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Chapter 3: ENTRANCE STANDARDS

Summary: Chapter 3 of the Maine Criminal Justice Academy Board of Trustees' rules sets forth the
requirements for admission to the Academy.

1. Requirements for Admission to the Academy. In order to be admitted to the Basic Corrections
Training Course (the Basic Corrections Training Program and the Juvenile Basic Corrections
Training Program), an applicant:

A. Shall be a high school graduate, or have scored as follows on one of the two Board of
Trustees approved high school equivalency tests:
a. General Education Development Test (GED):
L. not lower than 35 on any one of the 5 parts, and
i, an average not lower than 45 for all 5 parts, or;
b. High School Equivalency Test (HISET):
1. A minimum score of 8 out of 20 on each of the five subtests, and;
1i. A minimum score of 2 out of 6 on the essay, and;
iil. Achieve a total scaled score on all five HiSET subtests of at least 45 out
of 100.
B. Shall be at least 18 years of age.
C. Shall submit the medical certificate provided by the Academy, signed by a licensed

physician indicating that the applicant is physically and medically fit to undergo physical
training at the Academy;

D. Shall meet the physical fitness standards as established by the Board of Trustees;

E. Should have no convictions for Murder, Class A, Class B, Class C, or Class D crime; or
convictions for any violation of the Maine Criminal Code, chapters 15, 19, 25, 29, 31, 35,
41 or 45, or a conviction for any equivalent crime in another jurisdiction outside the State
of Maine. A person may make application to the Board of Trustees for a waiver of this
provision;

F. Should not have engaged in any conduct that is penalized in this state as Murder, Class A,
Class B, Class C, or Class D crime, or any provision of the Maine Criminal Code,
chapters 15, 19, 25, 29, 31, 35, 41 or 45; or engaged in such conduct in another
jurisdiction outside the State of Maine, unless that conduct is not punishable as a crime
under the laws of that jurisdiction. A person may make application to the Board of
Trustees for a waiver of this provision.
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G. Shall complete a state and federal criminal records check through the submission of
fingerprints to the State Bureau of Identification and the Federal Bureau of Investigation;

H. Shall be of good moral character, as determined by a thorough background investigation
by the hiring agency; and

L Shall not falsify or misrepresent any information during the application process,

background investigation or polygraph examination.

Requirements for Admission to the Academy. In order to be admitted to the Law Enforcement
Pre-Service Course; an applicant:

A. Shall be a high school graduate, or have scored as follows on one of the two Board of
Trustees approved high school equivalency tests:
a. General Education Development Test (GED):
I. not lower than 35 on any one of the 5 parts, and
ii. an average not lower than 45 for all 5 parts, or;
b. High School Equivalency Test (HISET):
1. A minimum score of 8 out of 20 on each of the five subtests, and;
1. A minimum score of 2 out of 6 on the essay, and,
1. Achieve a total scaled score on all five HiSET subtests of at least 45 out
of 100.
B. Shall be at least 21 years of age, unless the applicant has an associate's degree or 60

credit hours of post-secondary education, in which case the applicant must be at least 20
years of age, or unless an applicant for pre-service training is currently enrolled in an
accredited post secondary educational program, has completed 40 credit hours, and the
applicant is at least 19 years of age;

C. Shall submit the medical certificate provided by the Academy, signed by a licensed
physician indicating that the applicant is physically and medically fit to undergo physical
training at the Academy;

D. Shall meet the physical fitness standards as established by the Board of Trustees;

E. Should have no convictions for Murder, Class A, Class B, Class C, or Class D crime; or
convictions for any violation of the Maine Criminal Code, chapters 15, 19, 25, 29, 31, 35,
41 or 45, or a conviction for any equivalent crime in another jurisdiction outside the State
of Maine. A person may make application to the Board of Trustees for a conditional
waiver of this provision;

F. Should not have engaged in any conduct that is penalized in this state as Murder, Class A,
Class B, Class C, or Class D crime, or any provision of the Maine Criminal Code,
chapters 15, 19, 25, 29, 31, 35, 41 or 45; or engaged in such conduct in another
jurisdiction outside the State of Maine, unless that conduct is not punishable as a crime
under the laws of that jurisdiction. A person may make application to the Board of
Trustees for a conditional waiver of this provision;
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G.

H.

Shall complete a state and federal criminal records check through the submission of
fingerprints to the State Bureau of Identification and the Federal Bureau of Investigation;

Shall possess a valid motor vehicle operator's license. If such license is not a Maine
license at the time of admission to the Academy, the applicant shall obtain a State of Maine
license within any time limits prescribed by Maine law;

Shall be able to read and write at a level necessary to successfully complete the Law
Enforcement Pre-Service Training Program as determined by the hiring or sponsoring
agency.

Shall be of good moral character, as determined by a thorough background investigation by
the hiring agency; or in the case of a person not employed, by the sponsoring agency, after
review of the background investigation conducted by a licensed investigator approved by the
Board of Trustees;

Effective July 1, 2026 and after, shall successfully complete to the satisfaction of the
employer; or in the case of a person not employed, the sponsoring agency and the Board of
Trustees, a polygraph examination conducted by a polygraph examiner who is either licensed
in the State of Maine or has been previously approved by the Board. The examination shall
follow the guidelines in the "Police Applicant Polygraph Testing" manual approved by the
Board effective 1/1/2005;

Effective July 1, 2026, shall undergo and complete to the satisfaction of the employer; or in
the case of a person not employed, the sponsoring agency, an evaluation of the applicant's
suitability to work as a law enforcement officer by a licensed psychologist or licensed
psychological examiner with experience in psychological screening in the field of law
enforcement. The evaluation shall include, at a minimum, an evaluation of the following
characteristics: anxiety, mood, anger, anti-social characteristics, ability to accept criticism,
ability to communicate, assertiveness, self-confidence, ability to get along with others,
judgment and verbal skills.

Shall complete an oral interview by the hiring agency; or in the case of person not employed,
the sponsoring agency.; and

Shall not falsify or misrepresent any information during the application process, background
investigation, or polygraph examination.

Requirements for Admission to the Academy. In order to be admitted to the Basic Law
Enforcement Training Program, an applicant who is employed as a law enforcement officer must
meet the standards set forth below. In the case of a person not employed as a law enforcement
officer, the applicant must meet the standards set forth below as determined by a Selection
Committee established by the Board of Trustees:

A.

Shall be a high school graduate, or have scored as follows on one of the two Board of
Trustees approved high school equivalency tests:

a. General Education Development Test (GED):
1. not lower than 35 on any one of the 5 parts, and
il. an average not lower than 45 for all 5 parts, or;

b. High School Equivalency Test (HISET):
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1. A minimum score of 8 out of 20 on each of the five subtests, and;
1. A minimum score of 2 out of 6 on the essay, and,
11i. Achieve a total scaled score on all five HISET subtests of at least 45 out
of 100.

Shall be at least 21 years of age, unless the applicant has an associate's degree or 60
credit hours of post-secondary education, in which case the applicant must be at least 20
years of age;

Shall submit the medical certificate provided by the Academy, signed by a licensed
physician, indicating that the applicant is physically and medically fit to undergo physical
training at the Academy;

Shall meet the physical fitness standards established by the Board of Trustees;

Should have no convictions for Murder, Class A, Class B, Class C, or Class D crime; or
convictions for any violation of the Maine Criminal Code, chapters 15, 19, 25, 29, 31, 35,
41, or 45, or a conviction for any equivalent crime in another jurisdiction outside the
State of Maine. A person may make application to the Board of Trustees for a conditional
waiver of this provision;

Should not have engaged in any conduct that is penalized in this state as Murder, Class A,
Class B, Class C, or Class D crime, or any provision of the Maine Criminal Code,
chapters 15, 19, 25, 29, 31, 35, 41 or 45; or engaged in such conduct in another
jurisdiction outside the State of Maine, unless that conduct is not punishable as a crime
under the laws of that jurisdiction. A person may make application to the Board of
Trustees for a conditional waiver of this provision;

Shall complete a state and federal criminal records check through the submission of
fingerprints to the State Bureau of Identification and the Federal Bureau of Investigation;

Shall possess a valid motor vehicle operator's license. If such license is not a Maine
license at the time of admission to the Academy, the applicant shall obtain a State of
Maine license within any time limits prescribed by Maine law;

Shall be able to read and write at a level necessary to successfully complete the Basic
Law Enforcement Training Program as determined by the hiring agency.

Shall be of good moral character, as determined by a thorough background investigation
by the hiring agency; or in the case of a person not employed, by the Academy Selection
Committee, after review of the background investigation conducted by a licensed
investigator approved by the Board of Trustees;

Shall successfully complete to the satisfaction of the employer and the Board of Trustees,
or in the case of a person not employed, to the Academy Selection Committee, a
polygraph examination conducted by a polygraph examiner who is either licensed in the
State of Maine or has been previously approved by the Board. The examination shall
follow the guidelines in the "Police Applicant Polygraph Testing" manual approved by
the Board effective 1/1/2005;
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0.

Shall undergo and complete to the satisfaction of the employer, or in the case of a person
not employed, to the Academy Selection Committee, an evaluation of the applicant's
suitability to work as a law enforcement officer by a licensed psychologist or licensed
psychological examiner with experience in psychological screening in the field of law
enforcement. The evaluation shall include, at a minimum, an evaluation of the following
characteristics: anxiety, mood, anger, anti-social characteristics, ability to accept
criticism, ability to communicate, assertiveness, self confidence, ability to get along with
others, judgment and verbal skills.

Shall complete an oral interview by the hiring agency or in the case of a pre-employment
candidate, by a panel appointed by the Chair of the Board of Trustees representing state,
municipal, and county, law enforcement agencies; and

Shall not falsify or misrepresent any information during the application process,
background investigation, or polygraph examination.

4. Requirements for Admission to the Basic Probation and Parole Training Program: In order to be

admitted to the Basic Law Enforcement Training Program, an applicant who is employed as a probation

officer must meet the standards set forth below.

A.

B
C.
D

=

Meet the minimum qualifications for the probation and parole officer classification as determined
by the Maine Bureau of Human Resources;

Have been hired by the Department of Corrections as an adult probation and parole officer,
including the completion of an oral interview;

Meet the physical fitness standards established by the Board of Trustees;
Submit the medical certificate provided by the Academy, signed by a licensed physician indicating that
the applicant is physically and medically fit to undergo physical training at the Academy:;
Have no convictions for Murder, Class A, Class B, Class C, or Class D crime; or convictions for any
violation of the Maine Criminal Code, chapters 15, 19, 25, 29, 31, 35, 41 or 45, or a conviction for any
equivalent crime in another jurisdiction outside the State of Maine. A person may make application to
the Board of Trustees for a conditional waiver of this provision;

Not have engaged in any conduct that is penalized in this state as Murder, Class A, Class B, Class

C, or Class D crime, or any provision of the Maine Criminal Code, chapters 15, 19, 25, 29, 31, 35. 41
or 45; or engaged in such conduct in another jurisdiction outside the State of Maine, unless that

conduct is not punishable as a crime under the laws of that jurisdiction. A person may make
application to the Board of Trustees for a conditional waiver of this provision;

Complete a state and federal criminal records check through the submission of fingerprints to the State
Bureau of Identification and the Federal Bureau of Investigation;

Possess a valid motor vehicle operator's license. If such license is not a Maine license at the time of
admission to the Academy, the applicant shall obtain a State of Maine license within any time limits
prescribed by Maine law;

Be of good moral character, as determined by a thorough background investigation by the Department
of Corrections;

Not falsify or misrepresent any information during the application process or background

investigation.
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STATUTORY AUTHORITY: 25 M.R.S.A. §§ 2801-2809,

EFFECTIVE DATE:
January 12, 1979

AMENDED:
December 25, 1979 - Sec. 3.1(E, G, H), 3.2
July 4, 1983 - Sec. 1(I)
September 4, 1985 - Sec. 1(I)
September 4, 1991
August 30, 1994 - Sec. 1(B)

EFFECTIVE DATE (ELECTRONIC CONVERSION):
November 27, 1996

AMENDED:
May 5, 1998

NON-SUBSTANTIVE CORRECTIONS:
October 19, 2001 - formatting only

AMENDED:
September 28, 2004 - filing 2004-422



