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16  DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC SAFETY 

 

227  MAINE CRIMINAL JUSTICE ACADEMY BOARD OF TRUSTEES 

 

Chapter 5: TRAINING STANDARDS 

 

 

Summary: Chapter 5 of the Maine Criminal Justice Academy Board of Trustees' rules sets forth the training 

requirements established by the Board for actively employed juvenile corrections officers.  The following is an 

excerpt and the complete rule is available at the following link:  16-227c005-2024-030 (AMD).docx 

(live.com) 
 

 

3-B. Juvenile Basic Corrections Training Program 

 

A. Pursuant to 25 M.R.S. § 2804-D every juvenile corrections officer must successfully complete within 

12 months from the commencement of employment a basic training course approved by the Board.  

This section creates the Juvenile Basic Corrections Training Program (“JBCTP”) as the training 

course for juvenile corrections officers.  The JBCTP consists of a minimum of 200 training hours of 

Board approved curriculum. 

 

B. Application procedures for JBCTP.   Upon hiring or assigning an individual as a juvenile corrections 

officer, the employing agency will submit the following information to the Board on forms approved 

by the director: 

  

1. MCJA notice of employment signed by the agency head. 

  

2. MCJA application to attend the JBCTP signed by the applicant and agency head. 

  

3. MCJA medical examination form signed by a licensed physician. 

 

4. MCJA background information form signed by the applicant and agency head and notarized. 

 

 

C. Certification.  The Board will issue a certificate of eligibility to perform the duties of a juvenile 

corrections officer in the State of Maine to a JBCTP student who: 

 

1. Attends a minimum of 90% of the JBCTP total hours of instruction. 

 

2. Attends and fully participates in all aspects of the following JBCTP modules: 
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3. Mechanics of Effective Restraint and Control or an equivalent Board approved program 

focused on managing residents in a juvenile correctional facility. 

 

4. The verbal and physical de-escalation program, including JBCTP instructional block 4.6 

Calm Every Storm or an equivalent Board approved course. 

 

5. Situational Use of Force. 

 

6. Constitutional and Civil Rights and Americans with Disabilities Act. 

 

7. Adolescent Development. 

 

8. The identifying, understanding, and responding to signs of mental illnesses and substance 

abuse disorder course required by 25 M.R.S. § 2804-D(1). 

 

9. Successfully passes the JBCTP Certification Examination with a minimum score of 75%. 

 

10. Completes 80 hours of agency field training, to include all otherwise required state and 

agency training (e.g., emergency fire procedures, agency policy, CPR). The agency must 

record the training on a form approved by the director and submit it to the Board for review 

and approval within one year of graduation from the JBCTP. 

 

If an emergency arises that requires an agency to temporarily assign personnel to perform juvenile 

correctional officer duties, the agency shall inform the Board of any such emergency assignments as 

soon as practical thereafter. 

D. Lapse of certification. A certificate of eligibility issued to a juvenile corrections officer shall lapse 

when the officer is no longer employed by a juvenile correctional agency. 

 

E. Recertification. 

 

1. The Board will recertify a juvenile corrections officer whose certificate has lapsed if the 

juvenile corrections officer becomes reemployed by a juvenile correctional agency within two 

years of the lapse of their certificate if they: 

 

a. Submit an application for recertification on a form approved by the director; and 

 

b. Submit proof of completion of the prior two years of Board approved mandatory in-

service corrections training. 

 

2. If a juvenile corrections officer’s certificate has lapsed for over 2 years but less than 10 years, 

the Board will recertify the officer if they: 
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a. Submit an application for recertification on a form approved by the director; 

  

b. Submit proof of completion of the prior two years of mandatory in-service 

corrections training; 

 

c. Submit proof of completion of the Board approved Juvenile Corrections Officer 

Recertification Course, which shall consist of a minimum of 40 hours of instruction; 

and 

 

d. Pass the JBCTP Certification Examination with a minimum score of 75% within one 

year from date of hire, or as permitted by an extension from the Board. 

 

F. If a juvenile corrections officer’s certificate has lapsed for 10 years or more, the Board will recertify 

the officer only if they complete all requirements of Section 3-B(C). 

 

 

 

 

 


