

Governor

MICHAEL SAUSCHUCK Commissioner

Maine State Police Weapons and Professional Licensing 164 State House Station JANET T. MILLS Augusta, Maine 04333-0164



COLONEL JOHN E. COTE Chief

LT. COL. WILLAM S. HARWOOD Deputy Chief

TO THE RESIDENT APPLICANT:

Please review the copy of the booklet "Laws Relating to permits to Carry Concealed Handguns." Please complete and return this entire package with the following items:

**STATE OF MAINE Department of Public Safety** 

- Application for a Permit to Carry Concealed Handguns, pp. 1-6
- Authority and Authorization to Release Information forms must BOTH be filled out completely by the applicant whether applying for the first time or renewing. Return these forms with the application to the Maine State Police Division of Weapons and Professional Licensing.
- Fee of \$35.00 for NEW applicants:
  - If your permit expired over 6 months ago, you are considered a NEW applicant and 0 must pay the \$35.00 fee (Make check payable to: Treasurer, State of Maine) you are also required to submit your supporting documents again; eg: Birth Certificate (BC), Hand Gun Safety Certificate (HGS);
  - 0 A fee of \$20.00 is required if you are a valid RENEWAL applicant (your permit is NOT more than 6 months expired, you have NOT changed your address more than 30 days prior without notifying the Issuing Authority);
  - A fee of \$2.00 is required if you are requesting a DUPLICATE permit, a CHANGE 0 OF ADDRESS or CHANGE OF NAME permit;
  - If you moved over 30 days prior without notifying us, not only are you a NEW applicant, your current permit is also invalid.
- If you hold a State of Maine issued permit from another Issuing Authority in Maine, include a 0 complete copy of that permit with your application.
- If you are or were a member of the Armed Forces of the United States of America, a copy of 0 your DD214 serves as proof of knowledge of handgun safety. You must have served long enough to complete basic firearms training. You also may NOT have a Dishonorable discharge from the Service.
- A passport quality **photograph of yourself**: color, approximately 2" x 2", head-shot, no hat and no sunglasses, looking straight at the camera; this is required with NEW and RENEW applications.
- NEW Applicants: A copy of your Birth Certificate (BC) or INS document.
- **NEW Applicants:** A copy of a certificate which has been **issued within the past 5 years** that shows Proof of Knowledge of Handgun Safety (HGS).

If you have NOT been issued a permit from the Maine State Police in the past, we will need your supporting documents – even if you are a valid renewal (you have a current, valid permit issued from another Issuing Authority in Maine).

#### SEND YOUR COMPLETED APPLICATION PACKET TO THE MAINE STATE POLICE WEAPONS AND PROFESSIONAL LICENSING UNIT ADDRESS SHOWN ABOVE.

OFFICES LOCATED AT: 45 COMMERCE DRIVE, SUITE 1

#### MAKE CHECK PAYABLE TO: TREASURER, STATE OF MAINE

	STATE OF MAINE	FOR OFFICE USE ONLY
S	APPLICATION FOR PERMIT	CHECK# \$35.00\$20.00
	TO CARRY CONCEALED HANDGUN – RESIDENT	LICENSE#\$2.00
	□NEW (\$35.00) □ RENEW (\$20.00) □ DUPLICATE (\$2.00)	ISSUE DENY DATE:
	CHANGEOFADDRESS ( $2.00$ ) $\Box$ CHANGEOFNAME ( $2.00$ )	EXPIRATION DATE IF ISSUED:

#### FULL NAME:

PRIOR LEGAL NAME(S):						
ALIASES:						
BIRTHDATE:		EYE COLOR:	HEIGHT:		FT	IN
BIRTHPLACE:		HAIR COLOR:	WEIGHT			
CITIZEN: Y N	N	RACE:	SEX:	М		F
EMAIL ADDRESS:						
PHONE NUMBERS						
CELL:		HOME:	WORK:			
LEGAL MAILING ADDRESS:						

#### LEGAL PHYSICAL ADDRESS:

# LIST ALL ADDRESSES YOU HAVE LIVED AT DURING LAST 5 YEARS; INCLUDE MOVE IN AND MOVE OUT DATES; USE ADDITIONAL SHEET OF PAPER IF NEEDED:

 MO/YR IN – MO/YR OUT

PREVIOUS VERSIONS OF THIS FORM ARE OBSOLETE AND SHOULD NOT BE USED AG FORM 1R REVISED 8/31/2015; 6/4/2018 (change of issuing authority only)

Applicant Initials

LIST OF PREVIOUSLY ISSUED PERMITS TO CARRY CONCEALED HANDGUNS OR OTHER CONCEALED WEAPONS BY ANY ISSUING AUTHORITY IN MAINE OR ANY OTHER JURISDICTION. For each permit previously issued, please identify the issuing authority (e.g. Massachusetts State Police; Portland P.D.; Town of Shapleigh, Selectmen) and the date the permit was issued.

LIST OF PREVIOUS REFUSALS TO ISSUE PERMIT TO CARRY CONCEALED HANDGUNS OR OTHER CONCEALED WEAPONS BY ANY ISSUING AUTHORITY IN MAINE OR IN ANY OTHER JURISDICTION. For each refusal of a permit, please identify the agency that refused to issue the permit, and the date of refusal. (Include Explanations)

LIST OF PREVIOUS REVOCATIONS OR SUSPENSIONS OF HANDGUNS PERMITS OR PERMITS TO CARRY CONCEALED HANDGUNS OR OTHER CONCEALED WEAPONS BY ANY ISSUING AUTHORITY IN MAINE OR IN ANY OTHER JURISDICTION. For each revocation, please identify the agency or authority that revoked the permit and the date it was revoked or suspended. (Include Explanations)

PREVIOUS VERSIONS OF THIS FORM ARE OBSOLETE AND SHOULD NOT BE USED AG FORM 1R REVISED 8/31/2015; 6/4/2018 (change of issuing authority only)

Applicant Initials

Page **2** of **6** 

### CIRCLE APPROPRIATE ANSWER AFTER EACH QUESTION.

a. Are you less than 18 years of age?	YES	NO
b. Is there a formal charging instrument now pending against you in this state for a crime under the laws of this state that is punishable by imprisonment for a term of year or more?	YES	NO
c. Is there a formal charging instrument now pending against you in any federal court for a crime under the laws of the United States that is punishable by imprisonment for a term exceeding one year?	YES	NO
d. Is there a formal charging instrument now pending against you in another state for a crime that, under the laws of the that state, is punishable by imprisonment for a term exceeding one year?	YES	NO
e. If your answer to question (d) is "yes", is that charged crime classified under the laws of that state as a misdemeanor punishable by a term of imprisonment of 2 years or less?	YES	NO
f. Is there a formal charging instrument pending against you in another state for a crime punishable in that state by a term of imprisonment of 2 years or less and classified by that state as a misdemeanor, but that is substantially similar to a crime that under the laws of this State is punishable by imprisonment for a term of one year or more?	YES	NO
g. Is there a formal charging instrument now pending against you under the laws of the United States, this State or any other state or the Passamaquoddy Tribe or Penobscot Nation in a proceeding in which the prosecuting authority has pleaded that you committed the crime with the use of a Handgun against a person or with the use of a dangerous weapon as defined in Title 17-A, M.R.S.A. § 2 (9) (A)?	YES	NO
<ul> <li>h. Is there a formal charging instrument now pending against you in this or any other jurisdiction for a juvenile offense that, if committed by an adult, would be a crime described in question (b), (c), (d) or (f) and involves bodily injury or threatened bodily injury against another person?</li> </ul>	YES	NO
i. Is there a formal charging instrument now pending against you in this or any other jurisdiction for a juvenile offense that, if committed by an adult, would be a crime described in question (g)? YES NO		
j. Is there a formal charging instrument now pending against you in this or any other jurisdiction for a juvenile offense that, if committed by an adult, would be a crime described in question (b), (c), (d) or (f), but does not involve bodily injury or threatened bodily injury against another person?	YES	NO
k. Have you ever been convicted of committing or found not criminally responsible by reason of insanity or mental disease or defect of committing a crime described in question (b), (c), (f) or (g)?	YES	NO
l. Have you ever been convicted of committing or found not criminally responsible by reason of insanity or mental disease or defect of committing a crime described in question (d)?	YES	NO
m. If your answer to question (1) is "yes," was that crime classified under the laws of that state as a misdemeanor punishable by a term of imprisonment of 2 years or less?	YES	NO

n. Have you ever been adjudicated as having committed a juvenile offense described in question (h) or (i)?	- YES	NO
o. Have you ever been adjudicated as having committed a juvenile offense described in question (j)?	YES	NO
p. Are you currently subject to an order of a Maine court or an order of a court of the United States or another state, territory, commonwealth or tribe that restrains you from harassing, stalking or threatening your intimate partner, as defined in 18 United States Code, Section 921(a), or a child of your intimate partner, or from engaging in other conduct that would place your intimate partner in reasonable fear of bodily injury to that intimate partner or the child?	YES	NO
q. Are you a fugitive from justice?	YES	NO
r. Are you a drug abuser, drug addict or drug dependent person?	YES	NO
s. Do you have a mental disorder that causes you to be potentially dangerous to yourself or others?	YES	NO
t. Have you been adjudicated to be an incapacitated person pursuant to Title 18-A, Article V, Parts 3 and 4, and not had that designation removed by an order under Title 18-A, M.R.S.A. §5-307 (b)? [Termination of incapacity, Probate Code; protection of persons under disability and their property]	YES	NO
u. Have you been dishonorably discharged from the military forces within the past 5 years?	YES	NO
v. Are you an illegal alien?	YES	NO
w.Have you been convicted in a Maine court of a violation of Title 17-A, M.R.S.A. § 1057 [possession of a Handgun in an establishment licensed for on-premises consumption of liquor] within the past five (5) years?	YES	NO
x. Have you been adjudicated in a Maine court within the past five (5) years as having committed a juvenile offense involving conduct that, if committed by an adult, would be a violation of Title 17-A, M.R.S.A. § 1057 [criminal possession of a Handgun in an establishment licensed for on-premises consumption of liquor]?	YES	NO
y. To your knowledge, have you been the subject of an investigation by any law enforcement agency within the past 5 years regarding the alleged abuse by you of family or household members?	YES	NO
z. Have you been convicted in any jurisdiction within the past 5 years of 3 or more crimes punishable by a term of imprisonment of less than one year or of crimes classified under the laws of a state as a misdemeanor and punishable by a term of imprisonment of 2 years or less?	YES	NO
aa. Have you been adjudicated in any jurisdiction within the past 5 years to have committed 3 or more juvenile offenses described in question (o)?	YES	NO
bb. To your knowledge, have you engaged within the past 5 years in reckless or negligent conduct [as defined at 25 M.R.S.A. § 2002(11)] that has been the subject of an investigation by a governmental entity?	YES	NO
- ,	1 20	

cc. Have you been convicted in a Maine court within the past 5 years of any Title 17-A, chapter 45 drug crime?	YES	NO
dd. Have you been adjudicated in a Maine court within the past 5 years as having committed a juvenile offense involving conduct that, if committed by an adult, would have been a violation of Title 17-A, chapter 45? [Drug offenses]	YES	NO
ee. Have you been adjudged in a Maine court to have committed the civil violation of possession of a useable amount of marijuana, butyl nitrite or isobutyl nitrite in violation of Title 22 M.R.S.A. § 2383 within the past 5 years?	YES	NO
ff. Have you been adjudicated in a Maine court within the past 5 years as having committed the juvenile crime defined in Title 15 M.R.S.A. § 3103 (1) (B) of possession of a useable amount of marijuana, as provided in Title 22 M.R.S.A. § 2383?	YES	NO

## READ THE FOLLOWING CAREFULLY BEFORE SIGNING APPLICATION

### BY AFFIXING YOUR SIGNATURE BELOW AS THE APPLICANT YOU:

- A. Certify that the statements you have made on this application and any documents you make a part of this application, are true and correct.
- A-1. Certify that you understand that a "yes" answer to question (l) or (o) above is cause for refusal unless you are authorized to possess a Handgun under Title 15 M.R.S.A. § 393.
- A-2. Certify that you understand that a "yes" answer to question (p) is cause for refusal if the order of the court meets the preconditions contained in Title 15, M.R.S.A. § 393 (1) (D). If the order of the court does not meet the preconditions, the conduct underlying the order may be used by the issuing authority, along with other information, in judging good moral character under 25 M.R.S.A. § 2003 (4).
- B. Certify that you understand that a "yes" answer to question number (a), (k), (n), or any of the questions numbered (q) through (x) above is cause for refusal.
- B-1. Certify that you understand that a "yes" answer to one or more of the questions numbered (b) through (j), (m), (y), (z), or (aa) to (ff) above will be used by this issuing authority, along with other information, in judging good moral character under Title 25 M.R.S.A. § 2003(4).
- C. Certify that you will, that at the request of this issuing authority, take whatever action is required of you by law to allow this issuing authority to obtain from the Maine Department of Health and Human Services (limited to records of patient committals to Riverview Psychiatric Center and Dorothea Dix Psychiatric Center), the courts, law enforcement agencies, the military, the United States Citizenship and Immigration Services, and any prior issuing authority in this State or any other jurisdiction with which you have been involved, information relevant to the following:

Applicant Initials

(1) The determination as to whether the information supplied on the application or any documents made a part of the application is true and correct;

(2) The determination as to whether each of the additional requirements of Title 25 M.R.S.A. § 2003 has been met;

(3) The determination as to whether, if you are currently a permit holder, such permit must be revoked under Title 25 M.R.S.A. § 2005; and

(4) The determination as to whether, if you are otherwise eligible and reapplying following an earlier revocation of a permit, you are eligible to do so under Title 25 M.R.S.A. § 2005 or Title 17-A M.R.S.A. § 1057.

- D. Certify that you understand that if fingerprints are required by this issuing authority in order to resolve any questions as to your identity, you will submit to being fingerprinted.
- E. Certify that you understand that if a photograph is an integral part of the permit to carry concealed Handguns adopted by this issuing authority, you will submit to being photographed for that purpose.
- F. Certify that you understand that you must demonstrate to this issuing authority a knowledge of handgun safety as required by Title 25 M.R.S.A. § 2003 (1) (E) (5), unless you demonstrate that you are exempted under that same statute.
- G. Certify that you have received a copy of the pamphlet entitled "LAWS RELATING TO PERMITS TO CARRY CONCEALED HANDGUNS" (2014 edition).
- H. I understand that any false statements I make in this application or documents I make a part of this application may result in criminal prosecution pursuant to 25 M.R.S.A. § 2004 (1) and/or 17-A M.R.S.A. § 453, unsworn falsification.

Your Signature as Applicant

Date

ALL QUESTIONS MUST BE ANSWERED COMPLETELY AND THE APPLICATION FEE (\$35 FOR ORIGINAL APPLICATION, \$20 FOR RENEWAL APPLICATION, OR \$2.00 FOR CHANGE OF ADDRESS, DUPLICATE OR CHANGE OF NAME) MUST ACCOMPANY THIS APPLICATION OR THE APPLICATION WILL BE RETURNED.

#### **AUTHORIZATION TO RELEASE INFORMATION** FOR THE PURPOSE OF APPLYING FOR A CONCEALED FIREARM PERMIT

#### PRINT LEGIBLY OR TYPE

#### NAME OF APPLICANT: \_\_\_\_\_\_DOB:\_\_\_\_\_\_DOB:\_\_\_\_\_\_DOB:\_\_\_\_\_\_DOB:\_\_\_\_\_\_

#### ALIAS AND/OR PRIOR NAME(S):

Pursuant to 25 MRSA §2003 (1)(E)(1), I authorize the Riverview Psychiatric Center and the Dorothea Dix Psychiatric Center of the Department of Health and Human Services to disclose any record of whether I have ever been committed to the Riverview Psychiatric Center or the Dorothea Dix Psychiatric Center to the issuing authority:

Issuing Authority (individual): Col. John E. Cote, c/o Lt. Michael P. Johnston Issuing Authority (organization): Maine State Police Weapons and Professional Licensing Mailing Address: 164 State House Station, Augusta, ME 04333 Issuing Authority Fax#: 287-3424; Telephone # to verify receipt of fax: 624-7210

I understand that the information requested is protected by law and cannot be released without my written permission, unless otherwise specifically permitted by law. I understand that I have the right to review information and material prior to its release. I understand I have the right to revoke this authorization in writing at any time by contacting the issuing authority identified above. I understand that my refusal to sign this release will cause my application for a concealed firearm permit to be rejected. I understand that if the issuing authority receives an affirmative response to its inquiry, I may be asked to authorize the release of additional information to determine my eligibility for a concealed firearm permit. Information disclosed to the issuing authority pursuant to this release is confidential pursuant to 25 MRSA § 2006.

This authorization is effective for ninety (90) days following the date of my signature.

Applicant Signature	Date
Witness Signature	Date
APPLICANT: RETURN THIS FORM T	O THE ISSUING AUTHORITY WITH YOUR PERMIT

## APPLICATION. RETAIN A COPY FOR YOUR RECORDS. \_\_\_\_\_

ISSUING AUTHORITY: Send completed form (or a copy) to Riverview Psychiatric Center (RPC) AND to Dorothea Dix Psychiatric Center (DDPC) by <u>one</u> of the following means:

- Scan form and send via e-mail to: RPC: RiverviewMedicalRecords@maine.gov; and DDPC: 1. DorotheaDixMedicalRecords@maine.gov OR
- 2. Fax form to: RPC: (207) 287-7127; and DDPC: (207) 941-4029 OR
- Mail the form, with a self-addressed stamped envelope to: RPC: 250 Arsenal St., Augusta, ME 04330, 3. Attn. Health Information; and DDPC: PO Box 926, Bangor, ME 04401, Attn. Medical Records.

NOTICE TO ISSUING AUTHORITY: The RPC and DDPC will respond in the same manner in which you forward this form. However, if you fax the form, you must provide your telephone number so that the institution can verify your receipt of the return fax.

#### AUTHORITY TO RELEASE INFORMATION TO THE ISSUING AUTHORITY FOR THE PURPOSE OF EVALUATING INFORMATION SUPPLIED ON MY APPLICATION FOR A CONCEALED HANDGUN PERMIT UNDER 25 M.R.S., CHAPTER 252.

## TO ALL LAW ENFORCEMENT AGENCIES, INCLUDING COURTS, BOTH WITHIN AND WITHOUT THE STATE OF MAINE:

I hereby authorize and direct you to release to the issuing authority or its representative any information in your possession or control concerning me pertaining to the following:

- (1) conviction data;
- (2) any criminal matter in which a formal charging instrument is now pending;
- (3) adjudication data relating to any juvenile offenses which involves conduct which, if committed by an adult, would be a crime;
- (4) any juvenile matter in which a formal charging instrument is now pending involving any juvenile offense described in (3) above;
- (5) fugitive from justice status;
- (6) incidents of abuse of family or household members within the past five years;
- (7) drug abuse, drug addiction or drug dependency;
- (8) adjudication as an incapacitated person;
- (9) any mental disorder that causes me to be potentially dangerous to myself or others;
- (10) reckless or negligent conduct as defined by 25 M.R.S. § 2002(11) within the past five years;
- (11) information of record indicating that I have been convicted of or adjudicated as having committed a violation of Title 17-A, chapter 45 or Title 22, section 2383, or adjudicated as having committed a juvenile crime that is a violation of Title 22, section 2383 or a juvenile crime that would be defined as a criminal violation under Title 17-A, chapter 45 if committed by an adult; and
- (12) whether I am currently subject to an order of a Maine court or an order of a court of the United States or another state, territory, commonwealth or tribe that restrains me from harassing, stalking or threatening an intimate partner, as defined in 18 United States Code, Section 921(a), or a child of an intimate partner, or from engaging in other conduct that would place an intimate partner in reasonable fear of bodily injury to that intimate partner or the child.

#### TO ALL PRIOR ISSUING AUTHORITIES, BOTH WITHIN AND WITHOUT THE STATE OF MAINE:

I hereby authorize and direct you to release to the issuing authority or its representative any information of record in your possession or control concerning me pertaining to any previous refusal to issue or revocation of a permit to carry handguns or firearms, or other weapons.

#### TO ALL MILITARY FORCES, BOTH STATE AND FEDERAL:

I hereby authorize and direct you to release to the issuing authority named below or its representative any information in your possession or control concerning me pertaining to a dishonorable discharge from the military forces within the past 5 years.

#### TO THE UNITED STATES CITIZENSHIP AND IMMIGRATION SERVICES:

I hereby authorize and direct you to release to the issuing authority or its representative any information in your possession or control concerning me pertaining to my status as an illegal alien.

#### TO ALL ABOVE-ADDRESSED GOVERNMENTAL ENTITIES:

I hereby authorize and direct you to release to the issuing authority named below or its representative any information in your possession or control concerning me pertaining to the following:

- (1) my full name;
- (2) my full current address and address for the prior 5 years;
- (3) the date and place of my birth and my physical description;
- (4) my signature.

Should there be any question to the validity of this release, you may contact me at the address and/or the telephone number listed below.

APPLICANT'S FULL	
NAME:	
(Typed or printed)	
APPLICANT'S FULL	
NAME:	
(Signature)	
DATE OF BIRTH OF	
<b>APPLICANT:</b>	

Mailing Address of Applicant:	
Telephone Number of Applicant:	

Maine State Police Weapons and Professional Licensing	Col. John E. Cote, c/o Lt. Michael P. Johnston
ISSUING AUTHORITY (Organization)	ISSUING AUTHORITY REPRESENTATIVE (Name)

INFORMATION OBTAINED PURSUANT TO THIS RELEASE IS CONFIDENTIAL TO THE EXTENT PROVIDED BY 25 M.R.S. § 2006 AND MAY NOT BE MADE AVAILABLE FOR PUBLIC INSPECTION OR COPYING BY THE ISSUING AUTHORITY UNLESS THE CONFIDENTIALITY IS WAIVED BY THIS APPLICANT BY WRITTEN NOTICE TO THE ISSUING AUTHORITY.

## THIS ORIGINAL RELEASE, AND ANY COPIES, ARE VALID FOR A PERIOD OF SIX MONTHS FROM THE DATE OF SIGNATURE OF THE APPLICANT.