Processing, Pending And Voiding Initial Applications

POLICY: It is the policy of the Board of Licensure in Medicine that:

- Processing of an application for licensure will begin when appropriate, non-refundable fees [see 32 M.R.S. § 3270 and 32 M.R.S. § 3280-A(3)(D)] have been submitted to the Board.
- Applications for which payment has not been received within 90 days are considered void and the applicant must reapply.
- Applications for licensure/registration and/or requests for approval of re-entry to medical practice plans will not be reviewed by the Board or the Board Secretary if delegated until all requested information has been received and the application is administratively complete.
 - "Administratively Complete Application" is an application for licensure as developed by the Board which when submitted has: a) all questions on the application completely answered; b) signature and date affixed; c) all required notarizations included; d) all required supplemental materials provided in correct form; e) all requests for additional information submitted; and, f) all fees, charges, costs, civil penalties or fines paid.
 - Applications deemed not "administratively complete" for failure to meet either medical education, post graduate training, or examination requirements may be voided immediately.
- Applicants must submit a new CV and provide updated answers to all demographic and personal data questions for applications that have not been processed within 6 months.
- Applications for clinical practice that are received while a complaint or investigation is outstanding against the licensee in any jurisdiction shall be pended and action on the application held until the Board has received results of final action on all complaints and investigations. The applicant shall be so notified when the application is received.
- Physicians currently in a residency program outside the state of Maine should not apply for permanent licensure more than 4 months prior to completion of the residency program. Applications submitted earlier may be determined not to be "Administratively Complete" resulting in the need to reapply at the appropriate time. If the resident qualifies within 12 months of the original application the Board will not assess a new licensure fee, but all fees relating to resubmission of the Uniform Application and FCVS profile are the responsibility of the applicant.
- Physicians currently in a residency program in Maine should not apply for permanent licensure until they have completed 24 months of the Maine residency program. Applications submitted earlier may be determined not to be "Administratively Complete" resulting in the need to reapply at the appropriate time. If the resident qualifies within 12 months of the original application the Board will not assess a new licensure fee, but all fees relating to resubmission of the Uniform Application and FCVS profile are the responsibility of the applicant.

EFFECTIVE DATE: August 10, 2021

HISTORY: This policy merges previous policies "Licensing – Application Review" and "Processing of License Applications Begins Upon Receipt of Fees." In addition, it documents standard practice regarding the voiding of application for failure to pay and the pending of the application during an open complaint/investigation. The policy was implemented after a question was raised regarding staff's authority to enforce those practices without a written policy or rule. The policy regarding residents is being implemented to discourage those residents who apply 10 to 15 months prior to their eligibility, causing extra work for staff who have to update all the information once the resident is eligible.