Maine EMS Clinician & EMS Vehicle Operator (New & Reciprocity) Application Instruction Guide

Applicants for Reciprocal, New, or Reinstatement of Licensure

Application Type

It is essential that you select the right application, as this form changes based on your selection(s); to better assist you, the types of applications are defined below:

- Reciprocity If a person holds a valid license or certificate entitling them to practice as an EMS clinician in another state or territory, they may receive reciprocal licensing provided they satisfy all the requirements for initial licensure in Maine. Licensure and license expiration date will be based on materials supplied by the applicant, which demonstrate the following:
 - Certification of training course completion
 - Certification/licensure in another state or territory
 - Actions taken against professional licenses per Chapter 5 of the Maine EMS Rules.
 Maine EMS will consider this to the extent allowed by Maine law.
- New If a person has never held an EMS license before, or their EMS license issued by Maine EMS is expired for greater than 90 days.
 - Applicants for a new license have taken their initial licensing course within the last two
 years and are not licensed in another state or territory. (National Registry certification is
 not a license)
- Reinstatement An applicant who applies for the reinstatement of licensure will be issued a license that is to be considered provisional.
 - This provisional license will be active for two years, and the individual must meet all other requirements for license reinstatement in effect at the time.
 - o Individuals previously licensed at the Paramedic or Advanced EMT level may relicense at the EMT or EMR level using this method.
 - Approved by the Maine EMS board on May 4, 2022, effective through June 1, 2023

If the application type is New or Reinstatement:

- 1. There is a \$21.00 fee associated with this application. This fee is charged by the Maine State Bureau of Identification for the performance of a Maine criminal history record report and collected by Maine EMS on your behalf. This fee is mandatory and NON-REFUNDABLE for any reason.
- 2. Once you have completed and submitted this application, you will be re-directed to a payment portal. The application will not proceed until payment has been collected in full.
- 3. Maine EMS uses a third-party email service to send important correspondence regarding applications and licensure. Certain electronic mail systems provided by cable television providers, colleges and universities, or corporate e-mail systems sometimes block these types of emails. Maine EMS is not responsible for electronic mail messages that are blocked by email systems or fail to be delivered.

- 4. College students who reside in Maine during the school year, but are not registered to vote in Maine or have a Maine Driver's license, must provide a criminal history record from their home state.
- 5. Maine residents who attend school out of state, or who are based at a military installation out of state, are not required to provide a criminal history record from that state unless you obtain a driver's license or are registered to vote in that state.
- 6. Notwithstanding paragraph 6, applicants must provide criminal history record reports for ANY state lived in during the previous three years (or 36 months). The report must be obtained from a state authority. Criminal history record reports from commercial or third-party services will NOT be accepted. Failure to provide the required criminal history record information will result in a denial of licensure. Applicants should contact the governmental agency responsible for criminal history records in the state(s) of residence for information about obtaining a criminal history record report.
- 7. Failure to disclose any and all criminal charges and/or convictions or action taken against any professional license could result in licensure being denied and the applicant could be prosecuted for Unsworn falsification, a Class D crime in the State of Maine.
- 8. Maine statute requires applicants to provide a "public record address, phone number and electronic mail address." Applicants may provide a work or other address, telephone or electronic mail address as your public record address. Maine statute requires that licensees notify Maine EMS of any changes to address or contact information, in writing, within 10 days. Failure to do so is cause for disciplinary action. You may update your address information on this licensing site.
- 9. The State(s) EMS agency(ies) you hold or have held certification/licensure to practice as an EMS clinician, must complete the Verification of Certification Form. You must complete the top portion and send it to the state agency(ies) for completion. This form must be submitted to Maine EMS DIRECTLY from the state agency(ies). This form is available for download by navigating to https://www.maine.gov/ems/sites/maine.gov.ems/files/inline-files/verification_form.pdf Our office must receive a separate Verification of EMS Certification/Licensure form from each state agency in which you hold or have ever held an EMS license/certification. Failure to provide this form to the licensing/certification authority in all the states necessary will delay the processing of your license.

If the application type is Reciprocity:

- There is a \$21.00 fee associated with this application. This fee is charged by the Maine State Bureau of Identification for the performance of a Maine criminal history record report and collected by Maine EMS on your behalf. This fee is mandatory and NON-REFUNDABLE for any reason.
- Maine EMS assesses a mandatory NON-REFUNDABLE additional processing fee to reciprocity
 applicants based on the level of licensure requested at a rate of \$25.00 for EMR/EMT and
 \$50.00 for AEMT/Paramedic.
- 3. Once you have completed and submitted this application, you will be redirected to a payment portal. The application will not proceed until payment has been collected in full.
- 4. Maine EMS sends important correspondence regarding applications and licensure through a third-party email service. Certain electronic mail systems provided by cable television providers, colleges and universities, or corporate e-mail systems sometimes block these emails. Maine

- EMS is not responsible for electronic mail messages that are blocked by email systems or fail to be delivered.
- 5. College students who reside in Maine during the school year, but are not registered to vote in Maine or have a Maine Driver's license, must provide a criminal history record from their home state.
- 6. Maine residents who attend school out of state or who are based at a military installation out of state are not required to provide a criminal history record from that state unless they obtain a driver's license or are registered to vote in that state.
- 7. Notwithstanding paragraph 6, applicants must provide criminal history record reports for ANY state they lived in during the previous three years (or 36 months). The report must be obtained from a state authority. Criminal history record reports from commercial or third-party services will NOT be accepted. Failure to provide the required criminal history record information will result in a denial of licensure. Applicants should contact the government agency responsible for criminal history records in the state(s) of residence for information about obtaining a criminal history report.
- 8. Failure to disclose any and all criminal charges and/or convictions or action taken against any professional license could result in licensure being denied, and the applicant could be prosecuted for Unsworn falsification, a Class D crime in the State of Maine.
- 9. Maine statute requires applicants to provide a "public record address, phone number, and electronic mail address." You may provide a work or other; address, telephone, or electronic mail address as your public record address. Maine statute requires licensees to notify Maine EMS of any changes to address or contact information, in writing, within ten (10) days. Failure to do so is cause for disciplinary action. You may update your address information on this licensing site.
- 10. The State(s) EMS agency(ies) you hold or have held certification/licensure to practice as an EMS clinician must complete the Verification of Certification Form. You must complete the top portion and send it to the state agency(ies) for completion. This form must be submitted to Maine EMS DIRECTLY from the state agency(ies). This form is available for download by navigating to https://www.maine.gov/ems/sites/maine.gov.ems/files/inline-files/verification_form.pdf. Our office must receive a separate Verification of EMS Certification/Licensure form from each state agency in which you hold or have ever held an EMS license/certification. Failure to provide this form to the licensing/certification authority in all the states necessary will delay the processing of your license.

Demographics Section

State statute (Title 32 Section 90-B) requires that an applicant provide both a personal and public address, telephone number and email address. The public record address is made available to any member of the public upon request. Applicants may provide a work or other address, telephone or electronic mail address as your public record address. There is no requirement that you use your home address as your public record address. You may use a current work or educational institution address and email address. Maine statute requires that licensees notify Maine EMS of any changes to address or contact information, in writing, within 10 days. Failure to do so is cause for disciplinary action. You may update your address information on this licensing site. Click HERE for information about personal and public addresses.

Demographic information may be automatically populated into the application. Please review any prefilled information and make corrections as needed. If unable to correct an incorrect field, please contact Maine EMS for more assistance.

If you select that you are under the age of 18, you must provide your parent/guardian's contact information in the section that follows. Maine EMS Rules require parental/guardian consent for licensure.

Out-of-State Licensure/Certification Information – This section will be visible if you have selected an application type of "Reciprocity" or answered "Yes" to the question "Have you ever been licensed or certified to practice as an EMS Clinician in another state or territory?"

Select ALL states <u>you are or have ever held an EMS license/certification to practice in</u>. Move those states to the box on the right.

To move the applicable states to the box on the right, select each state name individually and click the > button. To select multiple states at once, hold down the CTRL button, select the state names as appropriate, and then click the > icon.

To remove a state entered in error, highlight the state name and click < to remove it from the list.

Please pay attention to which states are selected before you move to the next section. You may hit the double >> symbol, which will move all states into the "selected" box. This may occur when using a mobile device to fill out the application, as a mobile view may cause a problem with button visibility.

Type of Training Used to Apply for Licensure

NREMT Certification Number

• An applicant may enter either their National EMS ID number (12 digits, with hyphens between groups of four) or the Registry number (beginning with either an R, E, A, or M) in this field.

Continuing Education

Only select this option if your licensure has been expired for more than 90 days. A field will
appear when this option is selected that allows you to upload any supplemental documentation
of training completed. (Please ONLY upload documents for training that do not appear in your
Maine EMS Education Report in the elicensure portal)

Initial Training

Please select the option that reflects where you obtained your initial EMS education for the level you are applying for. If you have previously held licensure, please select the option that best reflects where you obtained the education that qualifies you for licensure at this time. If your initial education was obtained outside of the State of Maine or in another country, you will be required to provide additional information.

Additional Training Requirements for Reciprocity Applicants – This section will be visible only if the application type selected is "Reciprocity"

Maine EMS-licensed clinicians are permitted and expected to provide care up to their license level and within the Maine EMS Pre-Hospital Protocols. There may be procedures in the Maine EMS Protocols that you have not been trained to perform; the following are some procedures that may differ for reciprocity applicants. In this section, please check each skill in which you have NOT obtained training and acknowledge that you must obtain training in that skill before utilizing that skill/technique. This list is not comprehensive. It is your responsibility to be familiar with the Maine EMS Protocols. Please understand that you shall not perform any unfamiliar skill or procedure until you have completed documented training with a Maine EMS Service or Training Center.

Background Information

In this section, you must select ALL states you have lived in during the previous three years (or 36 months). Move those states to the box on the right.

Maine residents who attend school out of state, or who are based at a military installation out of state, are not required to provide a criminal history record from that state unless you obtain a driver's license or are registered to vote in that state.

College students who reside in Maine during the school year, but who have not established Maine residency by registering to vote in Maine or obtaining a Maine Driver's license, must provide a criminal history record from their home state.

To move the applicable states to the box on the right, select each state name individually and click the > button. To select multiple states at once, hold down the CTRL button, select the state names as appropriate, and then click the > icon.

To remove a state entered in error, highlight the state name and click < to remove it from the list.

Please pay attention to which states are selected before you move to the next section. You may hit the double >> symbol, which will move all states into the "selected" box. This may occur when using a mobile device to fill out the application, as a mobile view may cause a problem with button visibility.

Applicants must provide criminal history record report(s) for ANY state lived in during the previous three years (or 36 months). The report must be obtained from a state authority. Criminal history record reports from commercial or third-party services will NOT be accepted. Failure to provide the required criminal history record information will result in a denial of licensure. Applicants should contact the governmental agency responsible for criminal history records in the state(s) of residence for information about obtaining a criminal history record report. This record is obtained at your expense.

Maine EMS considers an application complete when all documentation necessary for review has been received. You will be prompted to upload outstanding records to your application package following an incomplete submission.

It is the applicant's responsibility to ensure Maine EMS has received all necessary documentation.

Criminal History

Please read and answer the questions in this section carefully. Maine EMS defines "Convicted" to mean a finding of guilty, or a finding of not guilty by reason of insanity or mental disease or defect. A "Criminal offense" is one that is punishable by a possible period of incarceration, whether or not such a sanction is imposed. Examples of Criminal Offenses include, but are not limited to, Operating Under the Influence, Operating After Suspension, Criminal Speeding, and Criminal Trespassing. If ANY doubt exists when answering these questions, PLEASE contact Maine EMS for guidance. Failure to disclose reportable history may serve as grounds for the denial of licensure.

If you have reportable history, for each conviction or civil infraction you must submit:

- a. A copy of the police reports for the aforementioned conviction(s) offense(s) or violation(s). Contact the Police Department, District Attorney, or your own attorney for this information.
 - i. If you are unable to obtain the police report from any of the aforementioned sources, you must provide Maine EMS with notarized letters from each agency or office attesting that the documents are no longer in the agencies' or office's possession.
- b. Copy of court records regarding the convictions/offenses/violations (including a copy of the Indictment, the Docket Record and Judgment and Commitment, if applicable).
- c. Specific written explanation, in your own words, of the offenses/violations for which you were adjudicated (Who, What, Where, When, How, and Why).
- d. Letter from your probation/parole officer indicating successful completion of probation/parole (if applicable).
- e. Any letters of recommendation you wish to submit in support of your application.

If you do not have all documents related to your criminal conviction or civil infraction, you will still be able to proceed with the submission of the application. Maine EMS considers an application complete when all documentation necessary for review has been received. You will be prompted to upload outstanding records to your application package following an incomplete submission.

It is the applicant's responsibility to ensure Maine EMS has received all necessary documentation.