Skip Maine state header navigation

Agencies | Online Services | Help

Skip First Level Navigation | Skip All Navigation

Home > National Register of Historic Places > Historic Properties in Maine

Historic Properties in Maine

Historic properties in the State of Maine are formally recognized through the National Register of Historic Places and the National Historic Landmarks Programs.

National Register of Historic Places program

Over 1470 properties in Maine have been listed in the National Register of Historic Places since 1966. These listings represent thousands of buildings, structures, objects, sites and historic districts from pre-history to the mid-twentieth century. Search the National Register databases to locate properties listed in the National Register of Historic Places.

NRIS search tips:

  • Use the 'Name" button to look for properties by resource name, architect/engineer, significant person, or multiple property submission name.
  • Use the "Location" button to find properties by state, city, or county.

Coming up...

           ...nominations to be presented at the next Commission Meeting.

New listings...

   recently listed in the National Register in Maine

Multiple Property Nominations

In addition to individually listed resources and historic districts some properties have been recognized by the National Register as groupings of related resources. These include Thematic Resources (compiled prior to the mid-1980s), which nominated groups of similar property types; Multiple Resource Areas (documented prior to the mid-1980s), which recognized non-contiguous districts; and Multiple Property Documentation Forms. The National Register of Historic Places Multiple Property Documentation Form nominates groups of related significant properties. On it, the themes, trends, and patterns of history shared by the properties are organized into historic contexts and the property types that represent those historic contexts are defined.

The Multiple Property Documentation Form is a cover document and not a nomination in its own right, but serves as a basis for evaluating the National Register eligibility of related properties. The following multiple property nominations can be viewed by searching the NRIS database.

  • Historic Resources of Acadia National Park (MPDF)
  • Androscoggin River Drainage prehistoric Sites (MPDF)
  • Cobscook Area Coastal Prehistoric Sites (MPDF)
  • Eliot Maine Historic Resources (MPDF)
  • Historic Residential Architecture of Bangor (MPDF)
  • Lifesaving Stations of Maine (MPDF)
  • Light Stations of Maine (MPDF)
  • Maine Fluted Point Paleoindian Sites (MPDF)
  • Maine Public Libraries (MPDF)
  • Native American Petroglyphs of Maine (MPDF)
  • Penobscot Headwater Lakes Prehistoric Sites (MPDF)
  • Augusta Central Business District (MRA)
  • Lewiston Commercial District (MRA)
  • Rumford Commercial District (MRA)
  • Boothbay Region Prehistoric Sites (TR)
  • Prehistoric Sites in North Haven (TR)
  • Rufus Jones (TR)
  • Wells Township Cape Cod Houses (TR)

National Historic Landmark Program

National Historic Landmarks are nationally significant historic places designated by the Secretary of the Interior because they possess exceptional value or quality in illustrating or interpreting the heritage of the United States. At present, forty-one properties in Maine bear this national distinction. The National Park Service nominates new landmarks, with the consent by private owners, and provides technical assistance to existing landmarks. National Historic Landmarks also are eligible for competitive grants and tax incentives.