MAINE DEPARTMENT OF INLAND FISHERIES AND WILDLIFE
284 State Street, 41 SHS Augusta, ME 04333
Phone 207-287-8000 / Fax 207-287-8094

PERMIT TO RELEASE WILD BIRDS and USE FIREARMS FOR DOG TRAINING

In accordance with the provisions of the Maine Revised Statutes, Title 12, Section 12051 and Section 12156.

New Applicant: Renewal Applicant: Two Year Permit Fee: $12.00 Moses ID:

Name: DOB:

First Last Mi

Mailing Address:

Street/Road or Box # City or Town State Zip Code
Physical Address:
Street or Road City or Town State Zip Code
Email Address: Phone Number:

Applicant Signature:

Application Instructions: Return application and payment to Inland Fisheries and Wildlife, Licensing Division, 284 State
Street, SHS 41, Augusta, ME 04333. Make Check payable Treasurer State of Maine or submit credit card information
below.

This Permit Authorizes A Person:

1. Release birds into the wild for any reason;

2. Shoot at released birds while dog training on Sunday or posses a field trial permit;

3. Shoot at released birds while dog training outside the open season on species or possess a field trial permit;

4. Shoot at released birds while dog training if you do not have a hunting license or possess a field trial permit; and
5. The person may only shoot at birds during daylight hours.

Special Permit Instructions:

This is a 2-year permit that authorizes unlimited release of birds during the time the permit is valid.

If the person or entity releases pheasants or quail for hunting purposes during the State’s season on partridge, quail or
pheasants bag limits apply. Note: when hunting pheasant in York and Cumberland Counties during the state’s pheasant
season a pheasant stamp is required. When outside of the pheasant hunting season in York and Cumberland Counties a
person may hunt pheasant during the season timeframe without a pheasant stamp.

The following upland game birds are now on the unrestricted list:
1. Chukar partridge

2. Quail, (Button, Northern Bobwhite, Common, Japanese)

3. Hungarian partridge

4. Pheasants
5. Pigeons CREDIT CARD PAYMENT

All Major Credit Cards Accepted

Name on Card:

ExpirationDate: __ __ /__ Code: __

March 2020



MAINE DEPARTMENT OF INLAND FISHERIES AND WILDLIFE
284 State Street, 41 SHS Augusta, ME 04333
Phone 207-287-8000 / Fax 207-287-8094

The link to IFW web page related to captive wildlife:

https://www.maine.gov/ifw/fish-wildlife/captivity.html

The link to the IFW unrestricted species list:

https://www.maine.gov/ifw/docs/unrestrictedspecies.pdf

Chapter 16 Rule:

Provides hunting seasons and bag limits for pheasant & bobwhite quail: Season: Last Saturday in September — December
31 and Daily Bag limit of 4 with a possession limit of 8.

Title 12 Statute specific to hunting/releasing pen-raised birds:
§12051. TRAINING

B. A person may train sporting dogs on wild birds at any time, including Sundays. A person may not train sporting dogs
on wild birds unless they possess a valid hunting license, except on Sundays. A person may train dogs on pen-raised birds
at any time without a hunting license but must have a “Permit to Release Wild Birds and Use Firearms for Dog Training”
when training dogs in the circumstances described above.

§12102. IMPORTATION PERMIT FOR MALLARD DUCKS, QUAIL, CHUKAR PARTRIDGE AND HUNGARIAN PARTRIDGE

1. Issuance. The commissioner may grant permits to import live mallard ducks, quail, Chukar partridge and Hungarian
partridge to operators of commercial shooting areas.

2. Application. When requesting permission to import these birds, an importer shall: A. Provide the commissioner with
information on the number of the birds to be imported and the name and address of the seller; and B. Furnish the
commissioner with a statement from an approved veterinarian or from the Department of Agriculture or from the
conservation department of the state from which the birds are imported certifying that they are from flocks that have
been tested for infectious or contagious disease and have not been exposed to that disease during the 6 months prior to
importation.

§12156. RELEASE OF WILDLIFE INTO WILD

1. Permit required. Except as otherwise authorized pursuant to this Part, a person may not release into the wild captive,
raised or imported wildlife unless that person has a valid permit issued under this section. Each day a person violates
this subsection that person commits a Class E crime for which a minimum fine of $50 and an amount equal to twice the
applicable license fee must be imposed.

2. Issuance. The commissioner may issue a written permit to any person permitting that person to release into the wild
captive, raised or imported wildlife.

§12158. IMPORTATION PERMIT FOR PHEASANTS

(REPEALED)
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