

## Civil Commitment Minimum Standards Training

When: March 27, 2023 from 8:30AM-1:30PM

**Where:** Hybrid. Attend in-person at the Burton M. Cross Office Building (111 Sewall Street, 5<sup>th</sup> Floor, Room 500 in Augusta), or via Zoom.

**Summary:** The training satisfies the initial minimum training requirements for assigned counsel to be eligible to accept assignments in civil commitment cases under <a href="Chapter 2">Chapter 2</a> of the Commission Rules.

This training will provide an overview of the laws governing emergency hospitalization and involuntary hospitalization in Maine. Participants will learn about blue paper applications and the process of seeking a writ of *habeas corpus*, the judicial processes involved with involuntary commitments and involuntary medication, and the evidence required for the State (Hospital) to succeed in their petitions. Participants will receive practice tools they can download and use for their cases. Attorney Burbank will be discussing Elizabeth Packard's legal battle and her impact on the legal processes surrounding mental health and protection of hospitalized persons, the changes that have been made to the treatment of women in the mental health system, and the issues women still face in both mental health cases and in other court proceedings, both civil and criminal.

This training will provide an introduction to Title 34-B M.R.S. § 3862-A, including a review of the statutory definitions, procedure, rights afforded to persons subject to 34-B M.R.S. § 3862-A, and appellate remedies.

**Registration:** Registration is via Zoom, even if you plan to attend in-person. Register here.

Approved for 4.5 hours of MCILS CLE credit.

Pending approval by the Maine Board of Overseers of the Bar for 4.5 hours of CLE credit, including 1 hour of harassment and discrimination (H&D) credit.

\*This training is not open to prosecutors or other attorneys for the State\*