
2024- 25  STAT E  OF  MAINE  S UMMARY OF  L AWS &  RULES  ATV &  SNOWMOBILE

•	 Stay on marked ATV trails. ATV trails have 
green and white signs. Not all snowmobile 
trails are ATV trails.

•	 Respect closed trail signs.  
•	 Never drink and ride.
•	 Drive to the right and at an appropriate 

speed.
•	 Tread lightly – Don’t tear up the trail!
•	 Remember that modified exhausts are 

illegal.
•	 Be respectful on ATV access routes – Yield 

to all traffic and never pass a vehicle.
•	 Be courteous to others when riding on 

multi-use trails.
•	 Support a local club by donating your time 

or money.
•	 Register your ATV. It is required and helps 

pay for trail maintenance and support.

REGISTER YOUR ATV
Registration fees fund trail maintenance and 
building new trails. Fees also support vol-
unteer ATV clubs who provide critical work 
maintaining the trail systems, and private 
landowners who allow trail access. For every 
ATV registration purchased, over 2/3 of the 
fee goes directly into the trail maintenance 
fund.

ATV and snowmobile registrations are 
valid from July 1st through June 30th. ATV 
registrations submitted on or before April 
30th will expire on June 30th of the current 
year. ATV registrations submitted on or 
after May 1st will expire on June 30th of the 
following year.

Residents may renew their ATV registration 
at mefishwildlife.com. Nonresidents may 
register their ATV online at  
mefishwildlife.com. 

M A I N E ’ S  STAT E  AT V  P R O G R A M
Maine’s state ATV program is critical to the  
economics of many rural Maine communities.
It provides a funding mechanism for ATV clubs to work with landowners and provides 
a trail network that is attractive to both resident and nonresident ATV enthusiasts. 
Governor Mills convened an ATV Task Force in 2019 and in 2020 the Task Force 
provided several focal points as initiatives to keep the world of ATVing in Maine a 
success. Learn more at mefishwildlife.com/atvtaskforce or maine.gov/dacf/parks/
trail_activities/atv/index.shtml.  

Do your part to keep Maine’s ATV 
trails open for generations to come:

2024-2025 MAINE ATV  
QUICK REFERENCE GUIDE
Please reference the Maine 2024-2025 Maine ATV & Snowmobile Laws 
book for more details, available at mefishwildlife.com/atvlaws.

ALL-TERRAIN VEHICLES (ATV) REGISTRATION FEES

RESIDENTS NONRESIDENTS ANTIQUE ATV
$70*  
Prior to registration, sales or use 
taxes are due.

Season: $115* $45* 
Residents** & Nonresidents

7-Day: $100*

The season registration for an ATV is valid for one year, commencing on July 1st of each year.
*Plus agent fee. 
**�Antique ATVs must be registered through the MDIFW Augusta office (in-person or via mail).

SIZE REQUIREMENTS
An oversized ATV is defined as an ATV that is wider than 65 inches or that weighs more 
than 2,000 pounds according to the original manufacturer’s specifications. Oversized ATVs 
cannot be registered in the State of Maine. 
Exception: Maine residents who previously registered their oversized ATV before 1/1/2022, 
may continue to register that oversized ATV. That oversized ATV may only be operated on 
land where the operator has written permission from the landowner or lessee, on frozen 
waters of the state, or on portions of state approved ATV trails (that do not limit the use of 
oversized ATVs). Written permission from the landowner or lessee is required for use of an 
ATV on cropland or pastureland or in an orchard. An oversized ATV that is allowed under 
this exception may be transferred to a new Maine resident owner who may also register that 
oversized ATV.

AGE REQUIREMENTS***

A person under 10 years of age may not operate an ATV.

A person 10 years of age or older but under 16 years of age may not operate an ATV unless 
that person has successfully completed a training course approved by the department and is 
accompanied by an adult. Proof of having completed a training course must be presented for 
inspection upon request of a law enforcement officer.

A person under 16 years of age may not cross a public way maintained for travel unless the  
crossing is in accordance with section 13157-A, subsection 6, paragraph A and the person 
satisfies the requirements of 13154-A, subsection 3.

***�This does not apply to the operation of an ATV on a) Land on which the operator is domiciled; b) Land owned 
or leased by the operator’s parent or guardian; or c) A safety training site approved by the department
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To ensure access to these trails remains open for recreational use, 
please respect landowners and stay on the marked trails!

Trail is OPEN to ATV use. 
These markers may also include 
additional information about  
the trail.

ATV access routes connect trail systems via the roadway to provide 
riders with more riding opportunity and a greater experience. When 
on an access route, yield to all traffic, ride to the right, never pass a 
vehicle, and never exceed the posted speed limit. 

ATV SEASON
Much like other hobbies in Maine, ATVing 
is NOT year-round. ATV trails are only open 
certain times of the year, depending on trail 
conditions. Trails typically open in May in the 
southern half of the state and in June in the 
northern parts, and close in the fall at various 
times, all dependent on weather and condi-
tions. Before you go, check with the local club 
to see if the trails are open. Always respect 
closed trail signs, don’t be the person to 
cause a trail to close forever.

ATV SAFETY & LAWS
Taking a ride on an ATV, UTV or snowmobile 
is a great way to be active and enjoy the 
beautiful Maine outdoors. Following safety 
precautions, rules and common sense are 
necessary ways to ensure your ride on one of 
these machines is as safe as it is fun.

Don’t drink and ride. A person may not 
operate or attempt to operate a recreational 
vehicle: 
•	 While under the influence of intoxicating 

liquor or drugs or a combination of liquor 
and drugs; 

•	 If 21 years of age or older, while having 
0.08% or more by weight of alcohol in that 
person’s blood; or 

•	 If less than 21 years of age, while having any 
amount of alcohol in the blood. 

Use your lights. Riders are required to use 

Snowmobile trails are not ATV trails, unless they have an ATV trail marker.

K N OW  YO U R  T R A I L  M A R K E R S
Maine has an amazing network of trails making it possible for ATV and snowmobile riders to explore thousands of miles 
across the state. Access to these trails is made possible thanks in part to many generous private landowners.
Note: Interconnected Trail System (ITS) trails are not always open to ATV use. ITS trails that are open to ATV use will be posted with ATV trail markers.

ETHICS ARE WHAT WE DO WHEN NO ONE ELSE IS WATCHING       mefishwildlife.com/outdoorpartners

TRAIL IS CLOSED TO ATV USE.
This includes side by sides, dirt 
bikes, and motorcycles.

lights during the period from ½ hour after 
sunset to ½ hour before sunrise; and at 
any time when, due to insufficient light or 
unfavorable atmospheric conditions caused by 
fog or otherwise, other persons, vehicles and 
other objects are not clearly discernible for a 
distance of 500 feet ahead.

Ride at a speed that is safe for the condi-
tions and your experience. A person may not 
operate an ATV except at a reasonable and 
prudent speed for the existing conditions.  
A person who violates this provision commits 
a Class E crime. 

Ride responsibly. A person may not operate 
an ATV in such a way as to recklessly create 
a substantial risk of serious bodily injury to 
another person. 

Ride safe. A person may not operate an ATV 
so as to endanger any person or property. 

Respect private property. A person may not 
while operating an ATV: Tear down or destroy 
a fence or wall on another person’s land; Leave 
open a gate or bars on another person’s land; 
Trample or destroy crops on another person’s 
land; or Remove or destroy signs or posted 
notices. 

Headgear is required for those under 18 
years of age. A person under 18 years of age 
may not operate an ATV or ride as a passenger 
without protective headgear.

FREE ATV WEEKEND: AUGUST 15-17, 2025
During Free ATV weekend a nonresident 
may operate in Maine on an ATV that is not 
registered in Maine if the nonresident’s ATV 
has a valid registration from another state or  
a Canadian province.

TAKE AN ATV SAFETY COURSE
Participation in an ATV education course 
will teach you how to properly operate and 
maintain an ATV. Laws, responsibilities and 
personal safety will also be covered. Passage 
of a final exam is required. You must attend 
every day of the class in order to receive your 
certificate. Those between the ages of 10 and 
16 are required to complete the course. Ages 
12 and older can take a combined ATV and 
snowmobile safety course online. Learn more 
at mefishwildlife.com/safetycourses.

Donate your time and/or money. 
Clubs are critical to Maine’s ATV 
program, and at the heart of 
its success. ATV clubs provide 
trail stewardship, emergency 
assistance, rider education and 
outreach, and help with landowner 
& government relations. 

SUPPORT A LOCAL ATV CLUB

http://mefishwildlife.com/safetycourses

