
2020-2 1  STAT E  OF  MAINE  S UMMARY OF  L AWS &  RULES  HUNTING   QUESTIONS? CALL 207 287-8000 

LICENSE & PERMIT
The spring and fall wild turkey hunting 
seasons are open to all hunters with valid 
Maine big or small game firearms or archery 
licenses. A combination spring/fall wild 
turkey permit is also required and available 
for $20, plus agent fee. Junior hunters and 
hunters over the age of 70 are exempt from 
the $20 permit fee. 

WILD TURKEY TO BE TAGGED
Any person killing a wild turkey shall 
immediately and securely attach to it, a 
plainly visible tag bearing his/her full name, 
address and license number. A gift turkey 
must be labeled with the name and address 
of the person who registered it and the year 
the turkey was registered.

WILD TURKEY TRANSPORTATION
Any wild turkey being moved or transported 
in any manner must have a tag securely 
attached, and it must be accompanied by 
the person who killed it. Unless the wild 
turkey has been legally registered, no person 
shall keep a wild turkey at his/her home 
or at any place of storage (except at the 
official registration station or at the office 
of a Maine Game Warden) for more than 
eighteen (18) hours without first notifying a 
game warden.

WILD TURKEY REGISTRATION
All wild turkeys taken by hunters shall be 
presented for registration within 18 hours 
at one of the registration stations estab-
lished for that purpose. At registration, the 
entire turkey, except the viscera, must be 
presented, and all radio transmitters must 
be submitted to MDIFW. Hunters can keep 
any leg bands or wing tags as long as they 
have reported them to MDIFW. The fee to 
register a wild turkey is $2.00.

2020-21 MAINE WILD TURKEY  
HUNTING QUICK REFERENCE GUIDE
Please reference the Maine 2020-21 Summary of Hunting Laws for more details,  
available at mefishwildlife.com/huntinglaws.

SUNDAY HUNTING  
IS ILLEGAL IN MAINE

LEGAL HUNTING HOURS:
½ hour before sunrise to ½ hour 

after sunset.

OPERATION GAME THIEF
Call 1-800-ALERT US (253-7887) to report 
game law violations. Caller identification 
protected. Rewards paid. Poachers are 
thieves — help us stop them.

HUNTER ORANGE CLOTHING 

Hunter orange is defined as a daylight 
fluorescent orange color with a dom-
inant wave length between 595 and 
605 nanometers, excitation purity 
of at least 85% and luminance factor 
of at least 40%. A decal on an article 
of clothing that is otherwise solid 
hunter orange is permissible. Articles 
of hunter orange clothing must be in 
good and serviceable condition and 
visible from all sides. When hunting 
turkeys, hunter orange clothing is 
only required when hunting with 
a firearm or crossbow during the 
firearms hunting season on deer (two 
articles of hunter orange required), 
the muzzleloader season on deer (two 
articles of hunter orange required), 
or within an open moose hunting 
district during moose hunting 
season (one article of hunter orange 
required). Refer to the Full Hunting 
Book for additional information.

See hunting law book for details.

ETHICS ARE WHAT WE DO WHEN NO ONE ELSE IS WATCHING
In the Maine woods, rarely will anyone be there to notice your ethical 
behavior, but the landowner and the hunters that follow will greatly 
appreciate it. Ethical behavior is vital to Maine’s sporting future, and it 
encourages landowners to keep their property open for all to enjoy. So 
remember: always respect the rights of landowners, and please ask first.

OUTDOOR PARTNERS LANDOWNER RELATIONS PROGRAM
For $15.00, you can become an Outdoor Partner and support the 
MDIFW landowner relations program, which works to preserve and 
enhance access, helps landowners with access issues, and promotes 
responsible, ethical sporting behavior. 

Members also receive discounts from retail partners, 
discounted subscriptions, and day passes, as well as 
an Outdoor Partners decal and entry into a drawing 
to win one of six $500 gift cards. You can join at any 
time – either as an add-on to your license purchase 
or at mefishwildlife.com/outdoorpartners.  

http://mefishwildlife.com/huntinglaws
mefishwildlife.com/outdoorpartners
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SPRING WILD TURKEY HUNTING
The spring wild turkey hunting season is 
open statewide.

Equipment
•	Shotgun: A person can use shotgun-

gauges 10 through 20, using shot sizes 
4 through 6 or mixed loads that include 
shot sizes 4 through 7. In addition, 
shotgun gauges 10 through 28, includ-
ing .410, may be used with shot sizes 7 
through 9 in Tungsten Super Shot (TSS). 
A person must possess a valid big or 
small game hunting license and a turkey 
permit.

•	Bow & Arrow: A person must possess 
a valid archery license, and a turkey 
permit.

•	Crossbow: A crossbow may be used to 
hunt wild turkeys during the spring 
wild turkey hunting season. A person 
hunting with a crossbow must possess 
either a valid big or small game firearms 
hunting license or an archery license as 
well as a turkey permit and crossbow 
permit. 

•	Dogs: It is unlawful to hunt with dogs 
during the spring wild turkey season.

•	Electronic Calling Devices: The use of 
electronic calling devices is legal.

FALL WILD TURKEY HUNTING
Equipment
•	� Shotgun: A person can use shotgun 

gauges 10 through 20, using shot sizes 
4 through 6 or mixed loads that include 
shot sizes 4 through 7. In addition, 
shotgun gauges 10 through 28, includ-
ing .410, may be used with shot sizes 7 
through 9 in Tungsten Super Shot (TSS). 
A person must possess a valid big or 
small game hunting license and a turkey 
permit.

•	Bow & Arrow: A person must possess 
a valid archery license, and a turkey 
permit.

•	Crossbow: A crossbow may be used to 
hunt wild turkeys during the fall wild 
turkey hunting season beginning in 
2020 through 2022. A person hunting 
with a crossbow must possess either a 
valid big or small game firearms hunting 
license or an archery license as well as a 
turkey permit and crossbow permit.

•	Electronic Calling Devices: The use of 
electronic calling devices is legal.

•	Dogs: Use of dogs is legal to hunt wild 
turkey during the fall season.
Note: The fall shotgun wild turkey 
season involves tactics that are different 
from the “sit and call” approach, and 
hunters are reminded to use extreme 
caution while hunting.  

WILD TURKEY HUNTING PROHIBITIONS
No Person May:
1.	 Employ the use of a dog or dogs in any 

manner while hunting turkey except 
during the fall season;

2.	 Engage in an organized drive of any 
manner;

3.	 Use bait;
4.	 Use a trap or other device intended or 

designed to capture or ensnare wild 
turkeys;

5.	 Shoot a turkey while it is in a tree;
6.	 Present for registration, or allow to be 

registered in his or her name, a wild 
turkey that he/she did not lawfully kill;

7.	 Hunt wild turkeys within a WMD that 
is closed to hunting wild turkeys.

8.	 Possess any part or parts of a wild tur-
key unless each part is plainly labeled 
with the name and address of the 
person who registered the turkey, and 
the year it was registered;

9.	 Buy, sell, offer for sale or barter, or aid 
someone in buying, selling, or offering 
for sale or barter, any wild turkey 
(except the plumage of legally taken 
turkeys).

10.	Hunt or register a wild turkey during 
the spring season after having killed 
or registered two turkeys.

11. Hunt or register a wild turkey during 
the fall season after having killed or 
registered five turkeys.

WHO MAY HUNT
The turkey hunter must possess the 
spring/fall wild turkey permit and their 
hunting license at all times while hunting. 
A person may assist in a hunt without a 
license or permit for that activity as long 
as that person does not carry a firearm, 
archery or crossbow equipment (means 
to kill).

ATTENTION TURKEY HUNTERS

The Department is collaborating 

with the University of Maine 

on a research project to better 

understand the population  

dynamics of wild turkeys. As part 

of this research we will be mark-

ing wild turkeys using leg bands, 

wing tags and back pack style 

radio transmitters in a number of 

areas throughout the state. If you 

shoot a turkey with a band, tag, or 

transmitter, please report it using 

the contact information printed 

on the bird’s leg band or radio 

transmitter.

LANDOWNER PRIVILEGES 
The following laws and regulations are 
specific to spring and fall wild turkey 
hunting seasons. Hunters must also 
comply with all other applicable fish and 
wildlife laws.

Any private landowner is eligible to hunt 
wild turkeys on their own land without a 
turkey hunting permit if:

1.	That person owns a particular piece of 
land that is 25 or more contiguous acres 
in size and is located within the turkey 
hunting zone designated for the season 
that they wish to hunt;

2.	That person is permanently domiciled 
on that land;

3.	The land is managed for the raising and 
selling of dairy cattle, dairy products, or 
beef cattle; and

4.	The land is open to hunting including 
hunting by permission only. 

Any family member permanently 
domiciled on that land is also eligible to 
hunt wild turkeys on that land without a 
permit. (Family member means any family 
member, including spouse, grandchil-
dren, etc. who resides on the property). 
A landowner must provide proof of 
eligibility if requested by an agent of the 
commissioner. 

All other standard reporting and tagging 
procedures are required. Turkey may be 
taken during any open week of the season. 
Landowners are allowed a bag limit of up 
to 2 bearded wild turkeys in the spring 
season and up to 5 wild turkeys of either 
sex in the fall season. Please check the 
WMD in which you are hunting as some 
are closed, and others have bag limits 
varying anywhere from 1, up to 5 turkeys.
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2020-21 MAINE HUNTING SEASONS
2020-21 MAINE HUNTING SEASONS

SPRING WILD TURKEY
Bow & arrow, crossbow or shotgun WMDs

SEASONS LIMITS

FIRST DAY LAST DAY DAILY BAG & POSSESSION

All Hunters

7 and 9-29 May 3, 2021 June 5, 2021 2 bearded Wild Turkeys*

1-6 and 8 May 3, 2021 June 5, 2021 1 bearded Wild Turkey*

Youth Spring Wild Turkey Day  May 1, 2021 May take up to 2 bearded Wild Turkeys from 
WMDs that have a 2 bird limit.

*May take up to 2 turkeys for the spring season, but an individual WMD bag limit cannot be exceeded. The order in which they are taken does not matter.

FALL WILD TURKEY 
Bow & arrow, crossbow or shotgun WMDs

SEASONS LIMITS

FIRST DAY LAST DAY DAILY BAG & POSSESSION

General Hunting Season

15-17, 20-25 September 14, 2020 November 7, 2020 5 Wild Turkeys either sex, any age**

26 September 14, 2020 November 7, 2020 3 Wild Turkeys either sex, any age**

28 September 14, 2020 November 7, 2020 2 Wild Turkeys either sex, any age**

6, 10-13, 18, 
19, 27 & 29 September 14, 2020 November 7, 2020 1 Wild Turkey either sex, any age**

1-5, 7-9, 14 Closed to taking of Wild Turkeys

Youth Fall Wild Turkey Day September 12, 2020
May take up to 2 Wild Turkeys of any sex

or age, without exceeding a WMD bag limit that 
has a 1-bird limit.

**�May take up to five wild turkeys for the fall season, but cannot exceed an individual WMD bag limit, the order in which they are taken does not matter. 
No more than two wild turkeys may be harvested per permit holder per day.
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This time chart is NOT the sunrise and sunset time table and has already been adjusted to display the actual legal hunting hours.

2020-21 LEGAL HUNTING HOURS
DAY SEPTEMBER OCTOBER NOVEMBER DECEMBER JANUARY FEBRUARY MARCH APRIL MAY JUNE JULY AUGUST

01 5:28 - 7:41 6:04 - 6:45 6:23 - 4:26 6:43 - 4:35 6:24 - 5:14 5:42 - 5:53 5:45 - 7:33 4:54 - 8:11 4:22 - 8:44 4:23 - 8:55

02 5:29 - 7:39 6:05 - 6:43 5:45 - 4:52 6:24 - 4:25 6:43 - 4:36 6:23 - 5:15 5:41 - 5:54 5:44 - 7:34 4:22 - 8:45 4:24 - 8:55 4:52 - 8:30

03 5:30 - 7:37 6:06 - 6:41 5:47 - 4:50 6:25 - 4:25 6:22 - 5:17 5:39 - 5:56 5:42 - 7:36 4:52 - 8:13 4:21 - 8:46 4:24 - 8:54 4:54 - 8:28

04 5:32 - 7:36 5:48 - 4:49 6:26 - 4:25 6:43 - 4:38 6:21 - 5:18 5:37 - 5:57 4:50 - 8:14 4:21 - 8:47 4:55 - 8:27

05 5:33 - 7:34 6:09 - 6:37 5:49 - 4:48 6:27 - 4:24 6:43 - 4:39 6:19 - 5:20 5:35 - 5:58 5:38 - 7:38 4:49 - 8:16 4:20 - 8:47 4:26 - 8:54 4:56 - 8:26

06 6:10 - 6:36 5:51 - 4:46 6:42 - 4:40 6:18 - 5:21 5:33 - 6:00 5:36 - 7:39 4:47 - 8:17 4:26 - 8:53 4:57 - 8:24

07 5:35 - 7:30 6:11 - 6:34 5:52 - 4:45 6:29 - 4:24 6:42 - 4:41 5:34 - 7:41 4:46 - 8:18 4:20 - 8:49 4:27 - 8:53 4:58 - 8:23

08 5:36 - 7:28 6:12 - 6:32 6:30 - 4:24 6:42 - 4:42 6:15 - 5:24 5:30 - 6:02 5:33 - 7:42 4:45 - 8:19 4:19 - 8:49 4:28 - 8:52

09 5:37 - 7:26 6:14 - 6:30 5:55 - 4:43 6:31 - 4:24 6:42 - 4:43 6:14 - 5:25 5:28 - 6:04 5:31 - 7:43 4:19 - 8:50 4:29 - 8:52 5:01 - 8:20

10 5:39 - 7:24 6:15 - 6:28 5:56 - 4:41 6:32 - 4:24 6:13 - 5:27 5:26 - 6:05 5:29 - 7:44 4:42 - 8:22 4:19 - 8:51 4:29 - 8:51 5:02 - 8:18

11 5:40 - 7:23 5:58 - 4:40 6:33 - 4:24 6:41 - 4:46 6:11 - 5:28 5:24 - 6:06 4:41 - 8:23 4:19 - 8:51 5:03 - 8:17

12 5:41 - 7:21 6:17 - 6:25 5:59 - 4:39 6:34 - 4:24 6:41 - 4:47 6:10 - 5:30 5:23 - 6:08 5:25 - 7:47 4:40 - 8:24 4:19 - 8:52 4:31 - 8:50 5:04 - 8:15

13 6:19 - 6:23 6:00 - 4:38 6:40 - 4:48 6:08 - 5:31 5:21 - 6:09 5:24 - 7:48 4:39 - 8:25 4:32 - 8:50 5:05 - 8:14

14 5:43 - 7:17 6:20 - 6:21 6:02 - 4:37 6:35 - 4:25 6:40 - 4:49 5:22 - 7:49 4:37 - 8:26 4:19 - 8:53 4:33 - 8:49 5:06 - 8:12

15 5:45 - 7:15 6:21 - 6:20 6:36 - 4:25 6:39 - 4:51 6:05 - 5:34 6:17 - 7:12 5:20 - 7:51 4:36 - 8:27 4:18 - 8:53 4:34 - 8:48

16 5:46 - 7:13 6:23 - 6:18 6:04 - 4:35 6:37 - 4:25 6:38 - 4:52 6:04 - 5:35 6:15 - 7:13 5:19 - 7:52 4:19 - 8:53 4:35 - 8:47 5:09 - 8:09

17 5:47 - 7:11 6:24 - 6:16 6:06 - 4:34 6:38 - 4:26 6:02 - 5:37 6:13 - 7:14 5:17 - 7:53 4:34 - 8:30 4:19 - 8:54 4:36 - 8:47 5:10 - 8:07

18 5:48 - 7:09 6:07 - 4:33 6:38 - 4:26 6:37 - 4:55 6:01 - 5:38 6:11 - 7:15 4:33 - 8:31 4:19 - 8:54 5:11 - 8:06

19 5:49 - 7:07 6:27 - 6:13 6:08 - 4:33 6:39 - 4:26 6:36 - 4:56 5:59 - 5:39 6:10 - 7:17 5:13 - 7:56 4:32 - 8:32 4:19 - 8:54 4:37 - 8:45 5:12 - 8:04

20 6:28 - 6:11 6:10 - 4:32 6:36 - 4:57 5:57 - 5:41 6:08 - 7:18 5:12 - 7:57 4:31 - 8:33 4:38 - 8:44 5:13 - 8:03

21 5:52 - 7:04 6:29 - 6:10 6:11 - 4:31 6:40 - 4:27 6:35 - 4:59 5:10 - 7:58 4:30 - 8:34 4:19 - 8:55 4:39 - 8:43 5:15 - 8:01

22 5:53 - 7:02 6:30 - 6:08 6:40 - 4:28 6:34 - 5:00 5:54 - 5:44 6:04 - 7:20 5:08 - 7:59 4:29 - 8:35 4:19 - 8:55 4:40 - 8:42

23 5:54 - 7:00 6:32 - 6:06 6:14 - 4:30 6:41 - 4:28 6:33 - 5:01 5:53 - 5:45 6:02 - 7:22 5:07 - 8:01 4:20 - 8:55 4:41 - 8:41 5:17 - 7:57

24 5:55 - 6:58 6:33 - 6:05 6:15 - 4:29 6:41 - 4:29 5:51 - 5:46 6:00 - 7:23 5:05 - 8:02 4:28 - 8:37 4:20 - 8:55 4:43 - 8:40 5:18 - 7:56

25 5:56 - 6:56 6:16 - 4:28 6:42 - 4:30 6:31 - 5:04 5:49 - 5:48 5:58 - 7:24 4:27 - 8:38 4:20 - 8:55 5:19 - 7:54

26 5:58 - 6:54 6:36 - 6:02 6:17 - 4:28 6:42 - 4:30 6:31 - 5:05 5:47 - 5:49 5:57 - 7:26 5:02 - 8:04 4:26 - 8:39 4:21 - 8:55 4:45 - 8:38 5:21 - 7:52

27 6:37 - 6:00 6:18 - 4:27 6:30 - 5:07 5:46 - 5:50 5:55 - 7:27 5:01 - 8:06 4:25 - 8:40 4:46 - 8:37 5:22 - 7:50

28 6:00 - 6:50 6:39 - 5:59 6:20 - 4:27 6:42 - 4:32 6:29 - 5:08 4:59 - 8:07 4:25 - 8:41 4:22 - 8:55 4:47 - 8:36 5:23 - 7:49

29 6:01 - 6:48 6:40 - 5:57 6:42 - 4:33 6:27 - 5:10 5:51 - 7:29 4:57 - 8:08 4:24 - 8:42 4:22 - 8:55 4:48 - 8:35

30 6:03 - 6:47 6:41 - 5:56 6:22 - 4:26 6:43 - 4:33 6:26 - 5:11 5:49 - 7:31 4:56 - 8:09 4:23 - 8:55 4:49 - 8:33 5:25 - 7:45

31 6:43 - 5:54 6:43 - 4:34 5:47 - 7:32 4:23 - 8:43 4:50 - 8:32 5:26 - 7:43

*Legal hunting hours are based on sunrise/sunset in Bangor, Maine (Eastern Standard Time).
  Exceptions: Raccoon, Coyote, and Migratory Bird hunting (see separate legal hunting hours for these species).


