Health Information Exchanges in Other States (a Brief Overview)
Framework Questions
Is provider participation in a Health Information Exchange (“HIE”) mandatory or voluntary?

· Minnesota was the only state with an HIE participation mandate. The mandate doesn’t take effect until 2015. Statutes are silent on sanctions for failure to meet the HIE.
· Mandatory 100% participation in E-Prescribing was targeted for Jan 1, 2011. As of April 2012, no one class of providers have met this goal. There is no mention of sanctions.
Who “owns” the data?

· Two states explicitly specify that providers retain ownership of health data
· Three states have HIEs that only store information about the location of patient health information (i.e. which providers have patient records). These HIEs don’t store any clinical data.
· Patients in Indiana currently have no access to their own data. All of the other states have provisions for patient access. Minnesota allows providers to charge fees for patient copies. These fees are set by statute.

What is the payment structure?
· Variety of payment solutions from state-to-state
· Most common: charge hospitals & providers

· Hospital charges 
· by size (in beds); High: $157/bed/month; Low: $60/bed/month; 
· by provider: $85/provider/month; 

· Provider individual charge 

· subscription fee; High: $1020/year; Low: $230/year
· Less common: charge per page of medical records sent/retrieved
· High: $.25/page; Low: $.02/page

· Some states offer steep discounts for volunteer community clinics

· Fees for volunteer clinics are  to 75% less than other providers

· Emerging trend: charge payors (insurance co’s, state health departments)
· Per-member per month charge; High: $.75; Low: $.23

· Per claim: $.15 per claim received; $.25 per claim paid.

· Rationale: insurers receive greatest savings from efficient transfer of health data

· Fewer duplicate tests, fewer conflicting treatments, etc.
· Where state payors are charged (e.g. DHHS), HIE fees are often negotiated individually w/ HIE, or discounted (see e.g. South Carolina “SCHIEX.”)
How do other states handle Personal Health Information (PHI)?
· Public health uses are very limited (generally immunization registry only – not even communicable disease disclosure to a HIPAA “public health authority” has been explicitly addressed in the HIE context.)
· Of the states reviewed, those states storing clinical PHI on HIE servers currently limit uses of HIE data to treatment; states’ HIEs only storing only the LOCATION of patient EHRs don’t have any clinical PHI to share.
Types of Data Questions
Do HIEs include clinical and claims data?

· UT has two separate exchanges; Utah Health Information Network (UHIN) deals on in administrative/claims data; Utah Clinical Health Information Exchange (cHIE) deals with clinical data. 
· Some HIE’s only have the LOCATION of patient EHRs, not clinical or claims data itself. (e.g. South Carolina’s “SCHIEX,” Minnesota’s “HIE-Bridge.”)

Does state HIE include behavioral health, substance abuse, or HIV info?
· Most states currently do not include behavioral or substance abuse health information.
· One state, Nebraska, maintains a separate HIE just for behavioral health information 

Are there any carve-outs?

· The most common carve-outs are behavioral and substance abuse health information.
Are patients included on an opt-in or opt-out basis?

· Most states operate on an opt-out basis for clinical health information
· Behavioral & substance abuse information, where collected, is almost always on an opt-in basis.

Access and Sharing
Who is allowed to use clinical and claims data?

· The most common rule is to allow clinical data to only be used for treatment purposes
· Public uses currently in effect are limited to immunization databases.
What do they allow for commercial uses of data?

· I couldn’t find any information suggesting that any state currently allows the use of HIE data for commercial purposes

Do they allow the sale of any data?

· Like commercial uses, the sale of data to third parties was not mentioned by any state.
