SAFETY SEAT DISTRIBUTION SITES

Distribution sites offer proper car seat installation education with hands-on techniques and if income eligibility has been determined, a no-cost car seat may be issued to a child. Parents are taught to properly fit the safety seat to the child and how to correctly install the safety seat in their vehicle by a certified CPS Technician.

SAFETY SEAT INSPECTION SITES

Inspection sites provide parents with education about keeping their child safe when riding in the car by correctly using a child safety seat or safety belt. One-on-one lessons are offered by a certified CPS Technician explaining the correct use and installation of car safety seats and safety belts.

To find a location near you, visit: www.maine.gov/dps/bhs/

Call Maine Bureau of Highway Safety at 207-626-3840





Maine Bureau
of Highway Safety
Child Passenger
Safety Program





NATIONAL HIGHWAY TRAFFIC SAFETY ADMINISTRATION RECOMMENDATIONS

BIRTH - 12 MONTHS

Children under the age of 1 should always ride in a rear-facing seat. There are different types of rear-facing car seats: Infant-only seats can only be used rear facing. Convertible and 3-in-1 car seats typically have higher height and weight limits for the rear-facing position, allowing you to keep your child rear-facing for a longer period of time.

1-3 YEARS

Keep your child rear-facing as long as possible. It's the best way to keep him or her safe. Your child should remain in a rear-facing car seat until he or she reaches the top height or weight limit allowed by your car seat's manufacturer. Once your child outgrows the rear-facing car seat, your child is ready to travel in a forward-facing car seat with a harness and tether.

4 - 7 YEARS

Keep your child in a forward-facing car seat with a harness and tether until he or she reaches the top height or weight limit allowed by your car seat's manufacturer. Once your child outgrows the forward-facing car seat with a harness, it's time to travel in a booster seat, but still in the back seat.

8 - 12 YEARS

Keep your child in a booster seat until he or she is big enough to fit in a seat belt properly. For a seat belt to fit properly the lap belt must lie snugly across the upper thighs, not the stomach. The shoulder belt should lie snug across the shoulder and chest and not cross the neck or face. Remember: your child should still ride in the back seat because it's safer there.

For more information, visit:

www.nhtsa.gov/campaign/right-seat

MAINE'S CHILD RESTRAINT LAW

Maine's Child Passenger Safety (CPS) law is one of the strongest in the country. The law requires that:

- Children must ride in a rear-facing child restraint system until they turn two years of age*;
- Children who weigh 55 lbs. or less, must ride in a federally approved five-point harness child restraint system*;
- Children who weigh less than 80 lbs., are less than 4 feet 9 inches in height, and are less than 8 years of age, must be in a booster seat:
- A child under 12 yrs. old should be properly secured in the back seat of the vehicle, if possible.
- *Unless in rare circumstances, the child exceeds the child safety seat manufacturer's instructions, and no other option is available.

