Instructions for completing "The Reinstatement Application" for a Maine Medical License

LICENSURE REINSTATEMENT LAW

Title 32 M.R.S. § 3280-A, subsection 4. **Reinstatement after lapse.** A physician may be reinstated after the lapse of a license under the following conditions.

- A. A license that has lapsed pursuant to 32 M.R.S. § 3280-A, subsection 1, paragraph B may be reinstated upon application by the physician on forms provided by the board. A physician whose license has lapsed for more than 5 years shall apply for a new license in order to practice medicine in the State.
- B. When applying for reinstatement, the licensee must state the reason why the license lapsed and pay all fees in arrears at the time of lapse plus the current license renewal application fee and a nonrefundable reinstatement application processing fee of \$100.
- C. The board may not reinstate a lapsed license if the board finds any cause that may be considered a ground for discipline pursuant to 32 M.R.S. § 3282-A. Prior to concluding that no cause exists, the board shall conduct the inquiries required by 32 M.R.S. § 3280-A, subsection 2, paragraph A for applications for renewal. In addition, the board may not reinstate the license of any physician who has not provided evidence satisfactory to the board of having actively engaged in the practice of medicine continuously for at least the past 12 months under the license of another jurisdiction of the United States or Canada unless the applicant has first satisfied the board of the applicant's current competency by passage of written examinations or practical demonstrations as the board may prescribe, including but not limited to meeting the continued clinical competency requirement of board rules Chapter 1, section 9.

EVIDENCE OF CLINICAL EXPERIENCE OR COMPETENCY WHEN LICENSED LAPSED

You must provide the Board with satisfactory evidence of current clinical competency. Such evidence may include either:

- 1. Actively engaged in the practice of medicine continuously for at least the past 12 months under the license of another jurisdiction of the United States or Canada; or
- 2. Passage of written examinations or practical demonstrations as the Board may prescribe for this purpose. Also, please see the CME log instructions below.

HOW TO APPLY FOR REINSTATEMENT

- 1. Please type or print clearly on the application.
- 2. Complete all questions on the application.
- 3. Submit a written statement explaining why you allowed your Maine medical license to lapse or why you withdrew from licensure.
- 4. Complete the Continuing Medical Education ("CME") log and submit it with your application.
- 5. Achieve a passing score on a State of Maine jurisprudence examination administered by the Board within the past 3 years.
- 6. Pay the appropriate NON-REFUNDABLE reinstatement fees.
 - A. The lapsed license reinstatement fee is \$600, which includes: (1) \$500 for the current renewal fee, (2) \$50 for a late fee, and (3) a \$50 reinstatement fee. This fee is required before a license may be issued.
 - B. The withdrawn license reinstatement fee is \$550, which includes: (1) \$500 for the current renewal fee, and (2) a \$50 reinstatement fee. This fee is required before a license may be issued.

Please Note

Mandated Reporter Requirements for Suspected Child Abuse

Maine law requires that physicians immediately report or cause a report to be made to the Maine Department of Health and Human Services (DHHS) when the physician knows or has reasonable cause to suspect that a child has been or is likely to be abused or neglected or that a suspicious child death has occurred. In addition, if a child is under 6 months of age or otherwise non-ambulatory, Maine law requires physicians to immediately report to DHHS if that child exhibits evidence of the following: fracture of a bone; substantial bruising or multiple bruises; subdural hematoma; burns; poisoning; or injury resulting in substantial bleeding, soft tissue swelling or impairment of an organ, except that the reporting of injuries occurring as a result of the delivery of a child attended by a licensed medical practitioner or the reporting of burns or other injuries occurring as a result of medical treatment following the delivery of the child when the child remains hospitalized following the delivery is not required. Please refer to 22 M.R.S. § 4011-A for all reporting

requirements.

Mandated Reporter Training and additional information regarding mandated reporting can be found at:

https://www.maine.gov/dhhs/ocfs/provider-resources/reporting-suspected-child-abuse-and-neglect/mandated-reporter-information

Maine Prescription Monitoring Program

All Allopathic Physicians, Osteopathic Physicians, Dentists, Physician Assistants, Podiatrists, and Advanced Practice Registered Nurses who are licensed to prescribe scheduled medications must register with the Prescription Monitoring Program (PMP). To register, please go to the Prescription Monitoring Program website: https://www.maine.gov/dhhs/samhs/osa/data/pmp/index.htm Download, complete and sign a registration form located within the yellow box. You may mail, scan and email or fax a signed form to the information located on the form. Please note there are two types of registration forms available, 1) Data Requester form for active prescribers with a DEA number and, 2) Sub-Account form for assistants/non-prescribing health professionals.

More PMP information is available at: https://www.maine.gov/dhhs/samhs/osa/data/pmp/index.htm

Requirements Regarding Prescribing Opioid Medication

Any physician who intends to prescribe opioid medication must be aware of the laws and rules that govern this practice in Maine. The laws and rules affecting opioid prescribing include:

- Mandatory use of the PMP
- Limitations on dosing (with exceptions)
- Electronic prescriptions
- Continuing education regarding opioid prescribing
- Opioid medication policy
- Universal precautions

See 32 M.R.S. § 3300-F and Board Rule Chapter 21.

Your application is a public record for the purposes of the Maine Freedom of Access Law (1 MRS section 401 et seq.). Public records must be made available to any person upon request. The application for licensure is a public record and information supplied as part of the application, other than those items exempted or confidential by law such as personal health information, social security number, and credit card information, is public information.

The Board's staff is available to assist you by phone Monday through Friday, 8:00 am to 4:30 pm, Eastern Daylight time.

Last Name A-L call (207) 287-3602

Last Name M-Z call (207) 287-3782

REINSTATEMENT APPLICATION

Maine Board of Licensure in Medicine State House Station #137 Augusta, ME 04333



I hereby apply for reinstatement of my license to practice medicine and surgery in the State of Maine. In addition to completing this application, I am submitting a separate written statement explaining why I allowed my Maine medical license to lapse. I understand that this separate written statement will be incorporated into this application and subject to the affidavit affirming the correctness and accuracy of all information I submit with this application.

NAME:	Last	First	Middle
Home Address:			
Use this as my conta		Work Address: [] Use this as my contact address	Number and Street
City	State Zip/Postal (Code City	State Zip/Postal Code
Home Telephone : _		Work Telephone :	
Place of Birth:		Date Of Birth: Mon	th Day Year
Social Security Num	ber: Email Addre	ess:	un Day i ear
Specialty:			
Medical School:	NAME		
			GRADUATION DATE
W7:11	CITY, STATE, COUNTRY Maine within the next year? Yes No		
win you practice in	Maine within the next year?	o II yes, in what community?	
(2) <u>AFFIDA</u>	VIT OF APPLICANT		
I,	, being duly s	sworn, depose and say that I am the	e person described and identified in this
application.		,,,,	
this application, I he and surgery in the st I hereby authorize al business and profess to release to this lice qualifications for lic	that my answers and all statements made by reby agree that such act shall constitute cause are of Maine, or other discipline as the Board of the I hospitals, medical institutions or organization ional associates (past and present) and all governing Board any information, files or records of the ensure in the state of Maine. I hereby release a of Licensure in Medicine.	for the denial, suspension or revoc may determine. ns, my references, personal physic ernmental agencies and instrument required by the Board for it's evalu	ation of my license to practice medicine ians, employers (past and recent), talities (local, state, federal, and foreign) nation of any professional and ethical
	ne Board of Licensure in Medicine to transmit available to them, to any agency, organization, lemation.		
Signature of	Applicant		
Date			Attach Recent Photo
Signature of N	otary		Here
Notary Commission	on Expires:	la	Picture must be no rger than this quare.) Notary's Seal
October 18, 2021	1) APPLICANTS MUST SIGN THEIR FULL NAME 2) NOTARY PUBLIC MUST COMPLETE THE AFFI		BLIC.

OVERLAPPING A PORTION OF THE PHOTOGRAPH BUT NOT COVERING ABOVE THE NECK.

	or reinsta	ing for reinstatement on the tement of your Maine dit for the last 24 months	license with an	n active status requi	res that section 8 b			nitted
4) <u>Cı</u>	urrent L	iability Insurance Inf	formation					
nsurance C	Company ((Name, Address)	Pol	licy #				
			☐ Check here if premiums for your professional liability are paid by a Hospital or other employer. Hospital/Employer:					
<u>5</u>) <u>M</u>	EDICA	L LICENSURE						
	es, provin	ces, or countries in which	h you have held,	now hold, or have ap	plied for a medical l	icense.		
Sta	ate	Certificate #	Date Issued	State	Certificate #	Date Is	ssued	
6) <u>PI</u>	ROFESS	SIONAL EXPERIENC	CE/ HOSPITA	AL AFFILIATION	S/WORK HISTO	DRY_		
6 <u>PI</u>	ROFESS	IONAL EXPERIENC	CE/ HOSPITA	AL AFFILIATION	S/WORK HISTO	DRY		
or the peri	od of time	e 2 years prior to the laps	sing or withdraw	al of your Maine Med	lical license until the	e date of this appli		
or the peri	od of time	e 2 years prior to the laps Ill professional experienc	sing or withdraw	al of your Maine Med work history of practi	lical license until the	e date of this appli e entities where y	ou hav	e held
or the pering or the pering of	od of time cal order a ges. Be co	e 2 years prior to the laps	sing or withdraw	al of your Maine Med work history of practi	lical license until the	e date of this appli e entities where y	ou hav	e held
or the peringenerate or the peringenerate of the privile age, if nec	od of time cal order a ges. Be co essary.	e 2 years prior to the laps Ill professional experienc	sing or withdraw	al of your Maine Med work history of practi	lical license until the	e date of this appli e entities where you	ou hav may p	e held hotoco
or the perintent of the	od of time cal order a ges. Be co essary.	e 2 years prior to the laps all professional experience certain to report <u>COMPLE</u>	sing or withdraw te including full ETE ADDRESSE	al of your Maine Med work history of practi	lical license until the ce, and all healthcar ill delay the applicat	e date of this appli e entities where y	ou hav	re held hotocop
or the perintent of the	od of time cal order a ges. Be co essary.	e 2 years prior to the laps Ill professional experienc	sing or withdraw te including full ETE ADDRESSE	al of your Maine Med work history of practi ES. Failure to do so w	lical license until the ce, and all healthcar ill delay the applicat ity, State/Province, Zip	e date of this appli e entities where you tion process. You Certificate,	ou hav may p Offi Use (re held hotocop
or the perintended privile age, if nec	od of time cal order a ges. Be co essary.	e 2 years prior to the laps all professional experience certain to report <u>COMPLE</u>	sing or withdraw te including full ETE ADDRESSE	al of your Maine Med work history of practi ES. Failure to do so w	lical license until the ce, and all healthcar ill delay the applicat ity, State/Province, Zip	e date of this appli e entities where ye tion process. You Certificate, Degree, or Nature	ou hav may p	re held hotocop
or the perior on logical privile age, if nec	od of time cal order a ges. Be co essary.	e 2 years prior to the laps all professional experience certain to report <u>COMPLE</u>	sing or withdraw te including full ETE ADDRESSE	al of your Maine Med work history of practi ES. Failure to do so w	lical license until the ce, and all healthcar ill delay the applicat ity, State/Province, Zip	e date of this appli e entities where ye tion process. You Certificate, Degree, or Nature	ou hav may p Offi Use (re held hotocop
or the peringent of the	od of time cal order a ges. Be co essary.	e 2 years prior to the laps all professional experience certain to report <u>COMPLE</u>	sing or withdraw te including full ETE ADDRESSE	al of your Maine Med work history of practi ES. Failure to do so w	lical license until the ce, and all healthcar ill delay the applicat ity, State/Province, Zip	e date of this appli e entities where ye tion process. You Certificate, Degree, or Nature	ou hav may p Offi Use (re held hotocop
or the perintent of the	od of time cal order a ges. Be co essary.	e 2 years prior to the laps all professional experience certain to report <u>COMPLE</u>	sing or withdraw te including full ETE ADDRESSE	al of your Maine Med work history of practi ES. Failure to do so w	lical license until the ce, and all healthcar ill delay the applicat ity, State/Province, Zip	e date of this appli e entities where ye tion process. You Certificate, Degree, or Nature	ou hav may p Offi Use (re held hotocop
or the perintended privile age, if nec	od of time cal order a ges. Be co essary.	e 2 years prior to the laps all professional experience certain to report <u>COMPLE</u>	sing or withdraw te including full ETE ADDRESSE	al of your Maine Med work history of practi ES. Failure to do so w	lical license until the ce, and all healthcar ill delay the applicat ity, State/Province, Zip	e date of this appli e entities where ye tion process. You Certificate, Degree, or Nature	ou hav may p Offi Use (re held hotocop
or the perintent of the	od of time cal order a ges. Be co essary.	e 2 years prior to the laps all professional experience certain to report <u>COMPLE</u>	sing or withdraw te including full ETE ADDRESSE	al of your Maine Med work history of practi ES. Failure to do so w	lical license until the ce, and all healthcar ill delay the applicat ity, State/Province, Zip	e date of this appli e entities where ye tion process. You Certificate, Degree, or Nature	ou hav may p Offi Use (re held hotocop
or the perintended privile age, if nec	od of time cal order a ges. Be co essary.	e 2 years prior to the laps all professional experience certain to report <u>COMPLE</u>	sing or withdraw te including full ETE ADDRESSE	al of your Maine Med work history of practi ES. Failure to do so w	lical license until the ce, and all healthcar ill delay the applicat ity, State/Province, Zip	e date of this appli e entities where ye tion process. You Certificate, Degree, or Nature	ou hav may p Offi Use (re held hotocop
or the perintent of the	od of time cal order a ges. Be co essary.	e 2 years prior to the laps all professional experience certain to report <u>COMPLE</u>	sing or withdraw te including full ETE ADDRESSE	al of your Maine Med work history of practi ES. Failure to do so w	lical license until the ce, and all healthcar ill delay the applicat ity, State/Province, Zip	e date of this appli e entities where ye tion process. You Certificate, Degree, or Nature	ou hav may p Offi Use (re held hotocop
or the perintended of the privile age, if nec	od of time cal order a ges. Be co essary.	e 2 years prior to the laps all professional experience certain to report <u>COMPLE</u>	sing or withdraw te including full ETE ADDRESSE	al of your Maine Med work history of practi ES. Failure to do so w	lical license until the ce, and all healthcar ill delay the applicat ity, State/Province, Zip	e date of this appli e entities where ye tion process. You Certificate, Degree, or Nature	ou hav may p Offi Use (re held hotocop
or the perintended privile age, if nec	od of time cal order a ges. Be co essary.	e 2 years prior to the laps all professional experience certain to report <u>COMPLE</u>	sing or withdraw te including full ETE ADDRESSE	al of your Maine Med work history of practi ES. Failure to do so w	lical license until the ce, and all healthcar ill delay the applicat ity, State/Province, Zip	e date of this appli e entities where ye tion process. You Certificate, Degree, or Nature	ou hav may p Offi Use (re held hotocop
or the perintended privile age, if nec	od of time cal order a ges. Be co essary.	e 2 years prior to the laps all professional experience certain to report <u>COMPLE</u>	sing or withdraw te including full ETE ADDRESSE	al of your Maine Med work history of practi ES. Failure to do so w	lical license until the ce, and all healthcar ill delay the applicat ity, State/Province, Zip	e date of this appli e entities where ye tion process. You Certificate, Degree, or Nature	ou hav may p Offi Use (re held hotocop
or the perintronological privile age, if nec	od of time cal order a ges. Be co essary.	e 2 years prior to the laps all professional experience certain to report <u>COMPLE</u>	sing or withdraw te including full ETE ADDRESSE	al of your Maine Med work history of practi ES. Failure to do so w	lical license until the ce, and all healthcar ill delay the applicat ity, State/Province, Zip	e date of this appli e entities where ye tion process. You Certificate, Degree, or Nature	ou hav may p Offi Use (re held hotocop
or the perintended privile age, if nec	od of time cal order a ges. Be co essary.	e 2 years prior to the laps all professional experience certain to report <u>COMPLE</u>	sing or withdraw te including full ETE ADDRESSE	al of your Maine Med work history of practi ES. Failure to do so w	lical license until the ce, and all healthcar ill delay the applicat ity, State/Province, Zip	e date of this appli e entities where ye tion process. You Certificate, Degree, or Nature	ou hav may p Offi Use (re held hotocop
or the perintended privile age, if nec	od of time cal order a ges. Be co essary.	e 2 years prior to the laps all professional experience certain to report <u>COMPLE</u>	sing or withdraw te including full ETE ADDRESSE	al of your Maine Med work history of practi ES. Failure to do so w	lical license until the ce, and all healthcar ill delay the applicat ity, State/Province, Zip	e date of this appli e entities where ye tion process. You Certificate, Degree, or Nature	ou hav may p Offi Use (re held hotocop
or the perintended of the privile age, if nec	od of time cal order a ges. Be co essary.	e 2 years prior to the laps all professional experience certain to report <u>COMPLE</u>	sing or withdraw te including full ETE ADDRESSE	al of your Maine Med work history of practi ES. Failure to do so w	lical license until the ce, and all healthcar ill delay the applicat ity, State/Province, Zip	e date of this appli e entities where ye tion process. You Certificate, Degree, or Nature	ou hav may p Offi Use (re held hotocop

7 PERSONAL DATA

Check off (X) each appropriate response. Every 'YES' response must be fully explained by written statement on a separate 8.5" x 11" sheet of white paper. Each such explanation must be cross-referenced with the question number, and must be signed, dated, and enclosed with your application.

YES NO	
	1. Have you EVER had ANY licensing authority (INCLUDING MAINE) deny your application for any type of license, or take any disciplinary action against the license issued to you in that jurisdiction, including but not limited to warning, reprimand, fine, suspension, revocation, restrictions in permitted practice, probation with or without monitoring?
	2. Have you EVER agreed with any licensing authority to voluntarily follow practice limitations, restrictions, guidelines, to make reports or to complete specific continuing education or course work?
	3. Have you EVER been notified of the existence of allegations, investigations and/or complaints involving you, filed with or by ANY licensing authority (INCLUDING MAINE), which allegations, investigations and/or complaints remain open as of the date of this application?
	4. Have you EVER left a medical licensing jurisdiction (INCLUDING MAINE) while a complaint, investigation or allegation was pending?
	5. Have you EVER been denied registration, or had your ability to prescribe or dispense controlled substances modified, restricted, suspended, revoked, or voluntarily suspended by, or surrendered to: a) The U. S. Drug Enforcement Administration (US DEA)? b) Any state/territory of the U. S., INCLUDING MAINE?
	6. Has there EVER been a finding by any state or federal court or governmental agency that you violated any rule or law regulating the practice of health care?
	7. Has there EVER been a finding against you in any inquiry, investigation, or administrative or judicial proceeding by an employer, educational institution, professional organization, or licensing authority, or in connection with an employment disciplinary or termination procedure?
	8. Have you EVER received a sanction or entered into any settlement agreement or integrity agreement related to Medicare, TRICARE or any state Medicaid program?
	9. Health and wellness is vital for physicians/physician assistants and the patients they serve. Physicians/physician assistants who fail to seek treatment when necessary put themselves and their patients at risk. The Board strongly encourages physicians/physician assistants to take steps, including seeking treatment, when necessary to establish and maintain health and wellness. One resource available to physicians/physician assistants is the Medical Professionals Health Program (MPHP). More information about the MPHP can be found at:

The purpose of the following questions is to determine the current fitness of an applicant to safely practice and concern current medical conditions that impair or may impair the ability to safely practice. "Medical condition" includes any physiological or psychological disease, disorder, syndrome or condition. Information regarding medical conditions provided by applicants is treated confidentially by the Board. The mere fact of treatment for current medical conditions is not, by itself, a basis on which an applicant is ordinarily denied licensure when he/she has demonstrated personal responsibility and maturity in dealing with the medical condition(s). The Board may deny, limit, or condition a license for applicants whose ability to safely practice or whose behavior, judgment, and understanding is currently impaired to the degree that patient safety is at risk.

http://www.mainemphp.org/.

YES NO	
	a. Do you have a medical condition that currently impairs your ability to safely and competently practice medicine?
	b. Do you currently use any chemical substance(s), including alcohol, which in any way impairs or limits your ability to practice your profession with reasonable skill and safety?
	If any of your answers to questions 9(a-b) is "Yes," please provide a detailed explanation.
	10. Are you currently engaged in the illegal use of illicit drugs or prescription drugs that have not been prescribed to you pursuant to a legitimate physician-patient relationship? "Legitimate" means "Being in compliance with the law or in accordance with established and accepted standards."
	11. Have you EVER furnished or provided illegal drugs to anyone other than medical marijuana per applicable state law?
	12. Have you EVER furnished prescription drugs to or written a prescription for anyone without having a legitimate physician-patient relationship (This includes conduct for which you may NOT have been adjudicated in any civil, administrative or criminal proceeding)?
	13. Have you EVER:
	Possessed, used, prescribed for use, or distributed any drugs in any way other than for legitimate or therapeutic purposes?
	Diverted any drugs?
	Violated any drug law?
	Prescribed any controlled substances, or prescribed any medications except in an emergency or isolated setting, for yourself or family/household members?
	14. Have you EVER been charged, summonsed, indicted, arrested, or convicted of any criminal offense, including when those events have been deferred, set aside, dismissed, expunged or issued a stay of execution? Please include motor vehicle offenses such as Operating Under the Influence, but not minor traffic or parking violations.
	15. Have you EVER applied for hospital, HMO or other health care entity privileges which were denied?
	16. Have you EVER had your staff privileges or employment at any hospital, long term care facility, HMO, or other health care entity terminated, revoked, reduced, restricted in any way, suspended, made subject to probation, limited in any way, or withdrawn involuntarily?
	17. Have you EVER voluntarily surrendered privileges or resigned from staff membership during peer review or investigation or to avoid peer review or investigation?
	18. Have you EVER resigned from employment in lieu of termination or while under investigation?
	19. Have you EVER been terminated or suspended from any employment?
	20. Have you EVER been deselected from a managed care organization physician panel?
	21. Have you EVER been disciplined by a professional society or resigned while an accusation was pending?

YES NO							
	22. Have you EVER endangered the safety of others, breached fiduciary obligations, or violated workplace conduct rules?						
	23. Have you EVER been named in any medical malpractice liability claim or lawsuit adjudicated by a court in favor of the other party, or settled by you or your insurance company/representatives with or without your express consent?						
	24. Do you have any open/pending malpractice claims?						
	25. Do you intend to practice medicine within the State of Maine without active medical staff privileges at a Maine hospital?						
	26. Has it been longer than 24 months since you last practiced clinical medicine?						
Decline to	maintain regular a receive of licensees Have yo	ning health and wellness and ongoing care. The Bongoing and regular care is regarding this important	physician/physician assistant heal is establishing a relationship with oard is conducting a voluntary surfrom a primary care provider, and issue. Please answer the following by your primary health care provided by your primary health care provided in the provided by your primary health care provided by your primary health care provided in the provided by your primary health care provided in the provided by your primary health care provided in the provided by your primary health care provided in the provid	a primary health care provey to determine the per lawhether further education and question.	ovider who procentage of lice on needs to be	ovides ensees who	
(8)		CONTINUING N	MEDICAL EDUCATION RE	CPORTING LOG			
Category I Category 1 in Continuing M	credit CM cludes progedical educ	ninimum of 40 Category E every two years on the Control grams that have received actention (ACCME), or the Control	ME credits earned during the prevalue of the previous 24 most prescribing of opioid medication of the Substances for Treatment of the Creditation by the AMA Council on Manittee on CME of the Maine Medicare in Medicine for specific CME rules.	onths. Physicians must of as required by Board Ruse Pain." Medical Education, the Accel Association. [Refer to Control of the Pain of the	ale Chapter 21	"Use of cil for	
Accredited	Sponsor	Location of Activity	Description of Activity	Dates Attended	Credits Earned		
						_	
(If you need addit	ional enece =	lease attach a separate sheet of par	ner)				
			DRRECT REPORT OF MY CME ACTIVITY	Total Category I Cre	dits		
Date:		Physician	n Signature:				

To be valid, this form must be signed and dated, with the hours totaled.