
 
 

 

 

JOIN THE TRADITION 

FOR A CAREER WITH . . . A FUTURE,   
JOB SATISFACTION . . . AND PRIDE! 

Being a Maine State Trooper is a demanding, challenging 

and rewarding way of life.  From the day you apply to 

become a Trooper you will have embarked on a great 

personal challenge.  Our exhaustive selection process and 

rigorous training academy has set national standards for 

excellence.  The reason is clear . . . only the finest men and 

women are good enough to wear the uniform and badge of 

the Maine State Trooper.  

Recruits, while in the Academy, receive a salary based on 

a yearly rate of $44,969.  After graduation from basic law 

enforcement training, Troopers receive salary based on an 

annual rate of $46,904 which progresses through seniority 

steps to $60,444. Overtime is paid at one and a half times 

the basic hourly rate for time worked beyond an assigned 

shift.  The value of State paid Health and Dental insurance 

is $399.86-$420.61 biweekly.  The value of the State's 

share of employee's retirement is 21.06% of salary. 

 

If you’ve been considering a law enforcement career and 

are self-reliant and highly motivated with the self-

discipline and desire to give us your level best, then you 

may be just who we’re looking for.  Look to your future; 

apply to become one of Maine’s finest law enforcement 

officers today. 

IT’S NOT A JOB…IT’S A WAY OF LIFE! 

BENEFITS AS A  
MAINE STATE TROOPER 

Being a Trooper offers excellent benefits that include: 

 A 25-year retirement system with the State contributing 

21.06% of pay.  Troopers retire at 50% of their maximum 

salary while employees working over 25 years receive an 

additional 2% of retirement pay for each additional year 

worked beyond 25 years; 

 clothing or uniform cleaning allowance of $65 per month; 

 cell phone allowance of $50.00 per month, paid semi-

annually; 

 night shift differential of either $.45 or $.55 per hour; 

 weekend differential of $.50 per hour; 

 law enforcement related college degree incentive that 

includes an hourly stipend of $0.19 for an Associate 

degree, $0.31 for a Bachelor degree and $0.43 for a 

Masters or higher degree; 

 State paid health and dental benefits; 

 paid sick leave earned at one day per month; 

 paid vacation leave starting at one day per month to a 

maximum of 2 days per month based on seniority; 

 assigned vehicle with a yearly allowance of $260.00 for 

cleaning;  

 promotional opportunities based on ability, education and 

seniority;  

 each Trooper has an opportunity for a wide array of 

specialized career paths with lateral mobility.  

 

WITH GREAT CAREER OPPORTUNITIES 
 Accident 

Reconstructionist 

 Basic Cadet School 

Cadre Member 

 Canine Handler 

 Commercial Vehicle 

Enforcement 

 Community Policing  

 Computer Crimes Task 

         Force 

 Criminal Intelligence  

 Criminal Investigation 

 Dive Team  

 Drug Enforcement 
 Evidence Response 

Team  

  

 EVOC Instructor 

 Forensic Specialist 

 Firearms Instructor 

 Fitness Instructor 

 Gaming/Weapons Unit 

 Hostage Negotiator 

 Pilot (Air Wing) 

 Pipe and Drum Unit 

 Recruit School Instructor 

 Tactical Team 

 Traffic Division 

 Troop Investigator 

 Truck Weights 

 Violent Crimes Task 

Force 

DO YOU QUALIFY? 

The Maine State Police is looking for qualified people 

interested in joining the ranks of an elite group of men 

and women who have dedicated their lives to a career of 

public service.  If you think you are qualified to meet the 

challenge of being a State Trooper, contact the State 

Police training office for additional information 207-

877-8025. 

MINIMUM QUALIFICATIONS 
Age:  Applicants must be at least 21 years of age 

prior to entrance into Basic Law En-

forcement Training at the Maine Criminal 

Justice Academy. 

Education: An applicant must be a high school graduate 

or hold an equivalency certificate (GED) 

issued by the State Department of 

Education. 

Conduct: Reputation must be above reproach.  A list 

of automatic disqualifiers can be obtained 

upon request. 

Physical: You must be in adequate physical condition 

to perform the duties of a State Trooper.  

 

A valid driver's license upon employment is required.  

 
 

 
NOTE FOR CERTIFIED OFFICERS: 
Candidates selected for initial appointment who are graduates 

of the Maine Criminal Justice Academy 18-week  Basic Police 

School (or equivalent basic law enforcement training program 

as determined by the Maine State Police and can receive a 

waiver from the MCJA Board of Directors), AND are currently 

certified law enforcement officers (or are able to obtain a 

Maine law enforcement certification) may be exempted from 

attending the MCJA's basic law enforcement  training program 

at the discretion of the Chief of the Maine State Police.  All 

other selected applicants will be required to attend and 

successfully complete this program. 



 

 

 

EXAMINATION PROCESS 
1. ALERT EXAMINATION:  Applicants must have 

already taken and passed the ALERT test prior to 
submitting an application.  This may be done by calling 
207-877-8000 (there is a $50.00 fee for this test). Testing 
is normally scheduled for the first and third Wednesday of 
every month at the Maine Criminal Justice Academy in 
Vassalboro, Maine.  This test has a non-traditional scoring 
method and applicants must meet the Maine Criminal 
Justice Academy’s minimum passing score of 37 for 
entrance into basic law enforcement training.  Test 
questions are multiple choice and fall within the categories 
of Writing Skills and Reading Comprehension. 

2. PHYSICAL FITNESS TEST (PFT): Applicants must 

have already taken and passed the Pre-Employment 
PFT at the 50

th
 percentile within the past year prior to 

submitting an application.  This may be done by calling 
207-877-8000 (there is a $35.00 fee for this test).  Testing 
is normally scheduled for the first and third Wednesday of 
every month at the Maine Criminal Justice Academy in 
Vassalboro, Maine.  The Physical Fitness Test (PFT) is a 
Pass/Fail test.  It consists of three events: timed push-Up 
test (one minute), timed sit-Up test (one minute), and 1.5 
mile run.  Standards for successful completion of the PFT 
are available upon request or on our website. 

3. APPLICATION EVALUATION:  Completed 
applications must include PFT and Alert Exam results, 
High School Diploma or GED and proof of date of birth 
(copy of driver’s license).  Applications that are received 
without the above mentioned documents are disqualified 
from further consideration.   

4. ORAL BOARD EXAMINATION:  All candidates 
successfully meeting the Minimum Requirements will be 
scheduled for an Oral Board Examination.  Oral Boards 
are usually scheduled monthly and will be held at the 
Maine Criminal Justice Academy in Vassalboro, Maine.  
The Oral Board is a structured examination that evaluates 
applicants’ skills in the areas of Commitment & 
Independence; Judgment & Logic; Decision Making 
Decisiveness; Tact & Diplomacy; and Communication 
Skills.  The Oral Board is a pass/fail component of the 
applicant process. 

5. EMPLOYMENT:  Applicants who successfully pass 
the Oral Board Exam are given a conditional offer of 
employment dependant on successfully passing the 
remaining steps of the applicant process. A background 
investigation, polygraph, interview with the Chief, medical 
and psychological testing, and an additional PFT will need 
to be passed before a candidate is hired and attends basic 
training. 
NOTE:  Each component of the State Police Trooper 
examination process must be completed successfully.  
Failure to successfully complete a component after (or 
portion of a component) will result in disqualification from 
further consideration.  Applicants who are eliminated 
from consideration must wait six months from date of 
elimination before reapplying. 

.

 

 

Maine State Police 

 

 

HOW TO APPLY: 
Applications are obtained from our website and 

submitted to: 

Security and Employment Service Center 

45 Commerce Drive 

Station House Station 108 

Augusta, ME 04333 

Tel. (207) 623-6739 
 

 

 

 
 

http://www.facebook.com/MaineSP 
 

 

Direct Hire Application Forms may  

also be obtained from: 

 

The State Bureau of Human Resources, 

Maine State Police website and 

any local Maine Job Service Office. 
 

MORE INFORMATION ON THE 

MAINE STATE POLICE CAN BE FOUND AT 

 

http://www.maine.gov/dps/msp 

Maine 
State 

Police 
 

Serving the citizens of the 

great state of Maine for over 

ninety years 

 

 
 

Maine Troopers…... 

A PROUD tradition of SERVICE 

through core principles . . . 

INTEGRITY, FAIRNESS, 

COMPASSION and EXCELLENCE. 


