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Paid Family and Medical Leave (PFML) Frequently Asked Questions (FAQ’s) 

 
Note: This FAQ is designed to help employers and employees better understand their rights and 
responsibilities and to navigate Maine Paid Family Medical Leave Law.  This document provides 
guidance but does not replace the authority of the Law or program Rules.  The information in 
this guidance may be subject to change.  Visit https://www.maine.gov/paidleave/ for the most 
up-to-date information.  
 
Overview of the Paid Family and Medical Leave law:  
 
1. What is the Paid Family and Medical Leave Program (PFML Program)?  

Maine’s PFML law will provide up to 12 weeks of paid leave for family leave, medical leave, to 
deal with the transition of a family member’s pending military deployment or stay safe after 
abuse or violence. This law went into effect in October 2023, with the major components of the 
law having 2025 and 2026 implementation dates. The Maine Department of Labor (MDOL) is 
responsible for the implementation of this new program.  

 

Contributions: 
 
2. Where do the contributions come from beginning January 1, 2025? Are the 
contributions paid by the employee, the employer, or combined?  

Both the employer and the employee contribute to the PFML Fund. All funds are pooled to pay 
for future claims and other administrative costs. Payroll withholdings from employee’s pay for 
the Paid Family Medical Leave program will begin with pay dates on or after January 1, 2025, 
and be transferred to the Maine Paid Family and Medical Leave Fund. (“PFML Fund”).  

 

3. If benefits do not go live until 2026, why are contributions being made in 2025?  

Although benefits are scheduled to begin on May 1, 2026, payroll contributions will begin in 
2025 to allow time to accumulate sufficient funds to pay for benefits and the operations of the 
program.  

 
 
 

https://www.maine.gov/paidleave/
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4. What is the contribution rate for Paid Family and Medical Leave?  

For calendar years 2025-2027, the joint contribution rate for employers and employees is set at 
either 0.5 or 1 percent of wages based on the size of the employer. No more than 0.5 percent can 
come from the employee. Employers with 15 or more employees will contribute 1 percent of 
wages and may deduct up to half of the contribution from the employees’ wages. Employers with 
less than 15 employees will contribute 0.5 percent of wages and may deduct the entire amount 
from the employees’ wages.   

 
5. What is the definition of wages for the program? 
 
Wages include all forms of compensation for personal services, such as regular salary, tips, 
commissions, bonuses, and severance pay. It does not cover payments made to independent 
contractors. 
  
For payroll and premium purposes, wages are calculated similarly to how Maine Unemployment 
wages are determined but applied to a larger base of employees that are not traditionally subject 
to the Maine Unemployment contributions tax. All wages earned in Maine should be reported on 
wage reporting and the premium amount will be calculated to exclude amounts above the annual 
base limit set by the U.S. Social Security Administration. 
 
 
6. How is the locality of Wages earned in Maine determined? 
 
The PFML program will use the same test of locality under the Maine unemployment law. In 
general – if an employer subject to Maine Unemployment Insurance (UI) includes an employee 
on a Maine UI report based on UI locality, that employee is also subject to Maine PFML.  If an 
employer includes an employee on a UI report to another state based on UI locality, PFML takes 
the position that the employee’s work is localized in that same state for PFML purposes. 
However, in instances where an employer or an employee type is not subject to Maine or other 
state unemployment law but is subject to Maine PFML, then locality must be established. A 
worker earning Maine wages can be determined through a four criteria sequential test, applied to 
the employee: 
 
Four factors, taken in sequence, determine whether or not employment is reportable in Maine: 
 

• Place Where Work Is Performed: If the employee performs all work in Maine, or if the 
work outside Maine is incidental (temporary or minor), then Maine law applies.  If this 
does not apply, continue to next factor.  
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• Base of Operations: If the employee performs work in Maine and other states, if the 

base of operations is in Maine, Maine law applies. The base of operations is the primary 
location from which the employee starts work and returns regularly.  If this does not 
apply continue to next factor. 

 
• Place from Which Service Is Directed or Controlled: If the employee performs some 

work in Maine and the service is directed or controlled from Maine, Maine law applies. 
This refers to the place of general authority rather than direct supervision.  If this does not 
apply, continue to next factor. 

 
• Place of Residence: If none of the above criteria apply, and the employee performs work 

in Maine and other states, and resides in Maine, then Maine law applies.  If none of the 
above apply, the employment is not reportable in Maine. 
 
 

7. Who is responsible for remitting contributions to the PFML Fund?  

Employers are responsible for remitting contributions to the PFML Fund through the Maine Paid 
Leave portal. 

 

8. Are PFML wages gross wages?  

Similar to State Unemployment Insurance definition of wages, PFML wages are not gross wages 
but “total subject wages”.  Total subject wages are gross wages excluding the same exempted 
payment types as specified in State Unemployment Insurance statute and Federal Unemployment 
Tax Act.  More information on excluded payment types can be found in IRS Publication 15 
Circular E: 2025 Publication 15. 

 

9. Are wages for the PFML program calculated pre-tax or post-tax?  
  
Premiums are calculated on total subject wages, before federal income tax, state income tax, and 
Social Security and Medicare taxes are deducted.   
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

https://www.irs.gov/pub/irs-pdf/p15.pdf
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10. Are PFML Premiums taxable?   
  
The question of whether PFML premiums are taxable is reliant on the guidance and processes of 
the Federal Internal Revenue Service. The IRS has released formal guidance on issues of 
taxability which can be viewed here:  RR-25-04.  
 
 
11. How do PFML premiums affect the taxable wages for employees? 
 
PFML premiums do not reduce wages imputed for other federal and state tax programs.  PFML 
premiums are withheld from employee pay after federal and state taxes are deducted.  
 
If an employer has made the determination  to cover the employee portion of PFML premiums, 
the employer contribution is additional compensation and is included in the in the employee’s 
federal gross income as wages.  
 
Employees may be entitled to deduct PFML premium payments as a state income tax if they 
itemize their deductions on their federal income tax return.  Review RR-25-04 for more 
information on this.  
 
 
12. How do PFML premiums affect employer taxes? 
 
Employers may deduct the required employer portion of PFML premiums as an excise tax. 
 
If the employer chooses to pay the employee’s portion of PFML premiums, they may deduct that 
as an ordinary and necessary business expense.  
 
Review RR-25-04 for more information.  
 
 
13. What should be listed in Box 14 on the W-2 form for employee contributions?  
 
Employee premium contributions must be listed under Box 14 of the W-2 form with the label 
“MEPFML”.   
 
If an employer pays the premium contribution for the employee’s portion, this must be included 
as wages on the employee’s Form W-2.  
 
 

https://www.irs.gov/pub/irs-drop/rr-25-04.pdf
https://www.irs.gov/pub/irs-drop/rr-25-04.pdf
https://www.irs.gov/pub/irs-drop/rr-25-04.pdf
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14. Are employer-sponsored disability payments and third-party sick pay subject to Maine 
PFML premiums? 
 
In accordance with the State Unemployment Insurance definition of wages, that PFML also 
uses,  employer-sponsored disability payments and third-party sick pay (short term disability 
payments provided by the agent of an employer, generally an insurance company) are considered 
to be wages until the “expiration of 6 calendar months following the last calendar month in 
which the employee worked for that employer” and therefore subject to PFML premiums. 
  
If these payments are made by a third party, the employer should speak with their agent to 
account for these wages.  If the employee is receiving a insufficient paycheck from the employer 
during this leave to cover these premiums, the employer may retroactively deduct the missed 
premiums owed by the employee under PFML rules Section X (L) and report those wages in the 
quarter in which those deductions were made. 

 

15.What are the penalties for an employer if the employer fails to pay contributions or 
submit wage reports on time? 
 
The penalty for an employer failing to pay contributions and/or submit wage reports is 1 percent 
of the employer’s total quarterly payroll. This penalty shall be assessed if the employer fails to 
pay all or a part of the contributions owed to the Department on a quarterly basis.  Employers 
will receive a notification if they have failed to pay contributions or submit a wage report and 
will have a period of time to correct the issue before the penalty is assessed.  If an employer 
discovers they need to amend a wage report after the due date to make corrections, they will be 
provided with a timeframe to remit a new premium obligation before the penalty is assessed.  
 
16. I am a self-employed individual, am I eligible?  

Self-employed individuals are eligible for Paid Family and Medical Leave but must choose to 
opt in for coverage. For calendar years 2025-2027, the premium rate has been set at 0.5 percent 
of the individual’s income from self-employment. Self-employed individuals can elect coverage 
through the Maine Paid Leave portal.  
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17. I am a self-employed individual but earn wages as an employee of my company, am I 
automatically covered in the law?  
 
The wages that a self-employed individual makes as an employee of their company are subject to 
premiums and must be included in wage reports.  For example – the reasonable wages that a self-
employed individual receives as an employee of their S-Corp business is subject to premiums 
and must be included on wage reports.  

 

18. How are Tribal Governments affected by this law?  

Tribal governments have the option in the law to elect coverage for their employees if they wish. 
Tribal governments can opt-in as an employer through the Maine Paid Leave portal to elect this 
coverage.  

 

Collective Bargaining Agreements: 
 

19. How does the PFML law apply to public sector collective bargaining agreements?  
 
Public employers and employees that are subject to a collective bargaining agreement that was in 
effect on October 25, 2023, are not required to participate until the collective bargaining 
agreement expires. Neither party will make contributions pertaining to the Paid Family and 
Medical Leave program until that collective bargaining agreement expires, and individuals will 
not be eligible for benefits until either the expiration of the collective bargaining agreement or 
May 2026, whichever comes later. MDOL will use the end date listed on the applicable 
collective bargaining agreement, regardless of when the subsequent collective bargaining 
agreement is ratified. 
 
20. What if both parties in a public sector collective bargaining agreement agree to 
contributions prior to the agreement expiring?  
 
Public employers and employees who agree, through relevant public bargaining law and process, 
to contribute to the Paid Family Medical Leave program prior to the expiration of a collective 
bargaining agreement that was in effect on October 25, 2023 may do so. Withholdings would 
begin on the first pay date after an agreement was ratified or the first pay date in January 2025, 
whichever is later. 
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21. How does this apply to public employees not subject to a collective bargaining 
agreement?  
 
The Paid Family and Medical Leave law will apply to any public employees who were not 
subject to a collective bargaining agreement on October 25, 2023. Also, any public employees 
who are not subject to a collective bargaining agreement in general are covered by the program 
in the same manner as private sector employees.  
 
22. Are employees exempted from the law due to a public collective bargaining agreement 
described above listed on wage reports? 
 
Employees who are exempt from the law due to being subject to a public collective agreement 
should not be included in wage reports until the end date of the collective bargaining agreement.  
 
23. How does PFML law apply to private sector collective bargaining agreements?  
 
The exemption in section 850-B (10)(D) does not apply to private sector collective bargaining 
agreements.  

 
Maine Paid Leave Portal: 
 
24. Where will employers be able to submit premiums and wage reports?  
 
Employers can submit premiums and wage reports through the Maine Paid Leave Portal that 
will be available in early 2025. All employers will be required to register with the Department 
via this portal to determine their liability for PFML contributions and to designate a third-party 
payroll or employee leasing company if they wish. All liable and active employers must create 
an account in the portal to electronically file quarterly wage reports and make contribution 
payments. 

 
25. How frequently are employers to submit premiums and wage reports for the PFML 
Program?  
 
Employers must submit their premium amounts and contribution reports quarterly and are due 
on or before the last day of the month following the end of each quarter. Payments and reports 
are considered timely if received electronically by the due date. If the due date falls on a 
Saturday, Sunday, or legal holiday, the due date is extended to the next business day. Employers 
may have their payments and reports submitted by an employee leasing company or an 
authorized third-party administrator. 
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26. Will there be an ability to submit bulk uploads to the portal? 
 
Third party administrators will be able to submit bulk wage reports in specified file formats. 
Employers will be able to upload an excel sheet of their employee and wage information in their 
quarterly wage report. They will have to follow a template that the Department provides. 
 
 
Definition of Covered Employee and Premium Liability:  
 
27. Who is the covered employee?  
 
A “covered employee” is an employee who earns wages in Maine. However, wages do not 
include wages earned from federal employment, federal work study financial aid, during 
incarceration, by certain volunteers as specified in the proposed rule, or by an employee subject 
to the Railroad Unemployment Insurance Act. Independent contractors may elect coverage, and 
if so would report wages earned and submit contributions in order to be a covered individual. 
 
 
28. To determine premium liability for employers, how do you count the number of 
employees?  
 
For the purposes of determining premium liability, any employer that employed 15 or more 
covered employees per the employer's Federal Employer Identification Number (FEIN) on their 
established payroll in 20 or more calendar workweeks in the 12-month period preceding September 
30th of each year. This count includes the total number of persons on establishment payrolls 
employed full or part time who received pay for any part of the pay period.  
 
Temporary and intermittent employees are included, as are any workers who are on paid sick 
leave, on paid holiday, or who work during only part of the specified pay period. On October 1, 
2024, and October 1 of each year thereafter, the employer shall calculate its size for the purpose 
of determining premium liability for calendar year 2025 and each calendar year thereafter. This 
employer count will be reported upon first registering with the Maine Paid Leave Portal, and 
during Quarter 3 wage reporting annually thereafter.    
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29. Are employees included in the employer size count and on wage reports even if they do 
not earn enough to be eligible for benefits?  
 
For the purposes of employer size count, wage reporting, and premium liability, employees with 
any wages earned in Maine must be included.  Thus, the employee has the opportunity to earn 
the wage base necessary for benefit eligibility across multiple jobs and through changes in 
employment throughout their benefit year.  Eligibility of benefits from meeting the wage 
threshold is determined when a covered employee applies for benefits.  
 

Private Plans:  

30. I am an employer with a current policy that provides paid time off (PTO), sick leave 
and/or a short-term disability policy. Can my leave policy be considered a substantially 
equivalent plan under the Maine PFML Law? 

Section 850-H(2) states that to be approved as a substantially equivalent private plans, among 
other requirements which will be outlined in rule, the plan must be either a self-funded plan that 
requires a surety bond paid to the State or a fully-funded plan purchased from an insurance 
company. An internal leave policy, on its own, does not meet these requirements. Additional 
details regarding the process and requirements for private plans are outlined in rule.  

 
 
Type of Private Plans:  

 
31. What types of plans are considered to be a private plan under the Maine Paid Family and 
Medical Leave law?   
 
A plan must be a fully insured plan or a self-insured plan.  
 
32. What is a fully insured plan? 
 
A fully insured plan is an insurance plan offered by an insurance carrier authorized to do business in 
the State of Maine.  The plan must have been certified as compliant with the requirements under the 
Maine Paid Family and Medical Leave Act and Rule. Insurance plans that have not received 
certification of compliance with the Act and Rule are not eligible for substitution.   
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33. What documentation is required for a fully insured substitution application?  
 
Fully insured plans will require the name of the insurance company, policy number, and an uploaded 
scan of the insurance policy issued to that specific employer.  While the employer must have been 
issued the policy of a certified plan at the time of their application, the employer can choose to delay 
benefit coverage for claims until May 1, 2026. 

 
34. What is a self-insured plan?  

 
A self-insured plan is an insurance plan provided directly by an employer, rather than through an 
insurance carrier. 

35. What documentation is required for a self-insured plan? 

Employers must provide through the Maine Paid Leave Portal a scan of the proposed plan 
documents, the self-insurance private plan application, provided by the Department, along with a 
scan of the surety bond from an authorized surety company in the form and amount specified by 
the Department in the application document.  The surety bond must be signed by a corporate 
officer of the surety company or an attorney-in-fact under an appropriate Power of Attorney.  If 
signed by an attorney-in-fact, both the surety bond and the Power of Attorney must be uploaded 
into the portal.  

36. Can an employer hire another entity to administer its self-insured private plan 
substitution? 

Employers can contract with an entity that is licensed with the Maine Bureau of Insurance as a 
third-party administrator with health authority. Insurance companies licensed with the Maine 
Bureau of Insurance with health authority can also provide claims administration for an 
employer’s self-insured private plan substitution. Third party claims administrators licensed by 
the Bureau of Insurance should not register in the Maine Paid Leave Contributions Portal. 

37. Are group policies allowed for fully-insured plans?  Are group trusts of multiple 
employers allowed for self-insured plans? 

Group policies or trusts are not allowable for private plan substitution consideration.  For fully-
insured policies, the employer must be listed as the policy holder.  For self-insured policies, the 
individual employer is responsible for the operation of the plan, even if they contract the plan to 
a third-party benefits administrator, and the individual employer is liable for the bond to the 
State. 
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 Application Process and Review: 
 
38. When and how can employers apply for a private plan substitution?  
 
Applications may be submitted after April 1, 2025. Applications must be submitted online through 
the Maine Paid Leave Portal, which is set to release in early 2025.   

 
39. How much does it cost to apply for a private plan substitution?  
 
There is an application fee of $250 for review which is non-refundable whether the application is 
approved or denied.  There is an additional $250 administrative cost reimbursement fee if approved. 
Fees are subject to increase.  
 
40. How long is an approved private plan substitution valid for? 
 
An approved substitution is valid for three years.  

 
41. Who will be responsible for the review of applications?  

 
The Department will be responsible for review of private plan applications. 
 
 
42. If an application is approved, when will the substitution take effect? 
 
The exemption from the obligation of premiums begins on the first day of the quarter in which the 
substitution is approved, except if the application for substitution is submitted less than 30 days prior 
to the end of a quarter, in which case the exemption is effective on the first day of the quarter 
following when the application for substitution was submitted, assuming it is approved. Premiums 
owed prior to the exemption effective date must still be remitted to the program through the Maine 
Paid Leave Portal. 
 
To view an explanatory graphic when exemptions and deductions start and end relative to private 
plan type using hypothetical dates, please click on the link below to learn more: 
PrivatePlanapprovalanddeductionstimeframesv2.pdf 
  
 
 
 
 
 
 

https://gcc02.safelinks.protection.outlook.com/?url=https%3A%2F%2Fwww.maine.gov%2Fpaidleave%2Fdocs%2F2025%2FPrivatePlanapprovalanddeductionstimeframesv2.pdf&data=05%7C02%7CReginald.Parson%40maine.gov%7C5d763fea404a4d26b4ed08dd7c2b7638%7C413fa8ab207d4b629bcdea1a8f2f864e%7C0%7C0%7C638803248309166834%7CUnknown%7CTWFpbGZsb3d8eyJFbXB0eU1hcGkiOnRydWUsIlYiOiIwLjAuMDAwMCIsIlAiOiJXaW4zMiIsIkFOIjoiTWFpbCIsIldUIjoyfQ%3D%3D%7C0%7C%7C%7C&sdata=fIa9vEJ7XxGoFE7wSl8u5FriKr%2BpKghDudFDkMuWcwQ%3D&reserved=0
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43. Can an employer appeal a decision regarding their private plan substitution?  
 

Yes, an employer can appeal a denial of substitution, a denial of cancellation, a revocation, or the 
issuance of any penalty for violation. Appeals must be made within 15 business days of receiving 
notice of the decision. 
 
Employer Requirements for Compliance with Private Plan: 

 
44. Could my private plan substitution be revoked during the three-year period.  

 
Yes, if the Department finds the terms and conditions have been violated. Examples of a violation 
could be an employer fails to submit quarterly wage reports or fails to submit data reports if the 
employer is using a fully insured plan. 
 
 
45. What are the consequences of a violation of the terms and conditions with the approved 
plan? 
 
Violation of the terms and conditions may lead to revocation of the substitution and the employer will 
be responsible for paying premiums to the PFML Fund beginning the first quarter following 
revocation. Employers with a revoked substitution cannot reapply for a new substitution for three 
years from the date of the revocation.  If the employer’s plan is self-insured, payments for missed 
premiums may be collected through the surety bond provided. 
 
 
46. What reporting requirements are there during an approved substitution period?  
 
Employers must continue to submit wage reports quarterly through the Maine Paid Leave Portal.  
Premium liability will be zero on these reports during the substitution period. Employers must 
also submit an annual data report through the Maine Paid Leave Portal by July 1 of each year 
that outlines performance metrics of the private plan. Failure to submit required reports may 
result in a revocation of a private plan substitution.  
 
47. How much can be deducted from an employee to help pay for an approved private plan 
substitution policy? 
  
The employer may deduct up to what the employee would be required to pay for the State plan to 
help pay for a private plan substitution policy once it has been approved.  This is a maximum of 
.5% of the employees’ wages until at least 2028. 
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48. Can I deduct more than .5% of wages if the private plan policy costs more that 1% 
total?  
  
No – the maximum amount that an employee can contribute towards the approved private plan 
policy is .5% of wages, even if they policy costs more than 1% total of wages.  

 
 

49. Can I deduct the .5% of wages from the employee if the private plan policy costs less 
than 1% total? 
  
Yes – the statute and rules only require that the employee is not charged more than what they 
would pay under the State plan, which is .5% of wages until at least 2028. 

 
 

50. I have a self-insured private plan substitution approved, but I have delayed the start of 
benefits until May 1, 2026 as allowed in rules. Can I start deducting from the employee to 
pay towards the eventual benefits paid by my self-insured private plan? 
 
Yes. To view an explanatory graphic when exemptions and deductions start and end relative to 
private plan type using hypothetical dates, please click on the link below to learn more: 
PrivatePlanapprovalanddeductionstimeframesv2.pdf 
 
Renewal of approved substitution: 

 
51. How can an employer renew an approved private plan substitution? 
 
Employers must apply for renewal at least 30 days before the end date of their approved substitution. 
The Department will notify employers through the Maine Paid Leave Portal 60 days before the end 
date of the employer’s approved substitution.  
 
52. What happens if an employer fails to renew an approved private plan substitution?  
 
If an employer does not apply to renew their substitution or if the renewal is denied, the employer is 
responsible for premiums to the PFML Fund starting on the day of the substitution expiration.  
 
 
Changes & Cancellations of Private Plan Substitution: 

 
53. What happens if an insurer decides to stop offering a fully insured plan? 
 
If an insurer decides to stop offering a fully insured plan, the insurer must notify the Maine Bureau of 
Insurance three months in advance and provide six months’ notice to the affected employers prior to 
non-renewal. 

https://gcc02.safelinks.protection.outlook.com/?url=https%3A%2F%2Fwww.maine.gov%2Fpaidleave%2Fdocs%2F2025%2FPrivatePlanapprovalanddeductionstimeframesv2.pdf&data=05%7C02%7CReginald.Parson%40maine.gov%7C5d763fea404a4d26b4ed08dd7c2b7638%7C413fa8ab207d4b629bcdea1a8f2f864e%7C0%7C0%7C638803248309185254%7CUnknown%7CTWFpbGZsb3d8eyJFbXB0eU1hcGkiOnRydWUsIlYiOiIwLjAuMDAwMCIsIlAiOiJXaW4zMiIsIkFOIjoiTWFpbCIsIldUIjoyfQ%3D%3D%7C0%7C%7C%7C&sdata=roekVW2ZJZkCnffoxGTRrQb6wz%2FwKNrduhQt2Pb%2BLM0%3D&reserved=0
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54. Can an employer cancel an approved substitution before it expires? 
 
Employers may only request cancellation if they can demonstrate a significant direct negative 
business impact, such as a evidence of an unanticipated and unreasonable premium increase. If a 
cancellation is approved by the department for the employer to return to coverage from the State 
fund, the employer cannot apply for another substitution for a period of 3 years. Requests to 
withdraw a substitution can be done through the Maine Paid Leave Portal. 
 
55. Can an employer make changes to an approved plan? 
 
Employers must notify the Department at least 60 days in advance of any material changes to the plan 
and receive written approval. 
 
 
56. Can an employer switch an approved plan (between insurance carriers or between fully 
insured and self-insured)?  
 
The employer can apply for a new private plan substitution through the Maine Paid Leave Portal 
during a period of a substitution.  The application and administration fee must be repaid and if 
approved, the substitution 3 years will start anew based on the new approval date.   
 
 
Collective Bargaining Agreements and Private Plans:  
 
57. How does the provision in the PFML law on public sector collective bargaining 
agreements (CBA) apply to private plans? 
  
Per rule, for a private plan to be eligible for a substitution, the plan must provide benefit 
coverage for all employees in their organization equally, regardless of CBA status. 
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Benefits and Notice Related Questions 

 

Notice Requirements:  

58. What are employers required to include in the written notice about PFML program to 
employees?  

• The benefits available under the program. 
• The employee’s right to job protection and continuation of health insurance. 
• The process for filing a claim. 
• Employers are required to display a workplace poster about PFML.  

This notice must be given at the time of the hire.  

 

59. What kind of notice must employees give to employers before taking leave? 

Employees must provide at least 30 days’ written advance notice for leave the employee knows 
they will need to take. However, in some circumstances for foreseeable leave, 30 days may not 
be enough advance notice if the type of work performed for the employer requires longer notice 
and the leave may affect the employer’s operations. 

 

60. What kind of notice must employees give to employers in cases of emergency leave? 

If an emergency arises, the employee must provide notice to the employer as soon as practicable 
under the circumstances.  Notice must be given in writing, which can include email or text 
message to the employer.  Notice can also be given for the employee through a family member or 
health care provider to the employer. 

 

61. Do employees on leave have job protection? 

Yes, if an employee has been employed with an employer for at least 120 consecutive days the 
employee must be returned to their own or an equivalent position when they return from 
leave.  An employee who has been employed for less than 120 consecutive days with an 
employer is not entitled job protections during a leave.  
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62. What information can an employer request when an employee gives notice? 

• The type of leave (e.g., family leave, medical leave, safe leave or situations related to a 
family members’ upcoming military deployment). 

• The expected start date and duration of the leave. 
• Whether the leave will be continuous, intermittent or reduced schedule.  

 
Employers may not request medical records or personal details.  

 

63. What must an employer do after being notified of an employee’s claim? 

If the employer agrees with the proposed leave schedule, no further action is required, and the 
application is processed immediately. If the employer does not agree with the schedule or 
believes the leave creates an undue hardship, the employer must: 

• Submit any relevant information about the employee’s eligibility or leave schedule  
• Provide documentation supporting the undue hardship claim 

 
All of this must be done within 10 business days of the employer receiving notice of the claim.  

 

Undue Hardship:  

64. What is “undue hardship,” and can an employer deny leave based on it? 

No, employers cannot deny Paid Family Medical Leave (PFML) based on undue hardship.  
However, undue hardship is a factor employers may consider when coordinating timing of the 
employee’s leave. 
 

 
65. What is considered an “undue hardship” 

An undue hardship means a significant impact on the operation of the business or significant 
expenses that cannot be overcome with the amount of notice given by the employee  
It is evaluated based on the employers’ financial resource, workforce size and industry type.   
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66. When can an employer raise an undue hardship concern? 

An employer may raise an undue hardship only after receiving notice of an employee’s 
application for PFML from the Administrator.  

The employer then has 10 business days to: 

•  Provide a written explanation to the employee and Administrator describing the specific 
impact of the requested leave on the business  

• Include any proposed alternative leave schedule  
• Provide documentation if it believes the leave schedule will cause undue hardship. 

 
 
67. What happens if my employee and I agree that the scheduling of their leave will not 
cause an undue hardship?  
 
If the employees requested leave will not disrupt the operations of your business so much that it 
will cause an undue hardship, you will be able to sign a waiver saying the employees’ claim can 
move forward without waiting the 10 business days you would otherwise have to raise a concern. 
 
Leave Benefits:  

68. How do PFML benefits accrue or get calculated? 

An employees benefit year will begin on Sunday prior to the actual date of their leave and will 
conclude 52 weeks later.  

 
69. How much PFML leave can an employee take in a benefit year? 

An employee may take up to 12 weeks of paid leave during their benefit year for qualifying 
reasons.   
 
Employee Job Protections & Benefits:  

70. Are employees guaranteed job protection while on PFML? 

Yes. Employees who have been employed for at least 120 consecutive days with an employer 
before taking PFML leave are entitled to: 

• Job protection: They must be restored to the same or equivalent position upon return. 
• Continuation of health insurance: Employers must continue coverage under the same 

terms as if the employee were not on leave. 
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71. Does taking PFML affect employees’ ability to earn other benefits (like PTO or 
bonuses)? 

No. Taking PFML does not affect an employee’s right to accrue or receive other employment 
benefits. While on leave, the employee is still entitled to: 

• Accrue vacation time and sick time (if employer policy provides for such time). 
• Continue earning bonuses, advancement, seniority, or service credit. 
• Maintain participation in benefit plans or programs. 

 

This means employers must treat the leave period as if the employee were actively working for 
the purpose of these benefits. 

 

72. What happens to the employee’s health insurance during PFML leave? 

During the leave, employers must: 

• Continue the employee’s health insurance coverage. 
• Contribute to premiums at the same level as if the employee were working.   
• The employee remains responsible for any employee portion of premiums. 
• Maintain coverage under the same conditions as if the employee had not taken leave. 

 

 

73. How does job protection pertain to employees who take leave without notifying their 
employer? 

An employee is required to give reasonable notice to their employer on their intent to use leave 
and must provide notice as soon as practicable in cases of emergency use of leave.  If an 
employee fails to give reasonable notice after starting an emergency leave, by failing to follow 
the employer’s usual notice requirement for work absences and provided there are no usual or 
extenuating circumstances that prevent the employee from providing such reasonable notice, 
then the employee may not be entitled to job protection if the leave is approved by the 
Administrator. 

  

 


