

JANET T. MILLS GOVERNOR STATE OF MAINE DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC SAFETY MAINE EMERGENCY MEDICAL SERVICES 152 STATE HOUSE STATION AUGUSTA, MAINE 04333



MICHAEL SAUSCHUCK COMMISSIONER

> J. SAM HURLEY DIRECTOR

Quality Assurance & Improvement Committee August 18, 2020 Minutes

- 1. Call to Order 1:30 P.M.
 - Introductions
 - Additions and deletions to the agenda
- 2. Old Business
 - Newsletter Update
 - The COVID-19 Newsletter was sent out and the response has been very positive.
- 3. New Business
 - Cardiac Arrest Newsletter
 - The committee discussed measures for the cardiac arrest newsletter, the committee chose to pursue the following metrics
 - 1. Response times to cardiac arrest incidents
 - 2. Documented instances of vascular access when it is called for by the Maine EMS Protocols
 - 3. Intubation success rates during cardiac arrest
 - 4. Documented application of capnography
 - 5. 12 lead capture post return of spontaneous circulation (ROSC)
 - 6. Systolic blood pressure maintenance post ROSC
 - 7. Compliance with minimum resuscitation times
 - 8. An EMD Component will be included assessing telephone CPR time intervals
- 5. Next Meeting
 - September 16, 2020

Name	Position
Matt Sholl, MD	Chair - State EMS Medical Director
Beth Collamore, MD	Medical Direction and Practices Board Member
Kate Zimmerman, DO	Medical Direction and Practices Board Member
Ben Zetterman	Aroostook EMS Region Representative
Brian Chamberlin	Kennebec Valley EMS Region Representative
Rick Petrie	Northeast Maine Region Representative
Nate Yerxa	Southern Maine EMS Region Representative
Joanne Lebrun	Tri-County EMS Region Representative
Vacant	Hospital Quality Improvement Representative
Vacant	Non-Transporting Service Representative
Chip Getchell	Transporting EMS Service Representative
Stephen Smith	At Large Representative

Excellence
Support
Collaboration
Integrity

PHONE: (207) 626-3860

TTY: (207) 287-3659

FAX: (207) 287-6251

With offices located at the Central Maine Commerce Center, 45 Commerce Drive, Suite 1, Augusta, ME 04330

Ashley Moody	At Large Representative
Alan Henschke	At Large Representative