Department of Public Safety

The Department of Public Safety oversees the State of Maine’s public safety bureaus to ensure efficient delivery of the services those agencies provide. These public safety bureaus include: Building Codes and Standards, Capitol Police, Consolidated Emergency Communications, Maine Criminal Justice Academy, Drug Enforcement, Emergency Medical Services, Fire Marshal's Office, Gambling Control, Highway Safety, and Maine State Police. The Department of Public Safety also consists of Management Office and Legal personnel. The advisory Maine Justice Assistance Council was established to provide comprehensive strategic planning and policy direction and to obtain regular guidance and advice from knowledgeable criminal justice practitioners, victim service providers, key stakeholders, and advocates to the Department. We welcome you to explore each of our Bureaus.

John E. Morris, Commissioner

45 Commerce Drive, Suite 1
104 State House Station
Augusta, Maine 04333-0104

Phone: (207) 626-3805
Fax: (207) 287-3042
TTY: (888) 524-7900

Mission Statement

To serve the people of Maine by providing, coordinating, and leading a responsive and comprehensive Public Safety System to protect their lives, rights, and properties



The public is invited to review and comment on the state’s application for FY18 funds under the Edward Byrne Memorial Justice Assistance Grant (JAG) Program. The Maine Department of Public Safety (DPS) anticipates approximately $929,808 in funding. Once funds are awarded, the Maine Justice Assistance Council will make award decisions. The major focus of the state’s application will be to prevent and control drug crime and support local law enforcement needs. The application for funding will be submitted to the Bureau of Justice Assistance,
U. S. Department of Justice. The grant application is available for review at the DPS website at Comments and/or questions should be directed to: Tracy Poulin at or Maine Department of Public Safety, 104 SHS, Augusta, ME 04333-0104, Phone: 207-624-7209, FAX: 207-287-3042.