LABOR RESOURCES FOR PARENTS



Break Time for Nursing Mothers:

Maine's Nursing mothers in the workplace

law requires employers to provide unpaid break time, or permit an employee to use paid break time or meal time each day, to express breast milk for up to 3 years

following childbirth.

Employers must provide a place, other than a bathroom, that is shielded from view and free from intrusion from coworkers and the public, which may be used by an employee to express breast milk. Employers may not discriminate in any way against an employee who chooses to express breast milk in the workplace.

Is your child looking to work?

Youth employment laws protect minors from working in unsafe or unhealthy conditions and ensures that work does not compromise their education. Minors under 16 years old must obtain a work permit before beginning a job.

- Information for minors in the workforce, such as minimum ages, hours of work, prohibited occupations, and how to complete a work permit application.
- Resource page for youth looking for work or • exploring what they may want to do for a career.

Do you or your child have a disability?

The Bureau of Rehabilitation Services (BRS) works to bring about full access to employment, independence, and community integration for people with disabilities (both adults and students).

Equal Pay:

Are you being paid less than an employee of the opposite sex for performing comparable work?

If so, ask yourself the following questions:

- Does the other employee's job have comparable requirements relating to skill, effort, and responsibility?
- Does the other employee have similar training, education or experience relating to the jobs performed?
- Does your employer prohibit you from talking about • your wages with your coworkers?

If you answer "yes" to any of these, file an Equal Pay Complaint - A printable complaint form can be found here.

Earned Paid Leave:

'An Act Authorizing Earned Employee Leave' guarantees earned time off, for whatever reason, for employees who work for a business with more than 10 employees.

Employees accrue 1 hour of Earned Paid Leave for every 40 hours worked, up to 40 hours in a defined year. More information and FAOs.

MAINE PAID FAMILY **& MEDICAL LEAVE**



Coming Soon—

Maine Paid Family & Medical Leave

Beginning in 2026, eligible workers in the private and public sector will have up to 12 weeks of paid time off available to take care for a family member with a serious health condition, to bond with a child after birth, fostering or adoption, to care for their own medical needs, to deal with the transition of a family member's impending military deployment or to stay safe after abuse or violence. Payroll contributions began January 1, 2025 to allow time to accumulate sufficient funds to pay for benefits and the operations of the program. Stay up to date.

In the meantime, <u>Maine's Family Medical Leave</u> law applies to an employee that has worked for the same employer for at least 12 consecutive months. The employee would be entitled to up to 10 workweeks of job-protected unpaid Family Medical Leave in any two years. Employers with fewer than 15 employees employed at a permanent work site are exempt.

The federal Family and Medical Leave Act entitles eligible employees of covered employers to take unpaid, jobprotected leave for specified family and medical reasons with continuation of group health insurance coverage.

> Questions on any of the above? Contact the Maine Department of Labor: 207-623-7900 | TTY users call Maine Relay 711 or mdol@maine.gov

Child Care Affordability Program:

CCAP helps eligible families to pay for child care so parents can work, go to school, or participate in a job training program. CCAP is also available for eligible families where the adult(s) are retired and are the legal guardian of a child.

The Maine Department of Labor provides equal opportunity in employment and programs. Auxiliary aids and services are available to people with disabilities upon request.

