

Emergency Medical Dispatch Certification Course

EMD Certification Course
The Emergency Medical Dispatcher (EMD) has been recognized as an essential component of effective EMS systems. Proper and timely training as well as a sound Medical Protocol are what help EMDs deliver quality care to the calling public with emergency medical needs.
Over the past decade, Priority Dispatch's EMD Certification Course has become the standard for EMD training. The course meets or exceeds all national criteria set by A.S.T.M., U.S. Department of Transportation, National Association of EMS Physicians, and others.
The EMD Certification Course includes electronic versions of course materials.
Participants who complete the 3-day course will be eligible for certification through the International Academy of EMD. To be EMD-certified, the applicant must also be CPR-certified through the National Safety Council, American Heart Association, American Red Cross, European Resuscitation Council, or equivalent. We recommend this training be completed prior to attending the EMD course.

Prerequisites and Information:
Initial EMD certification requires the applicant to be able to read and write at a high school graduate or GED level, complete an Academy approved EMD Course in which the applicant will complete a 50-question written certification exam with a score of at least 80%, obtain CPR Certification. Retests are available by phone for a $30 fee.
We recommend that the CPR training be completed prior to attending the EMD course; however, CPR certification completed after the course date will still be accepted. Academy Certification is valid for two years, beginning the day the test is taken and expiring the last day of that month two years later.
If the Emergency Telecommunicator Course (ETC) has not been taken within 6-months, the student must complete the Online Universal Telecommunicator Essentials Course (OUTEC) prior to the start of EMD or attendance will not be accepted. 
Registration includes:
· EMD Course Manual
· Certification fee and testing with the International Academy of EMD
· 8-hours education that can apply toward other CDE requirements
Successful attendees receive:
· Academy Diploma
· Official Certificate of Course Completion
· 2-year subscription to the National Journal of Emergency Dispatch
· Academy pocket membership card
For more information on the EMD, EFD, and EPD classes, or to register for a course visit www.prioritydispatch.net for access to a customer service representative in your area.
Certification forms are available in class from a certified instructor, or directly from the Academy. Please call for more information.


Upon notification from the International Academy of Emergency Dispatch and receipt of completion for a CPR course, you must apply for a Maine EMS License to legally practice Emergency Medical Dispatch in Maine.
https://www.maine.gov/ems/providers/licensing/eLicense.html
Emergency Medical Dispatch is a statutory requirement of PSAPs and EMD dispatch centers pursuant to MRSA 32 Chapter 2-B §85 
http://www.mainelegislature.org/legis/statutes/32/title32sec85-A.html




EMD Licensing questions can be directed to ems.licensure@maine.gov

Additional questions or comments, please contact the training department at the Emergency Services Communication Bureau by emailing 911Training.PUC@Maine.Gov



*This course is only open to personnel who have been hired by a PSAP or Dispatch Only Center (DOC)
Not Open to the Public.
*If you are interested in pursuing this career, please contact your nearest center.
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