#### Continuing Medical Education Information

To successfully renew a license in active status, MD and PA applicants must have completed the following Continuing Medical Education (CME) during the preceding licensure period:

**MD**: A minimum of 40 hours in Category 1. Physicians must complete 3 hours of Category 1 credit CME every two years on the prescribing of opioid medication as required by Board Rule Chapter 21 "Use of Controlled Substances for Treatment of Pain." All applicants must attest that they have completed the necessary CME on their renewal applications.

PA: A minimum of 100 hours of CME, with at least 40 hours in Category 1. The remaining 60 hours may be either Category 1 or Category 2. Physician Assistants must complete 3 hours of Category 1 credit CME every two years on the prescribing of opioid medication as required by Board Rule Chapter 21 "Use of Controlled Substances for Treatment of Pain" and 32 M.R.S. § 3300-F(4). All applicants must attest that they have completed the necessary CME on their renewal applications.

Category 1 includes programs that have received accreditation by the American Medical Association (AMA) Council on Medical Education, the Accreditation Council for Continuing Medical education (ACCME), the Committee on CME of the Maine Medical Association (MMA), or the Board. [Refer to Chapter 1, § 11, and Chapter 2, § 9 of the Rules of the Maine Board of Licensure in Medicine for specific CME requirements and definitions. See <a href="http://www.maine.gov/md/laws-rules-updates/rules">http://www.maine.gov/md/laws-rules-updates/rules</a> ].

Category 2 includes programs with non-accredited sponsorship, i.e., Medical Teaching, Papers, Books, Publications, and Exhibits. Also included are non-supervised individual CME activities and other meritorious learning experiences. [Refer to Chapter 2, § 9 of the Rules of the Maine Board of Licensure in Medicine for specific CME requirements and definitions. See <a href="http://www.maine.gov/md/laws-rules-updates/rules">http://www.maine.gov/md/laws-rules-updates/rules</a>].

**NOTE:** Category 1 hours may be substituted for Category 2 hours – but not vice versa.

#### **Audit Process**

The Board will accept, without documented verification, an attestation from applicants seeking to renew their licenses that they have completed the CME requirements necessary for renewal. Board staff will randomly audit

10% of approved applications to ensure that licensees are meeting the CME requirements as established by Board rules.

Each month Board staff will randomly audit 10% of the licenses renewed in the previous month to verify Category 1

CME. Board staff will request evidence of Category 1 certification. All audited applications that contain CME discrepancies will be referred to the Licensure Committee for review and Revised 1/2/18

recommendation to the Board regarding possible action.

Please note that 32 M.R.S. § 3282-A(2)(A) provides that the Board may take disciplinary action for the practice of fraud, deceit, or misrepresentation in obtaining a license.

## European CME

There is a mutual recognition agreement between the AMA and the European Union of Medical Specialists that allows for conversion of credit from the European Accreditation Council for Continuing Medical Education (which does UEMS's accrediting) into AMA PRA credit (for both live and online educational activities).

The pages on both organizations' websites that explain the agreement are: <a href="https://www.ama-assn.org/education/uemseaccme-cme-credit-recognition">https://www.ama-assn.org/education/uemseaccme-cme-credit-recognition</a> <a href="https://www.uems.eu/uems-activities/accreditation/eaccme/mutual-recognition-with-the-united-states">https://www.uems.eu/uems-activities/accreditation/eaccme/mutual-recognition-with-the-united-states</a>

Applicants who have obtained European CME are expected to follow this process prior to claiming the CME on their renewal.

# Physician Assistant Prorated CME Credits Needed for Initial Renewal

Physician Assistants who become licensed for the first time in the State of Maine in the course of a calendar year will not be required to fulfill the full CME requirements for first renewal, but shall complete pro rata requirements as instructed below. If you are a new licensee, please use the chart below to determine the appropriate number of Continuing Medical Education credits needed for renewal of your license.

Number of Months from Initial Licensure to Expiration	Total Hours Needed	Category I	Category II
4	20	8	12
5	25	10	15
6	30	12	18
7	35	14	21
8	40	16	24
9	45	18	27
10	50	20	30
11	50	20	30
12	50	20	30
13	55	22	33
14	60	24	36
15	65	26	39
16	70	28	42
17	75	30	45
18	80	32	48
19	85	34	51
20	90	36	54
21	95	38	57
22	100	40	60
23	100	40	60
24	100	40	60
25	105	42	63
26	110	44	66
27	115	46	69

You must maintain a file of your Continuing Medical Education activity, both current and historical. The board is not a repository for CME records. Please keep a copy of your CME log for your records.

### Physician Prorated CME Credits Needed for Initial Renewal

Physicians who become licensed for the first time in the State of Maine in the course of a calendar year will not be required to fulfill the full CME requirements for first renewal, but shall complete pro rata requirements as instructed below. If you are a new licensee, please use the chart below to determine the appropriate number of Continuing Medical Education credits needed for renewal of your license.

Total Category 1 Hours Needed

Licensure to Expiration	<i>E 1</i>
_	
4	8
5	10
6	12
7	14
8	16
9	18
10	20
11	22
12	24
13	26
14	28
15	30
16	32
17	34
18	36
19	38
20	40
21	40
22	40
23	40
24	40
25	42
26	44
27	46

Number of Months from Initial

You must maintain a file of your Continuing Medical Education activity, both current and historical. The board is not a repository for CME records. Please keep a copy of your CME log for your records.