1.

Maine State Police Crime Laboratory

Discovery

Scope
The laboratory routinely receives requests for case related information via discovery requests,

FOAA (Freedom of Access Act) and post-conviction review. Any copies made in response to
these requests are provided as a service and fees will be levied for this service.

2. Request for Information

2.1 Any laboratory staff member who receives a request for materials related to discovery,
FOAA or post-conviction review must submit a copy of that request to the Laboratory
Sergeant.

2.2 All FOAA requests and discovery requests for civil cases will be coordinated with the
State Police Staff Attorney, who is responsible for responding to the request.

23 The laboratory will not release information on pending criminal investigations.

3. Criminal Discovery and Post Conviction Information Requests

3.1 Criminal Discovery and Post Conviction Review requests are given high priority and
must be answered in a timely manner.

3.2 All information requests will be tracked by the Laboratory Sergeant.

33 The prosecuting attorney will be contacted to ensure that the attorney is aware of the
request, that there are no objections to the request, and that the attorney is aware that the
defense (or person making the request) will be charged a fee for this service unless proof
is provided that their client is indigent. The investigating agency will also be notified of
the disclosure request.

3.4  The following are materials that will be copied and provided via an information request:

e (Copies of bench notes
e Copies of photographs
e Curriculum vitae of the scientists involved

3.5 Electronic data and digital images will be provided when specifically requested.

3.6 The Laboratory will not provide copies of protocol manuals, accreditation documents,
etc, except on a limited basis. For example, a request for one specific protocol would be
granted. Otherwise, the individual requesting the information will be invited to the
laboratory to review the documents.
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3.8

3.9

3.10

3.11

3.12

Maine State Police Crime Laboratory

Discovery

The Laboratory will not provide copyrighted or proprietary materials.

The Laboratory will not provide public information, such as journal articles, etc. that can
be obtained by other means.

The Laboratory Sergeant will coordinate with the appropriate scientists to have the
materials copied in a timely manner. One copy is made for the requestor and one copy
for the prosecuting attorney.

All information is compiled and submitted to the prosecuting attorney along with an
invoice for the cost of time, copying and disks. The following is the fee schedule:

$15.00 per hour of labor, the first hour is free

$10 for every 25 pages of copying, i.e. 1-25 =$10, 26-50 = $20, etc.
$6 for every disk

$2 for 4 X 6 photos which will only be provided from 35 mm film
$2 for 8 /2 X 11 prints made from digital photos

If the bill for the discovery packet exceeds $100 or if the attorney has a delinquent
outstanding balance, pre-payment will be required prior to the release of the information.

A letter will be included with the discovery packet which will issue an invitation to the
requestor to come to the laboratory to review any information not provided.

3.12.1 The purpose of scheduling a meeting to review the documents or records
requested is an effort to isolate specific items for copying. The laboratory
maintains a large volume of documents and records relevant to the quality
assurance system and operation of the laboratory. Copying each and every one is
not reasonable and is overly burdensome.

3.12.2 Should the defense counsel choose to review documents or records at the
laboratory, an appointment will be made with the Laboratory Sergeant well in
advance of any trial date.

3.12.3 The defense counsel will not be allowed unfettered access to the laboratory and
will be supervised at all times.

3.12.4 Whenever possible, the review of documents or records will be conducted in an
unrestricted area of the laboratory such as the conference room.
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3.12.5

3.12.6

3.12.7

3.12.8

3.11.9

Maine State Police Crime Laboratory

Discovery

Access to the documents or records will be allowed only during normal business
hours and should be completed in a reasonable time frame.

Generally, any document or record produced by the crime laboratory is available
for review. However, the laboratory reserves the right to redact any information
that may compromise laboratory security, investigative work product or an
individual’s privacy. Additionally, the laboratory will not allow duplication of
any copyrighted materials.

Should the defense counsel wish to make photocopies of any records, the
laboratory reserves the right to assess a fee for the copies or require the defense
attorney to make the photocopies.

The prosecuting attorney may request a copy of anything that is taken by the
defense counsel. The Laboratory Sergeant will be responsible for making those
copies.

An appointment can be scheduled with the Director to discuss additional
arrangements if the defense counsel’s needs have not been met.
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