
Tips & Tricks 

 

 

 

 

Code: It is easiest to locate the Title for the worker on the Occupations code sheet and then use the corresponding 
code. If you have a worker that does not fit into the Title, Description, or Includes of the Occupation sheet, do not 
include that worker. 

Working Title: The Working Title and Code should always line up for each worker (ex: 472061 is the code for the 
title Construction Laborer). Be sure to also check the “Includes” section of the Occupations sheet if your worker 
doesn’t appear in the “Title” section. 

Number of Employees: If you have multiple workers that have the exact same data (i.e. the full row in Section D is 
the same for multiple workers) they can be combined here. 

Hourly Rate & Benefits: If you use payroll software to gather 
this information and it reports the rates in amounts other than 
hourly (ex: weekly, monthly, yearly, etc), use the calculations 
below to convert it to an hourly rate. This same calculation 
applies to all sections (Hourly Rate & Benefits (I – V)). 

County Designation: Only include one county for the worker 
based on where they spent most of their working time during the two-week survey period. If a worker is working 
both in and outside the state of Maine, only include their information based on their Maine work. 

Construction Type: Like the county designation, report the construction type for the project that aligns with the 
County they spent the most time during the survey period. If they worked on more than one construction type 
within the same county, report the construction type they spend the most time. Refer to the second page of the 
Instructions sheet to see the breakdown for construction types (Building – B2; Highway – HI; Heavy Bridge – HV). 

---- Other Tips & Tricks ---- 

PTO Benefit (III): If you have more than 10 employees in Maine for more than 120 days in any calendar year, 
employees generally must accrue 1 hour EPL for every 40 hours worked, up to 40 hours in a year – Title 26 §637 
(See https://www.maine.gov/labor/labor_laws/earnedpaidleave/ for more information). This benefit must be 
reported on the survey, even if they did not take vacation during the survey period. 

• If you give your employees a base number of PTO hours per year (ex: 40, 80, etc), you can calculate the 
hourly rate by multiplying the PTO hours per year by their base wage, then dividing that result by their yearly 
hours (ex: 40 PTO hours per year * $25.00/hr wage = $1,000 in total benefits that year; then $1,000 total 
benefits / 2,000 hours per year = $0.50/hr of a PTO benefit per hour). 

PFML Benefit: PFML benefits should not be included in the wage and benefit information you report on the survey. 

Double Check Employment: Make sure that the number of hourly workers you report in Section B on the first page 
of the survey matches the count of workers in the “Number of Employees” column in Section D. 

https://www.maine.gov/labor/labor_laws/earnedpaidleave/


Useful Links 

Prevailing Wage Rate Sheets: https://www.maine.gov/labor/labor_stats/publications/wagerateconst/index.shtml 

• Near the bottom of the page, you can see “Prevailing Wage Rates” for the current year, and “Archived 
Prevailing Wage Rates” for previous years. These are the minimum hourly wages and benefits that are 
produced using the survey data you provide. 

Title 26 M.R.S. Chapter 15 §1308 (1-A): https://legislature.maine.gov/statutes/26/title26sec1308.html 

• Maine Statute which requires the collection of the Construction Wage Survey data to determine prevailing 
wage rates. This also includes the penalty/fine information. 

NAICS (North American Industry Classification System): https://www.census.gov/naics/ 

• The online version of the NAICS. Your company’s NAICS code determines your inclusion in the survey each 
year. 

Maine UI Tax Information: https://www.maine.gov/labor/for_employers/index.html 

• For address updates if you receive the survey at an old address, or if you’ve recently moved, please contact 
the Unemployment Insurance division at the contact below: 

o Phone: (207) 621-5120 
o Email: division.uctax@maine.gov 

Wage Survey Forms: https://www.maine.gov/labor/labor_stats/publications/wagerateconst/index.shtml 

• Near the top of the page, you can see “Construction Wage Survey Forms”. These are the electronic versions 
of the survey forms sent to your company in July. 

Maine Earned Paid Leave Law (EPL): https://www.maine.gov/labor/labor_laws/earnedpaidleave/ 

• Maine’s law pertaining to EPL accrual for employers with more than 10 employees in Maine. See the “Brief 
Points About the New Law” dropdown in the above link for more information. 
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