

STATE OF MAINE DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC SAFETY MAINE EMERGENCY MEDICAL SERVICES 152 STATE HOUSE STATION AUGUSTA, MAINE 04333-0152



JAY BRADSHAW DIRECTOR

BOARD OF EMS MEETING MAY 4, 2011 DECHAMPLAIN CONFERENCE ROOM

MINUTES (FINAL)

Members Present: Tim Beals (chair), Judy Gerrish (chair-elect), Joe Conley, Laura Downing, Paul Knowlton, Steve Leach, Lori Metayer, Jeff Rowe, Mike Schmitz, Mike Senecal, Percy Thibeault, Andrew Turcotte, Roy Woods

Staff: Jay Bradshaw, Dawn Kinney, Alan Leo, Drexell White

Regional Coordinators: Steve Corbin

Office of Attorney General: Dennis Smith, AAG

- 1. New members were welcomed to the Board. Jay indicated that there would be an orientation for new Board members presented at the June meeting by Laura Yustak Smith, AAG.
- 2. Approval of March 2, 2011, minutes

MOTION: To approve the minutes of the March 2, 2011, meeting as distributed. (Leach, second by Woods). Unanimous

- 3. New Business
 - a. Investigations Committee

MOTION: For the Investigations Committee to approve the minutes of the April 6, 2011, meetings as submitted. (Leach; second by Knowlton) Unanimous

Dawn reviewed the cases presented to the Board.

<u>MOTION: To table action on the Investigations Committee minutes until later in the meeting. (Rowe; second by Woods) Unanimous</u>

b. Nominations Committee - Jeff Rowe reported that after soliciting and input from other Board members, the Committee nominates Tim Beals to serve as Chair and Judy Gerrish to serve as Chair-elect for another term.

MOTION: To accept the Nominations Committee recommendations and elect Tim Beals to another term as Board Chair and Judy Gerrish to serve another term as Chair-elect. (Leach; second by Knowlton). Unanimous.

PHONE: (207) 626-3860 FAX: (207) 287-6251 TDD: (207) 287-3659

- c. Meeting Schedule Jay reported that in response to an inquiry about future meeting schedule, members who had a preference suggested meeting on even-numbered months.
- d. Awards Committee report Jay reported that the Awards Committee made the following selection Governors Awards: Peter DiPietrantonio, Richard Doughty, and Wayne Werts; Excellence in EMS: Anthony Attardo and Dan Batsie; Merit Award: Patrick Long. The Awards Ceremony will be held at the Blaine House on Wednesday, May 18, 2011, at 2:00PM.

MOTION: To return to Investigations Committee items (Rowe; second by Metayer) Unanimous.

MOTION – To enter Executive Session regarding case numbers 10-67 and 11-008 pursuant to Title $1 \int 405.6$.E and $\int 406$.F for the purpose of obtaining legal advice and to discuss information that is confidential by statute. (Leach; second by Metayer). Unanimous.

Executive session started at 9:36

MOTION To exit Executive Session (Leach; second by Thibeault) Unanimous.

Executive session ended at 9:47.

Tim Beals reported that during the Executive Session, the Board received information and discussed case numbers 10-67 and 11-008.

MOTION: To ratify the Investigation Committee minutes of April 6, 2011, with typographical corrections. (Leach; second by Senecal) Unanimous

- e. Other Dan Batsie asked for clarification about the Board's request that the Education Committee review the requirements for an instructor to teach the Maine EMS Instructor/Coordinator Course. Consensus of Board members present was concern that the requirement in the previous draft that the instructor have a minimum of a Master's degree in an education field would be too restrictive. The Board requested that the Education Committee review the instructor requirements and consider other instructional models.
- 4. Next Meeting Wednesday, June 1, 2011, at 9:30 at Maine EMS
- 5. Adjourn meeting adjourned at 9:52 AM