
Disconnection Notices
              Requirements for Water Utilities
              Chapter 660 of Maine PUC Rules
                           
                         This is a brief summary of a portions of the rule for use as a quick 
                           guide during a disconnection process. Please reference the full 
                           rule to ensure full compliance.

This flyer is intended for informational purposes only. This information is not legal advice and does not set any legal standard.
Regulated public utilities must comply with Maine law and regulations and should consult with legal counsel for interpretation of
laws and regulations.

A utility must provide residential customers with
written notice of the intent to disconnect at least 14
calendar days before the stated disconnection date
and must provide non-residential customers with
written notice of the intent to disconnect at least 7
calendar days before the stated disconnection date
in the circumstances described below:  

A(1)

A(5)
Section 10

A(7)
Section 10

The customer does not pay or make
a payment arrangement on an
undisputed overdue amount that is
more than $50.00 or more than 90
days past due. 

The customer unreasonably
refuses to allow access to the
premises to install or read a meter
or for the necessary inspection or
repair of utility property.

The utility has reason to believe
there is fraud or that the customer
has materially misrepresented their
identity to obtain utility service.

14  day notice 

7 day  notice 

Residential: 

Commercial:

Section 10
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3 Day
Notice 

If a customer made a payment that was
not honored by the bank after the
expiration of the disconnect notice.

The customer does not comply
with a decision of the commission
or it’s CASD.

A(2)
Section 10

A(3)
Section 10

A(4)
Section 10

A(10)
Section 10

Section 10

H
Section 11

C

The customer does not make their
payment according to the terms of
a payment arrangement.

The customer does not pay or
make a payment arrangement.

A utility must provide
written notice of the
intent to disconnect a
customer at least 
3 business days 
before the stated 
disconnection
date in any 
of the 
circumstances 
described to
 the right.

If a physician's oral certification of a medical
condition is questioned by the utility, the utility
may require written confirmation within 7 days.
Failure to provide it can result in a disconnection.

Service is being used, but no
occupant or other person has
applied for customer status.
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No
Notice
Needed

A(6)
Section 10

A(8)
Section 10

A(9)
Section 10

Section 10
B

A utility can disconnect
a customer without 
providing notice in the
circumstances
described
to the right:

There is unauthorized use of the
utility service delivered to the
affected premises.

The occupant’s service poses a
threat to the safety of any person
or the integrity of the utility
delivery system.

The utility receives a directive from
state inspector or local code
enforcement officer to disconnect
service for safety reasons.

If the premises is clearly abandoned or a customer
requests disconnection (provided that the
provisions of Section 10(I) concerning
landlord/tenant disconnections are not applicable). 



D
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 /

This is a guide to help you document the steps you take in the disconnection process.  It is important to keep
track of dates and what step you are on in the process. Please read the rule to ensure you are complying fully. 
Consumer protection standards for water utilities (Chapter 660) applies to disconnections.

Customer name/address:                                                                                     

Reason for disconnect proceeding:                                                                                                                             

3 DAY 
NOTICE 

If the payment arrangement requires 2 or more
payments, a utility must mail or deliver to the customer a
written confirmation of a payment arrangement within 3
business days after a payment arrangement is
established. 

Disconnection Of Customers
 Worksheet For Utilities

NOTES
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A utility must continue to serve a customer who does not
pay an account balance in full if the customer agrees to
enter a payment arrangement (of a single or multiple
payments) for the account balance and agrees to pay
each future bill for service on or before the due date of the
bill until the payment arrangement is completed. 

SET UP PAYMENT ARRANGMENT 

CONFIRM PAYMENT ARRANGMENT IN WRITING

A disconnection notice is effective for 10 business days
after the disconnection date stated in the notice. If a
utility fails to properly disconnect service within this time
frame, the disconnection notice procedures must be
repeated.
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 / PERIOD OF EFFECTIVENESS 
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Additional steps for specific types of
disconnections:

7 DAY 
NOTICE 

14 DAY 
NOTICE 
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Your water bill balance of $_____________ is past due and your service is scheduled for disconnection on ______________
between the hours of ______A.M. and ________ P.M. or within ten (10) business days. To avoid disconnection you must: 
a) Pay the outstanding amount outlined in your payment arrangement; OR
b) Make an agreement with us to pay the amount past due over a period of time; OR
c) Pay the outstanding amount outlined in your payment arrangement.

Payment Arrangement or Payment Plan: You can avoid disconnection by either paying the bill in full or by
making a payment arrangement. This payment plan will require you to pay a mutually agreed upon portion of the
outstanding bill and to pay the balance within a reasonable period of weekly or monthly installments.

If service is disconnected: You must pay the past due amount in full or make a payment arrangement before your
water service is restored. Please be advised that if we visit your property on the day of the disconnection there will
be a $________ collection fee. If water is disconnected, there will be a reconnection fee of $_______ during business
days ______ A.M. - _______ P.M. or $___________ after hours for reconnection. 
Our office hours are ______ A.M. - _____ P.M. Monday thru Friday and can be reached at (207)______________. This may
require a deposit and/or reconnection fee to get service restored. 

Medical Emergency: Disconnection can be postponed up to thirty (30) days due to a medical emergency. There
is a medical emergency when a registered physician certifies that the customer or occupant is seriously ill or has
a medical condition which will be seriously aggravated by the lack of water service. While initial certification may
be made by telephone, a physician must certify the emergency in writing within seven (7) days. During this
medical emergency period we will work with you to make a payment arrangement.

Dispute: If you dispute your Disconnection Notice or bill, please call us at (207)____________ . Chapter No. 660 of
the Maine Public Utilities Commission requires you to discuss the matter with a utility representative before
submitting the dispute to the MPUC Consumer Assistance and Safety Division(CASD). To submit a matter to
CASD call 800-452-4699.

Assistance: If you need financial assistance please call 211 or a local community action agency.

Disconnection Notice
Keep this portion for your records

Notice Date:
Account Number:
Customer Number: 

Total Due: $              

Water Utility Address: 
Water  Utility: 

Please give this matter your immediate attention

Please return this portion with payment
Disconnection Notice

Notice Date: 

Account Number:

Total amount due:

Please make check out and send to :
Water Utility Address:

Water Utility Name:

Service Address:

This is an example of a
disconnect notice, it is not a
PUC approved template. It is
your responsibility to ensure
that your disconnection
notices comply with all
applicable rules. 


