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EXECUTIVE SUMMARY 

 

Smoking has been the leading cause of fire deaths in Maine and across the nation for 
three decades and perhaps more. It is not however, a leading cause of fires in Maine. Smoking 

related fires are more lethal in contrast to cooking, heating, electrical, and arson fires due 
primarily to the proximity of the victim to the ignition of the fire. This history and the nature of 

smoking related fire deaths, in combination with other states passing similar pieces of 
legislation lead Maine’s 123rd legislature to pass “An Act Concerning Reduced Ignition 

Propensity Cigarettes,” Chapter 25 3, 22 M.R.S.A. §1555-E. 

 

Prior to Maine’s passage of Chapter 253, the states of Vermont, New Hampshire, 

California, Oregon and New York had passed similar legislation. In addition, Canada had 

passed national legislation. In 2007 therefore Maine was surrounded by states and Canada who 

had enacted legislation requiring cigarettes sold within their boundaries be reduced ignition 

propensity (RIP) cigarettes. At the time this report was written all 50 states had implemented 

RIP laws.  The most distinguishing element of Maine’s law is that Maine’s State Fire Marshal’s 

Office does not charge a fee for the certification of fire safe cigarettes.  Most states charge a fee 

ranging from $100 to $1,500 per brand style and up. 

 

This report describes RIP cigarettes, summarizes Maine’s implementation effort, 

examines some data on smoking related fire in Maine and looks at other findings regarding the 
impact of this legislation. 

 

   INTRODUCTION 

 
Fires started by smoking materials, primarily cigarettes constitute a leading cause of 

residential fire deaths in Maine and across the nation. According to analyses by the United 
States Fire Administration (USFA) and the National Fire Protection Association (NFPA) 
smoking related fire deaths are almost three times as likely as residential fire deaths due to 
others causes. This higher level of lethality is due to the fact that smoking related fire deaths 
frequently involve an individual close to the point of ignition. The majority of home smoking 
related fire deaths involve mattresses, bedding and upholstered furniture in addition to the 
trash. The close proximity to ignition worsens burn and smoke inhalation injury because 
mitigation technologies such as smoke detectors, sprinklers or escape planning strategies don’t 
go off soon enough to avert these injuries. 

 

Though the number of individuals smoking as a percentage of the total population is 

declining due to cessation programming and other efforts, there is still a segment of the 

population that still smoke. Older Americans in general, already at high risk in terms of fire 

fatality, continue to smoke more. The fact that millions of people still smoke combined with the 

facts about smoking related fire deaths set the foundation for a movement to propose and pass 

RIP legislation beginning in New York in 2004.   

 
Ultimately the best strategy for reducing smoking related fire fatalities is prevention. 

Prevention can include efforts to educate the public and change behaviors in addition to the 
requirements that only RIP cigarettes be available to the consumer. 
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REDUCED IGNITION PROPENSITY CIGARETTES 

 

A fire-safe cigarette has a reduced propensity to burn when left unattended. The most 
common fire-safe technology used by cigarette manufacturers is to wrap cigarettes with two or 

three thin bands of less-porous paper that act as “speed bumps” to slow down a burning 
cigarette. If a fire-safe cigarette is left unattended, the burning tobacco will reach one of these 

speed bumps and self-extinguish. 
 

Fire-safe cigarettes meet an establish 
cigarette fire safety performance standard based on 

the American Society for Testing and Materials 

(ASTM) E2187, Standard Test Method for 
Measuring the Ignition Strength of Cigarettes.  

Cigarette packs, cartons, and boxing are also 
required to meet marking requirements set forth in 

the law.   

 

  

 
 

STATISTICS ON SMOKING RELATED FIRES AND DEATHS IN MAINE 

 

Cigarettes were reported as the heat source in 672 fire reports filed by Maine Fire 
Departments between 2006 and 2011.  Of these 672 fires, 214 occurred in structures1 and 184 

in residential structures. There were an additional 34 cigarette related fires in residential 

occupancies that did not turn into a residential structure fire.  Because the impetus of the Fire 
Safe Cigarette effort was to reduce deaths due to smoking fires which occur almost always in a 

residential structure, we focused on structures alone. As Table 1 below indicates, smoking fires 
as a cause of all structure fires is not as frequently reported by Maine Fire Departments as other 

causes. They only comprise between one to two percent of fires in contrast to other causes such 
as cooking, heating, and other fires that cause twenty percent or more of the fires in Maine. 

 
Table 1 

 
 
  It should also be noted that though cigarette related fires show little if any significant 

seasonality, all responses where cigarettes are the identified heat source are very seasonal and 
show a considerable jump beginning in April, peaking in May then going down.  Most of the 

spring fires are outdoors with a considerable number occurring in vehicle parking areas (see 
Graph 1 on the following page). 

                                                 
1 This would include any type of structure, i.e. piers, tunnels, bridges in addition to non-residential buildings. 

# Fires % of TL # Fires % of TL # Fires % of TL # Fires % of TL # Fires % of TL # Fires % of TL

Incendiary/supicious 96 4.6% 95 4.7% 79 4.1% 78 3.8% 92 5.4% 79 4.4%

Smoking 35 1.7% 39 1.9% 31 1.6% 33 1.6% 35 2.0% 41 2.3%

Heating 685 33.1% 738 36.3% 752 38.9% 734 36.2% 597 34.8% 608 34.0%

Cooking 550 26.6% 487 24.0% 461 23.8% 494 24.3% 445 25.9% 520 29.1%

Electrical 18 0.9% 14 0.7% 10 0.5% 25 1.2% 18 1.0% 14 0.8%

Other 687 33.2% 660 32.5% 600 31.0% 666 32.8% 528 30.8% 527 29.5%

Total 2071 100.0% 2033 100.0% 1933 100.0% 2030 100.0% 1715 100.0% 1789 100.0%

Average % of structure fires caused by smoking for this period was 1.86%

Maine Fire Incident Reporting System - Structure Fire Causes 2006 - 2011

2007 20082006 2009 2010 2011
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# Fires % of TL # Fires % of TL # Fires % of TL # Fires % of TL # Fires % of TL # Fires % of TL

Incendiary/supicious 59 3.5% 63 3.9% 58 4.2% 52 3.1% 59 4.3% 60 4.0%

Smoking 31 1.9% 36 2.2% 24 1.8% 30 1.8% 27 2.0% 36 2.4%

Heating 629 37.6% 679 41.8% 564 41.3% 687 41.3% 550 40.0% 563 37.7%

Cooking 468 28.0% 399 24.5% 354 25.9% 417 25.1% 373 27.1% 452 30.2%

Electrical 16 1.0% 10 0.6% 5 0.4% 20 1.2% 8 0.6% 10 0.7%

Other 469 28.1% 439 27.0% 361 26.4% 457 27.5% 358 26.0% 374 25.0%

Total 1672 100.0% 1626 100.0% 1366 100.0% 1663 100.0% 1375 100.0% 1495 100.0%

Average % of structure fires caused by smoking for this period was 1.73%

Maine Fire Incident Reporting System - Residential Structure Fire Causes 2006 - 2011

2006 2007 2008 20112009 2010

Graph 1 

  
 When we look at smoking as the cause of residential structure fires, Table 2, we also see 

that smoking related fires comprise a small share of the distribution of fire causes.  Residential 
structure fires are the most frequent among structure fires in Maine and across the nation and 

where most fire fatalities occur. 

 
Table 2 

 When we look at fire fatality we use the Fire Marshal’s Office Investigations files since 
the bureau is charged with investigating all fires resulting in the death of an individual.  In 

reviewing that data for the years 2002 – 2011 below in Table 3, a ten year period, you can see 
that in contrast to other identified fire causes, fatalities due to smoking are particularly lethal 

given they only comprise around 2% of all residential structure fires..    

 
Table 3 

 
 
Graph 2 below illustrates the lethality of smoking related fires in terms of the 

Heating Electrical Smoking Cooking Arson JFS other UndeterminedTotal

2002 2 0 3 2 0 0 5 2 14

2003 3 0 6 1 0 0 4 9 23

2004 1 1 5 2 0 0 2 6 17

2005 4 2 1 1 0 0 6 8 22

2006 5 0 3 1 0 2 4 0 15

2007 0 0 1 0 1 0 3 6 11

2008 1 1 3 1 0 0 2 6 14

2009 0 4 1 1 3 0 1 4 14

2010 0 0 3 2 0 0 2 2 9

2011 2 2 5 1 0 0 3 7 20

Total 18 10 31 12 4 2 32 50 159

Estimated Fire Fatals by Cause 2002 - 2011
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percentage of all fire deaths they comprise both in raw numbers and then adjusted for 

undetermined fires.2 The drop below 20 percent in the raw count for smoking related fatalities 

is a first in Maine for a measured ten year time frame.  Historically, smoking related fire 
fatalities would always comprise over 20 percent of fatalities and when adjusted would climb 

even higher.  This downward trend is due to smoking cessation programs, taxes on cigarettes, 
and other variables.  We are seeing similar trends nationally.   

 
Graph 2 

 
 

 Because Fire Safe Cigarettes are designed to extinguish prior to igniting other materials 
they are placed upon or in, the Fire Marshal’s Office decided to look closer at the data we have 

on cigarette fires by occupancy, area of origin, materials first ignited, type of materials ignited.  
Historically, smoking related fire fatalities occur in residential dwellings where an individual is 

most often in close proximity to ignition by dropping it into furniture or has carelessly disposed 
of smoking materials in the trash.  The fire safe cigarette is designed to work in the close 

proximity scenario as opposed to the trash scenario where the cigarette may have been damaged 
prior to being emptied into the trash.  The damage would render the speed bumps in the 

cigarette inoperable.   

 
 With this in mind we looked at the following residential occupancies in which we have 

seen smoking related fatalities most frequently to get a distribution of items first ignited in 
these historically vulnerable occupancies.  It should be noted that we do see most fatals in one 

and two family dwellings followed by apartments.  Other residential occupancies, where this 
historical frequency of smoking related fires and deaths have been lower are becoming mostly 

smoke free occupancies.  Hence the home is, in this sense single family and multiple family 
dwellings apartments, , the most dangerous place for smoking related fire deaths. 

 
➢ One and two family dwellings 

➢ Multifamily dwellings 

 
The first thing we discovered is that the distribution of smoking related fires between 

one and two family dwellings and apartments is narrower than we assumed with 107 incidents 

                                                 
2 Adjusted percentages are calculated by dividing the percentage of a known cause by the total percentage of  

known (determined) causes. 

11.3%

6.3%

19.5%

7.5%

2.5% 1.3%

20.1%

16.5%

9.2%

28.4%

11.0%

3.7%
1.8%

29.4%

Heating Electrical Smoking Cooking Arson JFS other

% Fire Fatalities by Identified Cause: 
2002 - 2011  

% Raw % Adjusted
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taking place in single family dwellings and 97 in apartments.3  Giving the history of “never 

smoke in bed” it is somewhat of a surprise to see the sleeping area as tied with exterior stairway 

for the number one identified area of origin (Chart 1) followed by the common areas such as 
living rooms, dens, which we anticipated.  Again we assume there would be more cigarette 

related fires in the common areas.  The remaining distribution (other) is all around the interior 
and exterior of the home or apartment.   

 
Fires on exterior balconies may be careless disposal fires that reflect a growing trend on 

the part of many to smoke outdoors on the porch.  The 47% other, which can include areas 
immediately exterior to the dwelling may also be a reflection of this trend to smoke outdoors.  

Though this is a good trend for indoor air quality and health it does have a down side from a 

fire perspective.   
 

Chart 1 

  
  

 A closer look at items first ignited, Chart 2, suggests that we’re still seeing fires of the 
type the fire safe cigarette was meant to avert.  When you combine upholstered furniture with 

mattress/pillow and bedding those three types of materials combine to comprise 23.9% of fires 
by items first ignited and ranks first followed by what would be exterior fires (20.2%) and 

lastly fires due to the careless disposal of cigarette materials (14.2%).   

 
Notice the considerable percentage of items first ignited as “other” usually indicating 

the fire department couldn’t really find a code to identify the item.  This is a problem that can 
be worked out through additional training on using the National Fire Incident Reporting 

System’s available coding scheme.   Coding is available for many fires deemed “other” but the 
fire service needs to work on using the system. 

 

 

 

                                                 
3 Boarding houses and hotels ranked lower than single family dwellings and apartments with 3 incidents per 

occupancy type.  

Sleeping Areas,  16%

Exterior Stairway, 
16%

Common areas (lvg. 
Rm, den, etc.), 11%

Exterior balcony,  
10%

Other, 47%

Smoking Fires by Area of Origin in Homes & Apartments:  2006 -
2011
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Chart 2 

 
 

 Chart 3 below essentially reaffirms what we see in Chart 2 above.  Materials associated 
with cloths or furniture lead the way at 27% of identified materials followed by materials that 

might be related to exterior fires then materials associated with trash. We can conclude that 
based on area of origin, items first ignited and type of materials first ignited that Maine’s 

Reduced Ignition Propensity law certainly has not changed these distributions but rather, 
hopefully, might be reducing the frequency of such events.  Having only four years of data we 

still can’t determine that impact on fire in Maine however. 

 
Chart 3 

 

Structural Member, 
Frame

4%

multiple items
4%

Organic materials
4%

Bedding, blanket, 
sheet, etc.

5%

Light Vegetation
6%

Undetermined
6%

Mattress, 
pillow

9%Exterior 
Sidewall

10%Upholstered sofa, 
chair, bench

10%

Rubbish, trash
10%

Other 
32%

Items First Ignited in Residential Occupancies: 
2006 - 2011

Blank
14%

Plastic
12%

Sawn Wood
10%

Fabric, fiber, cotton, 
blends

27%

Wood or paper
3%

Wood Chips
4%

Paper
4%

Other
26%

Type of Materials First Ignited in Residential 
Occupancies:  2006 - 2011
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The total property and contents dollar loss attributed to smoking for the four years prior 
to and after the law took effect, in addition to civilian and firefighter related injuries and deaths 

are shown below.  This is perhaps the best indicator of the direction we are moving in at this 
time.  As the reader can see, the results are mixed with gains in property dollar loss and injury 

but deaths actually increased along with firefighter injury.  Again, five years of data do not 
comprise a true picture of the end outcome of this legislation.  We will know more in 2015. 

 

  TOTAL Dollar Loss 
Civilian 
Deaths Injuries  

Firefighter 
Death 

Firefighter 
Injury 

2004-07 $2,037,070 10 12 0 3 

2008-11 $1,733,237 12 2 0 5 

Change -$303,833 2 -10 0 2 

 
  

CIGARETTE CONSUMPTION AND THE RIP LAW 

 

A concern that plagued the cigarette manufacturers for years and resulted in their 
opposing this law was the idea this would hurt them and small businesses because people 

wouldn’t like the cigarettes, they might cost more, and this would result in a diminished market 
of buyers.   

 

In Maine this is difficult to ascertain but when we look back over a decade we do 
observe that consumption of cigarettes in Maine as measured by the number of tax stamps 

issued was declining prior to the passage of the law and has continued to decline absent any 
observable significant spike downward.  Figure 1 on the following page shows the number of 

cigarette stamp sales beginning in 1997 and ending in 2012.  As you can see the decline in 
cigarette consumption is likely due to cessation programs, taxation and other variables as 

opposed to the RIP law. 
 

Figure 1 
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Cigarette Tax Stamp Sales in Calendar Years 1997 - 2012

Tax rate increased cents to 74 cents per pack on 

Nov. 1, 1997 

Tobacco settlement with the states Nov. 1998 

Tax rate increased to $1 per pack on Oct. 1, 2001 

Tax rate increased to $2 per pack on Sept. 19, 

2005 

RIP law takes effect 

Jan. 1, 2008 
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IMPLEMENTATION OF MAINE’S RIP CIGARETTE LAW 

 

Implementation of Chapter 253 “An Act Concerning Reduced Ignition Propensity 
Cigarettes” began almost immediately upon passage of the legislation.  Manufacturers began to 

send certification documents attesting to their compliance with the testing and marking 
requirements outlined in the law.  The Fire Marshal’s Office reviews the testing and marking 

documentation even though accompanied by a statement attesting to compliance with the law. 
 

Certification documents include three essential elements: 
 

1. A letter attesting the manufacturer’s compliance with Maine’s law. 

2. Testing results for each brand and brand style of cigarette stating that each cigarette being 
certified was tested in accordance with ASTM Standard E2187-04. 

3. A sample of the packaging that includes the marking used to designate the cigarette as 
being a fire safe cigarette (FSC) brand. 

  
 Upon receiving the certification documents the Fire Marshal’s Office reviews them for 

compliance with all aspects of the law.  Particulars include all cigarettes being certified are 
listed on the testing documents with date of test as well as a check to see that the marking is the 

right font size and clearly visible in the area of the bar code.  Upon verification of compliance, 

the Fire Marshal’s Office issues a letter to the manufacturer and copies the Maine Attorney 
General’s to notify them that the specified cigarettes are fire safe.  If there is a problem the 

manufacturer is also notified.  All correspondence is forwarded to the Attorney General’s 
Office so they can make sure the cigarette brand is on that is listed in the directory of all 

tobacco manufactures required under Title 22 § 1580-L. 
 

 In addition the Fire Marshal’s Office has built and maintains its own listing of certified 
cigarettes being sold in Maine.  The current list contains approximately 1,732 brand styles 

many of which will expire or be re-certified with little or no modifications to the physical 

characteristic of the cigarette.  It is the Maine Fire Marshal’s Office policy to inform 
manufacturers that should they alter the physical characteristic of a cigarette, i.e. circumference 

or length changes, they are required to recertify even though the three-year certification period 
has not expired.  The following details are in the listing for each brand style of cigarette: 

 
1. Brand or trade name on the package; 

2. Style, such as light or ultra light; (these names are no longer used) 
3. Length in millimeters; 

4. Circumference in millimeters; 

5. Flavor, such as menthol, if applicable 
6. Filter or nonfilter; 

7. Package description, such as soft pack or box; 
8. Marking approved in accordance with the law; 

9. The name, address and telephone number of the laboratory, if different than the 
manufacturer, that conducted the test; and 

10. The date that the testing occurred. 
 

 The certification and listing costs for the cigarettes and all other required 

correspondence is absorbed by the Office of the State Fire Marshal.  Other states have managed 
this cost through a fee paid for the certification of each brand or brand style. Here is a list of 

what states are charging in terms of fees for certification per brand: 
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Alaska  $250  Maryland  $250  RI  $250 

Connecticut  $250  Massachusetts  $3,000  Texas  $250 

Delaware $250  Minnesota  $250  Utah  $1,000  
Iowa  $100  Montana  $250  Alabama $1,000 

Arizona $250  Colorado  $1,000  Georgia $250 
Hawaii  $375  Idaho   $1,000  Indiana $800 

Kansas  $250  Kentucky  $1,000  Louisiana $250 
Michigan $1,250  Mississippi  $1,000  Nebraska $1,000 

New Jersey $250  New Hampshire $250  New Mexico $250 
Ohio  $1,000  North Carolina $250  North Dakota $250 

Oklahoma $1,000  Pennsylvania  $1,000  South Carolina $250 

Tennessee $1,000  Virginia  $250  Washington $250 
Wisconsin $1,000  West Virginia  $1,000  Wyoming $250 

 
 These fees are used by some states to hire staff to manage the program which includes 

the review of certification documents and the maintenance of a data base directory of cigarettes 
certified for sale in the given state.  It should be noted that in Maine and all other states the 

manufacturer is required to recertify brands.  In Maine recertification is required every three 
years.  The data base (list) helps in developing and making sure recertification documents are 

filed at the appropriate time. 

 

FINDINGS 
 

Chapter 253, An Act Concerning Reduced Ignition Propensity Cigarette took effect on 

January 1, 2008.  Since that time: 
 

• Smoking related fires are the most lethal of fires in Maine due to the proximity of the 

victim to fire ignition 
 

• The vast majority of these deaths take place in 1 & 2 Family dwellings (homes). 

 

• The count of all structure fires where cigarettes were the source of ignition has risen 

slightly while remaining level in residential structure fires.   
 

• The percentage of structure fires where cigarettes were the source of ignition has risen 

while remaining level in residential structure fires.  

 

• The raw percentage of fire deaths due to smoking related fires, when looking at the 10 

year period of 2002 – 2011 has dipped below 20%.  This is a first for Maine. 

 

• The distribution of cigarette related structure and residential structure fires by area of 
origin, items first ignited and materials first ignited suggests that careless disposal of 

smoking materials and misplacement of cigarette in furniture are close. 

 

• Most fires caused by cigarettes take place outdoors. 

 

• The Fire Marshal’s Office will have a better understanding of the impact of the RIP law 

in Maine when this report is issued again in 2016. 

 

• In the four after passage of the RIP law total property and contents dollar losses 
decreased 15% or $303,833 while deaths increased by two. 
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• RIP cigarettes have had no noticeable impact on cigarette consumption in Maine. 

 

• Maine is one of only a few states not charging a fee to cover the costs of this program. 

 
 

SUMMARY AND RECOMENDATIONS 

 
 

This report has provided the legislature with a set of model indicators that can be used 
to measure the effectiveness of LD 70, “And Act Concerning Reduced Ignition Propensity 

Cigarettes” passed during the 123rd Maine legislature.  We have examined fire deaths and fires 
caused by cigarettes over a seven year and eight year periods in structures, residential structures 

and even outdoors in addition to looking at property and contents dollar losses associated with 
cigarette related fires.  Because the RIP cigarette is designed to reduce the frequency of fire 

deaths in homes and in particular on upholstered furniture, we also looked closely at the 

distribution these fires in terms of the area of origin, items first ignited, and type of material 
first ignited. 

 
We believe the information we do have supports the law for the following reasons: 

 
➢ Smoking related fires kill more people in Maine and across the nation than any other 

identified cause; 
 

➢ The rate of fire deaths caused by cigarette fires is highest among identified fire causes; 

 
➢ These deaths are due primarily to the proximity of the victim to the ignition of the fire; 

 

➢ The type of items first ignited most frequently by cigarettes are also typically proximate to 
victims; 

 

➢ These same items are items common in residential dwellings; 

 

➢ RIP cigarettes seem to have no negative impact on cigarette consumption in Maine. 

 

 The history of smoking fires and deaths examined within the context of variables  
presented in this analysis indicate that a cigarette with a reduced propensity to ignite will be 

less likely to result in someone being killed as the result of a fire caused by a cigarette.  
However, education aimed at prevention is ultimately the best approach to reducing smoking 

related fire deaths.  Given Maine’s aging population, a population that smokes and uses oxygen 

therapy more than any other age cohort, public education and awareness programs targeting this 
audience will still be useful.   

 
 With this summary in mind the State Fire Marshal recommends: 

 
✓ That the public education efforts focused on Maine’s older adult population currently 

underway remain in place; 
✓ Continue to work toward obtaining more quality data from Maine’s fire service 

reporting fires so that a more quality analysis of the impact of fire safe cigarettes can be 

conducted; 
✓ The legislature may wish to consider a fee for certification of cigarette brands as most 
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other states have implemented them.  A nominal fee would cover the cost of reviewing 

test documents and processing the certification in addition to maintaining the database.  

A service both the Attorney General’s Office and the cigarette manufacturers both 
appreciate; 

✓ A fee could also cover additional public education efforts such as PSAs that target 
Maine’s growing older adult population.  
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Appendix A:  Chapter 253 An Act Concerning Reduced Ignition Propensity Cigarettes 

 

 

PLEASE NOTE: Legislative Information cannot perform research, provide legal 
advice, or interpret Maine law. For legal assistance, please contact a qualified attorney. 

An Act Concerning Reduced Ignition Propensity Cigarettes 

Be it enacted by the People of the State of Maine as follows: 

Sec. 1.  22 MRSA §1555-E  is enacted to read: 

§ 1555-E. Reduced ignition propensity cigarettes 

1.  Definitions.   As used in this section, unless the context otherwise indicates, the 

following terms have the following meanings. 

A.  "Agent" means any person licensed by the State Tax Assessor to purchase and affix 

stamps on packages of cigarettes. 

B.  "ASTM" means the American Society of Testing and Materials or a successor 

organization. 

C.  "Cigarette" means any product that contains nicotine, is intended to be burned or 

heated under ordinary conditions of use and consists of or contains any roll of tobacco 

wrapped in paper or in any substance not containing tobacco or in any substance other than 

tobacco and, because of its appearance, the type of tobacco used or its packaging or 

labeling, is offered to or purchased by consumers as a cigarette. 

D.  "Distributor" has the same meaning as in Title 36, section 4401, subsection 2. 

E.  "Manufacturer" means: 

(1) An entity that manufactures or otherwise produces cigarettes, or causes cigarettes 

to be manufactured or produced anywhere, that the entity intends to be sold in this 

State, including cigarettes intended to be sold in the United States through an 

importer; 

(2) The first purchaser anywhere that intends to resell in the United States cigarettes 

manufactured anywhere that the original manufacturer or maker does not intend to be 

sold in the United States; or 

(3) An entity that becomes a successor of an entity described in subparagraph (1) or 

(2). 

F.  "Quality control and quality assurance program" means the laboratory procedures 

implemented to ensure that operator bias, systematic and nonsystematic methodological 

errors and equipment-related problems do not affect the results of testing under subsection 

2. A quality control and quality assurance program ensures that the testing repeatability 

remains within the required repeatability values stated in subsection 2, paragraph A, 

subparagraph (6) for all test trials used to certify cigarettes in accordance with this section. 

G.  "Repeatability" means the range of values within which the results of repeated cigarette 

test trials from a single laboratory will fall 95% of the time. 

H.  "Sale" means any transfer of possession or exchange or barter, conditional or 

otherwise, of cigarettes in any manner or by any means or any agreement. In addition to 

cash and credit sales, the giving of cigarettes as samples, prizes or gifts and the exchanging 

of cigarettes for any consideration other than money are considered sales. 

I.  "Sell" includes offering to sell or agreeing to sell. 

J.  "Tobacco retailer" has the same meaning as in section 1551, subsection 3-A. 
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2.  Test methods and performance standards.   Cigarette test methods and 

performance standards are governed by the provisions of this subsection. 

A.  Unless federal law provides otherwise, cigarettes may not be sold or offered for sale in 

this State or offered for sale or sold to persons located in this State unless the cigarettes 

have been tested in accordance with the test methods and meet the performance standards 

specified in this subsection, a written certification has been filed by the manufacturer with 

the State Fire Marshal in accordance with subsection 3 and the cigarettes have been 

marked in accordance with subsection 4. 

(1) Testing of cigarettes must be conducted in accordance with ASTM Standard 

E2187-04, "Standard Test Method for Measuring the Ignition Strength of Cigarettes." 

(2) Testing must be conducted on 10 layers of filter paper. 

(3) No more than 25% of the cigarettes tested in a test trial in accordance with this 

subsection may exhibit full-length burns. Forty replicate tests constitutes a complete 

test trial for each cigarette tested. 

(4) The performance standards required by this subsection may be applied only to a 

complete test trial. 

(5) Written certifications must be based upon testing conducted by a laboratory that 

has been accredited pursuant to standard ISO/IEC 17025 of the International 

Organization for Standardization or other comparable accreditation standards required 

by the State Fire Marshal. 

(6) Laboratories conducting testing in accordance with this subsection shall 

implement a quality control and quality assurance program that includes a procedure 

that will determine the repeatability of the testing results. The repeatability value must 

be no greater than 0.19. 

(7) This subsection does not require additional testing if cigarettes are tested 

consistent with this section for any other purpose. 

(8) Testing performed or sponsored by the State Fire Marshal to determine a 

cigarette's compliance with the performance standards required by this subsection 

must be conducted in accordance with this subsection. 

B.  Each cigarette listed in a certification submitted pursuant to subsection 3 that uses 

lowered permeability bands in the cigarette paper to achieve compliance with the 

performance standards set forth in this subsection must have at least 2 nominally identical 

bands on the paper surrounding the tobacco column. At least one complete band must be 

located at least 15 millimeters from the lighting end of the cigarette. For cigarettes on 

which the bands are positioned by design, there must be at least 2 bands located at least 15 

millimeters from the lighting end and 10 millimeters from the filter end of the tobacco 

column or 10 millimeters from the labeled end of the tobacco column for nonfiltered 

cigarettes. 

C.  The provisions of this paragraph apply to alternative test methods. 

(1) A manufacturer of a cigarette that the State Fire Marshal determines cannot be 

tested in accordance with the test methods prescribed in paragraph A shall propose 

test methods and performance standards for the cigarette to the State Fire Marshal. 

Upon approval of the proposed test methods and a determination by the State Fire 

Marshal that the performance standards proposed by the manufacturer are equivalent 

to the performance standards prescribed in paragraph A, the manufacturer may 

employ the test methods and performance standards to certify the cigarette pursuant 
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to subsection 3. 

(2) If a manufacturer has certified a cigarette pursuant to subsection 3 and thereafter 

makes any change to the cigarette that is likely to alter its compliance with the 

reduced ignition propensity standards required by this section, that cigarette may not 

be sold or offered for sale in this State until the manufacturer retests the cigarette in 

accordance with the testing standards set forth in this subsection and maintains 

records of that retesting as required by this subsection. Any altered cigarette that does 

not meet the performance standards set forth in this subsection may not be sold in this 

State. 

(3) If the State Fire Marshal determines that another state has enacted reduced 

ignition propensity standards that include test methods and performance standards 

that are the same as those contained in this subsection and finds that the officials 

responsible for implementing those requirements have approved the proposed 

alternative test methods and performance standards for a particular cigarette proposed 

by a manufacturer as meeting the fire safety standards of that state's law or regulation, 

then the State Fire Marshal shall authorize that manufacturer to employ the alternative 

test methods and performance standards to certify that cigarette for sale in this State, 

unless the State Fire Marshal finds a reasonable basis that the alternative test should 

not be accepted under this section. All other applicable requirements of this 

subsection apply to the manufacturer. 

D.  Each manufacturer shall maintain copies of the reports of all tests conducted on all 

cigarettes offered for sale for a period of 3 years and shall make copies of these reports 

available to the State Fire Marshal and the Attorney General upon written request. Any 

manufacturer who fails to make copies of these reports available within 60 days of 

receiving a written request commits a civil violation for which a fine not to exceed $5,000 

must be applied for each day after the 60th day that the manufacturer does not make such 

copies available. 

E.  The State Fire Marshal may adopt a subsequent ASTM standard test method for 

measuring the ignition strength of cigarettes upon a finding that the subsequent method 

does not result in a change in the percentage of full-length burns exhibited by any tested 

cigarette when compared to the percentage of full-length burns the same cigarette would 

exhibit when tested in accordance with ASTM Standard E2187-04 and the performance 

standard in paragraph A, subparagraph (3). 

3.  Certification.   This subsection governs the certification of cigarettes under this 

section. 

A.  Each manufacturer shall submit to the State Fire Marshal a written certification 

attesting that: 

(1) Each cigarette listed in the certification has been tested in accordance with 

subsection 2; and 

(2) Each cigarette listed in the certification meets the performance standards set forth 

in subsection 2. 

B.  Information listed in the certification of each cigarette must include: 

(1) Brand or trade name on the package; 

(2) Style, such as light or ultra light; 

(3) Length in millimeters; 

(4) Circumference in millimeters; 
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(5) Flavor, such as menthol, if applicable; 

(6) Filter or nonfilter; 

(7) Package description, such as soft pack or box; 

(8) Marking approved in accordance with subsection 4; 

(9) The name, address and telephone number of the laboratory, if different than the 

manufacturer, that conducted the test; and 

(10) The date that the testing occurred. 

C.  The manufacturer must make a certification available to the Attorney General for 

purposes consistent with this section and the State Tax Assessor for the purposes of 

ensuring compliance with this section. 

D.  Each cigarette certified under this subsection must be recertified every 3 years. 

4.  Marking of cigarette packaging.   The provisions of this subsection govern 

marking of cigarette packaging. 

A.  The packaging of cigarettes that are certified by a manufacturer in accordance with 

subsection 3 must be marked to indicate compliance with the requirements of subsection 2. 

The marking must be in 8-point or larger type and consist of: 

(1) Modification of the universal product code to include a visible mark printed in the 

area of the universal product code. This mark may consist of an alphanumeric or 

symbolic character or characters permanently stamped, engraved, embossed or 

printed in conjunction with the universal product code; or 

(2) Any visible combination of alphanumeric or symbolic characters or text 

permanently stamped, engraved or embossed upon the cigarette package or 

cellophane wrap. 

B.  A manufacturer shall use only one marking and shall apply this marking uniformly for 

all packages, including, but not limited to, packs, cartons and cases, and brands marketed 

by that manufacturer. 

C.  Prior to the certification of any cigarette, a manufacturer shall present its proposed 

marking to the State Fire Marshal for approval. Upon receipt of the request, the State Fire 

Marshal shall approve or disapprove the marking offered, except that the State Fire 

Marshal shall approve any marking in use and approved for sale in New York pursuant to 

the New York Fire Safety Standards for Cigarettes. Proposed markings are deemed 

approved if the State Fire Marshal fails to act within 10 business days of receiving a 

request for approval. The State Fire Marshal shall notify the State Tax Assessor as to the 

marking that has been approved. 

D.  A manufacturer may not modify its approved marking unless the modification has been 

approved by the State Fire Marshal in accordance with this subsection. 

E.  A manufacturer certifying cigarettes in accordance with subsection 3 shall provide a 

copy of the certification to all distributors and agents to which the manufacturer sells 

cigarettes and shall also provide sufficient copies of an illustration of the package marking 

used by the manufacturer pursuant to this section for each tobacco retailer to which the 

distributors or agents sell cigarettes. Distributors and agents shall provide copies of these 

illustrations to all tobacco retailers to which they sell cigarettes. Distributors, agents and 

tobacco retailers shall permit the State Fire Marshal, the State Tax Assessor, the Attorney 

General and their employees to inspect cigarette packaging marked in accordance with this 

subsection. 

5.  Violations.   Penalties for violating this section are as set out in this subsection. 

A.  A manufacturer, distributor, agent or any other person or entity who knowingly sells or 
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offers to sell cigarettes, other than through retail sale, in violation of subsection 2, 

paragraph A commits a civil violation for which a fine of not more than $10,000 per each 

sale of cigarettes must be imposed. 

B.  A manufacturer, distributor, agent or any other person or entity who knowingly sells or 

offers to sell cigarettes, other than through retail sale, in violation of subsection 2, 

paragraph A and has previously been adjudicated of violating that subsection commits a 

civil violation for which a fine of not more than $25,000 per each sale of cigarettes must 

be imposed, except that the fine against any one person or entity may not exceed $100,000 

during any 30-day period. 

C.  A tobacco retailer who knowingly sells 1,000 cigarettes or less in violation of 

subsection 2, paragraph A commits a civil violation for which a fine of not more than $500 

per each sale or offer for sale of cigarettes must be imposed. 

D.  A tobacco retailer who commits a violation as described in paragraph C and has 

previously been adjudicated of committing that violation commits a civil violation for 

which a fine of not more than $2,000 per each sale or offer for sale of cigarettes must be 

imposed. 

E.  A tobacco retailer who knowingly sells more than 1,000 cigarettes in violation of 

subsection 2, paragraph A commits a civil violation for which a fine of not more than 

$1,000 per each sale or offer for sale of cigarettes must be imposed, except that this fine 

against any tobacco retailer may not exceed $25,000 during a 30-day period. 

F.  A tobacco retailer who commits a violation as described in paragraph E and has 

previously been adjudicated of committing that violation commits a civil violation for 

which a fine of not more than $5,000 per each sale or offer for sale of cigarettes must be 

imposed, except that this fine against any tobacco retailer may not exceed $25,000 during 

a 30-day period. 

G.  In addition to any other penalty prescribed by law, a corporation, partnership, sole 

proprietor, limited partnership or association engaged in the manufacture of cigarettes that 

knowingly makes a false certification pursuant to subsection 3 commits a civil violation 

for which a fine of not less than $75,000 must be imposed for each false certification. 

H.  A corporation, partnership, sole proprietor, limited partnership or association engaged 

in the manufacture of cigarettes that commits a violation as described in paragraph G after 

having previously being adjudicated of committing that violation commits a civil violation 

for which a fine of at least $75,000 and not more than $250,000 must be imposed for each 

false certification. 

I.  A person who commits a violation of a provision of this section other than those 

described in paragraphs A to H commits a civil violation for which a fine of not more than 

$1,000 must be imposed for each violation. 

J.  A person who commits a violation as described in paragraph I and has been previously 

adjudicated of committing a violation described in paragraph I commits a civil violation 

for which a fine of not more than $5,000 must be imposed for each violation. 

6.  Forfeiture.   Any cigarettes that have been sold or offered for sale that do not comply 

with the performance standards required by this section are subject to forfeiture under Title 36, 

section 4372-A, as long as, prior to the destruction of any cigarette forfeited pursuant to these 

provisions, the true holder of the trademark rights in the cigarette brand must be permitted to 

inspect the cigarette. 

7.  Injunctive relief.   In addition to any other remedy provided by law, the Attorney 

General may file an action in District Court or Superior Court for a violation of this section, 

including petitioning for injunctive relief or to recover any costs or damages suffered by the 

State because of a violation of this section, including enforcement costs relating to the specific 

violation and attorney's fees. Each violation of this section or of rules adopted under this section 
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constitutes a separate civil violation for which the State Fire Marshal or Attorney General may 

obtain relief. 

8.  Implementation.   This section must be implemented as set out in this subsection. 

A.  The State Fire Marshal may adopt routine technical rules, pursuant to Title 5, chapter 

375, subchapter 2-A, necessary to effectuate the purposes of this section. 

B.  The State Tax Assessor in the regular course of conducting inspections of distributors, 

agents and tobacco retailers, as authorized under Title 36, section 4373-A, may inspect 

cigarette packaging to determine if it is marked as required in subsection 4. If the 

packaging is not marked as required, the State Tax Assessor shall notify the State Fire 

Marshal. 

C.  Beginning in 2009 and every 3 years thereafter, the State Fire Marshal shall review the 

effectiveness of this section and report to the Legislature the State Fire Marshal's findings 

and, if appropriate, recommendations for legislation to improve the effectiveness of the 

implementation of the standards and certification of those standards in this section. The 

report and legislative recommendations must be submitted no later than March 1st of each 

year a report is required. 

D.  This section must be implemented by the State Fire Marshal in accordance with the 

implementation and substance of the New York Fire Safety Standards for Cigarettes or a 

comparable or successor standard. 

9.  Inspection.   To enforce the provisions of this section, the Attorney General and the 

State Fire Marshal may examine the books, papers, invoices and other records of any person in 

possession, control or occupancy of any premises where cigarettes are manufactured, tested, 

placed, stored, sold or offered for sale, as well as the stock of cigarettes on the premises. Such a 

person shall give the Attorney General and the State Fire Marshal the means, facilities and 

opportunity for the examinations authorized by this subsection. 

10.  Fire Prevention and Public Safety Fund.   The Fire Prevention and Public 

Safety Fund is established as a nonlapsing fund. The fund must consist of all money recovered 

as penalties for violations of this section. The money must be deposited to the credit of the fund 

and, in addition to any other money made available for such purpose, must be made available to 

the State Fire Marshal to support fire safety and prevention programs. 

11.  Sale outside of State.   Nothing in this section may be construed to prohibit a 

person or entity from manufacturing or selling cigarettes that do not meet the requirements of 

this section if the cigarettes are or will be stamped for sale in another state or are packaged for 

sale outside the United States and that person or entity has taken reasonable steps to ensure that 

such cigarettes will not be sold or offered for sale to persons located in this State. 

Sec. 2. Existing inventory may be sold. Notwithstanding the Maine Revised 

Statutes, Title 22, section 1555-E, subsection 2, paragraph A, distributors or tobacco retailers, 

as defined in Title 22, section 1551, subsection 3-A, may sell their existing inventory of 

cigarettes on or after January 1, 2008 if the distributor or tobacco retailer can establish that state 

tax stamps were affixed to the cigarettes prior to January 1, 2008 and can establish that the 

inventory was purchased prior to January 1, 2008 in comparable quantity to the inventory 

purchased during the same period of the prior year. 

Sec. 3. Effective date. This Act takes effect January 1, 2008. 

Effective January 1, 2008. 

 

 


