Skip Maine state header navigation

Agencies | Online Services | Help

Skip First Level Navigation | Skip All Navigation

Home > Certified Local Government (CLG) Program

Certified Local Government (CLG) Program

The Certified Local Government Program (CLG) was created in the early 1980s by an amendment to the National Historic Preservation Act. The program is designed to promote preservation planning and cultural resource protection efforts at the local level that are consistent with state and Federal standards and guidelines (see Guidelines at left).  A fundamental requirement for participation is the adoption of a historic preservation ordinance that, in accordance with the program's guidelines, creates a local historic preservation commission and implements a formal review process.  A local government becomes certified when it meets state and Federal program requirements, formally applies to the Commission for participation, signs a Certification Agreement, and is approved by the Commission and the National Park Service.  For more detailed information regarding qualification for the CLG Program in Maine, please visit the Program Guidelines page.

CLGs are eligible to apply to the Commission for annual grant funds that are specifically dedicated to the program.  Grant applications are reviewed by the Commission and awarded on a competitive basis.  Projects that are eligible for funding include, but are not limited to, architectural and archaeological surveys, preparation of National Register nominations, public education programs, preservation, rehabilitation and restoration projects, activities related to comprehensive planning, and the development of community specific design manuals. Get more detail about Grants.

Additionally, the Commission has initiated, sponsored, and presented, along with host CLGs, Maine Preservation, and the National Alliance of Preservation Commissions, annual training workshops for CLGs, historic preservation commission members, planners, elected officials, and other preservationists. Annual workshops continue to be developed based upon the needs of the CLG program and local commission members.  The Commission also provides assistance to individual CLGs on relevant topics and issues as requested.

There are currently ten Certified Local Governments in Maine: Bangor (12/02/85), York (01/07/86), Topsham (06/22/88), Kennebunk (02/09/90), Hampden (08/28/90), Lewiston (02/04/91), Saco (10/23/91), Castine (11/24/94), Portland (01/10/05), and Gardiner (05/25/10).

Please contact Megan M. Hopkin at 287-2992 or by email  if you have any questions about the Certified Local Government Program in Maine.