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To: All State of Maine Resident and Nonresident Concealed Handgun Permit Holders
From: Maine State Police, Weapons and Professional Licensing Unit
Date: August 13, 2025

Re: Permit Fee Statute Amendment Memo

Effective September 24, 2025, concealed handgun permit fees will change. These changes reflect
changes made to 25 M.R.S.A § 2003 E (4). The cost for residents, a new permit will cost $50
and a renewal will cost $35. For nonresidents, both new and renewal permits will cost $80. The
updated applications will be posted to our website on September 24, 2025. All other previous
applications found online will be obsolete. https://www.maine.gov/dps/msp/licenses-
permits/concealed-carry-maine

25 M.R.S.A § 2003 E (4) has been amended to read as follows:

(4) Submits an application fee along with the written application to the proper
issuing authority to the following schedule:

(a) For a resident of a municipality or unorganized territory, $50 for an
original application and $35 for a renewal, except that a person who paid $60
for a concealed firearms permit or renewal during 1991 or 1992 is entitled to a
credit toward renewal fees in an amount equal to $30 for a person who paid
$60 for an original application and $45 for a person who paid $60 for a permit
renewal. The credit is valid until fully utilized; and

(b) For a nonresident, $80 for an original or renewal application; and.

Please be aware, if the proper fee is not submitted, a letter will be sent requesting the corrected
payment and your application will be placed on hold until the correct payment is received.

If you have any questions, feel free to contact us. We can be reached by phone at (207) 624-7210
or through email at msp.wplu@maine.gov.

Sincerely,

Maine State Police
Weapons and Professional Licensing Unit

OFFICES LOCATED AT: 45 COMMERCE DRIVE, SUITE 1

(207) 624-7210 (Voice) msp.wplu@maine.gov (Email) (207) 287-3424 (Fax)
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