
At least 30 days before the effective date, you
must notify the customers of the rate
increase. 

You must include:
A statement describing the amount of the
rate adjustment
The percentage change for each customer
class 
A brief explanation of the reason for the
rate adjustment

UTILITY TIMELINE

File your proposed rates in
the Commission’s Case
Management System (CMS).
Submit a copy of the public
notice to customers and an
updated rate sheet. This will
notify the Commission and
the Office of Public Advocate
of the 6104-B rate filing. 
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RATES BECOME EFFECTIVE 
The new rates become effective on the date
set in the filing, but day
30 at the earliest. 

This flyer is intended for informational purposes only. This information is not legal advice and
does not set any legal standard. Regulated public utilities must comply with Maine law and
regulations and should consult with legal counsel for interpretation of laws and regulations.

This is an expedited rate case with no public hearing
and no opportunity for petitions. However, rates can
only increase up to 1.5% of current revenues.
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Plan for your rates to become effective a minimum of 30 days
and a maximum of 9 months after the filing date. 

Keep in mind that customers must be billed the rate that is
effective  rate at the time services are rendered. 

https://legislature.maine.gov/legis/statutes/35-A/title35-Asec6104-B.html
https://legislature.maine.gov/legis/statutes/35-A/title35-Asec6104-B.html
https://legislature.maine.gov/legis/statutes/35-A/title35-Asec6104-B.html


6104 
RATE CASE

UTILITY  TIMELINE

NOTIFY
CUSTOMERS

DAY 30

DAY 40-60

30 days before the public hearing, you
must notify the Commission and the
Office of Public Advocate of a 6104 rate
filing by filing your proposed rates in
the Commission’s Case Management
System (CMS). Submit the revised rate
sheet, a calculation showing how the
revenue increase was calculated, and
the notice to customers. 

At least 14 days before the public
hearing, you must notify the customers
of the hearing where the rate increase
will be discussed.

Have a public hearing where the rate
increase is discussed. This can be
held the same night as a routine
trustee meeting if you time it your
rate filing to coincide with a routine
meeting.

File the  changed rates with the
Commission. 
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DAY 16 (at the latest)
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DAY 60

The final day that customers
could file a petition is day 60.

Day 70 (at the earliest)
The new rates become effective on the date set in
the final filing (1- 9 months after the final filing). 

This flyer is intended for informational purposes only. This information is not legal advice and
does not set any legal standard. Regulated public utilities must comply with Maine law and
regulations and should consult with legal counsel for interpretation of laws and regulations.

Keep in mind that customers must be billed the rate that is
effective  rate at the time services are rendered. 

https://legislature.maine.gov/statutes/35-A/title35-Asec6104.html
https://legislature.maine.gov/statutes/35-A/title35-Asec6104.html
https://legislature.maine.gov/statutes/35-A/title35-Asec6104.html
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UTILITY  TIMELINE

DAY 30

DAY 40-60

30 days before the public hearing, you
must notify the Commission and the
Office of Public Advocate of a 6104-A
rate filing by filing your proposed rates
in the Commission’s Case Management
System (CMS). Submit the revised rate
sheet, a calculation showing how the
revenue increase was calculated, and
the notice to customers. 

At least 14 days before the public
hearing, you must notify the 
customers of the hearing where
the rate increase will be discussed.

Have a public meeting where the
rate increase is discussed. This can
be held the same night as a routine
trustee meeting if you time your rate
filing to coincide with a routine
meeting.

File the  changed rates with the
Commission. 
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Day 70 (at the earliest)
The new rates become effective on the
date set in the final filing (1- 9 months
after the final filing). 

This flyer is intended for informational purposes only. This information is not legal advice and
does not set any legal standard. Regulated public utilities must comply with Maine law and
regulations and should consult with legal counsel for interpretation of laws and regulations.

Keep in mind that customers must be billed the rate that is
effective  rate at the time services are rendered. 

This is a rate case without the ability for customers
to petition the rates. The rates can only go up a set
amount ( 3-7.5%) that varies based on utility
revenue.

https://legislature.maine.gov/legis/statutes/35-A/title35-Asec6104-A.html
https://legislature.maine.gov/legis/statutes/35-A/title35-Asec6104-A.html
https://legislature.maine.gov/legis/statutes/35-A/title35-Asec6104-A.html

