
APPLICATION TO CONDUCT A ONE DAY BASS TOURNAMENT  
ON MAINE AND NEW HAMPSHIRE BORDER WATERS 

 
 
Type of Tournament (check one box below): 
 
 Weigh-in Tournament (check open or club):   Open    OR      Club ($52.00) 

 Catch, Measure, Release Tournament (CMR)  ($12.00) 

  

Bass Club Name:               

Bass Club’s Representative Name:          

Address (mailing):             

Daytime Telephone:   Email:        

 
The above named bass fishing club desires to hold a one-day bass tournament on: 
 
  
 
WATERBODY:             
TOWN:       COUNTY:       

WEIGH-IN LOCATION:             

DATE                      from         AM     to         PM 

 

 Weigh-in tournaments are not permitted from May 15th to June 30th (dates inclusive). 
 You must have at least two aquatic plants and live well inspectors at the tournament. 
 See reverse side of application for definitions and additional requirements. 

 
 
 
               
Signature of Bass Club Representative    Date 
 
 
NOTE: It is a Class E crime to obtain a permit through fraud, misstatement or misrepresentation (Title 12 
MRSA Section 10757) 
 
 
Please make check payable to: Treasurer, State of Maine.  Mail completed application, along with check to: 
Fisheries Division, Inland Fisheries & Wildlife, 41 SHS, Augusta, ME 04333-0041.  
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Definition of a Bass Club 
For purposes of determining eligibility to apply for a permit to conduct a one-day bass tournament, a "bass club" is 
defined as any organized group of five or more bass anglers which is able to satisfy one of the following criteria: 

1. Provide current documentation of being a member club in Bass Anglers Sportsmen Society (BASS) or 
other nationally recognized bass fishing organization; or 

2. Provide a current listing of club officers and members along with a signed affidavit affirming that the group 
is a bona-fide independent fishing club. 

 
Rules Pertaining to Bass Tournaments on Maine and New Hampshire Border Waters 

1. In Weigh-In tournaments, all bass caught shall be kept on a water-circulating live-well with the intent to 
keep the retained bass alive. All bass entered for the weigh-in at bass tournaments shall be released 
unharmed into the same water body where caught as follows: in lakes and ponds, not less than 300 feet 
away from the shoreline; in rivers at mid-channel not less than 300 feet away from the weigh-in site. 
Boats designated by the bass tournament sponsor may hold more than the daily limit of bass solely for 
the purpose of releasing bass after weigh-in. 

2. The daily limit shall be 2 bass per participant from April 1 to May 14 with no minimum length or weight 
limit. The daily limit shall be 5 bass per participant from July 1 to November 30 with no minimum length or 
weight limit. 

3. There will be no more than ten weigh-in tournaments on any water greater than 500 acres, only four of 
which may be open tournaments. Maine will issue up to five tournament permits, with no more than two 
being open. 

4. All other existing State laws and rules pertaining to CMR and weigh-in tournaments which are not 
modified herein continue to apply to Maine and New Hampshire Border water tournaments. (e.g. 
maximum number of boats, maximum prize values, etc.) 

 
Requirements (General) 

1. Any bass club which sponsors a one-day bass tournament must submit a completed bass tournament 
questionnaire, when requested to do so by an agent of the Commissioner, provided that such request 
must be made in writing to the sponsoring club prior to the day of the tournament. 

2. Each tournament requires two aquatic plant and live-well inspectors to conduct weed and live-well 
inspections.  Each boat will first be inspected immediately before a tournament participant launches the 
boat prior to the tournament and for a second time after the boat is retrieved from the water immediately 
after the conclusion of the tournament for that participant. 

3. All anglers in the tournament must possess a valid Maine fishing license unless of an age where a license 
is not required. (See exception for Maine/New Hampshire border waters in Open Water Fishing 
Regulation Book) 

4. Bass tournament boats must be specifically identified in a plainly visible manner and a roster of 
participants must be available at the location of the weigh-in.  

5. Only one permit will be issued on a waterbody for a specific date.  
6. All fishing will be restricted to artificial lures.  
7. No weigh-in bass tournaments will be permitted on a body of water less than 500 surface acres. 
8. A copy of the tournament permit and a copy of the rules affecting one-day tournaments shall be 

conspicuously displayed during each tournament at a location accessible to all tournament contestants. 
9. There shall be a separate permit for Open and Club tournaments. Club tournaments are limited to a maximum 

participation of 15 boats. Open tournaments are limited to 35 acres per boat with a maximum of 100 boats. 
Youth tournaments will be scheduled in cooperation with IF&W and no permit will be required. 

10. Tournaments may be Catch/Measure/Release (CMR) or Weigh-In. Youth events are to be CMR only. 
 a) In CMR tournaments, all bass caught must be immediately released to the location from which 

caught. 
 b) In Weigh-in Tournaments all bass retained shall be kept in a live-well being operated with the 

pump(s) in a mode that constantly exchanges live-well water with fresh lake or river water as a 
flow-through system;  except when boats are being operated under power of the main outboard 
while changing locations, or while motoring to shore immediately prior to weigh-in, at which time 
the pump(s) may be operated in a manner that aerates a fixed volume of water in the live-well.  
All bass taken shall be returned to the water from which it was caught, unharmed as far as 
possible, at the conclusion of the tournament day.  The daily limit shall be 5 bass per participant 
with no weight limit. 

11. The total cash value of prizes for single-day tournaments shall not exceed $25,000. 
12.  The Commissioner has the authority to put any condition necessary on any tournament to assure that 

appropriate measures are taken to protect biological resources and address social concerns. 
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AFFIDAVIT 

 
 
I,        of        
         Name                                         Town  
 
am the  ___________________________________________ of a bass club currently known as: 
                                     Title 
              . 

Name of bass club 
   
 
I hereby certify that the bass club herein named is a bona fide independent bass club having a slate of officers as 
follows (please print legibly): 
 
 

Club Representative           
(The person in your bass club who will complete applications, receive permits and other pertinent information as well as be 

responsible for the submission of required weed inspection forms and/or other documentation to the Department on the bass club’s 

behalf) 
 

President            

Vice President           

Secretary           

Treasurer           

 
 
I understand that the purpose of this affidavit is to certify eligibility for making application to conduct bass 
tournaments on Maine inland waters and that obtaining a permit through misstatement, misrepresentation or fraud 
is a criminal violation under Title 12, Section 10757. 
 
I understand that the information I have provided in this affidavit may be checked for accuracy and that falsely 
completing this affidavit may result in court action against me. 
 
 
I have attached a copy of my bass club’s current membership roster.  I certify that all the information given in this 
affidavit is true and accurate.   
 
 
_____________________________               _______________________________________ 
                        Date                                                                       Signature 
 
 
 
STATE OF MAINE 
 
_____________________________, ss. 
                   (County) 
 
 
Subscribed and sworn to before me this    day of   , 20  
 
 
 
                   ______________________________________ 

                          Notary Public/Attorney 
      My Commission Expires: 
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