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WILD TURKEY HUNTING PERMIT
To hunt wild turkey in the spring or fall 
seasons a valid hunting license and a 
spring/fall wild turkey permit is required, 
$20 plus agent fee. Valid hunting licenses 
include a small or big game firearms license 
or an archery license. 

WILD TURKEY TAGGING
Prior to presenting a wild turkey for 
registration, a person may not possess 
or leave that animal in the field or forest 
unless they have securely attached a plainly 
visible tag to the animal with their name, 
address, and license number on the tag. A 
gift turkey must be labeled with the name 
and address of the person who registered it 
and the year the turkey was registered.

WILD TURKEY TRANSPORTATION
Any wild turkey being moved or transport-
ed in any manner must have a tag securely 
attached, and it must be accompanied by 
the person who killed it. Unless the wild 
turkey has been legally registered, no 
person shall keep a wild turkey at his/her 
home or at any place of storage (except at 
the official registration station or at the 
office of a Maine Game Warden) for more 
than eighteen (18) hours without first 
notifying a game warden.

WILD TURKEY REGISTRATION
All wild turkeys taken by hunters shall be 
presented for registration within 18 hours 
at one of the registration stations estab-
lished for that purpose or self-registered 
online at mefishwildlife.com/TagATurkey. 
At registration, the entire turkey, except 
the viscera, must be presented, and all 
radio transmitters must be submitted to 
MDIFW. Hunters can keep any leg bands 
or wing tags as long as they have reported 
them to MDIFW. The fee to register a wild 
turkey is $2.00 all of which is retained by 
the agent. There is no fee to self-register a 
turkey online.

2025-26 MAINE WILD TURKEY  
HUNTING QUICK REFERENCE GUIDE
Please reference the Maine 2025-26 Summary of Hunting Laws for more details,  
available at mefishwildlife.com/huntinglaws.

HUNTER ORANGE CLOTHING 

Hunter orange is defined as a daylight 
fluorescent orange color with a dom-
inant wave length between 595 and 
605 nanometers, excitation purity 
of at least 85% and luminance factor 
of at least 40%. A decal on an article 
of clothing that is otherwise solid 
hunter orange is permissible. Articles 
of hunter orange clothing must be in 
good and serviceable condition and 
visible from all sides. When hunting 
turkeys, hunter orange clothing is 
only required when hunting with 
a firearm or crossbow during the 
firearms hunting season on deer (two 
articles of hunter orange required), 
the muzzleloader season on deer (two 
articles of hunter orange required), 
or within an open moose hunting 
district during moose hunting 
season (one article of hunter orange 
required). Refer to the Full Hunting 
Law Book for additional information.

See hunting law book for details.

ETHICS ARE WHAT WE DO WHEN NO ONE ELSE IS WATCHING
In the Maine woods, rarely will anyone be there to notice your ethical 
behavior, but the landowner and the hunters that follow will greatly 
appreciate it. Ethical behavior is vital to Maine’s sporting future, and it 
encourages landowners to keep their property open for all to enjoy. So 
remember: always respect the rights of landowners, and please ask first.

SUNDAY HUNTING  
IS ILLEGAL IN MAINE

LEGAL HUNTING HOURS:
½ hour before sunrise to ½ hour 
after sunset.

SELF-REGISTRATION  
NOW AVAILABLE

Wild turkeys may be registered 
in-person at a registration station  
or self-registered online at  
mefishwildlife.com/tagaturkey

OUTDOOR PARTNERS LANDOWNER RELATIONS PROGRAM
For $15.00, you can become an Outdoor Partner and support the 
MDIFW landowner relations program, which works to preserve and 
enhance access, helps landowners with access issues, and promotes 
responsible, ethical sporting behavior. 

Each year when you make a contribution to the Outdoor Partners 
Program, you are entered into our weekly drawing 
for a chance to win exclusive merchandise from our 
sponsoring businesses and organizations. You can 
join at any time – either as an add-on to your license 
purchase or at mefishwildlife.com/outdoorpartners.  

http://mefishwildlife.com/huntinglaws
http://mefishwildlife.com/tagaturkey
mefishwildlife.com/outdoorpartners
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LANDOWNER PRIVILEGES 
The following laws and regulations are 
specific to spring and fall wild turkey 
hunting seasons. Hunters must also 
comply with all other applicable fish and 
wildlife laws.

Any private landowner is eligible to hunt 
wild turkeys on their own land without a 
turkey hunting permit if:

1. That person legally possesses a partic-
ular piece of land that is 25 or more 
contig uous acres in size and is located 
within the turkey hunting zone desig-
nated for the season that they wish to 
hunt;

2. That person is permanently domiciled 
on that land;

3. The land is managed for the raising and 
selling of dairy cattle, dairy products, or 
beef cattle; and

4. The land is open to hunting including 
hunting by permission only. 

Any family member permanently 
domiciled on that land is also eligible to 
hunt wild turkeys on that land without a 
permit. (Family member means any family 
member, including spouse, grandchil-
dren, etc. who resides on the property). 
A landowner must provide proof of 
eligibility if requested by an agent of the 
commissioner. 

All other standard reporting and tagging 
procedures are required. Turkey may be 
taken during any open week of the season. 
Landowners are allowed a bag limit of up 
to 2 bearded wild turkeys in the spring 
season and up to 5 wild turkeys of either 
sex in the fall season. Please check the 
WMD in which you are hunting as some 
are closed, and others have bag limits 
varying anywhere from 1, up to 5 turkeys.

LEGAL HUNTING EQUIPMENT
•  Shotgun: A person can use shotgun 

gauges 10 through 20, using shot sizes 
4 through 6 or mixed loads that include 
shot sizes 4 through 7. In addition, 
shotgun gauges 10 through 28, includ-
ing .410, may be used with shot sizes 7 
through 9 in Tungsten Super Shot (TSS). 
A person must possess a valid big or 
small game firearms hunting license and 
a turkey permit.

• Archery Equipment: A person must 
possess a valid archery license and a 
turkey permit.

• Electronic Calling Devices: The use of 
electronic calling devices is legal.

WILD TURKEY HUNTING PROHIBITIONS
No Person May:
1. Employ the use of a dog or dogs in any 

manner while hunting turkey except 
during the fall season;

2. Engage in an organized drive of any 
manner;

3. Use bait;
4. Use a trap or other device intended or 

designed to capture or ensnare wild 
turkeys;

5. Shoot a turkey while it is in a tree;
6. Hunt wild turkeys within a WMD that 

is closed to hunting wild turkeys.
7. Possess any part or parts of a wild tur-

key unless each part is plainly labeled 
with the name and address of the 

person who registered the turkey, and 
the year it was registered;

8. Buy, sell, offer for sale or barter, or aid 
someone in buying, selling, or offering 
for sale or barter, any wild turkey 
(except the plumage of legally taken 
turkeys).

9. Hunt or register a wild turkey during 
the spring season after having killed 
or registered two turkeys.

10. Hunt or register a wild turkey during 
the fall season after having killed five 
turkeys.

ATTENTION TURKEY HUNTERS

The Department is collaborating 
with the University of Maine 
on a research project to better 
understand the population  
dynamics of wild turkeys. As part 
of this research we marked wild 
turkeys using leg bands, wing 
tags and back pack style radio 
transmitters in a number of areas 
throughout the state. If you shoot 
a turkey with a band, tag, or 
transmitter, please report it using 
the contact information printed 
on the bird’s leg band or radio 
transmitter.

OPERATION GAME THIEF
Call 1-800-ALERT US (253-7887) to report 
game law violations. Caller identification 
protected. Rewards paid. Poachers are 
thieves — help us stop them.
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2025-26 MAINE HUNTING SEASONS

FALL WILD TURKEY 
Archery equipment or shotgun WMDs

SEASONS LIMITS

FIRST DAY LAST DAY SEASONAL BAG & POSSESSION

General Hunting Season

15-17, 20-25 September 16, 2024 November 7, 2024 5 Wild Turkeys**

No more than two 
wild turkeys (either- 
sex, any age) may be 
harvested per permit 
holder per day, but 
cannot exceed the 
WMD bag limit.

26 September 16, 2024 November 7, 2024 3 Wild Turkeys**

28 September 16, 2024 November 7, 2024 2 Wild Turkeys**

3, 6-8, 10-14, 
18, 19, 27 & 29

September 16, 2024 November 7, 2024 1 Wild Turkey**

1, 2, 4, 5, 9 Closed to taking of Wild Turkeys

Youth Fall Wild Turkey Day September 14, 2024
May take up to 2 wild turkeys of any 
sex or age, without exceeding a WMD 
bag limit that has a 1-bird limit.

**May harvest up to 5 turkeys for the fall season, but an individual WMD bag limit cannot be exceeded. The order in which they are harvested from a WMD does not matter.

SPRING WILD TURKEY
Archery equipment or shotgun WMDs

SEASONS LIMITS

FIRST DAY LAST DAY SEASONAL BAG & POSSESSION

All Hunters

7 and 9-29 April 28, 2025 May 31, 2025 2 bearded Wild Turkeys*

1-6 and 8 April 28, 2025 May 31, 2025 1 bearded Wild Turkey*

Youth Spring Wild Turkey Day  April 26, 2025 May take up to 2 bearded Wild Turkeys 
from WMDs that have a 2 bird limit.

*May harvest up to 2 turkeys for the spring season, but an individual WMD bag limit cannot be exceeded. The order in which they are harvested from a WMD does not matter.

2025-26 MAINE HUNTING SEASONS
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This time chart is NOT the sunrise and sunset time table and has already been adjusted to display the actual legal hunting hours.

2025-26 LEGAL HUNTING HOURS
DAY SEPTEMBER OCTOBER NOVEMBER DECEMBER JANUARY FEBRUARY MARCH APRIL MAY JUNE JULY AUGUST

01 5:28 - 7:41 6:03 - 6:45 6:44 - 5:53 6:23 - 4:26 6:43 - 4:35 5:46 - 7:33 4:55 - 8:10 4:22 - 8:44 4:23 - 8:55 4:51 - 8:31

02 5:29 - 7:40 6:05 - 6:43 6:24 - 4:25 6:43 - 4:36 6:23 - 5:15 5:41 - 5:54 5:44 - 7:34 4:53 - 8:12 4:22 - 8:45 4:24 - 8:55

03 5:30 - 7:38 6:06 - 6:41 5:46 - 4:50 6:25 - 4:25 6:43 - 4:37 6:22 - 5:16 5:39 - 5:56 5:42 - 7:35 4:21 - 8:46 4:24 - 8:54 4:53 - 8:29

04 5:31 - 7:36 6:07 - 6:40 5:48 - 4:49 6:26 - 4:25 6:21 - 5:18 5:37 - 5:57 5:40 - 7:37 4:50 - 8:14 4:21 - 8:47 4:25 - 8:54 4:54 - 8:27

05 5:32 - 7:34 5:49 - 4:48 6:27 - 4:24 6:43 - 4:39 6:20 - 5:19 5:36 - 5:58 4:49 - 8:15 4:20 - 8:47 4:56 - 8:26

06 5:34 - 7:32 6:10 - 6:36 5:50 - 4:46 6:28 - 4:24 6:42 - 4:40 6:18 - 5:21 5:34 - 5:59 5:37 - 7:39 4:48 - 8:17 4:20 - 8:48 4:26 - 8:53 4:57 - 8:24

07 6:11 - 6:34 5:52 - 4:45 6:42 - 4:41 6:17 - 5:22 5:32 - 6:01 5:35 - 7:40 4:46 - 8:18 4:27 - 8:53 4:58 - 8:23

08 5:36 - 7:29 6:12 - 6:32 5:53 - 4:44 6:30 - 4:24 6:42 - 4:42 5:33 - 7:42 4:45 - 8:19 4:19 - 8:49 4:28 - 8:52 4:59 - 8:22

09 5:37 - 7:27 6:13 - 6:30 6:31 - 4:24 6:42 - 4:43 6:14 - 5:25 6:28 - 7:03 5:31 - 7:43 4:44 - 8:20 4:19 - 8:50 4:28 - 8:52

10 5:38 - 7:25 6:15 - 6:29 5:56 - 4:42 6:32 - 4:24 6:41 - 4:44 6:13 - 5:26 6:27 - 7:05 5:29 - 7:44 4:19 - 8:51 4:29 - 8:51 5:01 - 8:19

11 5:40 - 7:23 6:16 - 6:27 5:57 - 4:41 6:33 - 4:24 6:11 - 5:28 6:25 - 7:06 5:28 - 7:45 4:41 - 8:22 4:19 - 8:51 4:30 - 8:51 5:03 - 8:17

12 5:41 - 7:21 5:59 - 4:39 6:34 - 4:24 6:41 - 4:47 6:10 - 5:29 6:23 - 7:07 4:40 - 8:24 4:19 - 8:52 5:04 - 8:16

13 5:42 - 7:19 6:18 - 6:23 6:00 - 4:38 6:35 - 4:24 6:40 - 4:48 6:09 - 5:31 6:21 - 7:09 5:24 - 7:48 4:39 - 8:25 4:19 - 8:52 4:32 - 8:50 5:05 - 8:14

14 6:20 - 6:22 6:01 - 4:37 6:40 - 4:49 6:07 - 5:32 6:19 - 7:10 5:22 - 7:49 4:38 - 8:26 4:33 - 8:49 5:06 - 8:13

15 5:44 - 7:15 6:21 - 6:20 6:03 - 4:36 6:36 - 4:25 6:39 - 4:50 5:21 - 7:50 4:37 - 8:27 4:18 - 8:53 4:33 - 8:48 5:07 - 8:11

16 5:45 - 7:13 6:22 - 6:18 6:37 - 4:25 6:39 - 4:52 6:04 - 5:35 6:16 - 7:13 5:19 - 7:52 4:35 - 8:28 4:19 - 8:53 4:34 - 8:48

17 5:47 - 7:12 6:24 - 6:16 6:05 - 4:34 6:37 - 4:25 6:38 - 4:53 6:02 - 5:36 6:14 - 7:14 5:17 - 7:53 4:19 - 8:54 4:35 - 8:47 5:10 - 8:08

18 5:48 - 7:10 6:25 - 6:15 6:07 - 4:34 6:38 - 4:26 6:01 - 5:38 6:12 - 7:15 5:15 - 7:54 4:33 - 8:30 4:19 - 8:54 4:36 - 8:46 5:11 - 8:06

19 5:49 - 7:08 6:08 - 4:33 6:39 - 4:26 6:37 - 4:56 5:59 - 5:39 6:10 - 7:16 4:32 - 8:32 4:19 - 8:54 5:12 - 8:05

20 5:50 - 7:06 6:27 - 6:11 6:09 - 4:32 6:39 - 4:27 6:36 - 4:57 5:58 - 5:41 6:08 - 7:18 5:12 - 7:57 4:31 - 8:33 4:19 - 8:55 4:38 - 8:44 5:13 - 8:03

21 6:29 - 6:10 6:11 - 4:31 6:35 - 4:58 5:56 - 5:42 6:06 - 7:19 5:10 - 7:58 4:30 - 8:34 4:39 - 8:43 5:14 - 8:01

22 5:53 - 7:02 6:30 - 6:08 6:12 - 4:30 6:40 - 4:28 6:34 - 5:00 5:09 - 7:59 4:30 - 8:35 4:19 - 8:55 4:40 - 8:42 5:16 - 8:00

23 5:54 - 7:00 6:31 - 6:07 6:41 - 4:28 6:33 - 5:01 5:53 - 5:45 6:03 - 7:21 5:07 - 8:00 4:29 - 8:36 4:20 - 8:55 4:41 - 8:41

24 5:55 - 6:58 6:33 - 6:05 6:14 - 4:29 6:41 - 4:29 6:33 - 5:02 5:51 - 5:46 6:01 - 7:23 5:06 - 8:02 4:20 - 8:55 4:42 - 8:40 5:18 - 7:56

25 5:56 - 6:56 6:34 - 6:03 6:16 - 4:28 6:41 - 4:29 5:50 - 5:47 5:59 - 7:24 5:04 - 8:03 4:27 - 8:38 4:20 - 8:55 4:43 - 8:39 5:19 - 7:54

26 5:57 - 6:54 6:17 - 4:28 6:42 - 4:30 6:31 - 5:05 5:48 - 5:49 5:57 - 7:25 4:26 - 8:39 4:21 - 8:55 5:20 - 7:53

27 5:59 - 6:53 6:37 - 6:00 6:18 - 4:27 6:42 - 4:31 6:30 - 5:07 5:46 - 5:50 5:55 - 7:27 5:01 - 8:05 4:25 - 8:40 4:21 - 8:55 4:46 - 8:37 5:22 - 7:51

28 6:38 - 5:59 6:19 - 4:27 6:29 - 5:08 5:44 - 5:51 5:53 - 7:28 4:59 - 8:07 4:25 - 8:41 4:47 - 8:36 5:23 - 7:49

29 6:01 - 6:49 6:40 - 5:57 6:21 - 4:26 6:42 - 4:32 6:28 - 5:09 4:58 - 8:08 4:24 - 8:42 4:22 - 8:55 4:48 - 8:35 5:24 - 7:47

30 6:02 - 6:47 6:41 - 5:56 6:43 - 4:33 6:27 - 5:11 5:49 - 7:30 4:56 - 8:09 4:23 - 8:42 4:23 - 8:55 4:49 - 8:34

31 6:42 - 5:55 6:43 - 4:34 6:26 - 5:12 5:48 - 7:32 4:50 - 8:32 5:26 - 7:44

*Legal hunting hours are based on sunrise/sunset in Bangor, Maine (Eastern Standard Time) and are to be used statewide.
Exceptions: Raccoon, Coyote, and Migratory Bird hunting (see separate legal hunting hours for these species).


