

JANET T. MILLS GOVERNOR

STATE OF MAINE DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC SAFETY MAINE EMERGENCY MEDICAL SERVICES 152 STATE HOUSE STATION AUGUSTA, MAINE 04333



MICHAEL SAUSCHUCK COMMISSIONER

> JAY BRADSHAW DIRECTOR

Education Committee

Minutes Wednesday 11 Sep 2019 0930-1130 am DeChamplain

I. Call to Order 0930

Members present: Joanne Lebrun, Ben Zetterman, Amy Drinkwater, Mike

Drinkwater, Kevin Gurney, Steve Smith

Members Absent: Stephanie Cordwell, Myles Block (resigned), Brian Chamberlin,

Dennis Russell, Leah Mitchell

MEMS Staff: Chris Azevedo, Marc Minkler

Stakeholders:

II. Introductions/Public Comments:

III. Acceptance of Minutes: July, August

a. At this time, there were not enough members present for a vote. Acceptance of minutes tabled at suggestion of Ben Zetterman, also by Amy. Balance of members present agreed to tabling the minutes.

IV. Additions to Agenda: None

V. State Update:

- a. Director- Jay Bradshaw continues as interim director, announcement of new director possibly pending in next few days
- b. IT/Data- Tim Nangle has resigned his position. Process for filling his position should begin soon
- c. Licensing Agent- There were not enough applicants. Process was resumed.
- d. Protocol Updates- Development on live sessions continues. There is not much material to work with, and many points of disagreement between MDPB and EdComm material. In many instances there is no material. Development is basically starting from scratch

• Excellence • Support • Collaboration • Integrity

PHONE: (207) 626-3860 TTY: (207) 287-3659 FAX: (207) 287-6251

VI. Old Business

a. Steve Smith's appointment to the Education Committee has been confirmed by the Board Chair

i.

VII. New Business:

- a. Protocol roll-out
 - i. As described in State update.
- b. Myles Block has resigned from both his position as Committee Co-Chair, and as a Committee member. He has been hired by the Maine Maritime Academy as a fire instructor. The Committee wishes him the best of luck in his new opportunity.
- c. The Education Committee now has positions open for
 - i. Region 1 Representative
 - ii. Region 4 Representative (Myles's position)
 - iii. Committee Co-Chair position is open

VIII. Adjournment: 11:30 AM

Excellence • Support • Collaboration • Integrity
PHONE: (207) 626-3860 TTY: (207) 287-3659 FAX: (207) 287-6251