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Instructions for completing “The Application for Maine Youth Camp License Renewal” form: 
 
 
A temporary Youth Camp License entitles the holder to care only for patients at the particular camp 
at which he/she is employed. 
 
1. Please type or print clearly in ink.  
2. Answer all questions completely and clearly.   
3. Provide complete address of current hospital affiliation. 
4. Provide a photocopy of a current, active, unrestricted medical license from another 

state/province.   
5. Submit the completed application together with all supporting documents and the NON-

REFUNDABLE fee of $100.00 to the Board of Licensure in Medicine at least thirty days 
prior to the desired effective date of licensure.   

6. Malpractice Claims: 
Your insurance carrier or attorney must provide an independent detailed explanation of all 
malpractice claims.  This information must be received directly from the insurance company or 
attorney.  This information is in addition to your personal explanation.  Application form items 
5.13 & 5.14, regarding professional (malpractice) liability claims experience, are the questions 
most likely to generate follow-up letters from the Board staff and delay your licensure if not 
answered completely.  Report all claims of which you have been noticed, as well as all claims 
from which you were dismissed as a defendant or for which your insurance company made a 
settlement of any kind with the plaintiff, or any claim for which a court found you liable in any 
degree.  A reporting form is provided at page 11. Claims against a professional corporation are 
considered a claim against the individual licensee who provided the professional services in 
dispute. To be complete, your supplemental explanation must include, for each such claim 
reported, a full description using the Professional (Malpractice) Liability Claims Experience 
Form attached. See the following fictitious example: 

 
 
Identity of Case: Burns v. John B. Doe, MD, Samuel E. Smith, MD, Topeka Woman’s Hospital, Inc. et al.; 
Kansas Third Circuit Court, Topeka, Case #89-10203 
 
Date/Place of Original Occurrence: June 4, 1990, Topeka Woman’s Hospital 
 
Malpractice Alleged by Claimant:  Delayed diagnosis of ectopic pregnancy. 
 
Summary of my Defense: I was a PGY II resident at the time.  Dr. Samuel E. Smith, Chief of Obstetrics, 
Topeka Woman’s Hospital was attending physician in this case.  I was named in the claim because my name 
appears in the chart as the physician ordering ultrasonography on first hospital day. 
Current Status of Case: Although a motion to dismiss me as a defendant is pending, my insurance company 
has offered a settlement on my behalf of $15,000.00 on February 14, 1992.  I have been told the plaintiff 
rejected this and the claim is still pending. 
 
Name and Address of Insurance Company/Attorney Defending Case: Great Plains Physicians’ Mutual 
Indemnity, Attn:  Jim Brown, Claims Manager, 4321 Ketcham Blvd., Rock Springs, SD  79104.  I am also 
represented by William B. Eagle, Eagle, Hare, P.A., 44 West River Drive, Suite 200, Topeka, KS  60301. 

 
 
 

 
 



 

10/18/21                                              State of Maine Board of Licensure in Medicine                               Page 2 of 8 

Please Note: 
 
 

Mandated Reporter Requirements for Suspected Child Abuse 

Maine law requires that physicians immediately report or cause a report to be made to the Maine Department of Health 
and Human Services (DHHS) when the physician knows or has reasonable cause to suspect that a child has been or is 
likely to be abused or neglected or that a suspicious child death has occurred.  In addition, if a child is under 6 
months of age or otherwise non-ambulatory, Maine law requires physicians to immediately report to DHHS if 
that child exhibits evidence of the following: fracture of a bone; substantial bruising or multiple bruises; 
subdural hematoma; burns; poisoning; or injury resulting in substantial bleeding, soft tissue swelling or 
impairment of an organ, except that the reporting of   injuries occurring as a result of the delivery of a child 
attended by a licensed medical practitioner or the reporting of burns or other injuries occurring as a result of 
medical treatment following the delivery of the child when the child remains hospitalized following the delivery 
is not required.  Please refer to 22 M.R.S. § 4011-A for all reporting requirements. 

Mandated Reporter Training and additional information regarding mandated reporting can be found at: 

https://www.maine.gov/dhhs/ocfs/provider-resources/reporting-suspected-child-abuse-and-neglect/mandated-reporter-
informationhttp://www.maine.gov/dhhs/ocfs/cps/  

Maine Prescription Monitoring Program 

 
All Allopathic Physicians, Osteopathic Physicians, Dentists, Physician Assistants, Podiatrists, and Advanced Practice 
Registered Nurses who are licensed to prescribe scheduled medications must register with the Prescription Monitoring 
Program (PMP).  To register, please go to the Prescription Monitoring Program website: 
https://www.maine.gov/dhhs/samhs/osa/data/pmp/index.htm Download, complete and sign a registration form located 
within the yellow box.  You may mail, scan and email or fax a signed form to the information located on the form. 
Please note there are two types of registration forms available, 1) Data Requester form for active prescribers with a 
DEA number and, 2) Sub-Account form for assistants/non-prescribing health professionals..  

More PMP information is available at: https://www.maine.gov/dhhs/samhs/osa/data/pmp/index.htm   

 
Requirements Regarding Prescribing Opioid Medication 

Any physician who intends to prescribe opioid medication must be aware of the laws and rules that govern this practice 
in Maine. The laws and rules affecting opioid prescribing include: 

 Mandatory use of the PMP 

 Limitations on dosing (with exceptions) 

 Electronic prescriptions 

 Continuing education regarding opioid prescribing 

 Opioid medication policy 

 Universal precautions 

See 32 M.R.S. § 3300-F and Board Rule Chapter 21. 
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Your application is a public record for the purposes of the Maine Freedom of 
Access Law (1 MRS section 401 et seq.). Public records must be made available 
to any person upon request. The application for licensure is a public record and 
information supplied as part of the application, other than those items exempted 
or confidential by law such as personal health information, social security 
number, and credit card information, is public information. 
 
The Board’s staff is available to assist you by phone Monday 
through Friday, 8:00 am to 4:30 pm, Eastern Daylight time. 
Last Name A-L call (207) 287-3602 
Last Name M-Z call (207) 287-3782 
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BOARD OF LICENSURE IN MEDICINE 

137 State House Station 
Augusta, Maine 04333-0137 

(207) 287-3602 
 

APPLICATION FOR LICENSE TO  
PRACTICE MEDICINE AND SURGERY 

 
At Camp _______________________________________                             Date From: ________________               
Address: _______________________________________                                  Date To: ________________ 
                ____________________, ME.   _____________                    
Camp Telephone (____)___________________________                   
 
 
 
Name ____________________________________                                   ____________________________ 
                Last                                 First                              Middle                                                                             Social Security Number 

 
Address __________________________________                       Birthplace _________________________ 
              __________________________________                                           City                                State   

              __________________________________                        Birthdate __________________________ 
                                              Month                    Day                     Year 
 

Daytime Telephone (_____)_________________ Email Address ___________________________ 
 
 
Current Hospital Affiliation ______________________________________________________________ 
                                                        Name                                                  Complete Address 

 
Current State License ___________________________________________________________________ 
                                         State                                      License Number                                    Status                                            Expiration 

 
                                                                                                                                 
 
 
AFFIDAVIT 
 
I, __________________________________, being duly sworn, depose and say that I am the person described and 
identified and that all statements made by me herein are true and correct. 
 
 
_____________________________________________________                           _____________________________ 
                       Signature of Applicant                                                                                                                    Date 
 
 
 
Subscribed and sworn to me this ______________day of ______________________, 20________ 
 
Notary Public for _____________________________________      _________________________________________ 
                                                                                                                             Signature of Notary 
My commission expires: _______________________________ 

RETURNING 
YOUTH CAMP 
PHYSICIANS 

ONLY 

Fee: ______ 
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PERSONAL DATA 
 
Check off (X) each appropriate response.  Every ‘YES’ response must be fully explained by written statement on a 
separate 8.5” x 11" sheet of white paper. Each such explanation must be cross-referenced with the question number, 
and must be signed, dated, and enclosed with your application.  
 

NOTE TO MD/APPLICANT: PLEASE COMPLETE THIS FORM YOURSELF – DO NOT DELEGATE ITS 
COMPLETION. 

 
HAVE YOU EVER: 
YES NO 
 

     1. Have you EVER had ANY licensing authority (INCLUDING MAINE) deny your application for any type 
of license, or take any disciplinary action against the license issued to you in that jurisdiction, including but 
not limited to warning, reprimand, fine, suspension, revocation, restrictions in permitted practice, probation 
with or without monitoring? 

 
     2. Have you EVER agreed with any licensing authority to voluntarily follow practice limitations, restrictions, 

guidelines, to make reports or to complete specific continuing education or course work? 
 

     3. Have you EVER been notified of the existence of allegations, investigations and/or complaints involving 
you, filed with or by ANY licensing authority (INCLUDING MAINE), which allegations, investigations 
and/or complaints remain open as of the date of this application? 

 
SINCE YOUR LAST RENEWAL APPLICATION: 
YES NO 
 

    4. Have you left a medical licensing jurisdiction (INCLUDING MAINE) while a complaint, investigation 
or allegation was pending? 

 
 5. Have you been denied registration, or had your ability to prescribe or dispense controlled substances 

modified, restricted, suspended, revoked, or voluntarily suspended by, or surrendered to: 
    a) The U. S. Drug Enforcement Administration (US DEA)? 
    b) Any state/territory of the U. S., INCLUDING MAINE? 

 
    6. Has there been a finding by any state or federal court or governmental agency that you violated any rule 

or law regulating the practice of health care? 
 

    7. Has there been a finding against you in any inquiry, investigation, or administrative or judicial 
proceeding by an employer, educational institution, professional organization, or licensing authority, or in 
connection with an employment disciplinary or termination procedure?   

 
    8. Have you received a sanction or entered into any settlement agreement or integrity agreement related to 

Medicare, TRICARE or any state Medicaid program? 
 
 9. Health and wellness is vital for physicians/physician assistants and the patients they serve. 

Physicians/physician assistants who fail to seek treatment when necessary put themselves and their patients 
at risk. The Board strongly encourages physicians/physician assistants to take steps, including seeking 
treatment, when necessary to establish and maintain health and wellness. One resource available to 
physicians/physician assistants is the Medical Professionals Health Program (MPHP). More information 
about the MPHP can be found at: http://www.mainemphp.org/.  

 
  The purpose of the following questions is to determine the current fitness of an applicant to 

safely practice and concern current medical conditions that impair or may impair the ability to 
safely practice.  “Medical condition” includes any physiological or psychological disease, disorder, 
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syndrome or condition.    Information regarding medical conditions provided by applicants is treated 
confidentially by the Board.  The mere fact of treatment for current medical conditions is not, by itself, a 
basis on which an applicant is ordinarily denied licensure when he/she has demonstrated personal 
responsibility and maturity in dealing with the medical condition(s).  The Board may deny, limit, or 
condition a license for applicants whose ability to safely practice or whose behavior, judgment, and 
understanding is currently impaired to the degree that patient safety is at risk.   

 
SINCE YOUR LAST RENEWAL APPLICATION: 
YES NO 
 

    a. Do you have a medical condition that currently impairs your ability to safely and competently practice 
medicine? 

 
    b. Do you currently use any chemical substance(s), including alcohol, which in any way impairs or limits 

your ability to practice your profession with reasonable skill and safety? 
 
 If any of your answers to questions 9(a-b) is “Yes,” please provide a detailed explanation. 
 

    10. Are you currently engaged in the illegal use of illicit drugs or prescription drugs that have not been 
prescribed to you pursuant to a legitimate physician-patient relationship?  “Legitimate” means “Being in 
compliance with the law or in accordance with established and accepted standards.” 

 
    11. Have you furnished or provided illegal drugs to anyone other than medical marijuana per applicable 

state law? 
 

    12. Have you furnished prescription drugs to or written a prescription for anyone without having a 
legitimate physician-patient relationship (This includes conduct for which you may NOT have been 
adjudicated in any civil, administrative or criminal proceeding)? 

 
 13. Have you: 
 

    Possessed, used, prescribed for use, or distributed any drugs in any way other than for legitimate or 
therapeutic purposes? 

 
    Diverted any drugs? 

 
    Violated any drug law? 

 
    Prescribed any controlled substances, or prescribed any medications except in an emergency or isolated 

setting, for yourself or family/household members? 
 

    14. Have you been charged, summonsed, indicted, arrested, or convicted of any criminal offense, including 
when those events have been deferred, set aside, dismissed, expunged or issued a stay of execution? Please 
include motor vehicle offenses such as Operating Under the Influence, but not minor traffic or parking 
violations. 

 
    15. Have you applied for hospital, HMO or other health care entity privileges which were denied? 

 
    16. Have you had your staff privileges or employment at any hospital, long term care facility, HMO, or 

other health care entity terminated, revoked, reduced, restricted in any way, suspended, made subject to 
probation, limited in any way, or withdrawn involuntarily? 

 
    17. Have you voluntarily surrendered privileges or resigned from staff membership during peer review or 

investigation or to avoid peer review or investigation? 
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SINCE YOUR LAST RENEWAL APPLICATION: 
YES NO 
 

    18. Have you resigned from employment in lieu of termination or while under investigation?   
 

    19. Have you been terminated or suspended from any employment?   
 

    20. Have you been deselected from a managed care organization physician panel? 
 

    21. Have you been disciplined by a professional society or resigned while an accusation was pending? 
 

    22. Have you endangered the safety of others, breached fiduciary obligations, or violated workplace 
conduct rules? 

 
    23. Have you been named in any medical malpractice liability claim or lawsuit adjudicated by a court in 

favor of the other party, or settled by you or your insurance company/representatives with or without your 
express consent? 

 
    24. Do you have any open/pending malpractice claims? 

 
    25. Do you intend to practice medicine within the State of Maine without active medical staff privileges at 

a Maine hospital? 
 

    26. Has it been longer than 24 months since you last practiced clinical medicine? 
 
 27. The Board is concerned with physician/physician assistant health and wellness.  An important piece of   

maintaining health and wellness is establishing a relationship with a primary health care provider who 
provides regular and ongoing care.   The Board is conducting a voluntary survey to determine the 
percentage of licensees who receive ongoing and regular care from a primary care provider, and whether 
further education needs to be provided to licensees regarding this important issue.  Please answer the 
following question.   

 
    Have you been examined/evaluated by your primary health care provider within the past 24 months? 
 Decline to answer 
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Maine Board of Licensure in Medicine 
Professional (Malpractice) Liability Claims Experience 

Duplicate For Multiple Claims. 
See Instructions on Pages 1 

 
 
My Name:  
_______________________________________________________________________________ 
 
Identity of Case: 
_______________________________________________________________________________
_______________________________________________________________________________
_______________________________________________________________________________
_______________________________________________________________________________ 
 
Date and Place of Original Occurrence: 
_______________________________________________________________________________
_______________________________________________________________________________
_______________________________________________________________________________
_______________________________________________________________________________ 
 
Malpractice Alleged By Claimant: Summary of My Defense:  
_______________________________________________________________________________
_______________________________________________________________________________
_______________________________________________________________________________
_______________________________________________________________________________ 
 
Current Status of Case (Include payment amounts:) 
_______________________________________________________________________________
_______________________________________________________________________________
_______________________________________________________________________________
_______________________________________________________________________________ 
_______________________________________________________________________________
_______________________________________________________________________________
_______________________________________________________________________________
_______________________________________________________________________________ 
 
Name and Address of Insurance Company and/or Attorney Defending the Case: 
_______________________________________________________________________________
_______________________________________________________________________________
_______________________________________________________________________________
_______________________________________________________________________________ 
_______________________________________________________________________________
_______________________________________________________________________________
_______________________________________________________________________________ 
 


