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AUGUSTA, MAINE 
04333-0135

OFFICE LOCATED AT: 45 MEMORIAL CIRCLE, AUGUSTA, MAINE 
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To: Commissioners 

From: Erin Gordon, Candidate Registrar 

Date: September 14, 2020 

Re: Request by Mark André for Waiver of Late-Filing Penalty for 42-Day Post-

Primary Report 

Mark André is a Maine Clean Election Act candidate in the 2020 general election for the 

Maine House, District 110.  This is Mr. André’s fifth time as candidate.  His treasurer, 

Mark Potter, also served as treasurer for Mr. André in 2018. 

All candidates who participated in the 2020 primary election were required to file a 42-

Day Post-Primary campaign finance report on August 25, 2020.  Due to an unexpected 

change in his work schedule, the treasurer, Mr. Potter, did not file the report until the next 

day, August 26, making the report one day late.  ETH 4-5.  The preliminary penalty for 

the late report is $132.00 and the candidate is requesting a waiver of the penalty.  ETH-1. 

LEGAL REQUIREMENTS 

Candidates participating in an election, either primary or general, must file a report by the 

42nd day after the date on which the election was held, and the report must be complete as 

of the 35th day after the election.  21-A M.R.S.A. § 1017(3-A)(D)  ETH-7.  When a 

candidate is late in filing a report, the amount of the penalty is set by a formula which 

takes into consideration a percentage of the total contributions or expenditures, whichever 

is greater, the number of prior violations within a two-year period, and the number of days 

the report is late.  21-A M.R.S.A. § 1020-A(4-A).  ETH-9. 
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DISCUSSION 

Prior to the August 25, 2020 deadline, the Commission’s efiling website sent automatic 

email reminders of the 42-Day Post-Primary Report to all candidates who were scheduled 

to file the report.  Candidate Registrar Erin Gordon also directly emailed all candidates 

who had not yet filed to remind them of the report at midday on the 25th.  ETH-6.  The 

email urged candidates to – at the very least – log into the system by 5:00 p.m. in case 

they needed any staff assistance with usernames and passwords. 

 

On the morning of August 26, when the report was one day late, Ms. Gordon again 

emailed all candidates who had not filed the report by the 11:59 p.m. deadline to remind 

them to file and contact her with any questions.  Ms. Gordon did not receive a reply from 

Mr. André to either reminder email.  Mr. Potter logged during in the evening of the 26th 

and filed the report.  

 

Based on the statutory formula for calculating late-filing penalties, the preliminary 

penalty amount is $132.00  (ETH 2-3), calculated as follows: 

 

Through an email dated September 4, 2020 (ETH-1), Mr. André asks that the 

Commission waive the preliminary penalty, because his treasurer was traveling for work 

on the day of the deadline and was unexpectedly unavailable.  He also states that, because 

the only activity on the report are his initial MCEA payments, there was no harm to the 

public.  (He made no expenditures during the time period of the report.) 

 

STAFF RECOMMENDATION 

MCEA candidates are required to appoint a treasurer other than themselves.  The 

treasurer may file a campaign finance report, but not the MCEA candidate.  Although Mr. 

André would not have been able to file his report himself, Candidate Registrars have 

often filed reports on a candidate’s behalf when their treasurer is unavailable. 

 

Report Deadline Financial 
Activity 

Penalty 
Rate Days Late Preliminary 

Penalty 
42-Day Post-Primary 

Report 
08/25/2020 $6,625 2% 1 $132.00 
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As to the level of harm to the public, while it is true that MCEA candidates for House all 

receive the same amount for the general election ($5,300), this report publicly disclosed 

that Mr. Andre had received one supplemental payment of $1,325 (ETH-5) and that he 

had made no expenditures of his general election funds through the end of the report 

period.  ETH-4. 

 

In his waiver request, Mr. André refers to “many deadlines” that have been extended due 

to the COVID-19 pandemic, and specifically to the extension of the deadline to qualify 

for MCEA funding (“certification”).  The Governor extended the certification deadline 

and campaign finance reporting deadlines when she adjusted the date of the primary 

election to July 14, 2020.  The only deadline extended by the Commission was for the 

Statement of Sources of Income, which was necessary because of the introduction of a 

new electronic filing system (previously this statement was filed on paper forms).  Staff 

have been clear with candidates that campaign finance report deadlines are firm and 

ensure that these deadlines do not pass without direct communication from Candidate 

Registrar to candidate. 

 

Generally, in 2018, the Commission waived late-filing penalties against candidates 

downward to a range of $300 - $400, for example: 

• from $2,565.38 to $300 – late 24-Hour Report by Jan Collins 

• from $1,739.73 to $400 – incomplete 11-day pre-primary by Mark Lawrence 

• from $384.00 to $300 – late 24-Hour Report by Ian Schwartz 

The Commission declined to waive preliminary penalties that were already below $300: 

• $112.00 – late July Semiannual by Jeffrey Slocum 

• $115.93 – late 24-Hour Report by Dana Dow 

• $235.03 – late 24-Hour Reports by James LeBrecque. 

We do not recommend reducing Mr. André’s original penalty from $132, as it falls well 

below the range of $300-$400.  Though understandable, the factors that caused the delay 

in his filing were not remarkable and we do not feel that the penalty amount is 

disproportionate. 

  

Thank you for your consideration of this memo. 
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Gordon, Erin

From: Mark Andre <andreforhouse76@yahoo.com>
Sent: Friday, September 4, 2020 8:52 AM
To: Gordon, Erin
Subject: Waiver Request for Late Filing

EXTERNAL: This email originated from outside of the State of Maine Mail System. Do not click links or open 
attachments unless you recognize the sender and know the content is safe. 

Erin, 
 
Please record and transmit the following request for Waiver for my campaign's late filing of the 42 Day Post Primary 
Report. 
 
I am requesting this Waiver for the following reasons: 
 
1) My campaign in a lay person who is employed by Henry Schein as a medical equipment service technician that travels 
throughout the State on an on call basis. He was called upstate on the day the filing was due and inadvertently missed the 
reporting deadline. Upon receiving the email noting the deadline was missed, the report was immediately filed within 24 
hours. 
 
2) The report filed was a no activity report. Because I am a clean elections candidate, the income received by my 
campaign is automatically logged. The information displayed on my campaign finance page was correct as of the August 
25 deadline and simply needed to be confirmed by my Treasurer. Therefore, no harm to the public existed. 
 
3) Given the Covid crisis, waivers to many deadlines have been handed down this election season. Regarding the most 
important deadline (initial qualifying contributions), my paperwork and QC's were handed in prior to the State mandate 
deadline specified in the law. My opponent only qualified by virtue of the Governor issuing a last minute extension of the 
deadline. If I could get my QC's in on time as a challenger, the incumbent in the race should have been able to get the hell 
off her lazy ass and do the same. Regardless, when you began extending deadlines in certain cases, it creates an 
expectation that deadlines are and should be flexible in other cases given the pandemic. 
 
4) I have run for office 5 times. This is the first Ethics Commission deadline that has ever been missed by one of my 
campaigns. 
 
Thank you for your time. Please note that as a sole proprietor of a business, I will likely be unable to attend a zoom 
conference on this matter. I hope the information provided above, which is pretty straightforward, is sufficient to grant the 
Waiver requested. This especially given the fact that two years ago I was one of two candidates that the Commission 
failed to distribute a Clean Elections payments to in a manner consistent with the law, requiring many appearances before 
the Commission by me, to obtain the payment to which my campaign was entitled. 
 
Sincerely, Mark Andre' Unenrolled HD110 Waterville/ Oakland 

ETH-1



 

 

 
 

 
 
 

August 31, 2020 

Mark Andre 
33 Holmes Farm Road 
Oakland, Maine 04963 
 
Re: Notice of Violation and Penalty for Late-Filed 42-Day Post-Primary Report 
 
Dear Mr. Andre: 
  
You were required to file the 42-Day Post-Primary Report on August 25, 2020 by 11:59 p.m., but the 
report was not filed until August 26, 2020. Under the Commission’s statutes (21-A M.R.S.A. § 1020-
A(4-A)), the late filing of a report triggers an enforcement process. The Commission staff has made a 
preliminary finding of violation and determined that the preliminary penalty for filing the report late is 
$132.00. Please see the next page for the penalty calculation. 
 
You may request that the Commission waive the penalty in whole or in part or find that there was no 
violation. The request must be made within 14 calendar days of your receipt of this notice. The 
request must be in writing and contain a full explanation of the reasons the report was filed late. Upon 
receiving your request, the Commission staff will schedule your request to be heard at an upcoming 
Commission meeting. You or your designee will have an opportunity to be heard at the meeting or 
you may submit a sworn statement to the Commission explaining the mitigating circumstances for its 
consideration. 
 
The Commission may waive or reduce the penalty or find that there was no violation if it determines 
that the report was late due to mitigating circumstances, which are defined as (1) a valid emergency; 
(2) an error made by the Commission staff; or (3) relevant evidence that a bona fide effort was made 
to file the report on time. The Commission may also consider whether the penalty is disproportionate 
to the size of the candidate’s campaign, the level of experience of the candidate, treasurer or 
campaign staff, or the harm to the public caused by the late disclosure. 
 
The staff requests that you pay the preliminary penalty within 14 days of the date of your receipt of 
this notice if you do not intend to request a waiver. Please use the payment statement on the next 
page when paying by mail. You may also make a payment online at www.maine.gov/ethics by 
clicking the “Penalty Payment” link. Please contact me at (207) 287-3651 or erin.gordon@maine.gov 

if you have any questions. 
 

Sincerely, 
 
 
Erin Gordon 
Candidate Registrar 

cc: 

ETH-2

http://www.maine.gov/ethics
http://www.maine.gov/ethics


 

 

 
 

Penalty Calculation 
 

The penalty for filing a campaign finance report late is based on a percentage of the total 
contributions or expenditures for the reporting period, whichever is greater, multiplied by the number 
of days late. The percentage is based on your history of past violations: 2% for the first violation, 4% 
for the second violation, and 6% for the third and each subsequent violation. Violations for late-filed 
reports accumulate in the two-year period beginning on January 1st of each even-numbered year. A 
penalty accrues daily beginning on the day following the filing due date. Any penalty of less than $10 
is automatically waived. 

 
How Your Penalty Was Calculated 

 

Filer: Mark Andre 

Late-Filed Report: 42-Day Post-Primary Report 

Contributions $6,625.00 

 

Penalty Base Amount $6,625.00 

Expenditures $0 Percentage 2% 

Due Date August 25, 2020 Daily Accrual Rate $132.00 

Date Filed August 26, 2020 Days Late 1 

Previous Violations 0 Your Total Penalty $132.00 

 
 
 
 
 

 
Payment Statement and Payment Options 

 
 
From:  Mark Andre 
 
Penalty Amount: $132.00     
 
Amount Enclosed: _______________    Check/M.O. #: _______________ 
 
 
BY MAIL: Enclose this payment statement with your payment. 
 

Please make check or money order payable to:  Treasurer, State of Maine 

 

  Mail to: Maine Ethics Commission 

    135 State House Station 

    Augusta, Maine 04333-0135 

 
ONLINE: Go to www.maine.gov/online/ethics/penalties. 

ETH-3
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2020 CAMPAIGN FINANCE REPORT

Commission on Governmental Ethics and Election Practices
Mail: 135 State House Station, Augusta, Maine 04333

Office: 45 Memorial Circle, Augusta, Maine
Website: www.maine.gov/ethics

Phone: 207-287-4179
Fax: 207-287-6775

FOR MCEA CANDIDATES

FINANCIAL ACTIVITY SUMMARY

CASH ACTIVITY

TOTAL FOR PERIOD TOTAL FOR CAMPAIGN

1. CASH BALANCE FROM LAST REPORT $525.00

2. SEED MONEY CONTRIBUTIONS $0.00 $0.00

3. MAINE CLEAN ELECTION ACT PAYMENTS & AUTHORIZATIONS $6,625.00 $7,150.00

4. SALE OF CAMPAIGN PROPERTY (SCHEDULE E, PART 2) $0.00 $0.00

5. OTHER CASH RECEIPTS (INTEREST, ETC.,) $0.00 $0.00

6. MINUS EXPENDITURES (SCHEDULE B) $0.00 $0.00

7. CASH BALANCE AT CLOSE OF PERIOD $7,150.00

OTHER ACTIVITY

8. IN-KIND SEED MONEY CONTRIBUTIONS $0.00 $0.00

9. TOTAL UNPAID DEBTS AT CLOSE OF PERIOD (SCHEDULE D) $0.00

   COMMITTEE    TREASURER

Mr. Mark R Andre Mark Potter

33 Holmes Farm Road 10 Maple Street

Oakland, ME 04963 Oakland, ME 04963

PHONE:(207) 649-2410 PHONE:

EMAIL: andreforhouse76@yahoo.com EMAIL: maddawgmarkus@yahoo.com

REPORT DUE DATE REPORTING PERIOD

42-Day Post-Primary Report 08/25/2020 07/01/2020 - 08/18/2020

I, Mark  Potter, CERTIFY THAT THE INFORMATION CONTAINED IN THIS REPORT IS TRUE, ACCURATE, AND COMPLETE TO THE BEST 
OF MY KNOWLEDGE.

REPORT FILED BY: Mark  Potter
REPORT FILED ON: 8/26/2020 7:40:38 PM
LAST MODIFIED: 
COMMITTEE ID: 362459

ETH-4



SCHEDULE A
CASH CONTRIBUTIONS

• For contributors who gave more that $50, the names, address, occupation, and employer must be reported. If 
"information requested" is listed instead of occupation and employer, the candidate is waiting to receive that 
information.

• Cash contributions of $50 or less can be added together and reported as a lump sum.
• Contributor Types

1 = Individual 9 = Candidate / Candidate Committee

2 = Candidate/ Spouse/ Domestic Partner 10 = General Treasury Transfer

3  = Commercial Source 11 = Transfer from Previous Campaign

4 = Nonprofit Organization 12 = Contributors giving $50 or less

5 = Political Action Committee 13 = Contributors giving $100 or less

6 = Political Party Committee 14 = Contributors giving $200 or less

7 = Ballot Question Committee 15  = MCEA Payment

8 = Other Candidate/ Candidate Committee 16 = Financial Institution

DATE 
RECEIVED

CONTRIBUTOR EMPLOYER AND 
OCCUPATION

TYPE AMOUNT

7/15/2020 MCEA Payment

Supp Payments - Group 1

15 $1,325.00

7/15/2020 MCEA Payment 15 $5,300.00

TOTAL CASH CONTRIBUTIONS $6,625.00

ETH-5
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Gordon, Erin

From: Gordon, Erin
Sent: Tuesday, August 25, 2020 12:19 PM
Cc: Burke, Emma
Subject: REMINDER: 42-Day Post-Primary Report DUE TODAY

Good afternoon Candidates, 
 
You are receiving this email because you are required to file the 42-Day Post-Primary Report and you have not yet done 
so. The report is due today, August 25, 2020 by 11:59 p.m.  
 
I will be available by phone or email until 5 p.m. today to answer any questions about filing or to assist in 
troubleshooting. If you are not planning to file your report until later this evening, please be sure to check your 
username and password to www.mainecampaignfinance.com before 5 p.m. so that I can help with any log-in problems. 
If you believe you are receiving this email in error, let me know. 
 
Thank you, 
 
Erin Gordon 
Candidate Registrar 
Maine Ethics Commission 
(207) 287-3651 | www.maine.gov/ethics 
135 State House Station, Augusta, ME 04333-0135 
45 Memorial Circle, Augusta, ME 
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Maine Revised Statutes, Title 21-A, Chap. 13: Campaign Reports & Finance Law (Rev. 07/2016) 
Page 24 

year.  These reports must include all contributions made to and all expenditures made or 
authorized by or on behalf of the candidate or the treasurer of the candidate as of the end of 
the preceding month, except those covered by a previous report.  

B.  Reports must be filed no later than 11:59 p.m. on the 11th day before the date on which 
an election is held and must be complete as of the 14th day before that date.  If a report was 
not filed under paragraph A, the report required under this paragraph must cover all 
contributions and expenditures through the 14th day before the election. 

C.  Any single contribution of $1,000 or more received or any single expenditure of $1,000 
or more made after the 14th day before any election and more than 24 hours before 11:59 
p.m. on the day of any election must be reported within 24 hours of that contribution or 
expenditure.  The candidate or treasurer is not required to include in this report expenditures 
for overhead expenses or compensation paid to an employee or other member of the 
campaign staff who has received payments at regular intervals that have been disclosed in 
previously filed campaign finance reports. As used in this paragraph, "overhead expenses" 
includes, but is not limited to, rent, utility payments, taxes, insurance premiums or similar 
administrative expenses. 

D.  Reports must be filed no later than 11:59 p.m. on the 42nd day after the date on which an 
election is held and must be complete for the filing period as of the 35th day after that date.  

D-1.  Reports must be filed no later than 11:59 p.m. on the 42nd day before the date on which 
a general election is held and must be complete as of the 49th day before that date, except 
that this report is not required for candidates for municipal office. 

E.  Unless further reports will be filed in relation to a later election in the same calendar year, 
the disposition of any surplus or deficit in excess of $100 shown in the reports described in 
paragraph D must be reported as provided by this paragraph.  The treasurer of a candidate 
with a surplus or deficit in excess of $100 shall file reports semiannually with the 
commission within 15 days following the end of the 2nd and 4th quarters of the State's fiscal 
year, complete as of the last day of the quarter, until the surplus is disposed of or the deficit is 
liquidated.  The first report under this paragraph is not required until the 15th day of the 
period beginning at least 90 days from the date of the election.  The reports will be 
considered timely if filed electronically or in person with the commission on that date or 
postmarked on that date.  The reports must set forth any contributions for the purpose of 
liquidating the deficit, in the same manner as contributions are set forth in other reports 
required in this section.  

F.  Reports with respect to a candidate who seeks nomination by petition must be filed on the 
same dates that reports must be filed by a candidate for the same office who seeks that 
nomination by primary election.  

3-B.  Accelerated reporting schedule.  (REPEALED)  
4.  New candidate or nominee.  A candidate for nomination or a nominee chosen to fill a 

vacancy under Chapter 5, subchapter 3 is subject to section 1013-A, subsection 1, except that the 
candidate shall register the name of a treasurer or political committee and all other information 
required in section 1013-A, subsection 1, paragraphs A and B within 7 days after the candidate's 
appointment or at least 6 days before the election, whichever is earlier.  The commission shall 
send notification of this registration requirement and report forms and schedules to the candidate 

ETH-7
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of perjury, as provided in Title 17 A, section 451, a statement under oath or affirmation 
whether the expenditure is made in cooperation, consultation or concert with, or at the 
request or suggestion of, the candidate or an authorized committee or agent of the candidate.  

C.  A report required by this subsection must be on a form prescribed and prepared by the 
commission.  A person filing this report may use additional pages if necessary, but the pages 
must be the same size as the pages of the form.  The commission may adopt procedures 
requiring the electronic filing of an independent expenditure report, as long as the 
commission receives the statement made under oath or affirmation set out in paragraph B by 
the filing deadline and the commission adopts an exception for persons who lack access to 
the required technology or the technological ability to file reports electronically.  The 
commission may adopt procedures allowing for the signed statement to be provisionally filed 
by facsimile or electronic mail, as long as the report is not considered complete without the 
filing of the original signed statement. 

5.  Exclusions.  An independent expenditure does not include: 

A.  An expenditure made by a person in cooperation, consultation or concert with, or at the 
request or suggestion of, a candidate, a candidate's political committee or their agents; 

B.  A telephone survey that meets generally accepted standards for polling research and that 
is not conducted for the purpose of changing the voting position of the call recipients or 
discouraging them from voting; 

C.  A telephone call naming a clearly identified candidate that identifies an individual's 
position on a candidate, ballot question or political party for the purpose of encouraging the 
individual to vote, as long as the call contains no advocacy for or against any candidate; and 

D.  A voter guide that consists primarily of candidates' responses to surveys and 
questionnaires and that contains no advocacy for or against any candidate. 

21-A § 1020.  Failure to file on time  (REPEALED) 
21-A § 1020-A.  Failure to file on time 

1.  Registration.  A candidate that fails to register the name of a candidate, treasurer or 
political committee with the commission within the time allowed by section 1013-A, subsection 
1 may be assessed a forfeiture of $10.  The commission shall determine whether a registration 
satisfies the requirements for timely filing under section 1013-A, subsection 1. 

2.  Campaign finance reports.  A campaign finance report is not timely filed unless a 
properly signed or electronically submitted copy of the report, substantially conforming to the 
disclosure requirements of this subchapter, is received by the commission by 11:59 p.m. on the 
date it is due.  Except as provided in subsection 7, the commission shall determine whether a 
report satisfies the requirements for timely filing.  The commission may waive a penalty in 
whole or in part if the commission determines that the penalty is disproportionate to the size of 
the candidate's campaign, the level of experience of the candidate, treasurer or campaign staff or 
the harm suffered by the public from the late disclosure.  The commission may waive the penalty 
in whole or in part if the commission determines the failure to file a timely report was due to 
mitigating circumstances.  For purposes of this section, "mitigating circumstances" means: 

A.  A valid emergency determined by the commission, in the interest of the sound 
administration of justice, to warrant the waiver of the penalty in whole or in part;  

ETH-8
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B.  An error by the commission staff;  

C.  Failure to receive notice of the filing deadline; or  

D.  Other circumstances determined by the commission that warrant mitigation of the 
penalty, based upon relevant evidence presented that a bona fide effort was made to file the 
report in accordance with the statutory requirements, including, but not limited to, 
unexplained delays in postal service or interruptions in Internet service.  

3.  Municipal campaign finance reports.  Municipal campaign finance reports must be 
filed, subject to all the provisions of this subchapter, with the municipal clerk on forms 
prescribed by the Commission on Governmental Ethics and Election Practices.  The municipal 
clerk shall send any notice of lateness required by subsection 6 and shall notify the commission 
of any late reports subject to a penalty. 

4.  Basis for penalties.  (REPEALED) 
4-A.  Basis for penalties.  The penalty for late filing of a report required under this 

subchapter is a percentage of the total contributions or expenditures for the filing period, 
whichever is greater, multiplied by the number of calendar days late, as follows: 

A.  For the first violation, 2%;  

B.  For the 2nd violation, 4%; and  

C.  For the 3rd and subsequent violations, 6%.  

Any penalty of less than $10 is waived. 

Violations accumulate on reports with filing deadlines in a two-year period that begins on 
January 1st of each even-numbered year.  Waiver of a penalty does not nullify the finding of a 
violation. 

A report required to be filed under this subchapter that is sent by certified or registered United 
States mail and postmarked at least 2 days before the deadline is not subject to penalty. 

A registration or report may be provisionally filed by transmission of a facsimile copy of the 
duly executed report to the commission, as long as the facsimile copy is filed by the applicable 
deadline and an original of the same report is received by the commission within 5 calendar days 
thereafter. 

5.  Maximum penalties.  (REPEALED) 
5-A.  Maximum penalties.  Penalties assessed under this subchapter may not exceed: 

A.  Five thousand dollars for reports required under section 1017, subsection 2, paragraph B, 
C, D, E or H; section 1017, subsection 3-A, paragraph B, C, D, D-1 or F; and section 1017, 
subsection 4, except that if the financial activity reported late exceeds $50,000, the maximum 
penalty is 100% of the amount reported late; 

A-1.  Five thousand dollars for reports required under section 1019 B, subsection 4, except 
that if the financial activity reported late exceeds $50,000, the maximum penalty is 100% of 
the amount reported late; 

ETH-9
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