Municipal Candidates

Candidates for municipal office in towns and cities with a population of 15,000 or more are subject to Chapter 13 of the Maine Election Law. Those candidates must register and file campaign finance reports with the municipal clerk of the town or city. The candidates are also subject to the other restrictions in Chapter 13, such as the contribution limit. (30-A M.R.S.A. § 2502(1))

Candidates can obtain the necessary registration and reporting forms from the municipal clerk of their town or city. The forms, reports and candidate guides are also available on this website under Forms and Guides for Municipal Candidates.

Organizations and others seeking to influence municipal candidate elections and ballot questions may be required to register and file reports with the municipal clerk as a political action committee or a ballot question committee. See the sections on Political Action Committees and Ballot Question Committees for more information. (30-A M.R.S.A. § 2502(2))

The towns and cities in Maine with a population of 15,000 or more according to the 2010 U.S. Census are:

Auburn Gorham Scarborough
Augusta Lewiston South Portland
Bangor Portland Waterville
Biddeford Saco Westbrook
Brunswick Sanford Windham

Bar Harbor, Standish, and Union have elected to be subject to the provisions of Chapter 13 with respect to referenda and initiatives, but not candidate elections. (30-A M.R.S.A. § 2502(2))