

STATE OF MAINE DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC SAFETY MAINE EMERGENCY MEDICAL SERVICES 152 STATE HOUSE STATION AUGUSTA, MAINE 04333



JANET T. MILLS GOVERNOR MICHAEL SAUSCHUCK
COMMISSIONER

Quality Assurance & Improvement Committee Minutes for January 15, 2020

- 1. Call to Order 1:30 P.M.
 - Introductions
 - Sam Hurley, Jessica Ricciardelli, Jason Oko, Chip Getchell, Beth Collamore, Brian Chamberlin, Ben Zetterman, Joanne Lebrun, Rick Petrie, Nate Yerxa, Jason Oko, Kate Zimmerman, Matt Sholl
 - Additions and deletions to the agenda
 - Collamore, motion to approve as written, second by Getchell, unanimous
- 2. Review and approval of meeting minutes
 - December 2019
 - Collamore motion to accept, second by Getchell, unanimous
- 3. Old Business
 - Stroke Newsletter update
 - Sam & Jason
 - Sam provided an update to the committee regarding the stroke newsletter
 - 1. We would be using the Coverdell stroke performance measures as follows
 - 1. Percentage of records indicating a stroke patient and greater than fifteen minutes on scene;
 - 2. Percentage of patients exhibiting stroke like symptoms that do not have a blood glucose analysis; and
 - 3. Percentage of patients that are exhibiting stroke like symptoms that the EMS agency documented providing the receiving facility with a stroke alert.
 - 4. There is a corresponding dashboard in MEFIRS Report Writer that displays all of these metrics

- 4. New Business
 - No new business was discussed
- 5. Next Meeting
 - February 19, 2019

Committee Members

Name	Position
Matt Sholl, MD	Chair - State EMS Medical Director
Beth Collamore, MD	Medical Direction and Practices Board Member
Kate Zimmerman, DO	Medical Direction and Practices Board Member
Ben Zetterman	Aroostoook EMS Region Representative
Brian Chamberlin	Kennebec Valley EMS Region Representative
Matt Opacic, MD	Mid Coast EMS Region Representative
Rick Petrie	Northeastern Maine Region Representative
Nate Yerxa	Southern Maine EMS Region Representative
Joanne Le Brun	Tri County EMS Region Representative
Vacant	Hospital Quality Improvement Representative
Pete Alan	Non Transporting EMS Service Representative
Chip Getchell	Transporting EMS Service Representative
Stephen Smith	At Large Representative
Ashley Moody	At Large Representative
Alan Henschke	At Large Representative