## 227 MAINE CRIMINAL JUSTICE ACADEMY BOARD OF TRUSTEES

## **Chapter 5: TRAINING STANDARDS**

**Summary:** Chapter 5 of the Maine Criminal Justice Academy Board of Trustees' rules sets forth the training requirements established by the Board for actively employed law enforcement and corrections officers.

#### 1. Law Enforcement Pre-Service Training Program

- A. Pursuant to 25 M.R.S.A. §2804-B, every municipal, county, state or non-federal officer with the power to make arrests or the authority to carry a firearm in the course of duty must successfully complete all pre-service training requirements as prescribed in Specification 7 attached and incorporated.
  - 1. The board shall certify law enforcement officers who successfully complete preservice law enforcement training as reserve or part-time officers.
    - a. Upon successfully completing the Basic Training Course and meeting the required standards, an individual will receive a Certificate of Eligibility issued by the Board. This certificate will be considered a license to perform law enforcement officer's duties in the State of Maine and be considered lapsed when an officer is no longer employed by a law enforcement agency.
    - b. This section does not apply to any law enforcement officer certified as meeting the law enforcement training requirements or to any full-time law enforcement officer employed by a state agency including the University of Maine system as of July 1, 1990.

# 2. Basic Law Enforcement Training Program

- A. Pursuant to 25 M.R.S.A. §2804-C, every full-time law enforcement officer must successfully complete the Academy's Basic Training Course, as prescribed in Specification 1 attached and incorporated, within 12 months of appointment subject to the waiver and extension provisions of Chapter 9 of these rules.
  - 1. Upon successfully completing the Basic Training Course and meeting the required standards, an individual will receive a Certificate of Eligibility issued by the Board. This certificate will be considered a license to perform law enforcement officer's duties in the State of Maine and be considered lapsed when an officer is no longer employed by a law enforcement agency.

- 2. This section does not apply to any law enforcement officer certified as meeting the law enforcement training requirements or to any full-time law enforcement officer employed by a state agency including the University of Maine system as of July 1, 1990.
- 3. The Board may waive portions of the Basic Police Training Course for persons who have been employed full-time with a State agency and who have been granted law enforcement powers. The initial employment must have occurred prior to September 23, 1971. The employment must be for a minimum of 20 years at the date of application to the Board.
- B. Pursuant to 23 M.R.S.A. §6072, every railroad police officer must successfully complete the Basic Law Enforcement Training Program at the Academy.

# 3-A. Basic Corrections Training Program ("BCTP") for Adult Corrections Officers

- A. Pursuant to 25 M.R.S. § 2804-D every adult corrections officer must successfully complete within 12 months from the commencement of employment a basic training course approved by the Board. This section creates the Basic Corrections Training Program ("BCTP") as the training course for adult corrections officers. The BCTP consists of a minimum of 200 training hours of Board-approved curriculum.
- B. Application procedures for BCTP. Upon hiring or assigning an individual as an adult corrections officer, the employing agency will submit the following information to the Board on forms approved by the director:
  - 1. MCJA notice of employment signed by the agency head.
  - 2. MCJA application to attend the BCTP signed by the applicant and agency head.
  - 3. MCJA medical examination form signed by a licensed physician.
  - 4. MCJA background information form signed by the applicant and agency head and notarized.

If an emergency arises that requires an agency to temporarily assign personnel to perform correctional officer duties, the agency shall inform the Board of any such emergency assignments as soon as practical thereafter.

- C. Certification. The Board will issue a certificate of eligibility to perform the duties of an adult corrections officer in the State of Maine to a BCTP student who:
  - 1. Attends a minimum of 90% of the BCTP total hours of instruction.
  - 2. Attends and fully participates in all aspects of the following BCTP modules:
    - a. Mechanics of Effective Restraint and Control.
    - b. Situational Use of Force.
    - c. Constitutional and Civil Rights, and ADA.

- d. Basic Communications, Body Language, and IPC Skills.
- e. The identifying, understanding, and responding to signs of mental illnesses and substance abuse disorder course required by 25 M.R.S. § 2804-D(1).
- 3. Successfully passes the BCTP Certification Examination with a minimum score of 75%.
- 4. Completes 80 hours of agency field training, to include all otherwise required state and agency training (e.g., emergency fire procedures, agency policy, CPR). The agency must record the training on a form approved by the director and submit it to the Board for review and approval within one year of graduation from the BCTP.
- D. Lapse of certification. A certificate of eligibility issued to an adult corrections officer shall lapse when the officer is no longer employed by an adult correctional agency.

#### E. Recertification.

- 1. The Board will recertify an adult corrections officer whose certificate has lapsed if the adult corrections officer becomes reemployed by an adult correctional agency within two years of the lapse of their certificate if they:
  - a. Submit an application for recertification on a form approved by the director; and
  - b. Submit proof of completion of the prior two years of mandatory in-service corrections training.
- 2. If an adult corrections officer's certificate has lapsed for over 2 years but less than 10 years, the Board will recertify the officer if they:
  - a. Submit an application for recertification on a form approved by the director;
  - b. Submit proof of completion of the prior two years of mandatory in-service corrections training;
  - c. Submit proof of completion of the Board approved Adult Corrections Officer Recertification Course, which shall consist of a minimum of 40 hours of instruction; and
  - d. Pass the BCTP Certification Examination with a minimum score of 75% within one year from date of hire, or as permitted by an extension from the Board.
- 3. If an adult corrections officer's certificate has lapsed for 10 years or more, the Board will recertify the officer only if they complete all the requirements of section 3-A(C).

#### 3-B. Juvenile Basic Corrections Training Program

- A. Pursuant to 25 M.R.S. § 2804-D every juvenile corrections officer must successfully complete within 12 months from the commencement of employment a basic training course approved by the Board. This section creates the Juvenile Basic Corrections Training Program ("JBCTP") as the training course for juvenile corrections officers. The JBCTP consists of a minimum of 200 training hours of Board approved curriculum.
- B. Application procedures for JBCTP. Upon hiring or assigning an individual as a juvenile corrections officer, the employing agency will submit the following information to the Board on forms approved by the director:
  - 1. MCJA notice of employment signed by the agency head.
  - 2. MCJA application to attend the JBCTP signed by the applicant and agency head.
  - 3. MCJA medical examination form signed by a licensed physician.
  - 4. MCJA background information form signed by the applicant and agency head and notarized.
- C. Certification. The Board will issue a certificate of eligibility to perform the duties of a juvenile corrections officer in the State of Maine to a JBCTP student who:
  - 1. Attends a minimum of 90% of the JBCTP total hours of instruction.
  - 2. Attends and fully participates in all aspects of the following JBCTP modules:
  - 4. Mechanics of Effective Restraint and Control or an equivalent Board approved program focused on managing residents in a juvenile correctional facility.
  - 5. The verbal and physical de-escalation program, including JBCTP instructional block 4.6 Calm Every Storm or an equivalent Board approved course.
  - 6. Situational Use of Force.
  - 7. Constitutional and Civil Rights and Americans with Disabilities Act.
  - 8. Adolescent Development.
  - 9. The identifying, understanding, and responding to signs of mental illnesses and substance abuse disorder course required by 25 M.R.S. § 2804-D(1).
  - 3. Successfully passes the JBCTP Certification Examination with a minimum score of 75%.
  - 4. Completes 80 hours of agency field training, to include all otherwise required state and agency training (e.g., emergency fire procedures, agency policy, CPR). The agency must record the training on a form approved by the director and submit it to the Board for review and approval within one year of graduation from the JBCTP.

If an emergency arises that requires an agency to temporarily assign personnel to perform juvenile correctional officer duties, the agency shall inform the Board of any such emergency assignments as soon as practical thereafter.

D. Lapse of certification. A certificate of eligibility issued to a juvenile corrections officer shall lapse when the officer is no longer employed by a juvenile correctional agency.

#### E. Recertification.

- 1. The Board will recertify a juvenile corrections officer whose certificate has lapsed if the juvenile corrections officer becomes reemployed by a juvenile correctional agency within two years of the lapse of their certificate if they:
  - a. Submit an application for recertification on a form approved by the director; and
  - b. Submit proof of completion of the prior two years of Board approved mandatory in-service corrections training.
- 2. If a juvenile corrections officer's certificate has lapsed for over 2 years but less than 10 years, the Board will recertify the officer if they:
  - a. Submit an application for recertification on a form approved by the director;
  - b. Submit proof of completion of the prior two years of mandatory in-service corrections training;
  - c. Submit proof of completion of the Board approved Juvenile Corrections Officer Recertification Course, which shall consist of a minimum of 40 hours of instruction; and
  - d. Pass the JBCTP Certification Examination with a minimum score of 75% within one year from date of hire, or as permitted by an extension from the Board.
- F. If a juvenile corrections officer's certificate has lapsed for 10 years or more, the Board will recertify the officer only if they complete all requirements of Section 3-B(C).

#### 4. Maine Law Enforcement Certification Test

- A. All state, county and municipal law enforcement officers who complete the Basic Law Enforcement Training Program and who have the power to arrest and authority to carry a firearm must pass a certification examination, based on the core curriculum content of duties, as approved by the Board of Trustees and outlined in Specification S-1.
  - 1. Only students who have been certified by the Academy Director as having met all of the requirements of the course as outlined by the particular Specification will be eligible to take the "Maine Law Enforcement Certification Test."

Students who fail to pass the certification examination will be allowed to retake
the examination a maximum of two times within the first year of employment.
Those students who failed the examination twice will be referred to the Board for
further deliberation of their status.

## 5. In-Service Training - Pursuant to 25 M.R.S.A. §2804-E and §2804-F

- A. As a condition to continued employment as a municipal, county, state and other non-federal law enforcement officer, a person must successfully complete an annual inservice training program conducted or certified by the Academy. The in-service training requirements shall include information on new laws and court decisions and on new enforcement practices demonstrated to reduce crime or increase officer safety. The Board may prescribe the extent of such training in the Specifications.
  - 1. Any certified law enforcement officer who leaves such employment for any reason and is not employed in a law enforcement capacity for a period of 2 years after termination shall no longer be considered qualified under §2804-B and §2804-C.
    - a. If an individual is employed as a law enforcement officer after a 2 year period of inactivity, the Board may issue a Provisional Certificate of Eligibility to be valid for a period not to exceed 12 months. During this provisional period, the Board shall review the individual's background and shall have the options of recertification, requiring attendance at a pre-service course and/or conducting an examination prior to issuing a further certificate of eligibility.
- B. As a condition to continued employment, every municipal, county, state or non-federal corrections officer must successfully complete an annual in-service training program conducted or certified by the Board. The in-service training requirements shall include information on new laws and court decisions.
- C. Extension of time limit for In-Service Training. The Board may grant an extension of time for completion of the required in-service training requirement of Title 25 M.R.S.A. §2804 E(1) and §2804 F(1) upon presentation of satisfactory evidence that a law enforcement or corrections officer is unable to complete the required in-service training within the time limit prescribed because of illness, injury, military service, or special duty assignment required and made in the public interest of the concerned agency; or, in the discretion of the Board, upon presentation of evidence by a department that a law enforcement or corrections officer is unable to complete the required in-service training within the time prescribed. Time extensions granted under this subsection shall not exceed that which is reasonable, bearing in mind each individual's circumstances.

# 6. Harbor Master Training

Pursuant to 25 M.R.S.A. §2803-A (7) in order to be certified as a Harbor Master a person must successfully complete the Harbor Master training course as prescribed in Specification S-22, attached and incorporated.

A. Upon successfully completing the Harbor Master training course and meeting the required standards, a person shall receive a Certificate of Eligibility issued by the Board. This certificate will be considered a license and grants the power to make an arrest and authority to carry a firearm in the State of Maine and will be considered lapsed when an individual is no longer employed by that agency.

STATUTORY AUTHORITY: 25 M.R.S.A. §§ 2801-2809

#### **EFFECTIVE DATE:**

January 12, 1979

#### AMENDED:

December 25, 1979 June 30, 1984 - Sec. 1, 2, 3 & 4 August 12, 1984 - Section 1 (A) (1) September 4, 1991

## EFFECTIVE DATE (ELECTRONIC CONVERSION):

November 27, 1996

## AMENDED:

May 5, 1998

#### NON-SUBSTANTIVE CORRECTIONS:

October 19, 2001 - formatting only

#### AMENDED:

September 28, 2004 - filing 2004-423

# MAINE CRIMINAL JUSTICE ACADEMY

A Bureau of the Department of Public Safety

#### PRESERVICE OFFICER TRAINING CERTIFICATION

# **Specification S-7**

The following requirements are specified for the certification of Law Enforcement Officers, full and part-time officer graduates from the Pre-service Officer Training School. This portion of training may be waived by completing the Basic Law Enforcement Training Program, Specification 1.

- 1. Each student shall be required to attend all sessions of the school except absences approved by the school supervisor. No trainees will be certified when his excused absences exceed ten percent of the hours of the instruction time. The Academy Director may excuse attendance when candidate is deemed qualified for a waiver of the Basic Police Course.
- 2. As a requirement for the successful completion and certification from the Pre-service Officer Training Course each student must have a passing cumulative academic average of 70% at the conclusion of the school. Failure to obtain the required cumulative average will be cause for withholding certification.
- 3. Each student will be required to successfully complete the Cardio-Pulmonary Resuscitation Course in accordance with the standards of the American Heart Association or American Red Cross.
- 4. 100 hours of instruction.
- 5. Upon hire as a law enforcement officer each student shall demonstrate safe and proficient competency in the handling of firearms and must qualify with a department approved service weapon on a course of fire approved by the Director. Documentation of competency and qualification shall be attested to by an Academy Certified Firearms Instructor on a form approved by the Academy prior to certification being issued.

#### MAINE CRIMINAL JUSTICE ACADEMY

A Bureau of the Department of Public Safety

#### **Basic Law Enforcement Training Program**

# **Specification S-1**

The following requirements are specified for the certification of Basic Law Enforcement Training Program graduates. The Director, with the approval of the Board of Trustees, sets standards for successful completion. If a student fails to meet any of the requirements described below, the student and the student's agency may petition the Board for a waiver or modification of the requirements in question.

# **Requirements:**

- 1. As a requirement for the successful completion of the Basic Law Enforcement Training Program (BLETP), each student must attend all sessions of the school, except absences approved by the Training Supervisor. No student will be certified when his or her absences exceed ten 10% of the prescribed curriculum, except if a student has successfully completed at least 14 weeks of the 18-week session, passed all requirements at that point and has left the session for other than a voluntary reason. The student and the student's agency may petition the Director to complete the remainder of the unfinished session in the next available session of the BLETP. The BLETP curriculum approved by the Board is 720 hours.
- 2. As a requirement for the successful completion of the Basic Law Enforcement Training Program, each student shall successfully pass all weekly and major academic exams with a minimum score of 75% and shall achieve a minimum cumulative academic average of 75%. If a student fails an exam, no more than two make-up exams will be offered.
- 3. As a requirement for the successful completion of the Basic Law Enforcement Training Program (BLETP), each student shall achieve a passing professional score of 80% at the conclusion of the program. This score is a reflection of the Professional Value System, as outlined in the BLETP Cadet Orientation and Curriculum Guide.
- 4. As a requirement for the successful completion of the Basic Law Enforcement Training Program (BLETP), each student shall demonstrate competency and safety in the handling of his or her service weapons. Each student shall achieve at minimum, proficiency over a course of fire approved by the Director. This score is a reflection of the Firearms Course, as outlined in the BLETP Cadet Orientation and Curriculum Guide. The proficiency standard is 80%.
- 5. As a requirement for the successful completion of the Basic Law Enforcement Training Program (BLETP), each student shall demonstrate proficiency in the Emergency Vehicle Operations Course (EVOC), by successfully completing a program approved by the Board. This score is a reflection of the Emergency Vehicle Operations Course, as outlined in the BLETP Cadet Orientation and Curriculum Guide. The proficiency standard is 70%.

- 6. As a requirement for the successful completion of the Basic Law Enforcement Training Program (BLETP), each student shall demonstrate proficiency in the Mechanics of Arrest, Restraint and Control (MARC) Course by successfully completing a program approved by the Board. The student must pass a MARC scenario at the end of the program, which counts for 20% of the final grade. If a student fails the MARC scenario, no more than two make-up scenarios' will be offered. This total score is a reflection of the MARC Course, as outlined in the BLETP Cadet Orientation and Curriculum Guide. The proficiency standard is 80%.
- 7. As a requirement for the successful completion of the Basic Law Enforcement Training Program, each student shall fully participate in all aspects of firearms and MARC training. Each student must also attend at least 75% of these skills training, notwithstanding the requirement outlined in Requirement 1 above.
- 8. As a requirement for the successful completion of the Basic Law Enforcement Training Program, each student shall meet the physical fitness exit standard at the 50th percentile according to age and gender normed standards, as approved by the Board.

#### MAINE CRIMINAL JUSTICE ACADEMY

A Bureau of the Department of Public Safety

## HARBOR MASTER BASIC TRAINING COURSE

# **Specification S-22**

The following requirements are specified for certification of Harbor Masters as required by Title 25 M.R.S.A. SS 2803-A, subsection 7 and authorized to make arrest under Title 38, Chapter 1, subchapter 1, relevant to their duties as Harbor Master.

This certification empowers Harbor Masters to perform related law enforcement duties only; no general law enforcement authority outside this limited scope of duty is intended nor granted.

# **Requirements:**

- 1. Be employed as a Harbor Master, and;
- 2. Successfully complete the pre-service law enforcement training as required of Reserve Officers, and;
- 3. Within a year of employment successfully complete the Harbor Master training course as prescribed by the Board.
- 4. 12 hours of instruction.

#### **Procedures:**

- 1. Harbor Masters who have sworn power to arrest and/or authority to carry a firearm in the course of duty will enroll in a reserve officer training course.
- 2. Knowledge and skills training of Harbor Master Duties will be conducted at sites specified by the Academy.
- 3. Certification will be issued on completion of both levels of training.