Instructions for completing “The Reinstatement Application” for a Maine Medical License

LICENSURE REINSTATEMENT LAW

Title 32 M.R.S. § 3280-A, subsection 4. Reinstatement after lapse. A physician may be reinstated after the lapse of a license under the
following conditions.

You

A

A. A license that has lapsed pursuant to 32 M.R.S. § 3280-A, subsection 1, paragraph B may be reinstated upon application by the
physician on forms provided by the board. A physician whose license has lapsed for more than 5 years shall apply for a new license in
order to practice medicine in the State.

B. When applying for reinstatement, the licensee must state the reason why the license lapsed and pay all fees in arrears at the time of
lapse plus the current license renewal application fee and a nonrefundable reinstatement application processing fee of $100.

C. The board may not reinstate a lapsed license if the board finds any cause that may be considered a ground for discipline pursuant to
32 M.R.S. § 3282-A if the license had been in force. Prior to concluding that no cause exists, the board shall conduct the inquiries
required by 32 M.R.S. § 3280-A, subsection 2, paragraph A for applications for renewal. In addition, the board may not reinstate the
license of any physician who has not provided evidence satisfactory to the board of having actively engaged in the practice of medicine
continuously for at least the past 12 months under the license of another jurisdiction of the United States or Canada unless the applicant
has first satisfied the board of the applicant's current competency by passage of written examinations or practical demonstrations as the
board may from time to time prescribe for this purpose through rulemaking.

EVIDENCE OF CLINICAL EXPERIENCE OR COMPETENCY WHEN LICENSED LAPSED
must provide the Board with satisfactory evidence of current clinical competency. Such evidence may include either:

1. Actively engaged in the practice of medicine continuously for at least the past 12 months under the license of another
jurisdiction of the United States or Canada; or

2. Passage of written examinations or practical demonstrations as the Board may from time to time prescribe for this purpose
through rulemaking. Also, please see the CME log instructions below.

HOW TO APPLY FOR REINSTATEMENT

Please type or print clearly on the application.

Complete all questions on the application.

Submit a written statement explaining why you allowed your Maine medical license to lapse or why you withdrew from licensure.
Complete the Continuing Medical Education (“CME”) log and submit it with your application.

Achieve a passing score on a State of Maine jurisprudence examination administered by the Board within the past 3 years.

Pay the appropriate NON-REFUNDABLE reinstatement fees.

A. The lapsed license reinstatement fee is $600, which includes: (1) $500 for the current renewal fee, (2) $50 for a late fee, and (3) a
$50 reinstatement fee. This fee is required before a license may be issued.

B. The withdrawn license reinstatement fee is $550, which includes: (1) $500 for the current renewal fee, and (2) a $50 reinstatement
fee. This fee is required before a license may be issued.

Please Note

Mandated Reporter Requirements for Suspected Child Abuse

Maine law requires that physicians immediately report or cause a report to be made to the Maine Department of Health and Human Services
(DHHS) when the physician knows or has reasonable cause to suspect that a child has been or is likely to be abused or neglected or that a
suspicious child death has occurred. In addition, if a child is under 6 months of age or otherwise non-ambulatory, Maine law requires
physicians to immediately report to DHHS if that child exhibits evidence of the following: fracture of a bone; substantial bruising or
multiple bruises; subdural hematoma; burns; poisoning; or injury resulting in substantial bleeding, soft tissue swelling or
impairment of an organ, except that the reporting of injuries occurring as a result of the delivery of a child attended by a licensed
medical practitioner or the reporting of burns or other injuries occurring as a result of medical treatment following the delivery of
the child when the child remains hospitalized following the delivery is not required. Please refer to 22 M.R.S. § 4011-A for all reporting
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requirements.

Mandated Reporter Training and additional information regarding mandated reporting can be found at:
http://www.maine.gov/dhhs/ocfs/cps/

Maine Prescription Monitoring Program

As of August 1, 2014, Maine law requires all Allopathic Physicians, Osteopathic Physicians, Dentists, Physician Assistants, Podiatrists, and
Advanced Practice Registered Nurses who are licensed to prescribe scheduled medications to register with the Prescription Monitoring
Program (PMP). To register, please go to the Prescription Monitoring Program website: http://www.maine.gov/pmp Download, complete
and sign a registration form located within the yellow box. You may mail, scan and email or fax a signed form to the information located on
the form. Please note there are two types of registration forms available, 1) Data Requester form for active prescribers with a DEA number
and, 2) Sub-Account form for assistants/non-prescribing health professionals.

More PMP information is available at: http://www.maine.gov/dhhs/samhs/osa/data/pmp/prescriber.htm

Requirements Regarding Prescribing Opioid Medication

Any physician who intends to prescribe opioid medication must be aware of the laws and rules that govern this practice in Maine. The laws
and rules affecting opioid prescribing include:

e Mandatory use of the PMP

Limitations on dosing (with exceptions)

Electronic prescriptions

Continuing education regarding opioid prescribing

Opioid medication policy
e Universal precautions

See 32 M.R.S. § 3300-F and Board Rule Chapter 21.

Your application is a public record for the purposes of the Maine Freedom of Access Law (1 MRS
section 401 et seq.). Public records must be made available to any person upon request. The
application for licensure is a public record and information supplied as part of the application, other
than those items exempted by law such as social security number and credit card information, is
public information.

The Board’s staff is available to assist you by phone Monday through Friday,
8:00 am to 4:30 pm, Eastern Daylight time.

Last Name A-L call (207) 287-3602

Last Name M-Z call (207) 287-3782
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REINSTATEMENT Maine Board of Licensure in Medicine
APPLICATION State House Station #137
Augusta, ME 04333

I hereby apply for reinstatement of my license to practice medicine and surgery in the State of Maine. In addition to completing this

@ application, | am submitting a separate written statement explaining why | allowed my Maine medical license to lapse. | understand
that this separate written statement will be incorporated into this application and subject to the affidavit affirming the correctness and
accuracy of all information | submit with this application.

NAME:
Last First Middle

Home Address: Work Address:

[ ] Use this as my contact address Number and Street [ ] Use this as my contact address Number and Street

City State Zip/Postal Code City State Zip/Postal Code
Home Telephone : Work Telephone :
Place of Birth: Date Of Birth: / /
Month Day Year

Social Security Number: - - Email Address:
Specialty:

Medical School:

NAME GRADUATION DATE

CITY, STATE, COUNTRY
Will you practice in Maine within the next year? L1 yes O No If yes, in what community?

@ AFFIDAVIT OF APPLICANT

I, , being duly sworn, depose and say that | am the person described and identified in this
application.

I have carefully read the questions in this application and have answered them completely, without reservations of any kind, and declare
under penalty of law that my answers and all statements made by me herein are true and correct. Should | furnish any false information in
this application, | hereby agree that such act shall constitute cause for the denial, suspension or revocation of my license to practice medicine
and surgery in the state of Maine, or other discipline as the Board may determine.

| hereby authorize all hospitals, medical institutions or organizations, my references, personal physicians, employers (past and recent),
business and professional associates (past and present) and all governmental agencies and instrumentalities (local, state, federal, and foreign)
to release to this licensing Board any information, files or records required by the Board for it’s evaluation of any professional and ethical
qualifications for licensure in the state of Maine. | hereby release any and all entities from responsibility regarding the information they
release to the Board of Licensure in Medicine.

I hereby authorize the Board of Licensure in Medicine to transmit any information contained in the application, or information that may
otherwise become available to them, to any agency, organization, hospital, or individual, who, in the judgement of the Board, has a legitimate
interest in such information.

Signature of Applicant

Date Attach Recent
Photo
Signature of Notary Here
Notary Commission Expires: (Picture must be no
larger than this

square.) Notary’s

Seal

1) APPLICANTS MUST SIGN THEIR FULL NAME IN THE PRESENCE OF A NOTARY PUBLIC.
2) NOTARY PUBLIC MUST COMPLETE THE AFFIDAVIT AND AFFIX A NOTARIAL SEAL
OVERLAPPING A PORTION OF THE PHOTOGRAPH BUT NOT COVERING ABOVE THE NECK.
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@ Registration Type

O 1am applying for reinstatement of my Maine license with an Active status.

O 1am applying for reinstatement of my Maine license with an Inactive status.
To apply for reinstatement of your Maine license with an active status requires that section 8 be completed and submitted
regarding CME credit for the last 24 months. Also, please refer to the clinical experience requirements on page 1.

@ Current Liability Insurance Information

Insurance Company (Name, Address) Policy #

O Check here if premiums for your professional liability are paid by a
Hospital or other employer.
Hospital/Employer:

@ MEDICAL LICENSURE
List all states, provinces, or countries in which you have held, now hold, or have applied for a medical license.

State Certificate # Date Issued State Certificate # Date Issued

@ PROFESSIONAL EXPERIENCE/ HOSPITAL AFFILIATIONS/WORK HISTORY

For the period of time 2 years prior to the lapsing or withdrawal of your Maine Medical license until the date of this application, list in
chronological order all professional experience including full work history of practice, and all healthcare entities where you have held or now
hold privileges. Be certain to report COMPLETE ADDRESSES. Failure to do so will delay the application process. You may photocopy this
page, if necessary.

From To Certificate, Office
MO/ Yr | MolYr Name of Hospital/Institution or Practice Complete Address (Street, City, State/Province, Zip | Degree, or_Nature Use Only
Code) of Experience
S R
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@ PERSONAL DATA

Check off (X) each appropriate response. Every ‘YES’ response must be fully explained by written statement on a separate
8.5” x 11" sheet of white paper. Each such explanation must be cross-referenced with the question number, and must be
signed, dated, and enclosed with your application.

YES NO

1O

[]
[]

I
I

[]
[]

O

1. Have you EVER had ANY licensing authority (INCLUDING MAINE) deny your application for any type of
license, or take any disciplinary action against the license issued to you in that jurisdiction, including but not limited
to warning, reprimand, fine, suspension, revocation, restrictions in permitted practice, probation with or without
monitoring?

2. Have you EVER agreed with any licensing authority to voluntarily follow practice limitations, restrictions,
guidelines, to make reports or to complete specific continuing education or course work?

3. Have you EVER been notified of the existence of allegations, investigations and/or complaints involving you, filed
with or by ANY licensing authority (INCLUDING MAINE), which allegations, investigations and/or complaints
remain open as of the date of this application?

4. Have you EVER left a medical licensing jurisdiction (INCLUDING MAINE) while a complaint, investigation or
allegation was pending?

5. Have you EVER been denied registration, or had your ability to prescribe or dispense controlled substances
modified, restricted, suspended, revoked, or voluntarily suspended by, or surrendered to:

a) The U. S. Drug Enforcement Administration (US DEA)?

b) Any state/territory of the U. S., INCLUDING MAINE?

6. Has there EVER been a finding by any state or federal court or governmental agency that you violated any rule or
law regulating the practice of health care?

7. Has there EVER been a finding against you in any inquiry, investigation, or administrative or judicial proceeding
by an employer, educational institution, professional organization, or licensing authority, or in connection with an
employment disciplinary or termination procedure?

8. Have you EVER received a sanction or entered into any settlement agreement or integrity agreement related to
Medicare, TRICARE or any state Medicaid program?

9. Health and wellness is vital for both a physician/physician assistant and the patients she/he serves. The Board
strongly encourages physicians/physician assistants to take steps, including seeking treatment, when necessary to
establish and maintain health and wellness. One resource available to physicians/physician assistants is the Medical
Professionals Health Program (MPHP). More information about the MPHP can be found at:
https://www.mainemed.com/member-services/medical-professionals-health-program.

The purpose of the following questions is to determine the current fitness of an applicant to safely practice medicine.
The following inquiries concern current medical, mental health, and substance misuse issues that may impair the
ability to safely practice. This information is treated confidentially by the Board. The mere fact of treatment for a
current medical, mental health or substance misuse issue is not, by itself, a basis on which an applicant is ordinarily
denied licensure when he/she has demonstrated personal responsibility and maturity in dealing with these issues.
The Board strongly encourages applicants who may benefit from treatment to seek it. The Board may deny a license
to applicants whose ability to safely function in the practice of medicine or whose behavior, judgment, and
understanding is currently impaired to the degree that patient safety is at risk.

a. Do you have a mental or physical condition that currently impairs your ability to safely and competently practice
medicine?
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YES NO

HER b. Do you currently use any chemical substance(s), including alcohol, which in any way impairs or limits your ability
to practice your profession with reasonable skill and safety?

1 O If any of your answers to questions 9(a-b) is “Yes,” are the limitations or impairments caused by your medical,

N/A ] mental health, or substance misuse condition reduced or improved because you receive ongoing professional
treatment (with or without medication) or because you participate in a professional monitoring program? Current
voluntary participation in the Medical Professionals Health Program or similar program will be kept confidential.

HEN 10. Are you currently engaged in the illegal use of illicit drugs or prescription drugs that have not been prescribed to
you pursuant to a legitimate physician-patient relationship? “Legitimate” means “Being in compliance with the law
or in accordance with established and accepted standards.”

HEN 11. Have you EVER furnished or provided illegal drugs to anyone other than medical marijuana per applicable state
law?

[]
[]

12. Have you EVER furnished prescription drugs to or written a prescription for anyone without having a legitimate
physician-patient relationship (This includes conduct for which you may NOT have been adjudicated in any civil,
administrative or criminal proceeding)?

13. Have you EVER been found in any civil, administrative or criminal proceeding to have:

Possessed, used, prescribed for use, or distributed any drugs in any way other than for legitimate or therapeutic
purposes?

Diverted any drugs?
Violated any drug law?

Prescribed any controlled substances for yourself or family/household members?

O O dd O
O O dd O

14. Have you EVER been charged, summonsed, indicted, arrested, or convicted of any criminal offense, including
when those events have been deferred, set aside, dismissed, expunged or issued a stay of execution? Please include
motor vehicle offenses such as Operating Under the Influence, but not minor traffic or parking violations.

HEN 15. Have you EVER applied for hospital, HMO or other health care entity privileges which were denied?

1 O 16. Have you EVER had your staff privileges or employment at any hospital, long term care facility, HMO, or other
health care entity terminated, revoked, reduced, restricted in any way, suspended, made subject to probation, limited
in any way, or withdrawn involuntarily?

HEN 17. Have you EVER voluntarily surrendered privileges or resigned from staff membership during peer review or
investigation or to avoid peer review or investigation?

1 O 18. Have you EVER resigned from employment in lieu of termination or while under investigation?

HER 19. Have you EVER been terminated or suspended from any employment?

1 O 20. Have you EVER been deselected from a managed care organization physician panel?

1 O 21. Have you EVER been disciplined by a professional society or resigned while an accusation was pending?
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YES NO

O

1O

1O
1O

1O

] [

22. Have you EVER endangered the safety of others, breached fiduciary obligations, or violated workplace conduct
rules?

23. Have you EVER been named in any medical malpractice liability claim or lawsuit adjudicated by a court in favor
of the other party, or settled by you or your insurance company/representatives with or without your express consent?

24. Do you have any open/pending malpractice claims?

25. Do you intend to practice medicine within the State of Maine without active medical staff privileges at a Maine
hospital?

26. Has it been longer than 24 months since you last practiced clinical medicine?

27. The Board is concerned with physician/physician assistant health and wellness. An important piece of
maintaining health and wellness is establishing a relationship with a primary health care provider who provides
regular and ongoing care. The Board is conducting a voluntary survey to determine the percentage of licensees who
receive ongoing and regular care from a primary care provider, and whether further education needs to be provided to
licensees regarding this important issue. Please answer the following question.

Have you been examined/evaluated by your primary health care provider within the past 24 months?

[ ] Decline to answer

Category |

CONTINUING MEDICAL EDUCATION REPORTING LOG

For reporting CME credits earned during the previous 24 months.
You must have a minimum of 40 Category 1 hours during the previous 24 months

Category 1 includes programs that have received accreditation by the AMA Council on Medical Education, the Accreditation Council for
Continuing Medical education (ACCME), or the Committee on CME of the Maine Medical Association. [Refer to Chapter 1 § 11 of the
Rules and Regulations of the Maine Board of Licensure in Medicine for specific CME rules and definitions.]

Accredited Sponsor | Location of Activity Description of Activity Dates Attended Credits

Earned

(If you need additional space, please attach a separate sheet of paper)

Total Category | Credits

AFFIDAVIT: | CERTIFY THIS LOG TO BE A TRUE AND CORRECT REPORT OF MY CME ACTIVITY.

Date:

Physician Signature:

March 14, 2019

To be valid, this form must be signed and dated, with the hours totaled.
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