
 

 

16  DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC SAFETY 

 

227  MAINE CRIMINAL JUSTICE ACADEMY BOARD OF TRUSTEES 

 

Chapter 5: TRAINING STANDARDS 

 

 

Summary: Chapter 5 of the Maine Criminal Justice Academy Board of Trustees' rules sets forth the 

training requirements established by the Board for actively employed law enforcement, probation and 

parole, and corrections officers. 

 

 

 

 

1. Law Enforcement Pre-Service Training Program 

 

 A. Pursuant to 25 M.R.S.A. §2804-B, every municipal, county, state or non- federal officer 

with the power to make arrests or the authority to carry a firearm in the course of duty 

must successfully complete all pre-service training requirements as prescribed in 

Specification 7 attached and incorporated. 

 

  1. The board shall certify law enforcement officers who successfully complete pre-

service law enforcement training as reserve or part-time officers. 

 

   a. Upon successfully completing the Basic Training Course and meeting 

the required standards, an individual will receive a Certificate of 

Eligibility issued by the Board. This certificate will be considered a 

license to perform law enforcement officer's duties in the State of Maine 

and be considered lapsed when an officer is no longer employed by a law 

enforcement agency. 

 

   b. This section does not apply to any law enforcement officer certified as 

meeting the law enforcement training requirements or to any full-time 

law enforcement officer employed by a state agency including the 

University of Maine system as of July 1, 1990. 

 

 

2. Basic Law Enforcement Training Program 

 

A. Pursuant to 25 M.R.S.A. §2804-C, every full-time law enforcement officer must 

successfully complete the Academy's Basic Training Course, the Basic Law Enforcement 

Training Program (BLETP), as prescribed in Specification 1 attached and incorporated, 

within 12 months of appointment initial full-time employment subject to the waiver and 

extension provisions of Chapter 9 of these rules.  The BLETP curriculum approved by 

the Board is 720 hours and can be delivered in 18 to 20 weeks at the discretion of the 

Director based on needs related to class size, availability of training facilities, and 

availability of instructors / cadre / assisting instructional staff. 

 

1. Upon successfully completing the Basic Training Course and meeting the required 

standards, an individual will receive a Certificate of Eligibility issued by the Board. This 
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certificate will be considered a license to perform law enforcement officer's duties in the 

State of Maine and be considered lapsed when an officer is no longer employed by a law 

enforcement agency.  All students who attend the BLETP shall have met the Board’s 

preservice requirements, per 25 M.R.S. §2804-B, if they are employed as a full-time law 

enforcement officer.  These officers will be given a provisional Certificate of Eligibility 

to act as a full-time law enforcement officer in the State of Maine upon being hired.  All 

other students who attend the BLETP that are non-sworn employees of a law 

enforcement agency, or any tuition student, will not be given a provisional Certificate of 

Eligibility to act as a full-time law enforcement officer in the State of Maine.  

 

2. This section does not apply to any law enforcement officer certified as meeting the law 

enforcement training requirements or to any full-time law enforcement officer employed 

by a state agency including the University of Maine system as of July 1, 1990. 

 

3. The Board may waive portions of the Basic Police Training Course for persons who have 

been employed full-time with a State agency and who have been granted law 

enforcement powers. The initial employment must have occurred prior to September 23, 

1971. The employment must be for a minimum of 20 years at on the date of application 

to the Board. 

 

B. Pursuant to 23 M.R.S.A. §6072, every railroad police officer must successfully complete 

the Basic Law Enforcement Training Program at the Academy. 

 

C. The following requirements are specified for the certification of Basic Law Enforcement 

Training Program graduates.  The Director, with the approval of the Board of Trustees, 

sets standards for successful completion.  If a student fails to meet any of the 

requirements described below, the student and the student’s agency may petition the 

Board for a waiver or modification of the requirements in question. 

 

D. Application procedures or the Basic Law Enforcement Training Program (BLETP).  

Upon hiring as a full-time law enforcement officer applicant for the BLETP, the 

employing agency will submit the following information to the Board on forms approved 

by the Director: 

1. MCJA notice of employment signed by the agency’s Chief Administrative 

Officer 

2. MCJA application to attend the BLETP signed by the applicant and the agency’s 

Chief Administrative Officer. 

3. MCJA medical examination form signed by a licensed physician and the 

applicant.  

4. MCJA background information form signed by the applicant and the agency’s 

Chief Administrative Officer. 

5. MCJA background information form signed by the agency’s Chief 

Administrative Officer. 

6. MCJA Pre-employment Polygraph Report Form (PE-1)Form signed by the 

polygrapher. 

7. MCJA Polygraph examination form signed by the agency’s Chief Administrative 

Officer. 

8. MCJA Psychological Examination form signed by the agency’s Chief 

Administrative Officer. 

9. MCJA Motor Vehicle License Status Verification form signed by the agency’s 

Chief Administrative Officer. 
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E. Certification:  The Board will issue a certificate of eligibility to perform the duties of a 

full-time law enforcement officer in the State of Maine to a BLETP student who 

completes all of the following: 

1.  Attends all sessions of the BLETP, except absences approved by the Training 

Supervisor.   

 

2. Attends a minimum of 90% of the prescribed curriculum. 

 

a. EXCEPTION:  If a student has successfully completed at least 560 hours of 

the 720-hour BLETP course and passed all course requirements to the point 

of leave / absence for either leave under the Family Medical Leave Act or a 

military commitment, the student and the student’s agency may petition the 

Director to complete the remainder of the unfinished session in the next 

available session of the BLETP. 

 

3. Successfully passes all weekly and major academic exams with a minimum score of 

at least 75% and shall achieve a minimum cumulative academic average of 75% or 

greater.  If a student fails an exam, no more than two make-up exams will be offered. 

 

4. Achieves a passing professional score of 80% or greater at the conclusion of the 

program.  This score is a reflection of the Professional Value System, as outlined in 

the BLETP Cadet Orientation and Curriculum Guide. 

 

5. Demonstrates competency and safety in the handling of his or her service weapons.  

Each student shall achieve a minimum proficiency over a course of fire approved by 

the Director.  This score is a reflection of the Firearms Course, as outlined in the 

BLETP Cadet Orientation and Curriculum Guide.  The proficiency standard is 80%. 

 

6. Demonstrates proficiency in the Emergency Vehicle Operations Course (EVOC), by 

successfully completing a program approved by the Board.  This score is a reflection 

of the Emergency Vehicle Operations Course, as outlined in the BLETP Cadet 

Orientation and Curriculum Guide.  The proficiency standard is 70%. 

 

7. Demonstrates proficiency in the Mechanics of Arrest, Restraint and Control (MARC) 

Course by successfully completing a program approved by the Board, which test 

counts for  50% of the final grade.  The student must pass a MARC scenario at the 

end of the program, which counts for  50% of the final grade.  If a student fails the 

MARC scenario, no more than two make-up scenarios will be offered. This total 

score is a reflection of the MARC Course, as outlined in the BLETP Cadet 

Orientation and Curriculum Guide. The proficiency standard is  75%. 

 

8. Fully participates in all aspects of firearms and MARC training.  Each student must 

also attend at least 75% of these skills training, notwithstanding the requirement 

outlined in section 2.E.2, above.  

 

9. Meets the physical fitness exit standard at the time of their final physical fitness 

assessment at the 50th percentile according to age and gender normed standards, as 

approved by the Board.  
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10. Successfully takes and passes the certification exam, which is administered at the end 

of the course, with a minimum score of 75%.   
 

F. Tuition students who have successfully completed all of the requirements in section 2.E 

will receive a Certificate of Completion of the BLETP.  Upon the Academy’s receipt of 

the Notice of Employment form indicating that a tuition student has been hired as a full-

time law enforcement officer by a law enforcement agency, the tuition student will 

receive a Certificate of Eligibility to act as a full-time law enforcement officer in the 

State of Maine.  

 

G. Continuing certification.  To maintain a Certificate of Eligibility to act as a full-time 

officer in the State of Maine, a law enforcement officer must complete the annual 

mandatory in-service training, per 25 M.R.S §2804-E by December 31st of each calendar 

year. 

 

H. Recertification.   

 

1. For Recertification as a full-time law enforcement officer with 2 or more years of 

inactivity, the following documentation must be submitted: 

 

a. MCJA Notice of Employment signed by the Chief Administrative Officer. 

b. MCJA background form signed by the applicant and the Chief 

Administrative Officer. 

c. Proof of completion of the 2 years of prior mandatory in-service law 

enforcement training. 

d. Proof of completion of the Board approved Law Enforcement Recertification 

Course. 

e. Proof of successful completion of the Law Enforcement Recertification 

Exam. 

 

2. After the required documentation is submitted and approved by MCJA staff , a 

Provisional Certificate of Eligibility will be issued for a full-time law enforcement 

officer. The Provisional Certificate is valid for up to 6 months to successfully 

complete the full-time Law Enforcement Officer’s Certification Exam. 

 

3. If a full-time law enforcement officer with a Provisional Certificate of Eligibility 

passes the full-time Law Enforcement Officer’s Certification Exam, with a minimum 

score of 75%, the Director will issue a Certificate of Eligibility for a full-time law 

enforcement officer. 

 

 

3-A. Basic Corrections Training Program (“BCTP”) for Adult Corrections Officers 

 

A. Pursuant to 25 M.R.S. § 2804-D every adult corrections officer must successfully complete 

within 12 months from the commencement of employment a basic training course approved 

by the Board.  This section creates the Basic Corrections Training Program (“BCTP”) as the 

training course for adult corrections officers.  The BCTP consists of a minimum of 200 

training hours of Board-approved curriculum. 
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B. Application procedures for BCTP.  Upon hiring or assigning an individual as an adult 

corrections officer, the employing agency will submit the following information to the Board 

on forms approved by the director: 

  

1. MCJA notice of employment signed by the agency head. 

  

2. MCJA application to attend the BCTP signed by the applicant and agency head. 

  

3. MCJA medical examination form signed by a licensed physician. 

 

4. MCJA background information form signed by the applicant and agency head and 

notarized. 

 

If an emergency arises that requires an agency to temporarily assign personnel to perform 

correctional officer duties, the agency shall inform the Board of any such emergency 

assignments as soon as practical thereafter. 

 

C. Certification.  The Board will issue a certificate of eligibility to perform the duties of an adult 

corrections officer in the State of Maine to a BCTP student who: 

 

1. Attends a minimum of 90% of the BCTP total hours of instruction. 

 

2. Attends and fully participates in all aspects of the following BCTP modules: 

  

a. Mechanics of Effective Restraint and Control. 

  

b. Situational Use of Force. 

  

c. Constitutional and Civil Rights, and ADA. 

  

d. Basic Communications, Body Language, and IPC Skills. 

  

e. The identifying, understanding, and responding to signs of mental illnesses 

and substance abuse disorder course required by 25 M.R.S. § 2804-D(1). 

 

3. Successfully passes the BCTP Certification Examination with a minimum score of 

75%.   

4. Completes 80 hours of agency field training supervised by a certified Corrections 

Officer(s), to include all otherwise required state and agency training (e.g., 

emergency fire procedures, agency policy, CPR). The agency must record the 

training on a form approved by the director and submit it to the Board for review and 

approval within one year of graduation from the BCTP. 

 

D. Lapse of certification. A certificate of eligibility issued to an adult corrections officer shall 

lapse when the officer is no longer employed by an adult correctional agency. 

 

E. Recertification. 
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1. The Board will recertify an adult corrections officer whose certificate has lapsed if 

the adult corrections officer becomes reemployed by an adult correctional agency 

within two years of the lapse of their certificate if they: 

 

a. Submit an application for recertification on a form approved by the 

director; and 

 

b. Submit proof of completion of the prior two years of mandatory in-service 

corrections training. 

 

2. If an adult corrections officer’s certificate has lapsed for over 2 years but less than 10 

years, the Board will recertify the officer if they: 

 

a. Submit an application for recertification on a form approved by the 

director; 

 

b. Submit proof of completion of the two prior years of mandatory in-service 

corrections training; 

 

c. Submit proof of completion of the Board approved Adult Corrections 

Officer Recertification Course, which shall consist of a minimum of 40 

hours of instruction; and 

 

d. Pass the BCTP Certification Examination with a minimum score of 75% 

within one year from date of hire, or as permitted by an extension from the 

Board. 

 

3. If an adult corrections officer’s certificate has lapsed for 10 years or more, the Board 

will recertify the officer only if they complete all the requirements of section 3-A(C). 

 

3-B. Juvenile Basic Corrections Training Program 

 

A. Pursuant to 25 M.R.S. § 2804-D every juvenile corrections officer must successfully 

complete within 12 months from the commencement of employment a basic training course 

approved by the Board.  This section creates the Juvenile Basic Corrections Training Program 

(“JBCTP”) as the training course for juvenile corrections officers.  The JBCTP consists of a 

minimum of 200 training hours of Board approved curriculum. 

 

B. Application procedures for JBCTP.   Upon hiring or assigning an individual as a juvenile 

corrections officer, the employing agency will submit the following information to the Board 

on forms approved by the director: 

  

1. MCJA notice of employment signed by the agency head. 

  

2. MCJA application to attend the JBCTP signed by the applicant and agency head. 

  

3. MCJA medical examination form signed by a licensed physician. 

 

4. MCJA background information form signed by the applicant and agency head and 

notarized. 
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C. Certification.  The Board will issue a certificate of eligibility to perform the duties of a 

juvenile corrections officer in the State of Maine to a JBCTP student who: 

 

1. Attends a minimum of 90% of the JBCTP total hours of instruction. 

 

2. Attends and fully participates in all aspects of the following JBCTP modules: 

  

3. Mechanics of Effective Restraint and Control or an equivalent Board approved 

program focused on managing residents in a juvenile correctional facility. 

 

4. The verbal and physical de-escalation program, including JBCTP instructional block 

4.6 Calm Every Storm or an equivalent Board approved course. 

 

5. Situational Use of Force. 

 

6. Constitutional and Civil Rights and Americans with Disabilities Act. 

 

7. Adolescent Development. 

 

8. The identifying, understanding, and responding to signs of mental illnesses and 

substance abuse disorder course required by 25 M.R.S. § 2804-D(1). 

 

9. Successfully passes the JBCTP Certification Examination with a minimum score of 

75%. 

 

10. Completes 80 hours of agency field training supervised by a certified Juvenile 

Corrections Officer(s), to include all otherwise required state and agency training 

(e.g., emergency fire procedures, agency policy, CPR). The agency must record the 

training on a form approved by the director and submit it to the Board for review and 

approval within one year of graduation from the JBCTP. 

 

If an emergency arises that requires an agency to temporarily assign personnel to perform 

juvenile correctional officer duties, the agency shall inform the Board of any such 

emergency assignments as soon as practical thereafter. 

D. Lapse of certification. A certificate of eligibility issued to a juvenile corrections officer shall 

lapse when the officer is no longer employed by a juvenile correctional agency. 

 

E. Recertification. 

 

1. The Board will recertify a juvenile corrections officer whose certificate has lapsed if 

the juvenile corrections officer becomes reemployed by a juvenile correctional 

agency within two years of the lapse of their certificate if they: 

 

a. Submit an application for recertification on a form approved by the director; 

and 

 

b. Submit proof of completion of the two prior years of Board approved 

mandatory in-service corrections training. 



 

 

 

16-227 Chapter 5     page 8 

 

 

2. If a juvenile corrections officer’s certificate has lapsed for over 2 years but less than 

10 years, the Board will recertify the officer if they: 

 

a. Submit an application for recertification on a form approved by the director; 

  

b. Submit proof of completion of the two prior years of mandatory in-service 

corrections training; 

 

c. Submit proof of completion of the Board approved Juvenile Corrections 

Officer Recertification Course, which shall consist of a minimum of 40 hours 

of instruction; and 

 

d. Pass the JBCTP Certification Examination with a minimum score of 75% 

within one year from date of hire, or as permitted by an extension from the 

Board. 

 

F. If a juvenile corrections officer’s certificate has lapsed for 10 years or more, the Board will 

recertify the officer only if they complete all requirements of Section 3-B(C). 

 

4. Maine Law Enforcement Certification Test 

 

 A. All state, county and municipal law enforcement officers who complete the Basic Law 

Enforcement Training Program and who have the power to arrest and authority to carry a 

firearm must pass a certification examination, based on the core curriculum content of 

duties, as approved by the Board of Trustees and outlined in Specification S-1. 

 

  1. Only students who have been certified by the Academy Director as having met 

all of the requirements of the course as outlined by the particular Specification 

will be eligible to take the "Maine Law Enforcement Certification Test." 

 

  2. Students who fail to pass the certification examination will be allowed to retake 

the examination a maximum of two times within the first year of employment. 

Those students who failed the examination twice will be referred to the Board for 

further deliberation of their status. 

 

 

5. In-Service Training - Pursuant to 25 M.R.S.A. §2804-E and §2804-F 

 

 A. As a condition to continued employment as a municipal, county, state and other non-

federal law enforcement officer, a person must successfully complete an annual in-

service training program conducted or certified by the Academy. The in-service training 

requirements shall include information on new laws and court decisions and on new 

enforcement practices demonstrated to reduce crime or increase officer safety. The Board 

may prescribe the extent of such training in the Specifications. 

 

  1. Any certified law enforcement officer who leaves such employment for any 

reason and is not employed in a law enforcement capacity for a period of 2 years 

after termination shall no longer be considered qualified under §2804-B and 

§2804-C. 
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   a. If an individual is employed as a law enforcement officer after a 2-year 

period of inactivity, the Board may issue a Provisional Certificate of 

Eligibility to be valid for a period not to exceed 12 months. During this 

provisional period, the Board shall review the individual's background 

and shall have the options of recertification, requiring attendance at a 

pre-service course and/or conducting an examination prior to issuing a 

further certificate of eligibility. 

 

 B. As a condition to continued employment, every municipal, county, state or non-federal 

corrections officer must successfully complete an annual in-service training program 

conducted or certified by the Board. The in-service training requirements shall include 

information on new laws and court decisions. 

 

   

 C. Extension of time limit for In-Service Training. The Board may grant an extension of 

time for completion of the required in-service training requirement of Title 25 M.R.S.A. 

§2804 E(1) and §2804 F(1) upon presentation of satisfactory evidence that a law 

enforcement or corrections officer is unable to complete the required in-service training 

within the time limit prescribed because of illness, injury, military service, or special duty 

assignment required and made in the public interest of the concerned agency; or, in the 

discretion of the Board, upon presentation of evidence by a department that a law 

enforcement or corrections officer is unable to complete the required in-service training 

within the time prescribed. Time extensions granted under this subsection shall not 

exceed that which is reasonable, bearing in mind each individual's circumstances. 
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6. Harbor Master Training 

 

 Pursuant to 25 M.R.S.A. §2803-A (7) in order to be certified as a Harbor Master a person must 

successfully complete the Harbor Master training course as prescribed in Specification S-22, 

attached and incorporated. 

 

A. Upon successfully completing the Harbor Master training course and meeting the 

required standards, a person shall receive a Certificate of Eligibility issued by the Board. 

This certificate will be considered a license and grants the power to make an arrest and 

authority to carry a firearm in the State of Maine and will be considered lapsed when an 

individual is no longer employed by that agency. 

 

 

7. Basic Probation and Parole Training Program 

 

A. Pursuant to 25 M.R.S. § 2804-M every adult probation and parole officer must 

successfully complete within 12 months from the commencement of employment a basic 

training course approved by the Board.  This section creates the Basic Probation and 

Parole Training Program (“BPPTP”) as the training course for adult probation and parole 

officers.  The BPPTP consists of a minimum of 200 training hours of Board-approved 

curriculum. 

 

B. The following requirements are specified for the certification of Basic Probation and 

Parole Training Program graduates.  The Director, with the approval of the Board of 

Trustees, sets standards for successful completion.  If a student fails to meet any of the 

requirements described below, the student and the Department of Corrections may 

petition the Board for a waiver or modification of the requirements in question. 
 

C. Application Requirements: Upon hiring or assigning an individual as an adult probation 

and parole officer, the Department of Corrections will submit the following information 

to the Board on forms approved by the Director: 

1. MCJA notice of employment signed by the Commissioner of Corrections. 

2. MCJA application to attend the BPPTP signed by the applicant and the 

Commissioner of Corrections. 

3. MCJA medical examination form signed by a licensed physician.  

4. MCJA background information form signed by the applicant. 

5. MCJA background information form signed by the Commissioner of Corrections. 

 

D. Certification: The Board will issue a certificate of eligibility to perform the duties of an 

adult probation and parole officer in the State of Maine to a BPPTP student who: 

1. Pursuant to 25 M.R.S. §2801-A(7-A) and §2803-A(5-C), probation and parole 

officers employed and previously trained as probation officers by the Department 

of Corrections prior to July 1, 2025 who are in good standing and have 

demonstrated having acquired specific knowledge and skills directly related to job 

performance are certified as probation and parole officers.  Upon enactment of this 

amended rule, the Department of Corrections will certify to the Director a list of 

probation officers having this status for issuance of certifications.  

2. Attends a minimum of 90% of the BPPTP total hours of instruction. 

3. Attends and fully participates in all aspects of the following BPPTP modules: 

a. Mechanics of Arrest, Restraint and Control; 

b. Situational Use of Force; 
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c. Probation Law, Physical Evidence and Search, and Probation Violations; 

d. Firearms 

e. Officer Safety; 

f. Motivational Interviewing; 

g. LSI-R; and 

h. Supervising Clients with Domestic Violence Convictions or Conditions. 

4. Successfully passes the BPPTP Certification Examination with a minimum score of 

75%.   

5. Demonstrates competency and safety in the handling of their service weapons.  

Each student shall achieve at minimum proficiency over a course of fire approved 

by the Director. The proficiency standard is 80%. 

6. Demonstrates proficiency in the Mechanics of Arrest, Restraint and Control 

(MARC) Course by successfully completing a program approved by the Board, 

which test counts for 50% of the final grade.  The student must pass a 3-minute 

drill at the end, which counts for 50% of the final grade.  If a student fails the 

MARC drill, no more than two make-up drills will be offered. The proficiency 

standard is 75%. 

7. Fully participates in all aspects of firearms and MARC training.  Each student must 

also attend at least 75% of these skills trainings. 

8. Completes 80 hours of Department of Corrections field training, to include all 

otherwise required state and Department training (e.g., emergency fire procedures, 

Department policy, CPR). The Department must record the training on a form 

approved by the Director and submit it to the Board for review and approval within 

one year of graduation from the BPPTP. 

 

E. Continuing Certification: To maintain a Certificate of Eligibility to act as a probation and parole 

officer in the State of Maine, a probation and parole officer must complete the annual mandatory in-

service training, per 25 M.R.S §2804-N by December 31st of each calendar year, which must include 

training on new laws and court decisions, if applicable.  

 

F. Lapse of certification: A certificate of eligibility issued to an adult probation and parole 

officer shall lapse when the officer is no longer employed by the Department of Corrections. 

 

G. Recertification: If a previously certified officer is re-hired by the Department of Corrections 

into a probation and parole officer role, depending on the length of time since their 

certification lapsed, they are eligible for recertification as follows:  

a. Two years or less: The Board will recertify an adult probation and parole officer whose 

certificate has lapsed if the officer becomes reemployed by the Department of 

Corrections within two years of the lapse of their certificate if they: 

i. Apply for recertification on a form approved by the Director; and 

ii. Submit proof of completion of the prior two years of mandatory in-service adult 

probation and parole officer training. 
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b. More than 2 years and less than 10 years: If an adult probation and parole officer’s 

certificate has lapsed for over 2 years but less than 10 years, the Board will recertify the 

officer if they: 

i. Apply for recertification on a form approved by the Director; 

ii. Submit proof of completion of the prior two years of mandatory in-service adult 

probation and parole training; 

iii. Submit proof of completion of the Board approved adult probation and parole 

officer recertification course, which shall consist of a minimum of 40 hours of 

instruction; and 

iv. Pass the BPPTP Certification Examination with a minimum score of 75% within 

one year of hire, or as permitted by an extension from the Board. 

 

c. More than 10 years: If an adult probation and parole officer’s certificate has lapsed for 

10 years or more, the Board will recertify the officer only if they complete all the 

requirements of sections 7.C and 7.D. 

 

 

 

STATUTORY AUTHORITY: 25 M.R.S.A. §§ 2801-2809 

 

EFFECTIVE DATE: 

 January 12, 1979 

 

AMENDED: 

 December 25, 1979 

 June 30, 1984 - Sec. 1, 2, 3 & 4 

 August 12, 1984 - Section 1 (A) (1) 

 September 4, 1991 

 

EFFECTIVE DATE (ELECTRONIC CONVERSION): 

 November 27, 1996 

 

AMENDED: 

 May 5, 1998 

 

NON-SUBSTANTIVE CORRECTIONS: 

 October 19, 2001 - formatting only 

 

AMENDED: 

 September 28, 2004 - filing 2004-423 
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MAINE CRIMINAL JUSTICE ACADEMY 

 

A Bureau of the Department of Public Safety 

 

PRESERVICE OFFICER TRAINING CERTIFICATION 

 

 

Specification S-7 

 

 The following requirements are specified for the certification of Law Enforcement Officers, full 

and part-time officer graduates from the Pre-service Officer Training School. This portion of 

training may be waived by completing the Basic Law Enforcement Training Program, 

Specification 1. 

 

1. Each student shall be required to attend all sessions of the school except absences 

approved by the school supervisor. No trainees will be certified when his excused 

absences exceed ten percent of the hours of the instruction time. The Academy Director 

may excuse attendance when candidate is deemed qualified for a waiver of the Basic 

Police Course. 

 

2. As a requirement for the successful completion and certification from the Pre-service 

Officer Training Course each student must have a passing cumulative academic average 

of 70% at the conclusion of the school. Failure to obtain the required cumulative average 

will be cause for withholding certification. 

 

3. Each student will be required to successfully complete the Cardio-Pulmonary 

Resuscitation Course in accordance with the standards of the American Heart Association 

or American Red Cross. 

 

4. 100 hours of instruction. 

 

5. Upon hire as a law enforcement officer each student shall demonstrate safe and proficient 

competency in the handling of firearms and must qualify with a department approved 

service weapon on a course of fire approved by the Director. Documentation of 

competency and qualification shall be attested to by an Academy Certified Firearms 

Instructor on a form approved by the Academy prior to certification being issued. 
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MAINE CRIMINAL JUSTICE ACADEMY 

 

A Bureau of the Department of Public Safety 

 

Basic Law Enforcement Training Program 

 

Specification S-1 

 

 The following requirements are specified for the certification of Basic Law Enforcement Training 

Program graduates. The Director, with the approval of the Board of Trustees, sets standards for 

successful completion. If a student fails to meet any of the requirements described below, the 

student and the student's agency may petition the Board for a waiver or modification of the 

requirements in question. 

 

Requirements: 

 

 1. As a requirement for the successful completion of the Basic Law Enforcement Training 

Program (BLETP), each student must attend all sessions of the school, except absences 

approved by the Training Supervisor. No student will be certified when his or her 

absences exceed ten 10% of the prescribed curriculum, except if a student has 

successfully completed at least 14 weeks of the 18 week session, passed all requirements 

at that point and has left the session for other than a voluntary reason. The student and the 

student's agency may petition the Director to complete the remainder of the unfinished 

session in the next available session of the BLETP. The BLETP curriculum approved by 

the Board is 720 hours. 

 

 2. As a requirement for the successful completion of the Basic Law Enforcement Training 

Program, each student shall successfully pass all weekly and major academic exams with 

a minimum score of 70 75% and shall achieve a minimum cumulative academic average 

of 70 75%. If a student fails an exam, no more than two make-up exams will be offered. 

 

 3. As a requirement for the successful completion of the Basic Law Enforcement Training 

Program (BLETP), each student shall achieve a passing professional score of 80% at the 

conclusion of the program. This score is a reflection of the Professional Value System, as 

outlined in the BLETP Cadet Orientation and Curriculum Guide. 

 

 4. As a requirement for the successful completion of the Basic Law Enforcement Training 

Program (BLETP), each student shall demonstrate competency and safety in the handling 

of his or her service weapons. Each student shall achieve at minimum, proficiency over a 

course of fire approved by the Director. This score is a reflection of the Firearms Course, 

as outlined in the BLETP Cadet Orientation and Curriculum Guide. The proficiency 

standard is 80%. 

 

 5. As a requirement for the successful completion of the Basic Law Enforcement Training 

Program (BLETP), each student shall demonstrate proficiency in the Emergency Vehicle 

Operations Course (EVOC), by successfully completing a program approved by the 

Board. This score is a reflection of the Emergency Vehicle Operations Course, as 

outlined in the BLETP Cadet Orientation and Curriculum Guide. The proficiency 

standard is 70%. 
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 6. As a requirement for the successful completion of the Basic Law Enforcement Training 

Program (BLETP), each student shall demonstrate proficiency in the Mechanics of 

Arrest, Restraint and Control (MARC) Course by successfully completing a program 

approved by the Board. The student must pass a MARC scenario at the end of the 

program, which counts for 20% of the final grade. If a student fails the MARC scenario, 

no more than two make-up scenarios' will be offered. This total score is a reflection of the 

MARC Course, as outlined in the BLETP Cadet Orientation and Curriculum Guide. The 

proficiency standard is 80%. 

 

 7. As a requirement for the successful completion of the Basic Law Enforcement Training 

Program, each student shall fully participate in all aspects of firearms and MARC 

training. Each student must also attend at least 75% of these skills training, not-

withstanding the requirement outlined in Requirement 1 above. 

 

 8. As a requirement for the successful completion of the Basic Law Enforcement Training 

Program, each student shall meet the physical fitness exit standard at the 50th percentile 

according to age and gender normed standards, as approved by the Board. 
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MAINE CRIMINAL JUSTICE ACADEMY 

 

A Bureau of the Department of Public Safety 

 

HARBOR MASTER BASIC TRAINING COURSE 

 

 

Specification S-22 

 

 The following requirements are specified for certification of Harbor Masters as required by Title 

25 M.R.S.A. SS 2803-A, subsection 7 and authorized to make arrest under Title 38, Chapter 1, 

subchapter 1, relevant to their duties as Harbor Master. 

 

 This certification empowers Harbor Masters to perform related law enforcement duties only; no 

general law enforcement authority outside this limited scope of duty is intended nor granted. 

 

Requirements: 

 

1. Be employed as a Harbor Master, and; 

 

2. Successfully complete the pre-service law enforcement training as required of Reserve 

Officers, and; 

 

3. Within a year of employment successfully complete the Harbor Master training course as 

prescribed by the Board. 

 

4. 12 hours of instruction. 

 

Procedures: 

 

1. Harbor Masters who have sworn power to arrest and/or authority to carry a firearm in the 

course of duty will enroll in a reserve officer training course. 

 

2. Knowledge and skills training of Harbor Master Duties will be conducted at sites 

specified by the Academy. 

 

3. Certification will be issued on completion of both levels of training. 
 


