
 

*This course is only open to personnel who have been hired by a PSAP or Dispatch Only Center (DOC) 
Not Open to the Public. 

*If you are interested in pursuing this career, please contact your nearest center. 

EFD Certification Course 
The Emergency Fire Dispatcher (EFD) through the use of the FPDS™ brings the science 
of structured call processing to the fire-rescue field. Completion of this course provides 
students with confidence to begin using the protocol on-line in the busiest of 
communication centers. Classes use hands-on teaching, class participation, simulated 
and actual calls, and feedback to prepare the students for work in a communication 
center. 
 

Pre-Requisites and Information: 
The EFD course is open to all applicants that read and write at a high school graduate or 
GED level. Initial certification requires the applicant complete an approved EFD course 
and complete a 50 question written exam at the end of the course with a minimum 80% 
score. If the applicant does not successfully pass the initial exam, retests are available by 
phone for a $30 fee. 
Certification forms are available in class from a certified instructor, or directly from the 
Academy. Please call the Academy for more information. 
Registration includes: 

• EFD Course Manual 
• Certification fee and testing with the National Academy of EFD 
• 8 hours of CDE that can be used towards recertification in another discipline 

Successful attendees receive: 
• Academy Diploma 
• Official Certificate of Course Completion 
• 2 year subscription to the National Journal of Emergency Dispatch 
• Academy insignia patch and pocket membership card 

The EFD Course is open to all applicants 18 years or older with a high school or 
equivalent degree. The intensive three day courses cover: 
For more information on the EFD class, or to register for a course 
visit www.prioritydispatch.net for access to a customer service representative in your 
area. 
Certification forms are available in class from a certified instructor, or directly from the 
Academy. Please call for more information. 
 

Attendees who have not received universal material within the last 6 months must 

attend a universal material day which is offered on the last day of EMD class which is 

held the day before EFD (typically lasts a half day, varies by instructor). 

 

 

 

http://www.emergencydispatch.org/Journal
http://www.prioritydispatch.net/
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Emergency Fire Dispatch is mandated by 25 MRSA §2927 with further rules set out in 

Chapter 5 within the Emergency Services Communication Bureau rules. 

https://www.maine.gov/maine911/laws-rules/rules 

There is currently no licensing authority for EFD as there is with EMD. Advisement is 

deferred to local fire chiefs and/or Emergency Fire Dispatch Administrators (EFDAs) 

 

 

 

If you have any questions or comments, please contact the training department at the 

Emergency Services Communication Bureau by emailing 911Training.PUC@Maine.Gov 

 

 

https://www.maine.gov/maine911/laws-rules/rules
mailto:911Training.PUC@Maine.Gov

