

STATE OF MAINE DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC SAFETY MAINE EMERGENCY MEDICAL SERVICES 152 STATE HOUSE STATION AUGUSTA, MAINE 04333



PAUL R. LEPAGE GOVERNOR JOHN E. MORRIS COMMISSIONER SHAUN A. ST. GERMAIN DIRECTOR

Quality Assurance & Improvement Committee Minutes for November 21, 2018

- 1. Call to Order 1:30 P.M.
 - Introductions
 - Tim Nangle, Brian Chamberlain, Steve Smith, Peter Allen, Joanne Lebrun, Chip Getchell, Matt Sholl, Kate Zimmerman
 - Additions and deletions to the agenda
- 2. Review and approval of meeting minutes
 - o October 17, 2018 meeting
 - Motion by Kate to postpone until the December meeting, Second by Pete Allen, Unanimous

3. Old Business

- Letters of interest for Transporting Service Rep
 - Chip Getchell and Alan Henschke applied for the open positions
 - How do we decide who gets the position?
 - Do we need to do any additional vetting for the positions?
 - Rick and Brian we should fill the transporting service position, and then advertise the other positions.
 - Rick Made a motion to accept Chip Getchell, Second by Kate Zimmerman. Unanimous
 - Send Alan a message to invite to the next meeting and offer the at large opportunity, Rick made the motion, second by Matt, unanimous.
 - We will forward Chip's name to Scott Susi.
 - o Action item advertise at large positions.
- Review of the 4 QI Metrics
 - Two from last month
 - Stroke
 - Stroke data was reviewed from Setpember and October

- Naloxone
 - 937 MEFIRS records with medication as Naloxone was given
- Two from this month
 - Cardiac Arrest
 - August through October 2018 data was reviewed
 - Airway
 - o October airway reports were reviewed
- o QI Newsletter review Motion to adjourn by Brian Chamberlain
 - Open positions
 - Handled in old business
 - Action Items
 - Contact Scott Susi Regarding the appointment of Chip Getchell to the QI Committee
 - Contact Alan Henschke regarding his application and invite him to the next meeting
 - Advertise the at large positions
 - 4. Next Meeting
 - o December 19, 2018 @ 1:30 P.M.
 - 5. Adjourn
 - o At 3:00 P.M.
 - 6. Committee Members

• Excellence • Support • Collaboration • Integrity •

PHONE: (207) 626-3860 TTY: (207) 287-3659 FAX: (207) 287-6251

Name	Position
Matt Sholl, MD	Chair - State EMS Medical Director
Kate Zimmerman, DO	Medical Direction and Practices Board Member
Vacant	Medical Direction and Practices Board Member
Ben Zetterman	Aroostoook EMS Region Representative
Brian Chamberlin	Kennebec Valley EMS Region Representative
Matt Opacic, MD	Mid Coast EMS Region Representative
Rick Petrie	Northeastern Maine Region Representative
Nate Yerxa	Southern Maine EMS Region Representative
Joanne LeBrun	Tri County EMS Region Representative
Chris Paré	Hospital Quality Improvement Representative
Pete Alan	Non Transporting EMS Service Representative
Vacant	Transporting EMS Service Representative
Christopher French	At Large Representative
Vacant	At Large Representative
Butch Russell	At Large Representative
Jason Oko	Maine EMS Licensing Agent & EMD Program Coordinator
Tim Nangle	Maine EMS Data & Preparedness Coordinator

• Excellence • Support • Collaboration • Integrity •

PHONE: (207) 626-3860 TTY: (207) 287-3659 FAX: (207) 287-6251