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I. Introduction
Youth Employment laws protect minors from working in unsafe or 
unhealthy conditions. They also ensure that work does not compromise 
the education of minors. These laws include:

• minimum ages for employment.

• work permits.

• hours of work.

• prohibited occupations.

Employers who employ minors (youths under 18 years old) must ensure 
that working conditions meet the requirements of all four areas.

This booklet provides general information on Maine youth employment 
laws (Title 26 M.R.S.A. §§ 701–785). The information in this booklet 
should not be considered as official statements or interpretations of the 
law. Employers can obtain a complete copy of Maine’s youth employment 
laws from:

Maine Department of Labor
Wage and Hour Division
45 State House Station
Augusta, Maine 04333-0045
207-623-7900 | TTY users call Maine Relay 711
www.maine.gov/sos/cec/rules/12/chaps12.htm (click on Chapter 11)

Businesses may be covered by Maine youth employment laws, federal 
youth employment laws, or both. When both federal and state laws apply, 
employers must follow the law that provides the most protection for the 
minor. 

Employers seeking guidance on federal labor laws may contact:
U.S. Department of Labor
Wage and Hour Division
603-666-7716 or 1866-4USWAGE (866-487-9243)
www.dol.gov/whd

By understanding and complying with the rules governing the 
employment of minors, employers, teachers, and parents can help ensure 
teens have safe and positive work experiences.

The Maine Department of Labor can help with information and training 
on the employment of minors.



Page 2 Employers Guide to Youth Employment

II. History of Maine Youth Employment Laws
Maine first passed a child labor law during the industrial revolution 
when child labor and sweatshops were on the rise. The 1847 law 
addressed the amount of formal schooling a child must have in order 
to work. The intent of the legislation was to prevent the exploitation 
of children and to emphasize 
the importance of education. 

Truancy laws passed in 1887 
required children under 15 
to attend at least 16 weeks 
of school in a school year to 
work in manufacturing and 
mechanical workplaces. 

Social reforms at the turn of 
the century focused attention 
on the conditions under 
which children were working. Maine began inspecting businesses for 
sanitation, hours of labor, and other conditions harmful to children. 

In 1915, the Maine Legislature stipulated that children under 14 
could not work during the hours that public schools were in session. 
The law also required working papers for children 14 to 16 years old.

The 1940s and 1950s saw great technological advances and business 
expansion. To protect children, the Maine Legislature enacted stricter 
youth employment laws. Recognizing the value of education to the 
growing economy, educational requirements for working minors were 
strengthened.

Changes to youth employment laws and educational attendance 
requirements passed in 1991 addressed persistent problems of low 
graduation and high truancy and dropout rates in Maine schools.

The list of occupations prohibited for minors was revised in 2001, 
2004, 2015, and 2017 to better protect minors from the hazards they 
face at work.

III. Poster
Each employer must display a poster that summarizes youth employment 
laws. The poster is available free from the Maine Department of Labor at: 
www.maine.gov/labor/posters/index.html.

Three boys entering mill to go to work at 5:30 a.m. 
Lewiston, Maine. Photo Credit: Lewis C. Hine



Page 3 Employers Guide to Youth Employment

IV. Work Permits
Minors under 16 years old must obtain a work permit before 
beginning a job. This includes homeschoolers. Minors must obtain a 
new permit every time they begin a new job until they reach 16 years 
old, even if they work for their parents. 

In order to apply for a work permit, the minor must be:  (1) enrolled in 
school, (2) not habitually truant or under suspension, and (3) passing a 
majority of courses during the current grading period. Employers 
must have a stamped, approved work permit on file before allowing 
any minor under 16 years old to work.

With the promise of a job, the minor must take proof of age to the 
office of the superintendent of schools of the district in which they 
live. Parental or Legal Guardian’s permission is required to work. 

The superintendent’s office will complete the permit and submit the 
form to the Maine Department of Labor. The Department will review 
the permit to ensure that the minor is of legal age to work at the 
business and that the occupation is not hazardous. If the permit is in 
order, the Department will validate the form and return a copy to the 
superintendent’s office. The superintendent’s office will provide a 
copy for the employer.

The minor cannot work until the Department of Labor approves the 
permit. To prevent delays in starting new employment, the minor 
should start the process as early as possible.

The Department of Labor issues permits for specific jobs with specific 
employers. Permits are not transferable to other jobs or employers. 
A minor under 16 needs a separate work permit for each place he or 
she works.

A minor can have one active permit during the school year and two 
during the summer. Upon leaving a job, the minor or the employer 
should notify the Department of Labor so the permit can be 
deactivated.
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Sample
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V. School Attendance
Maine compulsory education law requires all students attend school 
until age 17. The local school board 
must grant special permission for 
a minor under 17 years old to drop 
out of school. 

A minor under 16 who has been 
granted such permission still must 
have a work permit; hourly and 
prohibited occupations restrictions 
also apply.

Hourly restrictions do not apply to 16 or 17 year olds no longer 
enrolled in school. Occupational restrictions apply to minors whether 
or not they are enrolled in school (some exceptions apply).

Minors under 17 cannot work during the hours that school is in 
session unless they have the school’s permission for early release 
from school or they are in an approved program.

VI. Hours of Work
Employers must keep daily time records for minors. The records must 
show what time the minor began work, total hours worked, and what 
time the minor finished for the day.

Youth employment laws specify how early, how late and how long 
minors can work. See next pages for details.

VII. Workplace Safety
All employers must maintain safe and healthful work environments. 
The safety of young workers remains a priority of the Maine 
Department of Labor, especially as statistics on workplace injuries 
demonstrate that most disabling injuries occur within the first year on 
the job.

Employers must train all employees about the hazards of their jobs 
and how to do those jobs safely. To learn how to provide adequate and 
effective training, especially for new employees, please contact 
SafetyWorks! at 1-877-723-3345 or  www.safetyworksmaine.gov.
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FOLLOWING ARE THE HOURS AND TIMES MINORS MAY WORK:

A. Minors under 16 years old

  Work Hours

• Between 7 a.m. and 7 p.m. during the school year

• Between 7 a.m. and 9 p.m. during summer vacations only

• Not during school hours

  Maximum Hours

• 3 hours a day on school days, including Fridays

• 18 hours in any week during a school week

• 40 hours in a week with no school

• 8 hours on days without school (during weekends, 
   holidays, vacations, storm days, etc.)

• No more than six days in a row

B.  16 and 17 Year Olds (enrolled in school, including home school)

 The Maine law that limits hours for 16- and 17-year-old workers 
 includes several exceptions. Federal law does not limit work hours for 
 16 and 17 year olds.

  Work Hours

• Not before 7 a.m. on a school day

• Not before 5 a.m. on a non-school day

• Not after 10:15 p.m. the night before a school day

• Not after midnight if there is no school the next day

• Minors under 17 cannot work during school hours

  Maximum Hours

• 6 hours a day on a school day; 8 hours a day on the last   
   school day of the week

• 24 hours a week in any week with three or more school days

• 50 hours a week each week with less than three scheduled   
   school days, or during the first or last week of the school year

• 10 hours in any day when the minor’s school is not in session

• No more than six days in a row
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Exceptions

Students enrolled in an approved alternative education plan or an 
approved cooperative/vocational education program can work the daily or 
weekly hours required for the program without having those hours count 
toward the regular maximums allowed. For example, a 17 year old student 
could work 15 hours under a cooperative/vocational education plan plus 
the 24 hours that the law would normally allow for a student under 18 
years old.

The following are exempt from all the state hourly restrictions:

1. A minor employed in the planting, cultivating, or harvesting of   
  field crops or other agricultural employment not in direct contact 
  with hazardous machinery or substances.   

2. A minor working as an employed or in-training actor.

3. A minor working at a children’s camp.

4. A minor who is legally emancipated.

5. Minors employed in fishing occupations or in the operation of   
  ferries or excursion boats are exempt from the weekly and hourly 
  restrictions only while school is not in session.

Disclaimer: The above exemptions are for Maine’s youth employment laws. 
Federal law often differs and could prohibit such activities or 
occupations. For more information, employers may contact: 

Maine Department of Labor
Wage and Hour Division
45 State House Station
Augusta, Maine 04333-0045
207-623-7900 | TTY users call Maine Relay 711
www.maine.gov/sos/cec/rules/12/chaps12.htm (click on Chapter 11) 
(scroll down the page to section 12 170 and click on Ch. 11)
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VIII. Minimum Age for Employment
Maine law states at what age minors may work in specific industries. 
Minimum ages under federal law are different. Contact the U.S. 
Department of Labor, Wage and Hour Division at 603-666-7716 or 
1-866-4USWAGE (866-487-9243).

Minors who are 16 or 17: May work in non-hazardous jobs in 
manufacturing establishments, bakeries, laundries, dry-cleaning 
establishments, and garages. Minors may also work in hotels, motels, 
commercial places of amusement, including skating rinks, circuses, 
arcades, bowling alleys, pool halls, and in all industries allowed for 
younger minors.

Minors who are 14 and 15: May work in non-hazardous jobs in 
dining rooms, kitchens, lobbies and offices of hotels and motels, 
but they are prohibited from performing room service or making 
deliveries to the hotel rooms. Minors may also work in sporting 
and overnight camps, stores, filling stations, ice cream stands, and 
laundromats.

Minors who are under 14: Federal law prohibits minors in 
non-agricultural employment to work in businesses under their 
jurisdiction. Different rules apply to agricultural employment.

*Non-hazardous jobs are those not stipulated under state prohibited 
occupations. Minors of any age may work for their parents in
non-hazardous jobs in non-mechanical and non-manufacturing 
settings in retail or service industries if the business is solely owned 
by the minor’s parent. Work permit requirements, hours of work, and 
prohibited occupations apply to minors even when they work for their 
parents.
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A. Minors Under 16 Years of Age
Minors under the age of 16 may not be employed in the following 
occupations:

1. Any manufacturing occupation.

2. Any mining occupation.

3. Any processing occupation (except those allowed in retail, food   
  service and gasoline service stations, and all other venues not 
  prohibited by federal law)

4. Motor vehicle driving and outside helper on a motor vehicle.

5. Operation or tending of hoisting apparatus or of any power-  
  driven machinery other than nonhazardous office machines or   
  machines in certain retail, food service, and gasoline service   
  establishments.

6. Construction occupations involving:

a. Maintenance and repair of public highways.

b. All roofing occupations.

c. All trenching and excavation operations.

(Federal law prohibits minors under 16 from doing any construction work.)

7. All work in boiler or engine rooms. 

8. Outside window washing that involves working from window   
  sills, and all work involving the use of ladders, scaffolds, or their 
  substitutes.

9. Cooking (except at soda fountains, lunch counters, snack bars or   
  cafeteria serving counters and other venues allowed by federal   
  law) and baking; 

RULES GOVERNING HAZARDOUS OCCUPATIONS 
FOR MINORS UNDER EIGHTEEN

IX. Maine Prohibited Occupations

Effective Date: May 14, 2001
Coverage: These rules apply to all non-agricultural employment and 
non-employment situations. Non-employment situations include, 
but are not limited to, legitimate training and volunteer programs 
that ensure the safety and well being of minors. These rules do not 
apply to minors in public and approved private schools where 
mechanical equipment is installed and operated primarily for the 
purpose of instruction.
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10. Occupations which involve operating, setting up, adjusting,   
 cleaning, oiling, or repairing power-driven food slicers and   
 grinders, food choppers and cutters, and bakery-type mixers.

11.  All work in freezers and meat coolers.

12.  Occupations involving the use of power-driven mowers or   
 cutters, including the use of chain saws.

13.  All warehousing occupations, including the loading and unloading  
  of trucks and use of conveyors.

14.  All welding, brazing, or soldering occupations.

15.  Occupations involving the use of toxic chemicals and paints.

16.  Selling door-to-door except when the minor is selling candy or 
  merchandise as a fund raiser for school or for an organization to  
  which the minor belongs, such as Girl Scouts of America or work 
 in a traveling youth crew.

17.  All occupations on amusement rides, including ticket collection 
  or sales.

18.  Any placement at the scene of a fire, explosion, or other   
 emergency response situation. (See Section D. Junior    
 Firefighters.)

19.  All occupations that are expressly prohibited for 16 and 
  17 year olds.   

B. 16 and 17 Year Olds
Minors who are 16 and 17 years old may not be employed in the 
following occupations: 

1.  Manufacturing and storing explosives.

2.  Motor vehicle driving on public roadways and outside helper on 
   a motor vehicle. (exemption for 17 year olds)

3.  All mining occupations.

4.  Power-driven woodworking machines.*

NOTE:  Teens under 18 are prohibited from handling, serving, or 
selling alcoholic beverages. Exceptions: 15 year olds can handle liquor 
(for example, stocking and carrying) but not serving or selling it and 
17 year olds can serve or sell liquor if a supervisor 21 or older is 
present; 14 year olds may only bus tables. For more information, call 
Public Safety, Liquor Licensing at 207-624-7220.
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5. Power-driven hoisting apparatus, including forklifts.

6. Power-driven metal forming, punching, and shearing machines.*

7. Slaughtering or meat packing, processing, or rendering   
 occupations.  This includes meat slicers, grinders, and choppers.

8. Power-driven paper products machines, including balers and 
  compactors.*

9. Manufacturing brick, tile, and kindred products.

10. Power-driven circular saws, band saws, and guillotine shears.*

11. Wrecking and demolition occupations.

12. Roofing operations.*

13. Excavation operations.*

14. All occupations in places having nude entertainment.

15. Placement at the scene of a fire, explosion, or other emergency 
  situation except as provided in Section D. Junior Firefighters.

16. Gas or electric welding, brazing, burning, or cutting (if done in 
  conjunction with other hazardous occupations.)*

17. Working in confined spaces. 

18. Working at heights.

19. All occupations in registered dispensaries of marijuana for medical  
  use authorized under title 22, chapter 558-c and in establishments  
  that cultivate, produce or sell marijuana or products in which   
  marijuana is an ingredient or in recreational marijuana social 
  clubs authorized under Title 7, chapter 417.

*Federal and State law provides exemptions for Student Learners and     
Apprentices.
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Limited Exemption for 17 Year Old Employees

1. Seventeen-year-olds, but no one under 17 years of age, may 
  drive automobiles and trucks on public roads as part of their   
  employment on an occasional and incidental basis if all 
  the following requirements are met:

a. The automobile or truck does not exceed 6,000 pounds   
 gross vehicle weight;

b. The driving is limited to daylight hours;

c. The 17-year-old holds a state license valid for the type of  
 driving involved;

d. The 17-year-old has successfully completed a 
 state-approved driver education course and has no   
 record of any moving violations at the time of hire;

e. The driving takes place within a thirty (30) mile radius of 
 the minor’s place of employment;

f. The automobile or truck is equipped with a seat belt   
 for the driver and any passengers and the employer has  
 instructed the youth that the seat belts must be used   
 when driving the vehicle;

g. The driving may not involve: towing vehicles; route 
 deliveries or route sales; transportation for hire of   
 property, goods, or passengers; urgent, time-sensitive   
 deliveries; transporting more than three passengers,   
 including employees or the employer; more than two   
 trips away from the primary place of employment in   
 any single day to deliver the employer’s goods to a   
 customer (other than urgent, time-sensitive deliveries   
 which are prohibited); more than two trips away from the  
 primary place of employment in a single day to transport  
 passengers, other than employees of the employer.

2. The following definitions shall apply to Section 4 of these Rules:

a. “Motor vehicle” shall mean any automobile, truck, truck 
 tractor, trailer, semitrailer, motorcycle, or similar vehicle  
  propelled or drawn by mechanical power and designed   
 for use as a means of transportation but shall not include  
 any vehicle operated exclusively on rails.

b. “Driver” shall mean any individual who in the course of 
 employment, drives a motor vehicle at any time.
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c. “Outside helper” shall mean any individual, other than a   
 driver, whose work includes riding on a motor vehicle
 outside the cab for the purpose of assisting in 
 transporting or delivering goods.

d. “Gross vehicle weight” includes the truck chassis with 
 lubricants, water, and full tank or tanks of fuel, plus the   
 weight of the cab or driver’s compartment, body, and 
 special chassis and body equipment, and payload.

e. “Urgent, time-sensitive deliveries” shall mean trips which,  
 because of such factors as customer satisfaction, the rapid  
 deterioration of the quality or change in temperature 
 of the product, and/or economic incentives, are subject to  
 timeliness, schedules, and/or turnaround times which 
 might impel the driver to hurry in the completion of the   
 delivery. Prohibited trips would include, but are not limited 
 to, the delivery of pizzas and prepared foods to the   
 customer, the delivery of materials under a deadline (such  
 as deposits to a bank at closing), and the shuttling of 
 transport schedules. “Urgent, time-sensitive deliveries” do 
 not depend on the delivery’s points of origin and 
 termination, and include the delivery of people and things 
 to the employer’s place of business as well as from that   
 business to some other location. 

f. “Occasional and incidental” shall mean not more than 
 one-third of the 17-year-old driver’s worktime in any 
 workday and no more than 20 percent of the 17-year-old  
 driver’s worktime in any workweek.
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C. Apprentices, CTE-Student and Student Learners

Apprentices and student learners may work at the following prohibited 
occupations:

• The operation of power-driven woodworking, paper products,  
  and metal-forming, punching and shearing machines.

• Slaughtering or meat packing, processing or rendering.

• Operation of power-driven circular saws, band saws, and   
  shears.

• Roofing operations. 

• Excavation operations.

• Welding, brazing, and soldering.

To qualify for the above exemptions, the following conditions must be met:

Apprentices:

1. Must be employed in a craft recognized as an apprenticeable   
  trade and registered by the U.S. Department of Labor or the 
  Maine Department of Labor. 

2. The hazardous work is incidental to the training.

3. The hazardous work is intermittent, for short periods of time, and  
   under the direct and close supervision of a journeyman.

CTE-Student and Student Learners:

 1. Must be enrolled in a course of study and training in a cooperative  
  or vocational training program under a recognized state or local   
  educational authority or in a similar private school program; and

 2. Must be employed under a written agreement that provides:

a. That the hazardous work must be incidental to the training.

b. That the hazardous work must be intermittent, for short  
 periods of time, and under the direct and close supervision  
 of a qualified and experienced person.

c. That both the school and employer give safety instruction.

d. A schedule of organized and progressive work processes to  
 be performed on the job.
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Apprentices and student learners who have graduated from high school 
and a vocational, career and technical or cooperative education program 
approved by the Department of Education and are hired by an employer 
to work in an occupation for which the minor has been trained and 
certified by the program, may work for that employer in that occupation. 

D. Junior Firefighters (paid and volunteer)

Minors who are under 16 MAY:

• Perform nonhazardous duties at the fire station.

• Ride in the cab of a fire vehicle responding to an emergency   
  scene.

• Attend training sessions. However, if the training is deemed 
  hazardous, an instructor shall supervise the minor.

• Participate in nonhazardous duties only within the 
  rehabilitation area at the scene of an actual emergency.

Minors who are under 16 MAY NOT:

• Perform any hazardous duties at the fire station.

• Ride outside the cab of any fire apparatus.

• Perform any hazardous work at the scene of an accident.

• Fight fires except in training sessions.

Paid and volunteer junior firefighters who are sixteen and 
seventeen years of age may:

• Attend and take part in supervised training.

• Participate in fire department functions within the 
  rehabilitation area.

• Pick up hose and clean up at the fire scene after the On-Scene 
  Commander has declared the scene safe.

• Enter a structure that has been on fire when deemed safe by   
  the On-Scene Commander and accompanied by a firefighter.

• With proper training, fight grass fires not involving standing   
  timber. 

• Perform search and rescue activities, other than structural 
  firefighting.
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They may not:

• Perform fire suppression involving structures, vehicles, or wild 
  land fires, except grass fires not involving standing timber;

• Operate a fire department vehicle;

• Respond with red lights;

• Perform firefighting “overhaul” activities;

• Respond to hazardous material events;

• Perform any activity, except training, that involves the use of   
  self contained breathing equipment.

• Respond to any accident involving fire or extraction activities  
  (1055’s);

• Respond to “ice rescue” activities, except within the 
  rehabilitation area; or

• Perform traffic control duties.

E. Junior Emergency Medical Services (EMS) Persons

Paid and volunteer junior emergency-medical-services persons who 
are 16 and 17 years of age may:

1. Attend and take part in supervised training;

2. Provide, under supervision, emergency medical treatment in 
  accordance with the Maine Emergency Medical Service Act of   
  1982  (32 M.R.S.A. Chapter 2-B) and the Maine EMS Rules. 

They may not:

1. Be first on scene of a medical emergency to which the EMS service  
  has been summonsed;.

2. Respond to any call that may be psychologically or physically 
  traumatic to the junior EMS person, as determined by the senior  
  member in charge of the welfare and actions of the junior EMS 
  person during the call.

3. Operate a vehicle defined as an authorized emergency vehicle by  
  29-A M.R.S.A §2054.

4. Operate a privately owned vehicle that is responding with one or  
  more red lights.
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5. Participate in any patient extrication, except in a support role in 
  an area away from the scene of the extrication.

6. Perform traffic control activities.

F. Career-Oriented Law Enforcement Programs

1. Traffic control duties permitted. Notwithstanding any other 
  provision of this article, a minor 14 years of age or older who   
  is a volunteer participant in a career-oriented law enforcement 
  program may perform traffic control duties in accordance with   
  this section.

2. Training. A minor may not perform traffic control duties under this
  section until the minor has received traffic control training in 
  accordance with the requirements of the supervising law
  enforcement agency. Proof of the minor’s successful completion   
  of the training must be maintained by the law enforcement   
  agency. 

3. Supervision. A minor may perform traffic control duties only   
  under direct supervision of a law enforcement officer as part of a  
  career-oriented law enforcement program. This supervision must: 

a. Be from a close distance so that the officer does not   
 become  distracted or perform other duties; and

b. Include means of radio contact in the event that the minor  
 needs to contact another officer for assistance.

4. Limitations on events. A minor may perform traffic control duties 
  only at civic events, fair parking lots, parades, walks, foot races, 
  car shows and charity events. 

5. Limitations on locations. A minor may not: 

a. Direct traffic or pedestrians on busy roadways or 
 thoroughfares. 
b. Assist in traffic control at places of heightened danger   
 such as traffic stops or roadblocks. 
c. Direct traffic in conjunction with crowd control or riot   
 control. 
d. Collect donations at a traffic light. 
e. Direct traffic at funeral processions.
f. Direct traffic at the scene of an emergency.

6. Night activities prohibited. A minor may perform the activities 
  authorized under this section only between sunrise to sunset.



Page 18 Employers Guide to Youth Employment

G. Exception to the prohibitions on working in confined spaces 
(Sec. 3B(19)) and working at heights (Sec. 3B(20)) may be made for work 
of an emergency nature that affects the public’s health and safety. Such 
situations may include, but are not limited to, police, fire, emergency 
medical services and National Guard duty. All other restrictions in these 
rules still apply in such situations.

Coverage These rules apply to all employment and nonemployment 
situations. Non-employment situations include but are not limited to 
legitimate training and volunteer programs that ensure the safety and 
well being of minors. These rules do not apply to minors in public and 
approved private schools where mechanical equipment is installed and 
operated primarily for the purpose of instruction.
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X. Federal Prohibited Occupations 
A. Prohibited Occupations 
Under the federal Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA), 17 Hazardous 
Orders in Nonagricultural Occupations prohibit the employment of 
youth under 18 in certain occupations in certain businesses.

Maine-prohibited occupations include most of the federally-prohibited 
occupations, as well as several prohibitions not covered by federal law. 
Federal law prohibits youth under 18 from only a few occupations which 
Maine law does not prohibit:

• Logging and sawmilling.

• Exposure to radioactive substances (prohibited in Maine under 
  16 years old).

• Operating power-driven bakery machines (prohibited in Maine  
  under 16 years old).

Employers who employ minors and are engaged in these activities should 
contact the U.S. Department of Labor Wage and Hour Division at 
603-666-7716. 

B. Farm Labor 
A Federal Hazardous Order sets occupational restrictions for 
agricultural workers under 16 years old employed in the production 
of goods for interstate commerce. The order lists 16 prohibited 
occupations, including working with certain power-driven farm 
machinery, operating a tractor with over 20 PTO (power-take-off) 
horsepower and working with explosives or certain chemicals. 
Request “Child Labor in Agriculture” from the U.S. 
Department of Labor Wage and Hour Division at 603-666-7716.

The prohibitions on youth employment on farms do not apply to minors 
employed on a farm owned or operated by their parents or to students 
in a recognized vocational education training program. In addition, 
exemptions are provided for 4-H members who have completed 
designated training programs and participants in other approved farm-
training and education programs.

C. Federal Contracts
In addition to the other prohibited occupations, youth under 16 
may not be employed in the manufacture or furnishing of any article 
included in a U.S. government contract in excess of $10,000 (Federal 
Public Contracts Act).
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XI.  Special Occupations
A. Child actors—Maine has no minimum age and no hourly
 restrictions for child actors, but they must have work permits  
 if under the age of 16.

B. Agriculture—No work permit is required for field agricultural  
 work. No minimum age, hourly restrictions, or prohibited 
 occupations apply in field occupations involving the planting,  
 cultivating, or harvesting of field crops under Maine law   
 except for marijuana.

XII. Volunteers
Individuals may volunteer under certain conditions:  

• A volunteer cannot displace regularly paid employees doing   
  the same tasks.

• The work must be for charitable, religious, or humanitarian 
  purposes.

• The volunteering must be done in nonprofit organizations only.  

Minimum age and prohibited occupations rules apply whether the 
worker is paid or volunteers. Minors do not need work permits for 
volunteer work.

Hours limitations do not apply to volunteer work; however, the Maine 
Department of Labor recommends that minors who volunteer be kept to 
the same hours limitations as minors who work for pay.

XIII. Internships
Interns in the “for profit” sector typically must be paid at least minimum 
wage and overtime. The more an internship program is structured 
around classroom or academic oversight, the less likely the internship 
would be viewed as an employment relationship.

XIV. School-Based Learning Programs

Cooperative education programs (“Co-op”) are considered employment
situations. Students are placed in businesses. A school coordinator 
evaluates and grades them on pre-assigned job duties and training tasks. 
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The employer must pay students at least the minimum wage and comply 
with all applicable state and federal laws.

Under Maine law, the hours worked in these types of programs are not 
counted against the hourly restrictions set for youth under the age of 18. 
Federal laws are more restrictive for minors under the age of 16, 
regardless of school programs.

XV.  Employer/Employee Relationships
In most instances, an employment relationship exists when a person is 
allowed to perform work. Maine labor law defines “employ” as “to suffer 
or permit to work.” Where there is an employment relationship, the 
employer falls under several state and federal laws, including minimum 
wage, workers’ compensation, unemployment taxes, and payroll 
deductions for state and federal taxes. 

XVI. Enforcement of Maine Youth Employment Laws
The Maine Department of Labor enforces state youth employment laws. 
Violations of youth employment laws are serious. Any violation of a youth 
employment law is a civil violation subject to fines up to $50,000 per 
incident.

It is illegal for an employer to fire, threaten, retaliate against, or otherwise 
discriminate against an employee for reporting a suspected youth 
employment violation to the Department of Labor. Complaints may be 
filed with the Maine Human Rights Commission at 207-624-6290.

Anyone can report a suspected youth employment violation in writing 
to the Maine Department of Labor Wage and Hour Division or the 
U.S. Department of Labor Wage and Hour Division. See Section XXIV: 
Resources for agency contact information.

XVII. Comparison of Maine and Federal Youth 
Employment Laws
When there is a difference between state and federal law regarding the 
employment of minors, the law that provides the most protection to 
the minor takes precedence. In most cases, Maine youth employment 
laws provide more protection than federal law. Several situations where 
federal law is more protective than Maine law are noted in this guide. The 
U.S. Department of Labor Wage and Hour Division can provide details of 
federal law.
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XVIII. Minimum Wage, Overtime, Recordkeeping
and Other Labor Laws
• Effective January 1, 2025, minimum wage will be $14.65 per hour. 

Note: Portland has its own minimum wage that may be higher.

• Maine does not have a training or student wage below the 
  minimum.

• Tipped employees must be paid at least one-half the minimum  
  wage. If this rate plus tips for the week do not average the 
  minimum wage, the employer must pay the difference.

• Each employee must receive a pay statement with each 
  payment of wages showing the date of the pay period, hours   
  worked, total wages paid, and itemized deductions.

• Employees get overtime pay of 1 1/2 times their regular hourly  
  rate after 40 hours of work per week. This applies to most 
  employees. A poster stating these rules must be shown in the   
  workplace.

• Employers must keep daily time records for minors.  
  The records must show what time the minor began work 
  and ended work.

• Employees must be offered a 30 consecutive minute break 
  after every six hours worked, except in cases of emergency 
  (Title 26, chapter 7, §601)

• Employers must pay wages to employees on an established day  
  or date at regular intervals of no more than 16 days.

New Minimum Wage Increases

Effective 
Date

State Minimum 
Wage

Minimum Direct 
Service Wage*

Maximum Tip 
Credit

1/1/2024  $14.15  $7.08  $7.07

1/1/2025  $14.65  $7.33  $7.32
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• Employees must be paid for the work performed. Employees   
  who leave a job must be paid in full no later than the employees  
  next established payday.

• Employers cannot deduct from an employee’s pay for things   
  such as broken merchandise or bills not paid by customers.

• Employers must give an employee one-day notice to lower the 
  employee's rate of pay.

• Maine is an “at will” state. An employee may be fired for any
  reason not prohibited by law unless he or she is covered by a 
  collective bargaining agreement or other contract that limits   
  firing.

• Employers may not discriminate on the basis of gender by 
  paying a rate less than the rate paid an employee of the 
  opposite sex for comparable work.

• “Cash under the table” is not legal.

• Most of the wage laws do not apply to agriculture.

• An employer who violates employment laws may have to 
  pay penalties, additional wages, and lawyers’ fees.

XIX. Discrimination and Harassment
A. Unlawful Discrimination
Employers must not discriminate against workers because of race, 
religion, color, sex, age, national origin, sexual orientation, or mental or 
physical disability.

B. Workers with Disabilities
The federal Americans with Disabilities Act and the Maine Human 
Rights Act protect workers who have disabilities. Employers may 
not discriminate against workers with disabilities in hiring or firing. 
Employers must make reasonable accommodations for such workers’ 
disabilities.

C. Sexual Harassment
Sexual harassment on the job is against the law. Retaliation for 
complaining about sexual harassment is also against the law.
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D. Whistleblower Protection
It is against the law for an employer to fire, threaten, retaliate, or 
discriminate against an employee for:

• Reporting a law violation.

• Reporting a risk to health or safety.

• Refusing to do something that was life-threatening, after 
  asking the employer to correct the problem.

• Being part of a government investigation. 

• Reporting a medical error if you are a healthcare worker.

The law applies only if the employee tells the employer about the 
problem and allows time for it to be fixed or if the employee has good 
reason to believe the employer will not correct the problem.

XX. Unemployment and Workers’ Compensation 
Insurance
Unemployment insurance law provides for payment of benefits to 
qualified workers during periods of unemployment regardless of age. 

Workers’ compensation insurance gives benefits to workers who get hurt 
on the job regardless of age.

XXI. Drug Testing
Employers can ask workers to take drug tests if federal law requires it or 
if the company has a drug policy approved by the Maine Department of 
Labor.

Under the law, an employer can use a positive test result to:

• Refuse to hire someone.

• Fire an employee. 

• Discipline an employee.

• Change an employee’s work.

Those who apply for jobs may be tested only if they are offered work or 
are placed on a waiting list for a job. Employers who test under the law 
must give those tested a copy of the policy prior to the test.
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XXII. Compliance Assistance
The Maine Department of Labor Wage and Hour Division helps 
employers comply with youth employment laws. 

The Maine Department of Labor SafetyWorks! program helps 
employers comply with occupational safety and health regulations. 

See Section XXIV: Resources for agency contact information.

XXIII. Frequently Asked Questions about Youth 
Employment Laws
Q. Can a 16 or 17 year old who has quit school work more than 
 6 hours per day or 24 hours per week?

A. If the 16-year-old minor has been allowed to drop out of school, the   
 hourly restrictions no longer apply.  If a 17-year-old minor is no longer
 enrolled in school, the hourly restrictions no longer apply.  The employer   
 should obtain a letter from the superintendent of schools stating that the  
 child is no longer enrolled in school and, if under 17, that he or she has   
 been waived from compulsory education laws.

Q.  If a 16 or 17 year old minor is working toward a high school
 equivalency diploma, are his or her working hours restricted when   
 school is in session?

A. If the minor has dropped out of the traditional school setting and is no
 longer “enrolled,” the hourly restrictions no longer apply.  The employer   
 should get written confirmation from the superintendent that the minor   
 has  been allowed to drop out of school.

Q.  Do child labor laws apply to 18 year olds who are still in high school?

A.  No. Once a minor turns 18, none of the youth employment laws apply,   
 even if the person is still a student.

Q.  Are the youth employment laws any different if you are hiring your   
 own son or daughter?

A.  Work permit requirements, hourly restrictions, and prohibited occupations  
 rules apply even when hiring family members.

Q. Do OSHA regulations apply to minors?

A.  Yes. OSHA regulations apply to workers regardless of age.
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Q. If an employer complies with Maine law, does that guarantee 
 compliance with federal law, or vice versa?

A.  Not in all cases. The law that is most restrictive and protects the employee  
 the most is the one that applies. 

Q.  Can 14 or 15 year olds have more than one job?

A.  14 and 15 year olds need work permits in order to work. They are 
 allowed one work permit during the school year and two in the summer.

Q. If a 14 or 15 year old changes jobs, does he or she need a new 
 work permit?

A.  Yes.  A work permit is valid only for the occupation and business for 
 which it is approved.

Q.  What is the employer’s responsibility regarding work permits?

A.   The employer must keep the approved copy of the work permit on file.   
 Once the child is no longer working, the employer’s copy should be   
 returned to the Maine Department of Labor.

Q. What cooking may minors under 16 years old do?

A.  Minors may cook only with electric or gas grills that do not involve 
 cooking over an open flame and with deep fryers that are equipped with   
 and utilize devices that automatically lower and raise the baskets into and  
 out of the oil or grease.

Q. What is considered a manufacturing occupation for youth    
 employment law purposes?

A.  A process that changes the original product can be considered 
 manufacturing. Laws prohibit minors under 16 years old from    
 working in processing or manufacturing areas except for waiting on 
 customers or performing office work in a separate room.

Q. Who is considered a “junior firefighter?”

A. According to Maine law, anyone under 18 who is working as a firefighter   
 or training to become a firefighter is considered a junior firefighter.

Q.  Is the Boy Scout Explorer program covered by the junior firefighter   
 rules?

A.  If the program includes a junior firefighting program, all of the junior   
 firefighter rules apply.
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XXIV. Resources
U.S. Department of Labor:
(enforces federal youth employment laws)

 Wage and Hour Division
 603-666-7716 • 1-866-4USWAGE (866-487-9243)
 Manchester, New Hampshire
 www.dol.gov/whd

Workplace Safety and Health:

 SafetyWorks!
 Maine Department of Labor
 207-623-7900 or 1-877-SAFE-345
 TTY users call Maine Relay 711
 Email: webmaster.bls@Maine.gov
 www.safetyworksmaine.gov

 Occupational Safety and Health Administration (OSHA)  
 207-626-9160 (Augusta) or 207-941-8177 (Bangor)
 www.osha.gov/

 Maine Workers’ Compensation Board
 207-287-3751 • TTY users call Maine Relay 711
 www.maine.gov/wcb/

 Maine Human Rights Commission
 207-624-6290 • TTY users call Maine Relay 711
 www.maine.gov/mhrc/
 
Unlawful discrimination, sexual harassment, or the protection of 
workers with disabilities: 

 U.S. Equal Employment Opportunity Commission (EEOC)
 1-800-669-4000
 www.eeoc.gov/ 
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For more information, please call us at
207-623-7900 | TTY users call Maine Relay 711.

Visit us online at www.maine.gov/labor/bls

1
2

/2
4The Maine Department of Labor provides equal opportunity in employment and programs. 

Auxiliary aids and services are available upon request to individuals with disabilities.

Bureau of Labor Standards


