 
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Repossessions 

If a borrower falls behind on a vehicle loan 

payment, the vehicle may be repossessed. 

The vehicle is collateral on the loan. If you 

don’t make your payments, the creditor can 

seize it and sell it to recover part of their loss. 

Ten days after missing a payment, the 

creditor may send the borrower a “notice of 

right to cure.” This notice states the amount 

needed to “cure” the default, and the last 

date for payment without repercussions. A 

notice of right to cure remains active for 12 

months from the date it was sent. If the 

borrower defaults again during that period, 

the creditor can repossess the vehicle without 

providing a new notice. A notice is 

considered delivered on the third day after it 

was sent in the mail. Debt collectors do not 

rely on certified letters, just proof of mailing. 

After receiving a notice of right to cure, the 

borrower has 14 days (minimum) to pay the 

amount due in addition to delinquency 

charges imposed by the creditor. When that 

time is up, the creditor has the authority to 

repossess the borrower’s vehicle. 

To repossess a vehicle legally, the 

repossession must occur without the use of 

force or breach of peace. After the 

repossession, the repo company must notify 

the consumer of where they can retrieve 

items that were inside the vehicle. The 

creditor may keep items attached to the 

vehicle (e.g., roof racks or stereos). 

After repossessing a vehicle, the creditor may 

sell it. You have the right to “redeem” your 

vehicle at any point before the sale occurs by 

paying the balance owed on your loan, plus 

reasonable expenses incurred by the creditor. 

If you want to get the vehicle back, act fast 

and communicate with the creditor. If you 

paid 60% or more of the cash price of the 

vehicle toward the loan, the creditor must 

sell the vehicle within 90 days. If you paid 

less than 60%, the creditor can propose to 

keep the collateral (in writing). You can 

Repossessions, Foreclosures 

and More  

“Some debts are fun when you are acquiring them, 

but none are fun when you set on retiring them.” 

-Ogden Nash  
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either consent or object to the proposal. If 

you object, you can force the creditor to sell 

the vehicle. 

A creditor planning to sell a repossessed 

vehicle must give the debtor reasonable 

notice of the time and place the vehicle will 

be publicly sold, or the date after which the 

vehicle will be sold at private auction. The 

vehicle’s sale must be commercially 

reasonable. A low auction price may be an 

indicator of, but not proof of, 

unreasonableness under the Uniform 

Commercial Code (“UCC”). 

A creditor may use money from the sale of a 

repossessed vehicle to cover reasonable costs 

of the repossession (e.g., storage and 

preparation for sale) before applying the 

remaining funds to the consumer’s account. 

In Maine, if the initial amount financed on 

the vehicle was $2,800 or less, a creditor 

cannot come after the consumer for the 

unpaid balance. If the sale of the vehicle 

brings in more money than needed to pay off 

expenses and debts, the creditor must return 

the surplus to the consumer. If the initial 

loan was greater than $2,800 and the 

proceeds of the sale do not pay off the debt 

and expenses, the consumer is still 

responsible for the remaining balance. 
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Foreclosures 

Foreclosure is a court process that allows a 

lender to take possession of a debtor’s home, 

selling it to pay off the consumer’s debts. In 

2009 the Maine Legislature enacted a law 

titled “An Act to Preserve Home Ownership 

and Stabilize the Economy by Preventing 

Unnecessary Foreclosure.” This law helps 

consumers facing foreclosure by providing 

trained housing counselors to help people 

save their homes. 

After a consumer misses one or more 

mortgage payments, the lender sends a 

notice of deficiency and right to cure to 

the consumer. The lender also notifies the 

Bureau of Consumer Credit Protection. The 

Bureau then mails an informational letter to 

the consumer. The consumer has the option 

to call the Bureau at 1-888-NO-4-CLŌZ (1-

888-664-2569) for referral to a counselor, or 

to contact a counselor directly using the 

information provided in the letter. Services 

are provided at no cost to the homeowner. 

A housing counselor works with the 

consumer and the lender to find a mutually 

agreeable arrangement. The consumer can 

usually stay in their home if they bring the 

account current or both parties agree to the 

terms of a loan modification. Under such 

agreements, a consumer usually makes 

reduced payments during a trial period. If the 

trial period is successful, the creditor should 

dismiss the pending foreclosure. If the 

consumer can’t afford to stay in the home 

under modified payments, the counselor can 

help negotiate other outcomes. Even though 

the consumer may leave the property under a 

“short sale” or “deed in lieu,” it will be on 

their own schedule. If pre-foreclosure 

negotiations are not productive, the lender 

may file a foreclosure action in court. The 

homeowner should file a written answer or 

response with the court. The paperwork 

served on the homeowner will include the 

correct form and an envelope. 

If the case ends up in court, the homeowner 

can request mediation through a program 

run by the judicial system. If the consumer is 

already working with a housing counselor, 

the counselor may help the consumer 

prepare for mediation. A consumer requests 

mediation by filing a written response. A 

mediator will listen to both sides and make a 

recommendation to the court. If you can’t 

afford to keep the house, the mediation is a 

good time to explore alternatives. 

If the homeowner loses the case and the 

court grants judgment to the lender, the 

homeowner has a 90-day redemption period. 

If they pay off the mortgage in full during 

these 90 days, they may keep the home. 

Once the redemption period expires, the 

lender has the right to evict them. 

It’s important for consumers to take an 

active role in the process. If you have access 

to legal help, use it. If not, call our office to 

have a counselor assigned. The goal of the 

program is to make sure you are treated fairly 

and to offer a modification if you can afford 

a reasonable repayment plan. 
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 Garnishments and Judgments 

A judgment is the official decision of a 

court at the completion of a lawsuit. When a 

civil suit relates to debt, the judgment will 

state how much the borrower owes. If the 

consumer is unable to pay off their debt, the 

judge may rule to enforce the judgment 

through orders to pay a certain amount 

weekly or monthly, or “turn- over” orders 

for personal property or bank accounts. 

Judges will not order consumers to pay 

amounts they cannot afford. If you owe 

money and can’t pay it, go to the court and 

explain why you can’t pay (e.g., loss of 

employment or emergency medical 

expenses). If you are directed to go to court 

for a disclosure hearing and you fail to 

appear, that may be viewed as contempt of 

court, which can have serious 

consequences—including jail time. 

When wages are garnished, a creditor 

deducts money from a debtor’s paycheck. 

Garnishment is most often used for 

delinquent taxes and back-owed child 

support. Wage garnishment can be 

embarrassing, since it requires involvement 

by the debtor’s employer. It’s a violation of 

law for an employer to discriminate against 

an employee due to wage garnishment. In 

normal civil cases, garnishment can’t occur 

unless the court orders a debtor to make 

regular payments to a creditor and debtor 

fails to do so. 

If you’re facing a court action, contact an 

attorney to discuss options before the 

situation escalates. Be proactive. Don’t avoid 

the problem and don’t miss scheduled court 

dates. Even if judgment has been granted, 

provide information to the creditor and the 

court if you can’t afford to pay the debt. 

Title III of the federal Consumer Credit 

Protection Act limits the amount of money 

that can be garnished from a consumer’s 

paycheck. Deductions the employee is legally 

required to pay (i.e., taxes, unemployment 

insurance, Social Security payments) are 

protected from garnishment. However, 

deductions not required by law (i.e., health 

insurance or union dues) are not protected. 

Federal law limits the amount of money that 

may be garnished per pay period to 25% of a 

debtor’s disposable earnings or the amount 

by which the debtor’s disposable earnings are 

greater than 30 times the federal minimum 

wage—whichever is lower. This limit applies 

regardless of how many garnishment orders 

an employer receives. If an employee nets 

$600 a week, under the 25% formula, the 

maximum garnishment would be $150 ($600 

x .25 = $150 ). Using the minimum wage 

formula, the maximum garnishment amount 

is $382.50 ($600 - 30 x $7.25 = $382.5). Since 

the lesser amount is used for the maximum 

garnishment, the garnishment amount could 

be up to $150. These formulas do not apply 

to child support orders. 

Maine law is more protective than federal law 

on wage garnishment. In Maine, the most 

that can be garnished from a consumer’s 

wages is 25% of the debtor’s disposable 

earnings, or the amount by which the 

debtor’s weekly disposable earnings exceed 

40 times the federal hourly minimum wage - 

whichever is lower. 
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Most creditors can’t get a garnishment order 

until they have obtained a court judgment 

stating that a debtor owed them money. 

There are a few exceptions to this rule. 

Wages can be garnished without a court 

judgment for unpaid income taxes, court 

ordered child support, child support arrears 

and defaulted guaranteed student loans. 

Non-wage garnishment, taking funds from a 

consumer’s bank account, can also occur. If a 

debtor is not employed but has money on 

deposit, the debtor’s bank account can be 

frozen and tapped into by the creditor. This 

sometimes occurs when a debtor owes 

money to state or federal government. The 

government does not need a court order to 

take your money. Separating exempt and 

nonexempt funds and unfreezing a bank 

account can take weeks or months, leaving 

the debtor with no access to saved money 

during that period. 

Liens 

Some debts are secured (i.e., when a creditor 

holds a legal interest in something of value, 

called collateral, belonging to the consumer 

that can be sold to pay off the consumer’s 

debt). Others are unsecured (i.e., when the 

creditor doesn’t hold an interest in property 

to ensure the borrower repays a debt). 

Secured creditors have a wider range of 

remedies available to them than unsecured 

creditors if a consumer defaults. 

A real estate lien is a document filed with 

the Registry of Deeds. It prevents a debtor 

from selling specific property without first 

paying off a debt. Creditors can file liens 

against cars, office equipment or other 

personal property, as well as homes and land. 

In Maine, the Bureau of Motor Vehicles and 

the Secretary of State’s Uniform Commercial 

Code (“UCC”) division maintain records of 

liens. 

A consensual lien occurs when a consumer 

agrees to have a lien placed on personal 

property (e.g., a car loan) or real estate. If the 

borrower falls behind on payments, the 

creditor can repossess the vehicle. There are 

two types of consensual liens. In purchase-

money security interest liens a creditor 

extends credit to a consumer for the 

purchase of property which secures the debt. 

In non-purchase-money security liens the 

consumer volunteers property he or she 

already owns as collateral for a loan. 

Statutory liens enable creditors to access 

consumers’ assets to satisfy a debt. One type 

of statutory lien is a mechanic’s lien. 

Mechanic’s liens occur when a contractor or 

mechanic performs work on property and is 

not paid. If they file the correct paperwork, a 

lien will attach to the property and the owner 

will not be able to sell the property without 

satisfying the lien. 

Local, state or federal government can place 

tax liens. Tax liens may occur in connection 

with unpaid property taxes, delinquent 

income and estate taxes. 

Judicial liens are created when a court 

grants a creditor an interest in debtors’ 

property. Judgment liens can occur in a 

variety of circumstances. If you lose a civil 
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action in court, the court may order 

placement of a lien to ensure that the 

creditor gets paid. This happens at a 

disclosure hearing. At the hearing, the 

owing party must disclose any assets that 

could be used to pay the judgment. If the 

court determines that the debtor is able to 

pay, the judge can order garnishment of 

wages, seizure of bank accounts or 

placement of liens against the debtor’s 

property. Monetary judgments filed in the 

Registry of Deeds act as liens on all real 

property in a county, without a court order. 

A creditor cannot take everything you own 

to pay off a debt—the law allows certain 

exemptions. To learn about exemptions, talk 

to a lawyer, a legal aid clinic or a civil clerk 

at a courthouse. 

Bankruptcy 

Consumers facing serious debt problems 

may find filing for bankruptcy a necessary 

remedy. If the amount of debt is 

manageable, you should try to pay it off. 

Most consumers have access to two types of 

bankruptcy. In Chapter 7 bankruptcy, a 

bankruptcy trustee cancels many (or all) of a 

consumer’s debts. The trustee may 

liquidate (sell) some of the consumer’s 

property to repay their creditors. In 

Chapter 13 bankruptcy, the consumer 

keeps their property but pays back some or 

all of their debts over a three to five-year 

period. Only Chapter 13 bankruptcy can 

stop a mortgage foreclosure. Chapter 13 

bankruptcy allows debtors to catch up on 

missed payments over time while staying 

current on their regular monthly payments. 

Chapter 13 also protects nonexempt 

property from being seized. 

Information about Chapter 7 and Chapter 

13 bankruptcy remains on consumers’ credit 

reports for ten years. The damage done by 

filing for bankruptcy depends on the 

condition of a consumer’s credit. 

Consumers with poor credit aren’t likely to 

see significant drops in their credit scores. 

Consumers with good credit, however, may 

see their credit scores fall several hundred 

points. 

Bankruptcy is not a remedy for all financial 

issues. It doesn’t eliminate secured debts, 

and cannot prevent creditors from 

repossessing property. It will never remove 

child support or alimony obligations, and 

rarely erases student loan debt. Eliminating 

tax debt through bankruptcy is not simple. 

Filing for bankruptcy will not wipe out non-

dischargeable debts. If you file for Chapter 

7, these debts will remain when your case is 

over. If you file for Chapter 13, these debts 

will have to be paid in full during your 

repayment plan.  
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Have you gotten a call from a person saying 

you owe money and need to pay up on an 

account you don’t owe? If so, you may have 

been the victim of a debt collection scam. 

Since the summer of 2014, the Bureau of 

Consumer Credit Protection has gotten 

many reports from consumers about 

receiving these disturbing calls at their homes 

and workplaces. 

Debt collection scams often begin as online 

payday loans and other unlicensed short-

term credit products. Whether or not the 

consumer takes out a loan, collectors may 

call a few months later demanding 

repayment. The victim is often pressured to 

pay off the “debt” before it gets worse. The 

con artists are sometimes convincing enough 

to make consumers wonder if someone has 

taken out loans using their name. If the 

victim has outstanding debts, the collectors 

may inflate the amount owed, claiming 

interest and fees caused the loan’s principal 

to increase. Unlicensed debt collectors have 

no authority to collect money, even if the 

debt is legitimate. Here are a few tactics used 

by fake debt collectors: 

1. Threatening immediate arrest or service 

of court papers. 

2. Refusing to mail written validation of the 

debt. 

3. Harassment—sometimes calling a dozen 

or more times in one day or using 

profane and hostile language. 

4. Refusing to provide the company’s 

address, the caller’s direct dial number, 

and their supervisor’s name and phone 

number. 

5. Insisting that funds be “wired” through 

Western Union or MoneyGram, or 

demanding a prepaid debit/money 

transmission card and refusing to accept 

a mailed check. They sometimes ask for 

personal bank account information (e.g., 

routing number and/or account number) 

to illegally debit funds from the account. 

6. Refusing to provide a Maine debt 

collection license number, or saying they 

don’t need one to collect your debt. 

7. Contacting your friends, relatives or co-

workers, telling them of the existence of 

this “debt,” and claiming you are in 

serious trouble. 

Debt Collection Scams 
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Each of the above seven examples is a 

serious violation of the federal Fair Debt 

Collection Practices Act (FDCPA)—which 

can land debt collectors in trouble with 

regulators in both the state and federal 

government. 

Licensed collectors should: 

• Act politely and respectfully; 

• Offer to mail you evidence of debt if you 

ask for written validation; 

• Accept checks in payment of the debt; 

• Work with you in good faith to set up a 

reasonable repayment plan; and 

• Provide their address, telephone number, 

and Maine license number. 

Phony debt collectors do not care about the 

FDCPA, just like burglars doesn’t care if you 

have locks on your doors! Scam collectors 

bully consumers into wiring funds. Once 

wired, the money is gone. There is almost no 

chance of recovering it. Even worse, 

consumers who wire funds to pay non-

existent debts often have their names added 

to suckers lists. Scammer may sell these lists 

to other criminals, who call knowing you 

already caved and sent funds when pressured. 

Before sending money, call the Bureau of 

Consumer Credit Protection (1-800-332-

8529) to determine if a debt collector is 

licensed! 

 

 

 

Phantom Debts 

Phantom debts, a/k/a zombie debts, are 

old debts that have come back to haunt 

(presumed) debtors. Some phantom debts are 

based on actual debt: very old debts paid in 

full, settled for less than the full amount, or 

outstanding past Maine’s six-year statute of 

limitations on consumer debt. Other 

phantom debts are scams: phony collectors 

threatening or harassing people over debts 

that never existed. In some cases, phantom 

debts may be actual debts, but debts you do 

not owe. Examples might include debts 

incurred by relatives, previous residents of 

your home, or people with names similar to 

yours. 

If you’re contacted about a phantom debt, 

don’t disregard it out of hand. Ask the 

collector—in writing—to send you written 

validation of the debt from the original 

creditor. If you don’t owe it, don’t pay it. See 

also Statute of Limitations (pg. 7). 
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Accounts Receivables: Money owed to a business 

for merchandise or services sold. 

Accrued Interest: Interest that has accumulated since 

the most recent payment on a debt. 

Alimony: A court-ordered action related to financial 

support offered to another partner in a situation 

involving divorce or separation. 

Amortization: The liquidation of debt by installment 

payments 

Annual Percentage Rate (APR): The total cost of 

credit expressed in a yearly percentage rate. The APR 

includes non-interest charges such as fees and 

mortgage points. 

Arbitration: The resolution of debt involving a 3rd 

party. 

Automatic Stay: An injunction that stops lawsuits, 

garnishments and foreclosures on the date a 

bankruptcy petition is formally filed. 

Balloon Payment: A large payment due at maturity 

on a non-amortizing loan. 

Bankruptcy, Chapter 7: A federal court action 

allowing debtors to liquidate assets in order to satisfy 

creditors. 

Bankruptcy, Chapter 11: A federal court action 

allowing business debtors to attempt reorganization. 

Bankruptcy, Chapter 13: A federal court action 

allowing protecting some property from while debts 

are being reorganized. 

Capitalization (of Interest): The addition of unpaid 

interest to the principal balance of a loan. 

Cease Letter: A formal letter to a debt collector 

asking that collection contact be stopped. 

Charge-Off: An accounting practice in which a 

creditor declares that a debt is unlikely to be collected. 

Civil Action: A court action against a consumer. 

Closed-End Credit: Generally, credit extended in a 

specific amount for a specific purpose, to be repaid in 

installments over a specific period of time (e.g., a 

mortgage loan) 

Collateral: A borrower’s pledge of property in order 

to secure credit. 

Collection Agency: A third party entity that attempts 

to collect on a consumer debt. Collection agencies 

may act as the agent of the original creditor, or may 

own debt by purchasing it from another creditor. 

Commercially Reasonable Sale: The sale of a 

repossessed vehicle is considered commercially 

reasonable if the vehicle is auctioned or sold under 

normal circumstances in a recognized market. 

Compound Interest: Interest charged on both the 

principal balance of a loan and previously accrued 

interest. 

Glossary of Debt Collection 

and Credit Terms 
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Consensual Lien: When a consumer voluntarily 

consents to placement of a lien on personal property 

or real estate. 

Consumer Reporting Agency: See Credit 
Reporting Agency. 

Contempt of Court: Behavior that opposes or defies 
the authority, justice, and dignity of the court (e.g., 
failure to appear in court).  

Credit Bureau: See Consumer Reporting Agency. 

Credit Report: A detailed record of a consumer’s 

credit history prepared by a consumer reporting 

agency. 

Credit Reporting Agency: Any person or company 

that engages in the practice of assembling or 

evaluating consumer credit information or other 

information on consumer for the purpose of 

furnishing consumer reports to third parties. 

Credit Score: A statistically-derived representation of 

a consumer’s creditworthiness expressed as a number 

between 300 and 850. The higher a consumer’s credit 

score, the greater their perceived creditworthiness. 

Debt Load: The total amount a debtor owes. 

Debt Settlement: When a borrower (or a hired agent 

of a borrower) negotiates with one or more creditors 

to lower APRs or the current loan’s balance. 

Debt-to-Asset Ratio: An indicator of financial 

leverage calculated as a borrower’s total debts divided 

by the borrower’s total assets. 

Debt-to-Income Ratio: A fractional number used by 

lenders to gauge risk by dividing monthly debts by 

monthly income. Lenders use two types of ratios: the 

front-end ratio includes the total housing payment of 

principal, interest, taxes and insurance; the back-end 

ratio includes the total housing payment and all other 

debts. 

Deed in Lieu of Foreclosure: An agreement to 

transfer property to a lender instead of the lender 

proceeding with a foreclosure action. 

Default: The failure of a debtor to make timely 

payments to a creditor. 

Default Judgment: A binding judgment in favor of a 

party based on the failure to take action by a second 

party. In debt collection, this may occur if a debtor is 

summonsed to court but fails to appear. 

Deferred Payment Date: When a lender agrees to let 

the consumer make a payment (mortgage, auto, credit 

card) after the scheduled payment day. 

Deficiency Balance: The remaining amount of 

monies owed to a lender after repossessed or 

foreclosed property is sold at an auction. 

Delinquency: Failure to make a payment on an 

obligation when due.  

Disbursement: Loan proceeds paid to a borrower. 

Discharge: An order given by a bankruptcy judge 

that pardons or extinguishes the remaining debts owed 

by the borrower. 

Disclosure Hearing: A hearing at which the owing 

party will be required to disclose any assets that could 

be used to pay the judgment amount. 

Finance Charge: Any fee representing the cost of 

credit. 

Forbearance Agreement: A negotiated act of 

restraint by the lender to refrain from foreclosure in 

exchange for an agreement with the borrower to bring 

the debt current. 

Foreclosure: The legal process of obtaining and 

selling a mortgaged property to recover the unpaid 

debt owed to the lender following default of the note 

by the borrower. 
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Grace Period: The period of time between the 

monthly payment due date and the date by which a 

late fee may be assessed. Maine law provides a grace 

period of 15 days before a creditor can charge a late 

fee. 

Judgment: A court decision against a debtor. 

Judicial Lien: Occurs when a judge grants a creditor 

a lien, or interest, in a debtor’s property, which can be 

taken as repayment if a debt is not paid. 

Late Fee: A fee imposed by a lender for payments 

made after a set periodic due date. 

Lien: A form of security interest granted over 

property to secure the repayment of a debt. The word 

lien means literally, “to bind.” 

Mechanic’s Lien: A lien that arises when a 

contractor or mechanic performs work on property 

and is not paid. Owners of the property cannot sell it 

until the debt is paid off. 

Negative Amortization: When scheduled monthly 

payments are insufficient to satisfy the monthly 

accrued interest and reduce the principal balance. 

Negative amortization results in the form of a 

growing loan balance as opposed to a declining loan 

balance. 

Negative Equity: When a borrower owes more 

money on a secured loan than the collateral will be 

worth when sold.  

Non Purchase-Money Security Interest Liens A 

subcategory of consensual lien occurring when a 

creditor extends credit to a debtor who volunteers 

property as collateral. 

Open-End Credit: A pre-approved loan account that 

may be drawn upon up to a set limit and that can 

subsequently be paid back prior to payment becoming 

due. 

Past-Due Amount: The dollar amount a borrower is 

behind on a loan account. 

Petition: In bankruptcy case, a document that 

initiates the bankruptcy process. 

Phantom Debt: An old debt that has come back to 

haunt a (presumed) debtor. 

Post-Dated Check: A check that will not be drawn 

from an account until the future date written on the 

check by the user. 

Principal Balance: The non-interest amount owed 

on a loan. 

Purchase-Money Security Interest Lien: A 

subcategory of consensual liens occurring when a 

creditor extends credit to a debtor specifically for the 

purchase of the property that secures the debt (e.g., a 

mortgage loan). 

Real Estate Lien: A document filed in the Registry 

of Deeds preventing a consumer from selling their 

land or residence without first paying the amount of 

money listed on the lien. 

Remittance Report: A document sent from a debt 

collector to a creditor showing the amount of funds 

collected on assigned accounts. 

Repossession: The act of taking back an item 

pledged as collateral on a loan. 

Right of Rescission: A consumer right provided by 

the Truth-in-Lending Act (REG Z) that allows 

borrowers a three day “cooling off period” during 

which they are able to rescind or cancel a loan 

transaction in cases where an interest in land is 

conveyed other than a purchase money mortgage. 

There is no right of rescission for auto purchases. 

Right-to-Cure Notice: A notice, from a creditor to a 

borrower, notifying the borrower that they have 

missed a payment and informing them that the 
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creditor may exercise their rights under the law, 

including repossession or the start of foreclosure, 

unless payment of all past-due amounts is made by a 

specified date. Right-to-cure notices remain effective 

for 12 months after the original date sent. 

Satisfied: A court ordered payment on a debt which 

has been paid off by the consumer in an amount that 

is deemed to be acceptable. 

Secured Loan: Loans in which a security interest in 

property is pledged.  

Service of Process: When a debtor is formally served 

by a deputy sheriff or other person of authority to 

appear in court for an overdue debt obligation. 

Set-Off/Off-Set: A contractual right a bank or credit 

union has to remove funds from a consumer/

member’s bank account to pay a past due loan amount 

at that same financial institution. 

Short Sale: When a agrees to permit a borrower to 

sell property securing a loan for an amount that is 

insufficient to pay off balance of the loan. 

Skip Tracing: An investigative tool used by debt 

collectors to find the new address and contact 

information of delinquent debtors that have moved 

without leaving forwarding addresses. 

Simple Interest: An interest calculation based solely 

on the original loan amount. 

Statute of Limitations: The maximum period of time 

parties have to initiate legal proceedings.  

Statutory Lien: A lien enabling creditors to access a 

consumer’s assets to satisfy a debt without the consent 

of the borrower. 

Tax Lien: A legal claim on property for unpaid taxes. 

Term: The payback period of a loan. 

 

Time-Barred Debt: A debt that has passed the time 

threshold set by the Statute of Limitations. 

Total of Payments: The total amount paid back on a 

loan, including interest and other charges. 

Unbundled Services: Attorney services that only 

require the consumer to pay for legal assistance 

actually needed. 

Unsecured Loan: A loan where no collateral is 

pledged. 

Upside Down (Equity): When a consumer owes 

more on property than the property’s appraised value. 

Wage Garnishment: A court order to legally have a 

portion of a debtor’s wages directed toward an 

outstanding debt. 

Writ of Replevin: Court ordered repossession of an 

item offered by a borrower as security on a loan. 

Zombie Debt: See Phantom Debt. 
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Cease Contact and Other 

Sample Letters 
 

Consumers have the right to demand that a debt collector stop communicating with them. To 

accomplish this, a letter must be sent to the collection agency requesting all calls and/or mail 

communications to be stopped. There are other letters that a consumer may want to send to 

collection agencies, including letters to inform collectors that you have legal representation 

which require a collector to only make contact through your attorney, or that you are 

requesting that a debt be validated. You may also wish to use a letter to dispute the validity of a 

debt. Some examples of how these letters should look are on the following pages. 

NOTE: The “Cease Communications” letter found on page 23 is not a cure-all. Some 

collectors who receive this letter will immediately cease collection due to the small size of the 

debt owed, or the fact they may have a hard time providing written validation of the debt. 

Some collectors will do the opposite, escalating the situation and hiring an attorney to take you 

to court. 
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Cease Communications Sample Letter 

 

Debt Collector Name 

Address Line 1 

Address Line 2 

 

RE:  Account number: _____________________ 

 Original Creditor: _____________________ 

Dear ________________________________: 

Per my rights under the federal and state Fair Debt Collection Practices Act (USC §1692 et seq., Section 805 c, 

Title 32 MRS §11001 et seq.), I am instructing your company, in writing, to cease its collection effort – by personal 

land-line and cellular telephone, correspondence, in-person meetings and any other forms of communications – 

with myself (my location information is contained in this letter), my relatives, my friends and my co-workers at my 

place of employment.  

Please be advised that this is my formal FDCPA “Cease Communication” letter to you, and with this letter in 

place, I reserve the right to explore any available damages that the FDCPA provides to me, as a consumer, if your 

company continues collections communications with me about the above referenced account.  

Please be advised that I am now keeping accurate records which may include: telephone logs, recorded telephone 

conversations, emails and general correspondence—and those dates received, to ensure an accurate accounting of 

the debt collection actions by your company in the post “Cease Collection” time period.  

You may contact me by written correspondence once, as permitted by law, to tell me that you are ceasing 

collection communications on this account. 

Sincerely, 

___________________________ 
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Debt Validation Sample Letter 

 

Debt Collector Name 

Address Line 1 

Address Line 2 

RE:  Account number: _____________________ 

 Original Creditor: _____________________ 

Dear ________________________________: 

I am sending this letter to you in response to a notice I received from you on (date of letter). Be advised, this is not a 

refusal to pay, but a notice sent pursuant to the Fair Debt Collection Practices Act, 15 USC 1692g Sec. 809 (b) 

that your claim is disputed and validation is requested. 

This is not a request for "verification" or proof of my mailing address, but a request for validation made pursuant 

to the above named Title and Section. I respectfully request that your office provide me with competent evidence 

that I have any legal obligation to pay you. Please provide me with the following: 

• What the money you say I owe is for; 

• Explain and show me how you calculated what you say I owe; 

• Provide me with copies of any papers that show I agreed to pay what you say I owe; 

• Provide a verification or copy of any judgment if applicable; 

• Identify the original creditor; 

• Prove the Statute of Limitations has not expired on this account; 

• Show me that you are licensed to collect in my state and provide me with your license numbers and 

Registered Agent. 

I have asked for this information because I have some questions. I need to hear from you to make an informed 

decision about your claim that I owe this money. I am open to communicating with you for this purpose. In order 

to make sure that I am not put at any disadvantage, in the meantime please treat this debt as being in dispute and 

under discussion. 

In addition to providing the information requested above, please let me know whether you are prepared to accept 

less than the balance you are claiming is owed. If so, please tell me in writing your offer with the amount you will 

accept to fully resolve the account between us.  

Sincerely,  

______________________________ 
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Communication through a Lawyer Sample Letter 

Debt Collector Name 

Address Line 1 

Address Line 2 

RE:  Account number: _____________________ 

 Original Creditor: _____________________ 

Dear ________________________________: 

I am responding to your contact about collecting a debt. You contacted me by [phone/mail] on [date] and 

identified the debt as [any information they gave you about the debt]. 

Please contact my lawyer about this debt, and do not contact me directly again. My lawyer’s contact information is: 

[Contact information for your lawyer].  

Thank you for your cooperation.  

Sincerely, 

___________________________ 
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Disputing a Debt Sample Letter 

Debt Collector Name 

Address Line 1 

Address Line 2 

RE:  Account number: _____________________ 

 Original Creditor: _____________________ 

Dear ________________________________: 

I am responding to your contact about collecting a debt. You contacted me by [phone/mail], on [date] and identified 

the debt as [any information they gave you about the debt]. I do not have any responsibility for the debt you’re trying to 

collect. 

If you have good reason to believe that I am responsible for this debt, mail me the documents that make you 

believe that. Stop all other communication with me and with this address, and record that I dispute having any 

obligation for this debt. If you stop your collection of this debt, and forward or return it to another company, 

please indicate to them that it is disputed. If you report it to a credit bureau (or have already done so), also report 

that the debt is disputed. 

Thank you for your cooperation.  

Sincerely,  

______________________________ 
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Be sure to check out other free booklets from the  

Bureau of  Consumer Credit Protection: 

Downeaster Common Sense Guide: Credit Cards—Paper or Plastic? – This 

comprehensive booklet addresses credit cards: how they work, their responsible 

use, how to comparison shop for a credit card, when to pay cash, use a debit card 

charge on a credit card and what to do if  you fall behind on your credit card 

payments.  

Downeaster Common Sense Guide: Automobile Buying and Financing – 

From calculating “how much vehicle” you can afford, to vehicle research, 

shopping for the best APR and deciding on the best loan term for your needs, this 

booklet is a comprehensive guide to purchasing and financing a vehicle. 

Downeaster Common Sense Guide: Gone Phishing – Identifying and 

Avoiding Consumer Scams – This guide is all about helping consumers defend 

themselves against being scammed. It details tactics and hooks used by scammers, 

offers advice to consumers so they can protect themselves, and explains how to 

report the scams to authorities. 

Downeaster Common Sense Guide: Credit Reports and Credit Scores – 

Learn the basics of  credit, gain insight into how credit reporting and scoring work, 

and discover the impact your credit has on your ability to borrow with this 

publication from the Bureau of  Consumer Credit Protection. 

 

These guides are free to Maine residents. Out-of-state orders are $6.00 each, or at 

a volume discount of  $4.00/copy on orders of  50 or more (shipping included). 

To order, call 1-800-332-8529 (in-state) or 1-207-624-8527 (outside of  

Maine). 

Publications 
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NOTES 
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NOTES 
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NOTES 

This book is not intended to be a complete discussion of all statutes applicable to consumer credit. If you require 

further information, consider contacting our agency or an attorney for additional help. 

4th Printing (December 2017) | Copyright © 2015, State of Maine Bureau of Consumer Credit Protection 
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Consumer Protection Resources 

Maine Bureau of Consumer Credit Protection 
1-800-332-8529 

Maine Bureau of Insurance  
1-800-300-5000 

TTY Maine Relay 711 

Maine Bureau of Financial Institutions  
1-800-965-5235 

TTY Maine Relay 711 

Maine Office of Aging and Disability Services 
1-800-262-2232 

TTY Maine Relay 711 

Maine Office of the Attorney General (Consumer Hotline) 
1-800-436-2131 

TTY 1-207-626-8865 

Maine Office of Professional and Occupational Regulation 
1-207-624-8603 

TTY Maine Relay 711 

Maine Office of Securities  
1-877-624-8551 

TTY Maine Relay 711 

Maine Public Utilities Commission (Consumer Assistance Division) 
1-800-452-4699 

TTY 1-800-437-1220 

Maine Real Estate Commission 
1-207-624-8524 

TTY Maine Relay 711 

Commodity Futures Trading Commission 1-866-366-2382 

Consumer Financial Protection Bureau (CFPB) 
1-855-411-2372 

TTY 1-202-435-9742 

Federal Reserve Consumer Hotline 1-888-851-1920 

Federal Trade Commission Consumer Response Center  1-877-382-4357 

Federal Trade Commission ID Theft Hotline  

(after dialing, press “0” to reach a live operator) 

1-877-438-4338 

Financial Industry Regulatory Authority (FINRA) Call Center 1-301-590-6500 

Internet Crime Complaint Center (IC3) www.ic3.gov 

National Credit Union Administration (NCUA) 1-800-755-1030 

U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs  1-800-729-5772 

U.S. Postal Inspection Office — Portland, ME Field Office 1-877-876-2455 
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Bureau of  Consumer Credit Protection 

35 State House Station | Augusta, ME 04333-0035 

www.Credit.Maine.gov 

Interested in a digital copy of this guide or other Bureau booklets? Scan to visit the Bureau’s 

publications page. Mobile data rates may apply.  


