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Over the last several protocol review cycles, the MDPB has included references to new state laws requiring
mandatory reporting for a variety of situations. These include updates to the Child Abuse Management and
Reporting Protocol. This White Paper serves to clarify mandated reporting requirements under Maine Law.

Sexual assault of a person 18 years or older who is not disabled and has decision-making capacity, should be
reported to law enforcement at the request of the victim. In these situations, the decision to report to law
enforcement is that of the victim. There are no mandated reporting requirements under these circumstances.

Maine law? identifies EMS clinicians as mandated reporters of suspected child abuse/neglect (including sexual
abuse/assault). In Maine, a child is defined as a person who has not reached the age of 18%. In these situations, the
EMS clinician should report to Child Protective Services/DHHS (1-800-452-1999) as soon as possible. In addition to
suspected abuse/neglect of a child, some situations require reporting based on the age of the child and the injury.
In children under 6 months of age, or who are otherwise non-ambulatory, EMS clinicians must report to Child
Protective Services/DHHS for any evidence of the following injuries:

-Fracture of a bone

-Substantial bruising or multiple bruises

-Subdural hematoma

-Burns

-Poisoning

-Injury resulting in substantial bleeding, soft tissue swelling or impairment of an organ.

Mandated reporting of suspected abuse, neglect, and/or exploitation of an incapacitated or disabled adult is also
required of EMS clinicians. Under these circumstances, reports should be made to Adult Protective Services/DHHS
(1-800-624-8404).

Furthermore, EMS clinicians may disclose to law enforcement, upon request, any information reported to Child
Protective Services/Adult Protective Services/DHHS.

Child and Adult Protective Service/DHHS has their own mandated reporting requirements to notify law
enforcement and the Office of the District Attorney, when applicable.

All mandated reporters, including EMS clinicians, must complete mandated reporter training every four years. This
training is free of charge and may be found at: https://mainemandatedreporter.org
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