

Information to Know About Maine PFML:

Maine's Paid Family and Medical Leave (PFML) law (Title 26, chapter 7, subchapter 6-C) will provide up to 12 weeks of paid leave for family leave, medical leave, to deal with the transition of a family member's pending military deployment or to stay safe after abuse or violence. The Maine Department of Labor (MDOL) is responsible for the implementation of this new program. Visit <u>maine.gov/paidleave/</u> for the most up-to-date information and to sign up for notifications.

Benefits:

Benefits are scheduled to begin on May 1, 2026. To be eligible for benefits, workers must have a qualifying family or medical event and have earned at least six times the state average weekly wage (ex. 2024: \$1,144 x 6=\$6,864) during the preceding year. Weekly benefit amounts are intended to provide a partial wage replacement and will be determined using the two-tiered calculation set in the statute.

Premium Contributions:

Premium contributions may be shared between an employer and their workers. Contributions are equal to 1 percent of employees' wages, and the employer may deduct up to half of the contribution from the employee. All amounts collected from employees and employers are pooled into the PFML Fund to pay for future claims and for operating costs.

Payroll withholdings for the PFML program began in January 2025. Employers must remit the full first quarter premium contribution to MDOL by April 30, 2025. Premium contributions begin before benefits in order to fund the benefits.

Below are general examples of payroll withholdings for employees, assuming 0.5 percent.

Income Level	Annual Salary	Premium Deduction	Yearly Premium Deduction
At or near minimum wage	\$35,000	\$3.36 per week	\$175 per year
Average wage	\$57 <i>,</i> 000	\$5.48 per week	\$285 per year
High wage	\$90,000	\$8.65 per week	\$450 per year

The employer would contribute an equal amount. So, if Jane Doe makes an annual salary of \$35,000, and .5% of her yearly salary is deducted at a rate of \$3.36 per week, her total yearly premium deduction would be \$175. The yearly premium contribution for Jane's employer would also be \$175 per year.

Maine Paid Leave Portal

In January 2025, MDOL launched the Maine Paid Leave Portal. All employers are required to register in the Portal with their business information and designated payroll processor (if applicable) by March 2025. Quarterly wage reports and premium contributions are due in April 2025. The link to the portal can be found on <u>maine.gov/paidleave</u>.